WTF - John Carthy tribunal cost over €20m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

irish_bob wrote: »
    are you in medicine

yes. i am a psychiatrist.

so i am extremely familiar with the mental health act and the procedures for arranging assessments outlined therein.

as i described above, it is common for gardai to arrange for someone to be seen if they have concerns about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Fantastic to see compensation paid to the family of a man who was shot because he was a bit simple and had gone off the rails (He never shot at the police as some have already pointed out). One of the most disgusting acts of police brutality ever seen in this country. When they're not pinning murders on people, they're actually murdering people. Scum

Well I for one am glad he's dead and not a member of AGS.

Attitudes like yours will have a member of the Defence Forces or An Garda Síochána murdered in this country.

As I said earlier, god forbid I'm in a similar situation (I'm routinely armed in the course of my duty) whereby some crack pot is a threat to my life (or the life of my comrades) I don't want a member of my unit hessitate in taking action because of the fear of a tribunal brought against us, with the result that I or one of the lads are murdered.

But then, you might find justification for our murder and bend over backwards making excuses for the my killer.

An Garda Síochána "scum", for a Mod of a Maths forum I'd have thought you would be an intelligent person - stop posting stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭dolby

Fantastic to see compensation paid to the family of a man who was shot because he was a bit simple and had gone off the rails (He never shot at the police as some have already pointed out). One of the most disgusting acts of police brutality ever seen in this country. When they're not pinning murders on people, they're actually murdering people. Scum

What would you think would have happend in any other country? it would have been a job well done, and €20mil spent on real problems. If a person has a firearm and endangers any person in the State, should get a bullet.

Your pure scum hopefully you will never need Gardai when you have a serious problem because it would waste der time on the likes of you!! rant over:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Fantastic to see compensation paid to the family of a man who was shot because he was a bit simple and had gone off the rails

... and shot at the police.
    (He never shot at the police as some have already pointed out).

Bollox. There's a police megaphone full of shot that would beg to differ.
    One of the most disgusting acts of police brutality ever seen in this country. When they're not pinning murders on people, they're actually murdering people. Scum

Want some salsa for that chip on your shoulder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

shocking post. would expect better from you to be honest. FBI Independant Investigation - they should have shot earlier, procedures werent followed. that says it all for me really. and anyway, f*ck procedures, if a mad-man has a gun and theres a chance im getting shot, i wouldnt think twice about shooting first. id be thinking about my children, family etc etc.

this country is too PC and living in the past.

want to talk about disgusting acts? im sure people could list off dozens upon dozens of examples that would make this look small fry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

K-9 wrote: »
    I don't think the problem was the shooting, it was how the Guards handled the siege. €20 million and tribunals are an expensive way of finding out though.

I'll just quote this repeatedly in the hope that it'll sink in at some stage.

and again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Yawn. Mentally ill man shot dead by police. And all you can say is, "well done lads". FBI investigation? Wow, a police officer from a country with some of the worst gun crime in the world comes to Ireland and says, in his opinion, he should have been shot earlier. Well, we should probably arm Billy from Mayo, straight out of Templemore with an M16 and have him pick off speeding motorists from a Texaco car park. Then pin the murders on someone from Donegal. No bother! Disgusting to see how little people care about a mentally ill person (a group of people already hugely marginalised and ostracised in this country) being murdered by our joke of a "professional" police force. Why couldn't they have shot him with beanbags? Gassed him? Shot him in the hand? Is it that our wonderful police force possibly didn't have the equipment nor expertise to do any of the above? Of course not, sure the Guards are fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Mairt wrote: »
    Well I for one am glad he's dead and not a member of AGS.

Attitudes like yours will have a member of the Defence Forces or An Garda Síochána murdered in this country.

As I said earlier, god forbid I'm in a similar situation (I'm routinely armed in the course of my duty) whereby some crack pot is a threat to my life (or the life of my comrades) I don't want a member of my unit hessitate in taking action because of the fear of a tribunal brought against us, with the result that I or one of the lads are murdered.

But then, you might find justification for our murder and bend over backwards making excuses for the my killer.

An Garda Síochána "scum", for a Mod of a Maths forum I'd have thought you would be an intelligent person - stop posting stupidity.

I see your point, but to use the example of the Brazilian man shot dead after the London bombings, what do you say to his family?

If there was no accountability for AGS or the defence forces we would effectively be living in a police state.

And im not generalising, as i know that the vast majority of times, AGS and the defence forces do the toughest job in the world without the same tools as other police forces etc, but should be accept the one or two times these things go wrong? No. I understand LR's point and would not want to live in a society where accidental brutality is brushed away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭markpb

Why couldn't they have shot him with beanbags? Gassed him? Shot him in the hand? Is it that our wonderful police force possibly didn't have the equipment nor expertise to do any of the above? Of course not, sure the Guards are fantastic.

The Gardai on the scene can only use the tools their management made available to them. If their superiors or the government decided that bean bags or other less lethal weapons weren't worth the money, there's not much the ERU can do about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

markpb wrote: »
    The Gardai on the scene can only use the tools their management made available to them. If their superiors or the government decided that bean bags or other less lethal weapons weren't worth the money, there's not much the ERU can do about that.

thats pretty much it. there was no problem with the shooting which is what some people are saying here, the issue was with management who just didnt know how to handle the case right. the lads that pulled the trigger only did what they were trained to do, but in reality it should never have gotten that far. once he emerged with a loaded gun, it was only going to end one way.

look, its not nice to see anybody dead, no matter who they are. but we could also be talking about 4/5 dead officers and families missing their fathers also. thats the reality. its a shame, but the topic of this thread is the tribunal and it shouldnt have needed to take place, an internal garda investigation with independant help or else a cap on a tribunal (if they still insisted on one), would have sufficed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Yawn. Mentally ill man shot dead by police. And all you can say is, "well done lads". FBI investigation? Wow, a police officer from a country with some of the worst gun crime in the world comes to Ireland and says, in his opinion, he should have been shot earlier. Well, we should probably arm Billy from Mayo, straight out of Templemore with an M16 and have him pick off speeding motorists from a Texaco car park. Then pin the murders on someone from Donegal. No bother! Disgusting to see how little people care about a mentally ill person (a group of people already hugely marginalised and ostracised in this country) being murdered by our joke of a "professional" police force. Why couldn't they have shot him with beanbags? Gassed him? Shot him in the hand? Is it that our wonderful police force possibly didn't have the equipment nor expertise to do any of the above? Of course not, sure the Guards are fantastic.

It's not the fault of the gardai on the scene what resources or lack there of they have at their disposal. They had to use what they had.

No doubt you're doing your utmost to help change this countries treatment of mentally ill people, you seem very passionate about it. Fair play. Hopefully next time the man / woman will get the treatment they need before anything like this develops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Beanbags? Gas? Hand-shots? When someone who's mentally unstable and has been taking pot-shots at you for the duration of a siege emerges with a loaded shotgun, removes *ONE* cartridge, and closes the shotgun and continues to advance, there is only one recourse, and that is ultimately to shoot him until he is incapacitated and incapable of discharging the weapon and causing harm. Unfortunately, this point tends to coincide with the time the individual ceases to be alive. Taking a hand-shot? Under the high-pressure conditions in place? The first officer put two rounds in his leg, that was a stupid thing to do and could have cost lives. People have a strange delusion that everyone's an expert with firearms and they're extremely easy to use. They're not; certainly not to use with any proficiency at any rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

The Guards were no angels in all this. It didn't help that they left a metally ill man without cigs for the best part of 2 days. Nor was he allowed access to a solicitor. To put it short, they made a balls of the standoff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

so where did this 20 million go - lawyer fees? this f8cking case was a farce from the start and as the FBI official said on the first independant inquiry, they should have shot him earlier.

YEP, probably.
    homerjay wrote:
    that should have been enough, there was no need to take this further.

By further, do you mean his killing? :confused:

New procedures are now there in siege situations and recommendations were made, so mistakes were made in the siege itself. That is one of the few things that are undisputable!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 scooby the dog

both jonn carty,s father and grandfather both died on (holy thursday,s) as did john himself ....
    there was only going to be one outcome from that siege. that was the death of john carty.. in my opinion ....................

stepbar wrote: »
    The Guards were no angels in all this. It didn't help that they left a metally ill man without cigs for the best part of 2 days. Nor was he allowed access to a solicitor. To put it short, they made a balls of the standoff.

No professional would allow a solicitor to visit an obviously armed and dangerous individual.

Look, its very simple.

No matter if he was of sound mind or not, he was armed and posed a threat to the people who look after this public day in, day out.

Should we issue every member of the public a card detailing when, why and where a member of AGS or the Defence Forces can fire ball ammunition?.

The moment someone takes up a weapon they're a threat which should be eliminated ASAP.

Remember the armed raid at the post office in Luck, Co.Dublin when a member of AGS fired on, and killed two armed robbers?.. While the threat to life was every bit as real, except these two were obvious scumbags and one was a nut but the threat to life was comparable IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

No professional would allow a solicitor to visit an obviously armed and dangerous individual.

Eh, the problem wasn't solicitor access, it was his psychiatrist/GP!

Hence the investigation.

Hence the new guidelines which Guards follow.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

N

Remember the armed raid at the post office in Luck, Co.Dublin when a member of AGS fired on, and killed two armed robbers?.. While the threat to life was every bit as real, except these two were obvious scumbags and one was a nut but the threat to life was comparable IMO.

Wouldnt use that as a shining example, they made balls of that job too by all accounts. never occurred to them that the raiders might come in through the back door resulting in a shoot out around the staff. :pac:

why do people mind this guy getting killed?

like seriously, i don't understand why anyone cares that a wanker with a gun got shot.. he deserved it and more for putting gardai lives at risk.

why do people mind this guy getting killed?

It beats the shit outta me too.

The loss of the poor chaps life is a desparately sad thing for his family no doubt, and I do accept that he was ill (never seen a healthy corpse :P ).

But shit, he left the police no alternative but to kill him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

id like to know who actually commissioned the tribunal?! i mean €20 fvcking mill!

the only justifiable reason for a tribunal would have been if he had a water pistol instead of shotgun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

It beats the shit outta me too.

The loss of the poor chaps life is a desparately sad thing for his family no doubt, and I do accept that he was ill (never seen a healthy corpse :P ).

But shit, he left the police no alternative but to kill him.

I can live with him dying, but I'd rather he hadn't I suppose.

I'd assume the thinking is if you have this tribunal now, next time there's a similar situation, there's less likely to be death involved. An assumption obviously. ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I was over in Vincent's hospital on a visit yesterday - I'm sure the people on trollies could have been better served by the €20m. John Carty was a threat to public safety, he didn't drop his weapon - should the guards have let him run amok and kill innocent people? Don't think so I'm afraid. We've got to cop on in this country: there's an attitude against authority (such as teachers) that's even being peddled to kids by their idiot parents. All that happens there is that they then don't see why they should have to obey the guards either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

speaking as someone who is related to a mentally ill person , i can say with confidence that the mentally ill in this country are treated almost too delicatley , it is nion impossible unless you seriously hurt someone to be committed in this country and while as a psychiatricst in here has already stated , the police can arrange for a doctor to see someone they suspect of being a danger to themselves , it rarely results in any concrete action being taken , unless as i said already that the mentally ill person has committed a violent act

long ago, people were put in the big house for often being nothing more than an embarrassment to thier family , the pendelum has completly swung the ( liberal ) other end of the spectrum nowadays , mentally ill people are an extreme burden on society and the familys they come from , i fully sympathise with the guardai on this one , john mc carthy being unhinged like he was could have killed someone whos life was more worth living than his own , he is all likelyhood much better off the way he is now

speaking as someone who is related to a mentally ill person , i can say with confidence that the mentally ill in this country are treated almost too delicatley , it is nion impossible unless you seriously hurt someone to be committed in this country and while as a psychiatricst in here has already stated , the police can arrange for a doctor to see someone they suspect of being a danger to themselves , it rarely results in any concrete action being taken , unless as i said already that the mentally ill person has committed a violent act

long ago, people were put in the big house for often being nothing more than an embarrassment to thier family , the pendelum has completly swung the ( liberal ) other end of the spectrum nowadays , mentally ill people are an extreme burden on society and the familys they come from , i fully sympathise with the guardai on this one , john mc carthy being unhinged like he was could have killed someone whos life was more worth living than his own , he is all likelyhood much better off the way he is now

i have seen you spout this nonsense on another thread in the past.

To say that "it is nion impossible unless you seriously hurt someone to be committed in this country" is inaccurate and misleading.

plenty of people are committed against their will to psychiatric units up and down this country every single day.

the vast majority of them will not ahve committed any crime, and will not have posed a danger to others.

generally speaking, the majority of mentally ill people are more of arisk to themselves (and not just by suicide, btw) than to others.

people can be committed for many different reasons, and to state thet "serious hurt" has to be caused before someone is committed is wildly inaccurate.

it is a relatively straight forward process to commit someone to hospital, if they meet the criteria for doing so.

i deal with it every day of the week, as do hundreds of my colleagues.

i have no idea on what you are basing your statement that if the guards arrange for an assessment it rarely results in any "concrete action" being taken. Again, this is inaccurate.

a lot of involuntary admissions are initiated by the gardai, for a variety of reasons. Not all of the people the gardai bring to a hospital will be detained, certainly. the gardai are not doctors and they are not expected to have medical knowledge. they merely ahve to have a concern for the person in question - they then have a right, indeed a duty, to have them medically assessed, by a GP initially.

