Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

kerry4sam wrote: »
    We'll share the box of kleenex :o

Thanks... I'll order in the first round:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I can see the hits on the publicjobs website increasing over the day or three awaiting a statement from their side :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭andrew1985

I think they will continue with thise in the pipeline and have thosse applications set and ready to send to Templemore if needed. But then all new recruitment campaigns will be stopped for the time being :eek:

I'm frickin' livid now I think back at not being successful at my interview last year :mad:

i feel for ye kerry :( everything is up in the air now!! this government couldnt organise a piss up in a brewary :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭glhoran121

:(Just seen the letter on the ministers website does not look promising so i emailed to ask will there be a recruitment capain this year so lets hope so !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I'm cracking open a few bottles, and watching Munster match.. I suggest ye do the same!ha

andrew1985 wrote: »
    i feel for ye kerry :( everything is up in the air now!! this government couldnt organise a piss up in a brewary :mad:

This Government would probably find fault in the brewerys' licence and feel obliged for the health & safety of the public, keep the brewery closed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

am i right in thinkig this will affect those of us waiting on medicals and pct :mad::(

it looks like it, this is take form the finance website.

"I am to direct that, with effect from the date of this letter to end 2010, no
    public service post, however arising, may be filled by recruitment, promotion, nor payment of an allowance for the performance of duties at a higher grade"

taken from here

you can take it that no new contract will be offered. so yes it deos effect people waiting for medical and pct. why bother go ahead with the open day next week. lets have a open day but lets not recruit people till at lest the end of 2010. :confused::(. o well.........

dkhill47 wrote: »
    it looks like it, this is take form the finance website.

"I am to direct that, with effect from the date of this letter to end 2010, no
    public service post, however arising, may be filled by recruitment, promotion, nor payment of an allowance for the performance of duties at a higher grade"

taken from here

you can take it that no new contract will be offered. so yes it deos effect people waiting for medical and pct. why bother go ahead with the open day next week. lets have a open day but lets not recruit people till at lest the end of 2010. :confused::(. o well.........

The open-day though would help those seriously lucky candidates who have been given their acceptance letter for the May '09 in-take. Some of those candidates may not have actually seen in and around Templemore college yet and it would certainly benefit them.

What about going in, in MAY!!!? Wonder will it still happen

dosent look good, taken from finance wesite...

"Any competitions/promotions currently in
    progress should not proceed further without the express sanction of this Department"

link here (page 1 point 5)

is this some kind of cruel and unusual punishment?

it does say that the minister can override this decision, surly if you have been offered a position it will be honored

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭jypo

This is bad lads. I honestly feel for those with everyting done and ready to go. Keep the chins up lads , cowen and the boys wont be there much longer and we will be back on track again. Its my goal to get into AGS and im willing to wait. Lets stay positive things can only get better from here and you never know what can happen.

jypo wrote: »
    This is bad lads. I honestly feel for those with everyting done and ready to go. Keep the chins up lads , cowen and the boys wont be there much longer and we will be back on track again. Its my goal to get into AGS and im willing to wait. Lets stay positive things can only get better from here and you never know what can happen.

Here Here :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Jolies

dosent look good, taken from finance wesite...

"Any competitions/promotions currently in
    progress should not proceed further without the express sanction of this Department"

link here (page 1 point 5)

is this some kind of cruel and unusual punishment?

it does say that the minister can override this decision, surly if you have been offered a position it will be honored

It says that from the date of this letter is when the embargo will start, it was early March when the May 09 offers went out, cant see how it would effect that intake... That just my opinion thou!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

It seems the decision was only made earlier this week, at a cabinet meeting. All Public service recruitment, with the Exception of Health Workers and Teachers, is stopped.

To me all this acheives is returning the Garda Numbers to what it was before McDowells infamous promise to recruit 2000 extra Gardai. The Govt Dept in which I work anticipates a 9% reduction in staff by the end of 2009 through natural wastage. However a change in the tax system for Public Service Pensions(again) will see many more retire earlier(and soon) to avoid a large tax bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

I cant believe this. How can they say that they are committed to creating employment and then put a total embargo on so many jobs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What the hell are people supposed to do?!?!?! The construction sector is fooked, the retail sector is fooked, financial- ridiculously fooked Where the hell are people supposed to get a job?????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    This government needs to be overthrown. This will equal less tax intake and more people on the dole and less people spending money and the country is going to go into a total depression never mind a recession. Dear God if a FF councillor ever darkens my door again God help me the closest I will get to the Guards will be the wrong side of a cell door..... :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Aaaaaaaaaaaaghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭andrew1985

Blue Belle wrote: »
    I cant believe this. How can they say that they are committed to creating employment and then put a total embargo on so many jobs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What the hell are people supposed to do?!?!?! The construction sector is fooked, the retail sector is fooked, financial- ridiculously fooked Where the hell are people supposed to get a job?????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    This government needs to be overthrown. This will equal less tax intake and more people on the dole and less people spending money and the country is going to go into a total depression never mind a recession. Dear God if a FF councillor ever darkens my door again God help me the closest I will get to the Guards will be the wrong side of a cell door..... :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Aaaaaaaaaaaaghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

totally agree with ye blue belle,why start campaigns if they are not going to follow them through, feckin politicans are so out of touch with reality if they cut their own pay and got rid of their ridiculous perks we wouldnt be in half the **** we are in:mad: ok rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

totally agree with ye blue belle,why start campaigns if they are not going to follow them through, feckin politicans are so out of touch with reality if they cut their own pay and got rid of their ridiculous perks we wouldnt be in half the **** we are in:mad: ok rant over.

bad news alright. From www.independant.ie

"The Department of Finance last night confirmed the recruitment and promotion moratorium will operate right across the public service.
    Areas to be affected are the civil service, local authorities, non-commercial State bodies, the Gardai and the army."

