Jade Goody is dead (discussion thread)

• 22-03-2009 11:35PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭

Jade Goody has passed on, what are people's thoughts on her now,d oes anyone think any differently now that she's dead?

There is already a condolence thread for her, this is more for general discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Does this mean i can start a john martin disscusion thread to ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I will point out now that over the top remarks will be deleted.
    Over the top will be determined at my discretion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

I think there should be threads on more worthy topics.
    People are starving in Africa, yet we're talking about a single woman dying of cancer. Go figure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I didn't even know. I feel really bad for her and her children. I know she was a bit mouthy and that, but she was only a year older than myself and it's always sad to see someone so young taken away, especially with children that depend on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Feel sorry for her family. Nothing else. Cancer needs a better spokeperson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

People are starving in Africa, yet we're talking about a single woman dying of cancer. Go figure.

Nothing stopping you from starting topics on more worthy threads.

Go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Horsefumbler

ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

I've a feeling there'll be a lot of people posting here, claiming they couldn't care less about her and giving out about all the undue attention she's receiving ... and yet by reading and replying to the thread, they're showing their interest in her, and giving her more attention :confused:

When she was alive, before she was ill, I thought she was a bit of an eejit.

When she got sick, I felt very sorry for her - no one deserves cancer and all the crap that goes with it. I have to admit that at first I thought she was probably exaggerating the severity of her illness.

Now she's dead, I feel awful for her poor kids. I also feel awful for the families bereaved by the death of any family member - it happens everyday, Jade doesn't deserve more sympathy or respect than anyone else, but she certainly doesn't deserve less either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭amcalester

Adiboo wrote: »
    Feel sorry for her family. Nothing else. Cancer needs a better spokeperson.

But surely any spokesperson is better than none?

If nothing else she has helped to highlight an issue that affects millions and for that she should be commended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Dont think much of her tbh.That dosent mean I was dancing around the living room when she died.The whole media exploitation,on their part,not hers really annoyed me.

All the papers that where calling her a fat racist cow are now calling her a queen:mad:

On her part,who wouldent milk everything out of it for the better for her kids.

Still dont like her because she should have never been famous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I didn't pass any remarks of her when she was alive. Of course people will say that she's no different than the 1,000 other people that die of cancer each day, but 1 person is a tragedy, 1,000 people is a statistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Phototoxin

Jade Goody ?
    Why is she important ? Did she cure AIDs or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

She was the chav's Diana!

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I'm fairly surprised by the media attention she's gotten. She hasn't really contributed anything to society.

I'm not happy she's dead but neither am I devestated. Many people die from cancer and Jade is not the first.

Granted more people are having smear tests done but that's a byproduct of her death rather than any targeted efforts on her part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

amcalester wrote: »
    But surely any spokesperson is better than none?

If nothing else she has helped to highlight an issue that affects millions and for that she should be commended.

In fairness I think the majority of people know about cancer,its not a new illness tbh....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I did start an Africa related thread here last week but as mentioned , probably a bit to lengthy for some
    or perhaps like other subjects ,the starving millions of Africa has being debated before lots of times already .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

latchyco wrote: »
    I did start an Africa related thread here last week but as mentioned , probably a bit to lengthy for some
    or perhaps like other subjects ,the starving millions of Africa has being debated before lots of times already .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I never cared for her. I still don't but it is sad to see young children lose their mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

latchyco wrote: »

Wait a minute....Jade was African?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

hmm... i think its a sad thing for anyone to die..

However, i thought the way her death was handled was quite sick, such a heavy media involvement and all.

Like I know, she was milking it for her kids and all, but there are people dying of cancer all the time, and they are not given the oppurtunity to build up nest egg for their kids through media attention.

I feel sorry for the kids being left with that twat of a husband, and her mam, who while maybe having the best intentions isnt really the full shilling.

Hopefully her passing will raise awareness of cancer, but as someone said above, that wasnt really anything to do with Jade personally, just the media limelight she was lucky enough to be in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

My thought's are the same.

I thought her last few weeks in the limelight was her oppurtunity to show people she was this great person who was fighting cancer and to wipe away the memories of her being a racist and the nations most hated figure two years ago. It wasnt for generating money for the future of her children. She has/had plenty of money for her kids to rely on for most of their lifetime. My parents didnt have millions when they brought me up. There will be no financial strain there.

A person in my family had cancer so I know what it can be like for her family. It will be a sad time and my thought go out to them. One positive thing about the whole Jade Goody saga was that it has brought awareness to most of the population of hows dangerous cancer is and to encourage people to take regular scans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭amcalester

In fairness I think the majority of people know about cancer,its not a new illness tbh....

True but how many people think to get themselves checked. Maybe a few more will now.

Should have broken it up and used paragraphs :pac:

amcalester wrote: »
    True but how many people think to get themselves checked. Maybe a few more will now.
    Maybe if the law is changed more younger people will

PK2008 wrote: »
    Wait a minute....Jade was African?
    You either haven't being following the thread or the response I gave to the person who mentioned Africa in his / her post :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I didn't want to spoil the other thread but I think the whole circus boils down to Max Clifford being a horrible manipulative cnut.

I doubt that woman had an iota of a clue that she was signing away her soul.

I hope she was comfortable when her time came and I hope the rest of her family can resist the big bucks that terrible prick will offer to piss all over whatever kind of legacy she has left.

Bless her Lord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

I don't give a damn about Jade Goody one way or the other. This didn't effect my day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

I don't see how anyone can say anything negative about her, yes she was famous for being famous, and there was that whole racism row which was just her being stupid really, but she's raised a load of awareness for cervical cancer

However I'm just a tad curious as to why she hasn't donated any money to charity, cause she's made well over a million pound with all the deals she's got going on, and it's not like she was poor to begin with :\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Dont think much of her tbh.That dosent mean I was dancing around the living room when she died.The whole media exploitation,on their part,not hers really annoyed me.

All the papers that where calling her a fat racist cow are now calling her a queen:mad:

On her part,who wouldent milk everything out of it for the better for her kids.

Still dont like her because she should have never been famous.
    I believe it was pig and not cow.
    I think the sun had her done as Ms Piggy.

PK2008 wrote: »
    She was the chav's Diana!

RIP
    Meh. Diana was a chav herself. She was just born into money and married more of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

I never disliked the girl. Until now.

I feel for her boys being left without their mammy. That can never ever be easy and I cant imagine how they will cope.

I am not sad she had died. I didn't follow any of her wedding tripe nor will I watch any of her funeral on tv either.

what I do feel sorry for is every other young man or woman who lost their battle and got no recognition.

Jade already made her money. Her boys would have been fine. She was greedy goody and thats all.

I don't give a damn about Jade Goody one way or the other. This didn't effect my day.
    So why post about her at all so ? I will tell you why .Because like a lot of other posters who said similar as yourself ie ' I couldn't give a damm ' ( but I will talk about her otherwise ) she is the main topic of today and was a serious topic of the last few weeks . Tomorrow , or in a few days time , something or somebody else will become topic of the day /week .