you claim to be realted to a mentally ill person - if that is the case, your last paragraph astounds me.

i feel sorry for your relative, because not only do they have to battle against society's stigma against the mentally ill, they clearly have to battle against that same perception in their own family.

mentally ill people cannot, and should not, be just locked away indefinitely.

most people with mental illness have relapses of illness, when they become acutely unwell for a period, and then return to relative good health in between these periods.

when unwell, they can certainly pose a risk to others. however, as i have already said, the greater risk is generally to themselves.

the vast majority of homicides in this country are not perpetrated by the mentally ill. they account for about 3% of all homicides. sure, the media will latch on to that 3% though, and will print sensationalist and emotive headlines "crazed killer.... psycho gunman..... lunatic at large" etc etc etc.
    that crap in the media does nothing for the public perception and leads to people making frankly ill-informed judgements.

you cannot lock people up because they "might" be a risk to someone else at some unknown point in the future. if you do that, you may as well lock up everyone, because i have news for you, we all have the potential to become mentally ill. it could happen you, me or anyone elso tomorrow.

your final sentence, quite frankly, disgusts me.

who are you, and who are any of us, to decide that one person's life is "more worth living" than anyone else's? thats a very dangerous slippery slope to be starting on.

as i have already said, i feel sorry for your relative, and i hope the rest of your family are more tolerant and supportive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

That man should have never been shot. The whole incident could have been avoided if the Gardai had been better trained to deal with this kind of situation - sure, be prepared to execute a military-style tactical operation to ensure the safety of the public. This was done easily enough as the house was in a rural area and not highly populated or near a main or major road and the house was isolated fairly easily.

The next part is not so easy. It's about making sure that John Carthy's safety was paramount, about getting a skilled negotiator to speak to John, to calm him and allay his fears. AFAIK the Gardai didn't do this. The man was sick and needed care, not a ****ing SWAT team outside his house. I'm not saying run to him with a big blanket, but the situation should have never gotten that bad in the first place. If we had actually had decent Social Services then maybe John would have gotten the care and attention he deserved instead of becoming isolated and increasingly depressed and crazed.

It's pissing me off that people are giving out that 20 million was spent on the Tribunal. Everday this Gov't willfully wastes your money but you only give out when you see big headlines like this in the Sun. This was a serious incident with serious implications for the value of justice in this country. You just want something to gripe about.

sam34 wrote: »
    i have seen you spout this nonsense on another thread in the past.

To say that "it is nion impossible unless you seriously hurt someone to be committed in this country" is inaccurate and misleading.

plenty of people are committed against their will to psychiatric units up and down this country every single day.

the vast majority of them will not ahve committed any crime, and will not have posed a danger to others.

generally speaking, the majority of mentally ill people are more of arisk to themselves (and not just by suicide, btw) than to others.

people can be committed for many different reasons, and to state thet "serious hurt" has to be caused before someone is committed is wildly inaccurate.

it is a relatively straight forward process to commit someone to hospital, if they meet the criteria for doing so.

i deal with it every day of the week, as do hundreds of my colleagues.

i have no idea on what you are basing your statement that if the guards arrange for an assessment it rarely results in any "concrete action" being taken. Again, this is inaccurate.

a lot of involuntary admissions are initiated by the gardai, for a variety of reasons. Not all of the people the gardai bring to a hospital will be detained, certainly. the gardai are not doctors and they are not expected to have medical knowledge. they merely ahve to have a concern for the person in question - they then have a right, indeed a duty, to have them medically assessed, by a GP initially.

you claim to be realted to a mentally ill person - if that is the case, your last paragraph astounds me.

i feel sorry for your relative, because not only do they have to battle against society's stigma against the mentally ill, they clearly have to battle against that same perception in their own family.

mentally ill people cannot, and should not, be just locked away indefinitely.

most people with mental illness have relapses of illness, when they become acutely unwell for a period, and then return to relative good health in between these periods.

when unwell, they can certainly pose a risk to others. however, as i have already said, the greater risk is generally to themselves.

the vast majority of homicides in this country are not perpetrated by the mentally ill. they account for about 3% of all homicides. sure, the media will latch on to that 3% though, and will print sensationalist and emotive headlines "crazed killer.... psycho gunman..... lunatic at large" etc etc etc.
    that crap in the media does nothing for the public perception and leads to people making frankly ill-informed judgements.

you cannot lock people up because they "might" be a risk to someone else at some unknown point in the future. if you do that, you may as well lock up everyone, because i have news for you, we all have the potential to become mentally ill. it could happen you, me or anyone elso tomorrow.

