Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Alias B

TheNog wrote: »
    This is just as worrying for us as it is for ye trying to get in. I would certainly hope recruitment is not frozen within AGS as I have heard 800 guards have put their names down for retirement.

HOLY SMOKE BATMAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :eek::eek::eek::eek:

Hey Nog, did you know that Superman wears Paul O'Connell's pjama's to bed!!!!!! (maybe this is 'General Thread' material!):o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭CuteStuff

They couldn't cut recruitment altogether though could they? They still need to replace those leaving the force anyway... Don't they? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

Thank god, recessions only come our way every 20 years or so. The suspense is killing me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Mun23

Me too! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

CuteStuff wrote: »
    They couldn't cut recruitment altogether though could they? They still need to replace those leaving the force anyway... Don't they? :confused:

Course they could...

Well, It wouldn't be in the best interest of the gardai, but it is a quick fix, and it doesn't involve redundancies...

Also, they increased the numbers so much during the boom, they can afford to cut them now in a recession.

I'm not saying it;s right, but it is very likely and possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Just said on the radio that a common sense approach will be adopted if the likes of teachers nurses and doctors need to be replaced to maintain numbers. This more than likely means Guards too so no more panic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭jypo

I believe there will still be a recruitment drive and i still think may. Im hoping the money has already been budgeted for this. I think the AGS will have to because of retirements. Even if they dont take any recruits into templemore i think they will always want some in the pipeline ready to go and at the end of the day if there was a complete embargo, what will happen to templemore and the college staff and all the facilities and whatever investment they have put into that. I understand that there is probably continuos learning for current members of AGS and they may well use it and keep it ticking over. A complete embargo on Garda recruitment just isnt going to happen, its a critical area, the same as doctors, paramedics etc. I think this will be aimed at the pen pushers in the public sector and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

jypo wrote: »
    I believe there will still be a recruitment drive and i still think may. Im hoping the money has already been budgeted for this. I think the AGS will have to because of retirements. Even if they dont take any recruits into templemore i think they will always want some in the pipeline ready to go and at the end of the day if there was a complete embargo, what will happen to templemore and the college staff and all the facilities and whatever investment they have put into that. I understand that there is probably continuos learning for current members of AGS and they may well use it and keep it ticking over. A complete embargo on Garda recruitment just isnt going to happen, its a critical area, the same as doctors, paramedics etc. I think this will be aimed at the pen pushers in the public sector and rightly so.

I disagree. It has happened in the cadets so why not the gaurds. Given the the way economy is going this is a great way for the gov to cut job, without redundancies and the associated the bad press...
    The training staff would just get reallocated to stations or whatever.

I don't think its right, but there is no reason why garda numbers would not be let drop. I mean they have only been increased in the last number of years...

You are right. The AGS is a critical area, but a critical area which the gov could, and will prob, justify as been adequately served with 12k members...

Sorry for being so negaitve, but I'd say we're in for a wait!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

if there is a ban on recruitment i feel sorry for people waiting no medicals ect., but all this talk is speculation till a statement as released. having an opinion on if recruitment is going to be stopped or allowed to continue at a slower rate dosnt make it fact. so i think its best for every one to wait for the official statement to be released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭glhoran121

when does anyone know when this press release is going to be made to specify the fine details ?????

glhoran121 wrote: »
    when does anyone know when this press release is going to be made to specify the fine details ?????

soon i hope, 10 years of waiting to put on that uniform, now i am in a personal place that make joining possible, not sure i can take bad news :eek: ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

Has anyone here been to an open day before...just wondering if there'll be parking available in the college that day or do we just park around the town??:cool:

Hi Street angel, there is lots of parking in the grounds of the college, there will be gards there who will direct you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

pipsqueak wrote: »
    satement re the freeze/embargo due out tomorrow. Cant see them not replacing the huge numbers dropping because of the pension levy, Should be a lot clearer tomorrow though

Where did you hear about a statement being made at some time today? Have you a link for it online perhaps?

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Where did you hear about a statement being made at some time today? Have you a link for it online perhaps?

try this or this

dkhill47 wrote: »
    try this or this

Cheers dkhill47 :). They will probably wait now and make the announcement on the 6.1 news

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

Mun23 wrote: »
    Hi Street angel, there is lots of parking in the grounds of the college, there will be gards there who will direct you :)

Good Stuff!...I had visions of getting clamped if I parked around the town!! Thanks Mun23! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭glhoran121

:cool:so did they make the announcment on the news this evening??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

glhoran121 wrote: »
    :cool:so did they make the announcment on the news this evening??????

Nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭andrew1985

hi guys i was just on the dept of finance website and there is a moratorium on recruitment check out the press releases and you will see it:mad::(

andrew1985 wrote: »
    hi guys i was just on the dept of finance website and there is a moratorium on recruitment check out the press releases and you will see it:mad::(

*aaargh* :mad: . I was optimistic but must go look now and read the news

check it out http://www.finance.gov.ie/viewdoc.asp?DocID=5723

"Q. Does the Moratorium apply to all areas of the public service?

A: Yes. The recruitment and promotion moratorium will operate in respect of the civil service, local authorities, non-commercial state bodies, the Garda Síochána and the Permanent Defence Forces. The arrangements have been modulated in relation to the education and health sectors to reflect the particular service needs in those sectors.
    "

I think I could actually cry :(

According to today's Indo.. this could go on for 4 years.

HOWEVER, The Dept of Finance did say this in their 'Q and A';
    An embargo would imply that no filling of vacancies whatsoever could take place. The Minister for Finance will have the authority to allow for the filling of some vacancies in very exceptional circumstances

kerry4sam wrote: »
    "Q. Does the Moratorium apply to all areas of the public service?

A: Yes. The recruitment and promotion moratorium will operate in respect of the civil service, local authorities, non-commercial state bodies, the Garda Síochána and the Permanent Defence Forces. The arrangements have been modulated in relation to the education and health sectors to reflect the particular service needs in those sectors.
    "

I think I could actually cry :(

Can I cry with you?:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

so basically are we're screwed ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭andrew1985

am i right in thinkig this will affect those of us waiting on medicals and pct :mad::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

What about going in, in MAY!!!? Wonder will it still happen

eroo wrote: »
    Can I cry with you?:(

We'll share the box of kleenex :o

am i right in thinkig this will affect those of us waiting on medicals and pct :mad::(

I think they will continue with thise in the pipeline and have thosse applications set and ready to send to Templemore if needed. But then all new recruitment campaigns will be stopped for the time being :eek:

I'm frickin' livid now I think back at not being successful at my interview last year :mad: