Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Audi2008

glhoran121 wrote: »
    ya looking forward surely will be good and was well timed toot o answer all our worryin questions !!!!!!
    i say this open day wil breal a record with most questions asked about recruitment :p

Hi when is the next open day??

Is it 2mrw??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Audi2008 wrote: »

Is it 2mrw??

Wake up man, it's Thursday ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Audi2008

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Wake up man, it's Thursday ;):D

Awh thanx a mill... I haven't been clued in lately with college and work!!!

Are you going??? Do you know where i can find details about it? please. :D;)

Not going this time round I dont think.. I was at the one in October so unless I change my mind at the last minute Im gonna sit this one out.

www.garda.ie

There will be an open day at the Garda College, Templemore on Thursday 2nd of April 2009 from 10am to 2pm. The day will consist of tours of the College and its facilities and a chance to meet some of the Specialist Units.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    Well I suppose there was good news 2day in the papers.
    The whole thing about "No Recruitment" in the public sector
    seems only to not replace the outgoing servants and use
    the existing ssrvants to fill the void!.And this is welcome
    the Government spends E10,000,000 on surveying the public
    sector and find that there is over 8,500 servants not needed.
    I think 8,000 extra Gardai would serve the country better
    than 8,000 spare pen pushers!.

Is it 2mrw??

Folks will ye watch the auld text speak please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

in the words of miley form Glenrow, o holy god. open my in box and got an email from PAS. and it said :eek:
    You registered to be notified when new jobs were posted under the category: Security/Emergency Services.

A new position is currently advertised and can be viewed by selecting the link below.

heart stopped, thought for a minute this moratorium was some kinda joke, or some one change there mind. :confused:

no, it was a position for a
    Emergency Medical Controller in the Health Service Executive

nearly fell of the chair with excitement. live in hope......:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭jypo

Hey guys and gals, just a quick question. Are children welcome in the college on thursday. Can they just stroll around with you. My partner is going aswell and the plan is for her to stay outside a room when there doing a presentation etc. Are they relaxed about it or should bambino stay at home? If anyones been to an open day before and could advise. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

jypo wrote: »
    Hey guys and gals, just a quick question. Are children welcome in the college on thursday. Can they just stroll around with you. My partner is going aswell and the plan is for her to stay outside a room when there doing a presentation etc. Are they relaxed about it or should bambino stay at home? If anyones been to an open day before and could advise. Thanks.
    Oh god yes bring the kids with ye. I saw plenty of children at past open days

TheNog wrote: »
    Oh god yes bring the kids with ye. I saw plenty of children at past open days
    Thats deadly. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭glhoran121

ya same here that email had me on a high till i seen it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 dan87

Hi guys, long time reader here. Like the rest of you I'm really disappointed with the recruitment freeze, it can't last forever though!

If there's anyone from Tipperary around (or anyone who's been through the Garda College), do you know the cheapest way to get from Dublin to Templemore? Right now it seems to be Bus Eireann via Cashel, though I'm not sure how much the last leg of that costs.

Either way, with the bus or the train, I won't get there for 10am, does anyone know if your supposed to be there at the start or can you just show up anytime?

Thanks a lot lads. Good luck to all who are hoping to apply.

Oh and if anyone is driving down and has room for a passenger PM me, I'd be happy to throw 20 quid towards petrol.

Hi Dan, i cant help you with the cheapest route but I went to the last open day and you can turn up at anytime really between ten and 2. The day is pretty relaxed and they will have group tours and people just wandering around having a nose and asking questions etc..

Cool, thanks for the info. I guess they probably won't recruit for a few years so there mightn't be much point in going, but I've become a bit obsessed with being a Guard lately, so I figure I'll head down anyway. There's only so many times you can look at the same careersportal.ie videos and publicjobs.ie aptitude tests before you go start to crazy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Nick85

Just saw this article in the archives of the examiner, ok it is DEC 1 08 but still its very interesting with some good points. its a pitty the government dont see it this way...

http://archives.tcm.ie/irishexaminer/2008/12/01/story78866.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Mun23

Enjoy the Open Day everyone wish I was there! Try and get some answers people.... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

Mun23 wrote: »
    Enjoy the Open Day everyone wish I was there! Try and get some answers people.... :D

Seconded!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0402/garda.html :eek::eek::eek::eek: nooo!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Mun23

:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

I know we have to be positive, I know there's nothing we can do. But it is very hard to take all these blows when we were once the second richest country per head in europe.

Im on my mobile and cant open that link. Could someone give me the jist of it.

Guys would someone be able to paste that article please? I cant get into that link..

Garda and army recruitment halted

Thursday, 2 April 2009 12:38
    The Minister for Finance will in future decide whether or not gardaí, soldiers, sailors or air corps personnel are recruited or promoted.
    The Department of Finance has stopped recruitment and promotions within the public service, but the ban means that neither Commissioner Fachtna Murphy nor Lieutenant General Dermot Earley can promote or recruit without the approval of Brian Lenihan.
    A spokesman for the Minister for Finance said no more gardaí will be recruited until further notice.

Almost 250 gardaí, sergeants, inspectors and superintendents, who are waiting to be promoted, will not be moved into vacant posts unless Minister Lenihan allows it.
    PDFORRA says there are at least 100 privates preparing for promotion to corporal and another 100 soldiers competing for higher rank appointments.
    The Government has put a stop to all recruitment and promotions within the civil service, local authorities and non commercial State bodies - it says savings must be made in the public service pay and pensions bill of €20bn a year.
    Minister Lenihan will have the authority to allow for the filling of some vacancies but only in very exceptional circumstances.
    The Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors says it is gravely concerned at this interference in the operational effectiveness of the gardaí at a time of rising gang-related crime, and increased activity among dissident republicans.
    The Garda Representative Association says gardaí will be expected to do the work of higher officers and take responsibility above their rank which may create legal difficulties.
    PDFORRA says the ban on recruitment and promotion will damage morale and efficiency within the Defence Forces.

It's nothing particularly new, just underlines how much thegovernment are ballsing tis whole thing up. :(

What I love is the whole changability of the official line.

'No garda recruitment until 2010'
    'No garda recruitment until end of 2010'
    'No garda recruitment until further notice'

They can't make up their feckin' minds!!! :rolleyes:

Thanks for that i digress :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

It's something we knew already but it does say "without the approval of Brian Lenihan".

So basically recruitment can continue if Lenihan gives the green light and I dont see him saying no to just 50-70 recruits every couple of months or so.

I wish I had that faith. I think the approval thing will be more used for promotions that are deemed necessary, as the article said having junior members of the force carrying out the tasks of senior members may have legal ramifications.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

If it does happen its another item on FF's political suicide agenda.

It's a stupid thing for them to do. Even if they weren't to have a new campaign, they should keep recruitment going from the panel they already have. People in this country are starting to get desperate, and when that happens crime levels increase.