Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

17yr old boy charged with killing PSNI officer

• 24-03-2009 6:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭

Just heard on the radio there that a 17yr old boy has been charged with the killing of PSNI officer Carroll, He's also charged with possessing afirearm with intent and membership of anillegal organisation, namely The Continuity IRA.

17 ffs!! if its brought to court and he's convicted? 20 odd years he'll get.... what a waste of a young life for nothing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Hardly for nothing, I think he killed someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Stones85 wrote: »
    Just heard on the radio there that a 17yr old boy has been charged with the killing of PSNI officer Carroll, He's also charged with possessing afirearm with intent and membership of anillegal organisation, namely The Continuity IRA.

17 ffs!! if its brought to court and he's convicted? 20 odd years he'll get.... what a waste of a young life for nothing...

Unfortunately I don't think the brits do life sentences for under-18s.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

17?

Good christ...

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Stones85

The-Rigger wrote: »

When I said for nothing i thought it obvious that I ment his reasons for doing it, his actions will achieve nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

the little bastard. Hope he gets killed in jail. Wannabe little hard man is all he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Stones85

seanybiker wrote: »
    the little bastard. Hope he gets killed in jail. Wannabe little hard man is all he is.

Do republican prisoners still get pow/special category staus?

Seanybiker- I'm actually more annoyed at the grown men in their 20's, 30's and 40's who recruited this boy, put the gun in his hands and "ordered" him to kill. He is of coarse a free thinking human being and is responsible for what he does....... but he's a boy manipulated by grown men.

He's in court this morning in Lisburn magistrates court, 4 others being questioned still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I just seen that on TV3 now.

I'm both sickened and saddened by this news.

17yrs old - a fucking child, what kind of monster brain washed & then sent this child to murder a man?.

Christ almighty, my son is 17. He was five when the ceasefire came into effect.

I'm almost at a loss for words, I'm at a complete loss of understanding tbh.

Mairt wrote: »
    I just seen that on TV3 now.

I'm both sickened and saddened by this news.

17yrs old - a fucking child, what kind of monster brain washed & then sent this child to murder a man?.

Christ almighty, my son is 17. He was five when the ceasefire came into effect.

I'm almost at a loss for words, I'm at a complete loss of understanding tbh.

Yep, it's ****in sick.

I remember around the time of the Omagh bombing there were people arrested for training 14-18 year old lads to use firearms. Those lads got out about 6 years ago, so much for law and order eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

The-Rigger wrote: »

He's charged, not convicted. Wait a little while and see what the courts say before condemning him, lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

Worn-out old men getting children to fight their worn-out old war.

Sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

What wrong with him being 17?

You have to be 17 to join the Irish army and given a gun so he was kind of the ripe age for joining a different army(of sorts).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Stones85 wrote: »
    Do republican prisoners still get pow/special category staus?

Seanybiker- I'm actually more annoyed at the grown men in their 20's, 30's and 40's who recruited this boy, put the gun in his hands and "ordered" him to kill. He is of coarse a free thinking human being and is responsible for what he does....... but he's a boy manipulated by grown men.

He's in court this morning in Lisburn magistrates court, 4 others being questioned still.
    Well yeah I agree with ya there but in all fairness at 17 he knows whats right or wrong. He is probably one of those young chaps who thinks its cool do follow prats like he does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Innocent until proven guilty. Numerous sources have suggested that they could have the wrong person. I could be wrong, but I sincerely hope I'm not. 17 year olds should be out playing soccer, or beating up Mairt in judo - and not shooting PSNI officers for a deluded cause.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Will probably get himself a nice boyfriend and settle down in there. He will be punished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

My heart goes out to this young man,only seventeen year old,as a republican I respect his conviction and dedication,and I wish him the best,regardless of his crime,he is a political prisoner and should be treated as such,but at the same time this is not a time to be shooting policemen,and the blame lies with the CIRA,a mini micro group with no support or mandate to perform such actions,this young mans life is ruined because of these dinosaurs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I don't think a 17 year old went off and did this out of his own steam.

WindSock wrote: »
    I don't think a 17 year old went off and did this out of his own steam.

He was obviously an impressionable young man wiith good intentions living under occupation and wanting to do something about it,but got involved with a gang of amatuers with no mandate

RaverRo808 wrote: »
    My heart goes out to this young man,only seventeen year old,as a republican I respect his conviction and dedication,and I wish him the best,regardless of his crime,he is a political prisoner and should be treated as such,but at the same time this is not a time to be shooting policemen,and the blame lies with the CIRA,a mini micro group with no support or mandate to perform such actions,this young mans life is ruined because of these dinosaurs

I am also a republican, but I don't support attacks on officers of the PSNI.. Especially not when we are attempting to devolve policing & justice.

I will reserve judgement on this chap until more information is released. I hope he is not being used as a scapegoat. 17 is way too young to be getting involved in this shíte.

Most 17 year old republicans I know are out getting involved in community projects, like anti-suicide campaigns, or education campaigns.. Not shooting police officers! If he is guilty, he was seriously misguided - and that should rest heavily of those who lured him into their outdated campaign which has little to no support from the Irish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Berty wrote: »

You have to be 17 to join the Irish army and given a gun so he was kind of the ripe age for joining a different army(of sorts).

Good point. You only need to be 17 to kill in the name of the state. Kids killing kids has been going on in Palastine for years and there's never much uproar about it. Way of the cruel world :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Northern Ireland needs a police force, they are making great strides towards a fair and inclusive Police service and you are trying to claim that this lad was justified in killing an officer? Sorry, but how does that make you any different to the scum who sent him out to kill in the first place?

political prisoner my arse.

they are making great strides towards a fair and inclusive Police service

You should reserve that comment until policing is devolved.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

My heart goes out to this young man,only seventeen year old,as a republican I respect his conviction and dedication

Are you taking the piss?
    He is a 17 year old child who was brainwashed by some cowardly scumbag who got him to do his dirty work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

My heart goes out to this young man,only seventeen year old,as a republican I respect his conviction and dedication,and I wish him the best,regardless of his crime,he is a political prisoner and should be treated as such
    No, he's not. He's a murdering scum bag* who murdered an innocent man for no other reason than he's a murdering scum bag

*assuming he did it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Unbelievable. Where were the parents!

He was obviously an impressionable young man wiith good intentions living under occupation and wanting to do something about it,but got involved with a gang of amatuers with no mandate

There is no one on this island living under occupation. The people in northern Ireland are free to vote in elections and are free to vote out the british. If the majority of the people in the north want it that is.

When you pick up a gun because your group is in the minority so you can't win a referendum it's not called freedom fighting, it's called terrorism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Madness altogether. 17??? This is the front line of RIRA's attempted disruption of the peace process?? 17?????
    dlofnep wrote: »
    Innocent until proven guilty. Numerous sources have suggested that they could have the wrong person. I could be wrong, but I sincerely hope I'm not. 17 year olds should be out playing soccer, or beating up Mairt in judo - and not shooting PSNI officers for a deluded cause.

Scapegoat possibility alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

He was obviously an impressionable young man wiith good intentions living under occupation
    Jesus Christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

When I heard someone involved in this was only 17 - I immediately thought of suicide bombers and how they brainwash young men from an early age. It's really so similar. You're 17 - a bit angry with the world (the suicide rate amongst young men in NI is very high - clearly a lot of them are very disillusioned), wanting to be a man and a grown up and take charge of their life and therfore ripe for some oul fella to come along and tell you he's got a great solution and you'll be fighting for a cause.

It also made me thinkg of when we get trolls on boards who like to say "up the ra" and stir up threads with republicanism because they think it's cool. They're nearly always teenage boys.

A 17 year old wouldn't remember much of the troubles either - whereas most men in their late twenties and thirties but not want to go back to that way of life.

It's very sad. - for all involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

You should reserve that comment until policing is devolved.

Why? they are doing the right thing, they have the support of the major Unionist and Nationalist parties in stormont.

How does someone ambushing a police officer answering a call for help from a member of the public become political?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Grow up, its not 1970 any more. He's not a political prisoner, he's a suspect in a murder case. If convicted thats how he should be treated - as a murderer.
    He's old enough to make up his own mind, he is one of those dinosaurs you mention.

Why? they are doing the right thing, they have the support of the major Unionist and Nationalist parties in stormont.

Incorrect. "Devolved policing" however has support. Sinn Féin and the larger nationalist community is waiting for these powers to be transferred for accountable policing.
    How does someone ambushing a police officer answering a call for help from a member of the public become political?

Where did I say otherwise? You stated "they are making great strides towards a fair and inclusive Police service" - I was responding to that statement. Strides will not be made until policing is devolved. There is NOT a fair and inclusive police service in the north, and won't be until policing & justice is devolved. You would be naive to think otherwise.

Zzippy wrote: »
    Grow up, its not 1970 any more. He's not a political prisoner, he's a suspect in a murder case. If convicted thats how he should be treated - as a murderer.
    He's old enough to make up his own mind, he is one of those dinosaurs you mention.

There will never be peace on this Ireland aslong as Britain maintain a presence here,there will always be death,always be unrest,always be violence until they withdraw their illegal presence on this island,you can lock up as many republicans as you want,but with every one that is imprisoned,there will be ten more to take his or her place,there will always be people who will fight to end British occupation,'everyone has their part to play' as Bobby Sands once said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

17 is plenty old to be convicted as an adult in my book. The amount of little toe rags walking around like untouchables because they haven't turned 18 yet is sickening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

I'd agree. I'm seventeen and I've got the cop on to know.

There will never be peace on this Ireland aslong as Britain maintain a presence here,there will always be death,always be unrest,always be violence until they withdraw their illegal presence on this island,you can lock up as many republicans as you want,but with every one that is imprisoned,there will be ten more to take his or her place,there will always be people who will fight to end British occupation,'everyone has their part to play' as Bobby Sands once said

There will never be peace on this Island because some so-called Republicans are still intent in bringing war back to the streets of Ireland.

The majority of the Irish people agreed to the terms of the Good Friday Agreement, in which we will aim for whatever means peacefully.

Now, I want Irish Unity as much as the next guy. But I don't want to see some father killed because some child was deluded into thinking that killing him, will somehow bring about Irish Unity and will remove British presence from Ireland.

Ireland was united, but not in the way you would have liked. It was united in condemning the murder of a police-officer who was there to assist the community. Now, I'm not a supporter of the current state of the PSNI, and won't fully advocate it until policing is devolved.. But by killing a police officer, you create a situation which could bring large scale british troops back onto the soil of Ireland. That is counter-productive.

This lad has not been found guilty of anything, so I won't judge him. But if he did do it, then those who put him up to it should be ashamed of themselves.

I don't like the British presence in Ireland, but I accept the reality of the situation and that we must try and work together peacefully, and try and get a better understanding of each other's ideologies.

Killing a police officer, with young children does not advance a 32 county Irish republic. Some people on here might not agree with all of my views, but I think they would agree with the essence of what I've just said - whether they be nationalist, unionist or status quo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Berty wrote: »

There's a few things wrong with this statement.

First off a 17yr must have parental permission to apply to the Irish Defence Forces.

Your comparing a legitimate standing army dedicated to protecting this country and its constitution from threats both internal and external, to a terrorist organisation dedicated to destroying us.

We don't brain wash children, or adults for that matter, to murder.

Your statement is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

if you can teach a 8 year old how to rebuild a ak-47 ( preffered weapon of the terrorist ) ... he's 17, imagine how much you can teach influence him...

get the kids while their young, your work is done they'll do it for you...

lasy terrorists :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

he new what he was getting into, I have zero, care or understanding for the toe rag, may he rot in jail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

he new what he was getting into, I have zero, care or understanding for the toe rag, may he rot in jail.

what if it wasnt actually him though... :confused:

S.I.R wrote: »
    what if it wasnt actually him though... :confused:

make a example of him.....let them know what happens when you join such a group..

So much for innocent until proven guilty? Guildford 4 ring a bell? I'm not saying the lad is innocent - But we should not jump to conclusions until we have solid evidence to state otherwise.

make a example of him.....

And if the British leave and the island is "united" then what do you think the Loyalists will make of that? Think they'll just go along with it?

So much for innocent until proven guilty? Guildford 4 ring a bell? I'm not saying the lad is innocent - But we should not jump to conclusions until we have solid evidence to state otherwise.

He's been charged with it as far as I see i thats guilty the little punk is probably proud of it to :rolleyes:....... Probably did it to have rep oh im dangerous i shot a police officer... who was doing his job.
    if you watched an interveiw there on tv when they had kid similer age shareing the same veiw's.....

it boil's my piss to see that atitude

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

It is 2009 mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

well he'll be easily replaced, I'm sure there's loads of other kids looking to get their hands on a gun.

yeah and people like you need your head examined. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Its time to move on from this. I'm an irish republican who grew up in Andersonstown in West belfast during the 70's and it wasn't pleasant. Constant rioting, bomb alerts, having adolesecent british soldiers verbally abuse you while aiming their their guns at you on the way to school...not pleasant at all. Through the armed campaign we have achieved what was unthinkable only 30+ years ago. In 1974 they wouldn't even accept the SDLP in government now we have Sinn Fein. A massive step forward in a relatively short space of time.

Everyone indeed has their part to play however now it should be a purely democratic part.

He's been charged with it as far as I see i thats guilty the little punk is probably proud of it to :rolleyes:....... Probably did it to have rep oh im dangerous i shot a police officer... who was doing his job.
    if you watched an interveiw there on tv when they had kid similer age shareing the same veiw's.....

it boil's my piss to see that atitude

Well, thankfully - we have "courts" to decide these things, and not people like you. If the lad is guilty, then by all means - let him serve his time. But nobody is guilty until found so.

What part of
    "There is no one on this island living under occupation. The people in northern Ireland are free to vote in elections and are free to vote out the british. If the majority of the people in the north want it that is
    do you not understand?

The people of the republic, the people of the north and the people of britain have rejected your backward ideology. The majority of the people living in the north of Ireland are quite happy to continue to be members of the UK and by forcing your will on them are you not as bad as you claim the british are?