17yr old boy charged with killing PSNI officer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Irlbo

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    So the Irish army should have invaded the UK. I'm sure that would have ended well

Didnt say invade the UK,said defend their country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

You mean like the British were defending theirs? Remember there's two sides to every story. Selectively chosen the bits you want to hear helps no one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Irlbo wrote: »

I'm fairly certain that Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

The clue is in the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

as thelordofcheese said, it's not our country and hasn't been for quite some time. Sending the army into the north would have been an act of war against the UK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

as thelordofcheese said, it's not our country and hasn't been for quite some time. Sending the army into the north would have been an act of war against the UK

But it's all on the same bit of land as Ireland, it must belong to Ireland.

Napoleon used to think the same thing :D

I'm fairly certain that Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

The clue is in the name.

No your very wrong,this is the island of Ireland,which comprises of 4 provinces,Ulster,Munster,Leinster and Connaught,the island contains 32 counties,6 in Ulster which are under the control of Britain,if you call yourself Irish,hang your head in shame

Who created the concept of counties, provinces etc? wasn't the "British" by any chance was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

RaverRo808 wrote: »
    There will never be peace on this Ireland aslong as Britain maintain a presence here,there will always be death,always be unrest,always be violence until they withdraw their illegal presence on this island,you can lock up as many republicans as you want,but with every one that is imprisoned,there will be ten more to take his or her place,there will always be people who will fight to end British occupation,'everyone has their part to play' as Bobby Sands once said

Illegal presence? Illegal where? Not here - Articles 2 and 3 are gone, we maintain no territorial claim to NI. Illegal in your head maybe.
    I'd wager money you're way too young to remember the troubles, you were probably still in nappies when the Good Friday Agreement was signed. Give up listening to the Wolfe Tones and start reading about your history - and not just the IRA version.
    There will always be violence and death as long as the "dinosaurs" as you called them in an earlier post continue to murder innocent people.

Yes the Island does indeed contain 32 counties but you see we're not cavemen and political borders aren't necessarily defined by where the water is. The Republic of Ireland comprises 26 counties. The United Kingdom comprises England, Scotland, Wales and 6 of the counties in Ulster. Just because we're physically connected to the North doesn't mean we own them any more than Germany owns France because they're connected.

If you ever went to school and learned geography or history it is you who should be hanging your head in shame.

And whats wrong with that,the IRA bombed them to the negociation table in the mid 90s

The IRA were a small group of terrorists. That's slightly different to the government of Ireland declaring war on the UK. I don't want tanks on O'Connell street thank you very much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Geographically, you are correct, politically and for all pratical purposes you are wrong.

Seriously, no matter what the wolfe tones have told you, invading the north would have been an act of agression against the UK and that wouldn't have ended well for us.

The phrase "Bitch-slapped" springs to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

How does someone ambushing a police officer answering a call for help from a member of the public become political?

The same way pointing at some bearded dude, saying 'That monster has a bomb' and stringing him up while sitting on his oil barrel does.....

I don't want tanks on O'Connell street thank you very much

Make it a bit safer of a Friday/Saturday night though, tbh....

Nodin wrote: »
    The same way pointing at some bearded dude, saying 'That monster has a bomb' and stringing him up while sitting on his oil barrel does.....

i wonder what the Godwin's equivelant is for the war in Iraq?

exactly. if they hadn't have started a bombing campaign, they would have negotiated in the 80s.

The IRA were a small group of terrorists. That's slightly different to the government of Ireland declaring war on the UK. I don't want tanks on O'Connell street thank you very much

Tanks on O'Connell street,bit over the top there mate,the IRA were anything but small,they at one time had enough manpower and weaponary to arm 7 or 8 battalions,the defense forces have 12 battalions,enough to take over this state,the IRA was a very dominant presence,no small group of terrorists

So powerful they resorted to Bombing Shops, pubs, railway stations. you must be so proud.:rolleyes:

Romantic bollocks like this is what leads kids to shoot policemen.

They're small in comparison to, say, the british army or the population of Ireland. And when I say small, I mean they were an unauthorised hidden group and no one knew who they were. There was no clear target. However, if the Irish armed forces invaded the north then the entire island of Ireland becomes a legitimate target.

