Brian Cowen .... naked....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Ok I see your point.... BUT RTE news is there to report news stories, an illegally hung painting in the National Gallery of the Taoiseach is news. They reported this and then felt need to apologise? They didn't mock him, they reported the facts.

I assume they showed the picture though? Broadcasting it to such a large audience could be considered offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭norwegianwood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭dollybird09

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

FF TD Micheal Kennedy is calling for the resignation of RTEs Directer Gerenal because the Cowen paintings were shown on the 9 o'clock news. You would think the ff'er would have more important things to get outraged about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭lynsalot

jesus christ it was a joking get a grip never mind his kids imagine his poor wife having to put up with the stick lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

deadhead13 wrote: »
    FF TD Micheal Kennedy is calling for the resignation of RTEs Directer Gerenal because the Cowen paintings were shown on the 9 o'clock news. You would think the ff'er would have more important things to get outraged about.

Over the top for crying out loud.
    I consider it offensive that the real Cowen is on our screens in the first place!
    I'm not going to threaten or sue RTE though!
    Jeeze - Kennedy, kop yourself on. Your doing yourself no favours - and stop trying to lick up to Herr Cowen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Whoever did this is a hero.

deadhead13 wrote: »

At least that is some form of admittance to the level of censorship by the Irish government.

**** you Michael!!!

Dragan wrote: »
    At least that is some form of admittance to the level of censorship by the Irish government.

**** you Michael!!!

More open than the usual backdoor methods they use and as usual sadly, RTE caves to them.
    There's a surprise (NOT).

It must be near that time again when they are going to grovel to get an increase in the licence again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Just wait for the new sticky..

Do NOT reference or discuss any Brian Cowen Pictures

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

GA361 wrote: »
    Ha ha.He should join the beer guts forum!

I'm not sure if i speak for the rest of the BGRH, But I personally would Rather fuck Sand*

* Or Mary Harney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

javaboy wrote: »
    For a start, the thing probably was offensive to his family. I'm sure he's well able to take it on the chins* but his kids shouldn't have to.

he's public figure, there been endless cartoons of him, im sure the kids are use to it,politicians hide behind their families.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Well RTE just apologised on tonight's 9 o'clock news for any offence they caused to Brian Cowen or his family.

Ridiculous. They should have told him to shove his apology.

Shove it, and demand an apology for demanding an apology.

This comes not long after they asked Nob Nation to tone it down and removed a sketch about Harney. When you consider the sheer venom others have put up with across the globe, it shows what a think skinned bunch of arseholes they are.
    A spokesman for Mr Cowen confirmed that he had made a complaint about the story, which he said "went beyond the news values of RTE".
    The report described how gardai were investigating who was responsible for leaving the nude paintings of Mr Cowen in the two galleries.

What in the fuck are cops wasting their fucking time with that for, one might ask. Has heroin and cocaine dissappeared off the streets of the country? Is there no bank to investigate?

See the funny thing is that had this happened in England, it would probably have been laminated by now. Over here, Bannsky would never have lasted.

I would sincerely doubt that they will ever catch the person who did this.

Cowen ordered the removal of most of the evidence that would help them after all.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I would sincerely doubt that they will ever catch the person who did this.

Cowen ordered the removal of most of the evidence that would help them after all.:D

Seemingly the cops have interviewed the guy already.

I didn't see the report on RTE but did they do it in the 'and finally..' style to present it for amusement, or present it as a serious news story? If they did it as news their apologising is retarded, if they presented it as a joke, they're retarded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

they know who the painter is, who isn't the same person who put it in the gallery apparently todayfm received an email about it, spoke about it on air, and they got a visit from the police about it talking about destruction property

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

they know who the painter is who isn't the same person who put it in the gallery apparently todayfm received an email about it, spoke about it on air, and they got a visit from the police about it talking about destruction property

*sleeps sounder knowing police are spending there time wisely"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

has Cow'en nothing better to do at this time then go after the artist should he not be working 24/7 to try and pull the country back from the abyss?

I would say the street artists are going to go to town on poor Biffo over the next few months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

I would say the street artists are going to go to town on poor Biffo over the next few months!

Yeah, the more they push this – the more stencils will cover the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Yeah the guards called in to Today FM because the Ray D'Arcy show were talking to the painter and have a number for him.

FFS Cowen, take a joke! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm gonna dust down the auld paintbrushes when I get home these evening - and let me tell you, in my version, nothing will be left to the imagination!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its being discussed now on RTE

www.rte.ie/radio

Micheal Kennedy is making an unholy tit of himself.

grizzly wrote: »
    *sleeps sounder knowing police are spending there time wisely"

They're the thin blue line between us and the chaos of unregulated satire....

(In fairness, we must presume they are under orders, as opposed to wasting their fucking time under their own initiative).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

mike65 wrote: »
    Its being discussed now on RTE
    Micheal Kennedy is making an unholy tit of himself.

It's incredible, trying to defend the indefensible

snubbleste wrote: »
    It's incredible, trying to defend the indefensible

The undependable defending the indefensible....

Lets be clear, what was a light news joking news item - has now turned YET AGAIN into RTE caving into the bullies in Fianna Fail so that they can get their way.
    Be it for personal reasons or party ones, government ministers have threatened and pressurised RTE directors so that news items can't be reported.

Now RTE will think twice before reporting the ALL the news from here on in.
    I call that a form of censorship.
    Channel 4, The BBC, ITN news, even American news stations reported the LIGHT funny story.
    What did backward out of date RTE do? Said "Sorry" for even mentioning about what occurred.

Don't tell me or the Irish nation that Fianna Fail heads are nothing but bullies, thugs and scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

That TD on Pat Kenny's show insisted it was only because the picture was displayed on TV that he had a problem and that no other government in the world would stand for that.

He had no leg to stand on when Pat pointed out The Politics Show on BBC had featured a cartoon of a naked Gordon Brown and nobody had batted an eyelid.

What a clown. RTE should use the painting as the backdrop to the 9 o'clock news tonight just to rub it in the face of those useless f*ckers.

But of course they won't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Funniest thing about that interview was that Pat the plank said he had a sense of humour!

Bully boy tactics of the highest calibre.

Its a pity it wasnt Biffo that was on, I would love to have heard him lambasted on the radio.

I hadn't even seen the paintings 'til I heard about it on the radio. Made sure I saw it after tho. I thought they were quite flattering to the thick lipped goon