So Harney has just banned BZP...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

I think I've heard of this. There was a retard on the Adrian Kennedy phone show going on about how they mess with your head and no one should take them. It was only after about 10 minutes that he mentioned he took about 15 of them at once. So his argument wasn't so much against the drug as overdosing on it like a retard. He didn't seem to grasp that though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

Drugs are bad and anyone who needs them to have a good time or enjoy themselves need help :)

and before people say it, yes I do drink but never to an excess !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

KeyLimePie wrote: »
    Drugs are bad and anyone who needs them to have a good time or enjoy themselves need help :)

This post annoys me on so many levels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

So Miss Hearney finally got around to try it and obviously didn't like it.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Just curious, are you joking?

Or Stoned.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I wonder will Harney ban nutmeg next?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

In fairness this is going to make people who wanted to try out drugs the legal way, go straight onto yokes. Them party pills leave a lot longer skag then the real mccoy tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

good riddance, took a few of them party pills once and felt like **** for days.worse than a comedown from regular pills.if i had a choice over the two id be taking the illegal stuff-that says a lot!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 633 ✭✭✭dublinario

I took a couple of those bad boys at a party last Summer and permanently lost the ability to blink. Granted, I did gain X-Ray vision, but I'd give anything to be able to blink again. My cheeks are permanently wet with tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

zig wrote: »
    This post annoys me on so many levels

Agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Captain Ginger

How does it feel up there on that ever so high horse of yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

That's a shame. I thought they were quite good actually...lovely buzz and none of the comedown. Strange.

i think she had something to do with banning PD's as well.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

This is more of a stab against the Head shops. The makers of the herbal pills will just change the ingredients as they have done before I believe.

Still, I have to admit at being pissed off. As someone who used to do very illegal things but has since grown out of it, I liked being able to enter a shop and make an informed decision (based on my own research) and try out recreational drugs as opposed to the old days of meeting some scumbag on a doss council housing estate when I was younger and foolish. I'm old enough to do so, and whatever I do in the privacy of my own home with consenting adults isn't really anyone elses business.

Thank god I'm off work this week. I am going to ****ing boot it down at 9 tomorrow to get my claws on whatever I can.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Biggins wrote: »
    I'm more in shock that she actually knew how to do something!
    Apparently she was actually trying to open a new specialised cystic fibrosis ward, but she accidentally banned BZP instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

some links and info here

I won't be affected by this tbh, they might as well be banning red bull and turpentine. I don't really understand the government's strategy here though.

Did I ever tell you about the time, about 2/3 years ago, I was standing in a line outside an ATM and Mary Harney waddled up to me? It was election time and she came over and almost grabbed my ****ing hand off as I was minding my own business and shot off before I had time to properly react. Jesus if I could go back in time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

Shure they're just gonna bring in some replacement for it now anyway. Might even be something decent, that BZP was crap, had it a couple of times and said never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

CCCP^ wrote: »
    This is more of a stab against the Head shops. The makers of the herbal pills will just change the ingredients as they have done before I believe.

Still, I have to admit at being pissed off. As someone who used to do very illegal things but has since grown out of it, I liked being able to enter a shop and make an informed decision (based on my own research) and try out recreational drugs as opposed to the old days of meeting some scumbag on a doss council housing estate when I was younger and foolish. I'm old enough to do so, and whatever I do in the privacy of my own home with consenting adults isn't really anyone elses business.

Thank god I'm off work this week. I am going to ****ing boot it down at 9 tomorrow to get my claws on whatever I can.

TBH I'm not going to get into what I think of adults (Im talking 25+) still taking BZP, as I'll come off condescending and all the more conservative than I actually am. Nor will I debate against people who think the rules don't apply to them and that taking banned substances is their god given choice/right. The interests of society > the interests of liberal hippies.