You say I'm over the top talking about tanks on O'Connell street. What exactly do you think happens when your government declares war on a country with a vastly superior army? Should we ask the people of Iraq what happens when the UK declares war?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

There is no way Ireland could take on Northern Ireland financially. The UK is doing us a serious favour subsidising it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I recall them trying to recruit a group of my friends when we were in primary school. They got one of the lads through a family connection and through him tried to recruit similar fools. Last I heard he was found with an arms dump in meath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Stay_in_Kampuchea

RaverRo808 wrote: »
    There will never be peace on this Ireland aslong as Britain maintain a presence here,there will always be death,always be unrest,always be violence until they withdraw their illegal presence on this island,you can lock up as many republicans as you want,but with every one that is imprisoned,there will be ten more to take his or her place,there will always be people who will fight to end British occupation,'everyone has their part to play' as Bobby Sands once said

Were you on the Adrian Kennedy phone show?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

We've 9 Battalions ;)

We've also got Cavalry Squadrons, Artillery Regiments etc.

So in the grand scheme of things, the IRA didn't have a dominant presence.

The 'army' you talk about,is this the same army that in the late sixties and seventies sat on its ar.se while their fellow country men up North were being burned out of their homes by the British army and Loyalist pograms,shot dead on the street in cold blood,didnt they cry out for the 'army' of the 26 counties to help them and defend them as they had nobody to turn to?........................................and what did the state and 'army' down here do,nothing,left the opressed people of the 6 counties to take the brunt of the Souths treachery years before,but they had an army they could rely on,the IRA,the real army of Ireland,and by far the most effective,...............................................'the defence force' is a joke,always was always will be

Read a history book.

Then start to draw comparisons between the DF and the IRA when you want to decide which is a real Army.... I think you'll find a few arms dumps, no military installations and no proper logistics setup among other things including proper training, does much when trying to refer to someone as an "Army".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭cos!!

before im jumped at im not defending the chap!

but all you going on about hes 17!aload of scum bags teaching him to kill ect....anyway any 17 year can join the rdf without parental consent and learn how to shoot, handle and dismantle a gun?its not so different?any 17 year can join the pdf!im not sure about them goin abroad at that age though?but i think they might be able

cos!! wrote: »

but all you going on about hes 17!aload of scum bags teaching him to kill ect....anyway any 17 year can join the rdf without parental consent and learn how to shoot, handle and dismantle a gun?its not so different?any 17 year can join the pdf!im not sure about them goin abroad at that age though?but i think they might be able

There's quite a bit of a difference to being "trained" by the IRA and being trained and employed by a Defence Forces that is Internationally recognised and trains to an International standard.

You know the main difference though between the IRA training 17 year olds and the DF training 17 year olds? A whole lot of dead civilians.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

cos!! wrote: »

Think about this for a minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Poccington wrote: »
    We've 9 Battalions ;)

We've also got Cavalry Squadrons, Artillery Regiments etc.

So in the grand scheme of things, the IRA didn't have a dominant presence.

And your forgetting about those assasins up in the SCHOOL OF CATERING!.

:p

exactly. if they hadn't have started a bombing campaign, they would have negotiated in the 80s.

Actually it was Majors failure to do anything with the IRA ceasefire which caused the resumption in the 90's...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Stones85 wrote: »
    Do republican prisoners still get pow/special category staus?

Seanybiker- I'm actually more annoyed at the grown men in their 20's, 30's and 40's who recruited this boy, put the gun in his hands and "ordered" him to kill. He is of coarse a free thinking human being and is responsible for what he does....... but he's a boy manipulated by grown men.

He's in court this morning in Lisburn magistrates court, 4 others being questioned still.
    Mairt wrote: »
    I just seen that on TV3 now.

I'm both sickened and saddened by this news.

17yrs old - a fucking child, what kind of monster brain washed & then sent this child to murder a man?.

Christ almighty, my son is 17. He was five when the ceasefire came into effect.

I'm almost at a loss for words, I'm at a complete loss of understanding tbh.

Eh he's 17 here...brainwashed...manipulated?? He can think for himself? when I was 17 all my friends were into drugs and tried to get me into them, I said no, It's amazing how easy it is to say no when you don't want to do something, 3 years down the line my friends are still into drugs and I still don't take them, It's amazing what thinking can do for you