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/jobs-freeze-hits-public-sector-1689689.html

if you're not in now, you won't be until 2010 at the earliest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Tommi78

I am sure this will be asked a thousand times but where does this leave the people already in the system waiting on a medical/pct or even the call up. Does it mean back to the start for all or will we be kept waiting in line ???? I guess it anybodys call because i cant see any official statement been made for quite some time.....:confused::confused:

Tommi78 wrote: »
    I am sure this will be asked a thousand times but where does this leave the people already in the system waiting on a medical/pct or even the call up. Does it mean back to the start for all or will we be kept waiting in line ???? I guess it anybodys call because i cant see any official statement been made for quite some time.....:confused::confused:

i imagine they would be next in line and wouldn't have to go back to the start. remember this is a moratorium not an embargo. the commissioner can request staff if needed and it is at the discretion of the minister to grant his request. so people would have to be ready to start in templemore, (can you here the hope) having said that this likely to happen only if large numbers leave the force. now, what about the junior ministers?. that would provide immediate salary savings. we need to move forward, not backward and decreasing the the numbers employed in essential services is only putting us back 10 years. stop recruitment for new posts yes, stop recruitment for existing posts, big mistake. nice of them lo leave people hanging on a friday nigh tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

I think the government will cop onto themselves after another couple of months of this, and realise that there's no way on earth that they can go ahead with depreciating numbers of Gardaí on the streets. I saw on yesterday's indo that they're talking about 4 years of no recruitment, but that's complete b***s**t. There has been no recruitment campaign since last year, so 5 years without a single competition....defo not an option! Also, the government are soon going to realise that its better having people out and working, rather than everyone in the county going on the dole, just draining money out of the system. I honestly do think that there will be a campaign , maybe a bit later than we hoped. Garda numbers isn't a luxury that the country can cut back on when they feel like it...especially with an increasing crime rate during a recession....Here's hoping anyway...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Mun23

Not good guys :mad: So angry with the whole system!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Alias B

Totally agree bluebelle! This government has ran us into the ground with greed, overpayment of 'fat-cats', and mis-management of the public sector to name but a few!!!!! Like what are all those futile dáil committees sitting for? ANd all these reports which cost millions to research that collect dust on shelves? ANd the millions upon millions of junior ministers and aaaaaaall their 'entitlements' .......?????? FF has created a monster which was concealed in the good times because accountability wasnt needed, now that it is - you'd imagine Bertie is sitting in some holiday home somewhere thanking his lucky stars he got out when he did!!!!! COWBOYS!!!!!!!!!!

I hope the moratorium doesnt mean a total hault on recruitment for EVERYONE's sake!!!!! :mad::mad::mad::mad:

This moratorium is only temporary. Finances will improve in time and everyone here who either wants to apply or is in the system already will see Templemore one day - just a little later perhaps than what you would have wanted.

Keep focused on the wider picture though. Keep focused on your own daily lives. Keep focused on building your credentials and ensure you are both ready & able to succeed in your new role once your opportunity arises.

I have every faith in the people who post here supporting and helping each member of this online family we have built here. Keep positive, however tough that may be :)

This moratorium is only temporary. Finances will improve in time and everyone here who either wants to apply or is in the system already will see Templemore one day - just a little later perhaps than what you would have wanted.

Keep focused on the wider picture though. Keep focused on your own daily lives. Keep focused on building your credentials and ensure you are both ready & able to succeed in your new role once your opportunity arises.

I have every faith in the people who post here supporting and helping each member of this online family we have built here. Keep positive, however tough that may be :)

Right you are kerry4sam, just hoping that the tumbleweed wont arrive here?:eek:

:) Oh I'd say over the next year or two the odd tumbleweed will roll through here. The traffic won't be an intense as it has been to date. In saying that though, people will still be receiving news and updates and will be posting here to inform everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

Would ye stop being so negative! No1 knows the full story yet. Recruitment hasn't stopped. It clearly states that recruitment can continue once the minister is informed and says "work away". Wait till Monday till the full story is out.

The people who are worst hit are the people in the system, who have invested time and money into this process. To be left in no mans land.

All I'm saying is to keep that glass half full till more is known.

if they stop full time garda recruitment will they stop the reserves ?????i am sure the money the spend on the reserve running costs a year if cut could result in another two years ful time recruitment for us guys !!!!!:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

glhoran121 wrote: »
    if they stop full time garda recruitment will they stop the reserves ?????i am sure the money the spend on the reserve running costs a year if cut could result in another two years ful time recruitment for us guys !!!!!:confused:

The reserves is very cost effective. Have you already applied to the guards?

i was talking to the head quaters and they still may be recruiting till the end of this year no i was waiting for the next campaign !!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭shanehillview

sorry to be changing the subject, but can somebody tell me of the physical fitness requirements for the different stages in the recruitment and college stages, i have a copy of the physical competency test video from youtube.