What I will say is good riddance. Awful fuckin things altogether. If this ban saves some poor unsuspecting kid the horror bad trip I have experienced on these things then I'm all for it. I took them half a dozen times a few years back and on one occasion (same brand/amount I always took) I took a horrible turn and had the worst night of my life. In short I nearly died.

My satisfaction at the banning of BZP is half for the above reason, and half to stick it to the scumbag head shop owners who do not discern at all between adults and the kids they shamelessly serve. My 14 year old nephew can - and has - walked into these shops and been served without the shop owner as much as batting an eyelid. I had to be stopped from going down and dragging him over the counter.

As the head shops have 95% market share for party pills in Ireland, I hope it really fucks their bottom line in the arse, because they've been given every oportunity to step up to their responsibility to not push this shite on kids, but their greed stops them.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

galwayrush wrote: »
    She more or less banned a lot of girls from having a cancer vaccine as well:rolleyes:
    Did I miss a meeting where cancer was declared a virus and could be vaccinated against?

I thought it was the HPV vaccine that Harney nixed...

consultech wrote: »
    As the head shops have 95% market share for party pills in Ireland, I hope it really fucks their bottom line in the arse, because they've been given every oportunity to step up to their responsibility to not push this shite on kids, but their greed stops them.

I think illegal dealers still have the majority market share on "party pills".

I guarantee you this legislation will have zero effect on the headshops' revenue. The headshops in the UK simply used more obscure ingredients in their tablets. There is no theoretical limit to the number of stimulants organic chemistry can give us. Ban amphetamines, and we have phenethylamines. Ban phenethylamines, we have piperazines. Ban piperazines? The world has already moved on to beta-ketones, simple aliphatic amines. You can buy a cocoa bean alkaloid extract that's as powerful as any of these tablets. Nobody's about to ban them. The only effect of this is that you'll see a move towards more untested and exotic compounds.

I'm equally tired of reading the what about civil liberties/you're all scumbags/what about the children debate on drugs on boards as you are, but eradicating them through the machinery of legislation doesn't seem to be having the effect they desired. Lower the price of drink, demand that these pills be sold in garda stations, stick a picture of grainne kenny in a bikini on every package with the caption "if you keep taking these you will look like this", would probably have more of an effect.

My satisfaction at the banning of BZP is half for the above reason, and half to stick it to the scumbag head shop owners who do not discern at all between adults and the kids they shamelessly serve. My 14 year old nephew can - and has - walked into these shops and been served without the shop owner as much as batting an eyelid. I had to be stopped from going down and dragging him over the counter.

Generalise much?

I bought alcohol in an off license on Thursday evening, went out Friday and Saturday night last weekend, and on that same Saturday I went into city centre to get some stuff from a head shop.

Only one of the places asked me for ID.

And it had nothing to do with alcohol.

Robbo wrote: »
    Did I miss a meeting where cancer was declared a virus and could be vaccinated against?

I thought it was the HPV vaccine that Harney nixed...

My humble apologies for not being specific enough here on A.H.:rolleyes:

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

Generalise much?

I bought alcohol in an off license on Thursday evening, went out Friday and Saturday night last weekend, and on that same Saturday I went into city centre to get some stuff from a head shop.

Only one of the places asked me for ID.

And it had nothing to do with alcohol.

+1, I've only ever been asked for ID in an offlicence once in my life (and that was in Tesco when I had literally a trolley full of booze) whereas I'm carded most times I go into a head shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Let's ban some plants. Oh, no wait, we've already done that.

What next? Plastic bags?

Madness.

stevenmu wrote: »
    Apparently she was actually trying to open a new specialised cystic fibrosis ward, but she accidentally banned BZP instead.

LOL.

Let's ban plants. Oh, no wait, we've already done that.

What next? Plastic bags?

Madness.

At least we've got light bulbs.

Maybe in your house - we live by candlelight & power-up the internet with gerbils on treadmills.

If you knew he was buying pills why didn't you try to stop your nephew? I have to say I can't see any 14 year old getting served in one of those places mate, I really can't.