your final sentence, quite frankly, disgusts me.

who are you, and who are any of us, to decide that one person's life is "more worth living" than anyone else's? thats a very dangerous slippery slope to be starting on.

as i have already said, i feel sorry for your relative, and i hope the rest of your family are more tolerant and supportive.

my post wasnt directed at you , i didnt quote one of your posts

i dont care what you think , your not the 1st judgemental person ive ever met and you wont be the last

i stand by what i said , people who are not right are treated too sensitivley in this country nowadays

if brendan o donnell had been incarcerated , the mother and child and the local priests he murdered would still be with us , their was a guy from the midlands who was stabbed 90 times to death because the psycho who killed him thought he was the devil , its wooly liberalism legislation that allows theese killings to happen , no one is talking about locking up normal people but thier needs to be earlier intervention with people who are not all there, im not talking about people with depression , some people are simply born not right or they suffer brain injurys which result in them being permanently affected , if its a case of institutionalising a tiny minority of the population so as to protect the common good , so be it

my post wasnt directed at you , i didnt quote one of your posts

i dont care what you think , your not the 1st judgemental person ive ever met and you wont be the last

i stand by what i said , people who are not right are treated too sensitivley in this country nowadays
    while as a psychiatricst in here has already stated , the police can arrange for a doctor to see someone they suspect of being a danger to themselves

firstly, i never claimed that your post was directed at me.:confused:

secondly, while you didnt quote me directly, you made reference to a previous post of mine on this thread. (highlighted above for you)

thirdly, LOL at you calling me judgemental, when you clearly have such a narrow-mimded and stigmatising attitude towards mental illness, despite claiming to have a family member affected.

fourthly, you seem to be advocating locking up permanently those people who are ill. throwing away the key, in effect.

this is a gross infringement of peoples human rights and in blatant contravention of the european charter of human rights.

see, the mentally ill are people too, remember?

they have rights like you and me.

you cannot lock people up permanently because they *might* at some stage pose a risk to someone.

what do you use to measure that potential risk?

as i already pointed out, everyone has the potential to become mentally ill... should we lock everyone up preemptively??

or should we lock up all males between the ages of 17 to 25, because thats when most schizophrenic illnesses develop in young males?

or maybe we should lock up young male drivers - i mean, they're involved in a lot of fatal road traffic accidents, so therefore they are a danger on the roads to the general population..... lets lock them up while we're at it, shall we?

no system, be it the psychiatric service or teh criminal justice system, is 100% foolproof.

there will always, unfortunately, be mistakes made.

there will be cases like the brendan o donnell one, where you can look back and see that services might have been able to intervene and might have been able to prevent the tragic outcome.

but at the end of teh day, the fact remains that the vast majority of mentally ill people do not pose a risk to society at large.

you cannot deprive a large group of people of their liberty indefinitely because a small portion of them may at some stage pose some risk.

it is not feasible.

and it is not right.

sam34 wrote: »
    firstly, i never claimed that your post was directed at me.:confused:

secondly, while you didnt quote me directly, you made reference to a previous post of mine on this thread. (highlighted above for you)

thirdly, LOL at you calling me judgemental, when you clearly have such a narrow-mimded and stigmatising attitude towards mental illness, despite claiming to have a family member affected.

fourthly, you seem to be advocating locking up permanently those people who are ill. throwing away the key, in effect.

this is a gross infringement of peoples human rights and in blatant contravention of the european charter of human rights.

see, the mentally ill are people too, remember?

they have rights like you and me.

you cannot lock people up permanently because they *might* at some stage pose a risk to someone.

what do you use to measure that potential risk?

as i already pointed out, everyone has the potential to become mentally ill... should we lock everyone up preemptively??

or should we lock up all males between the ages of 17 to 25, because thats when most schizophrenic illnesses develop in young males?

or maybe we should lock up young male drivers - i mean, they're involved in a lot of fatal road traffic accidents, so therefore they are a danger on the roads to the general population..... lets lock them up while we're at it, shall we?

no system, be it the psychiatric service or teh criminal justice system, is 100% foolproof.

there will always, unfortunately, be mistakes made.

there will be cases like the brendan o donnell one, where you can look back and see that services might have been able to intervene and might have been able to prevent the tragic outcome.

but at the end of teh day, the fact remains that the vast majority of mentally ill people do not pose a risk to society at large.

you cannot deprive a large group of people of their liberty indefinitely because a small portion of them may at some stage pose some risk.

it is not feasible.

and it is not right.

you branded me as being narrow minded and the fact that you felt sorry for relatives of mine for being related to me , il retain my view that your judgemental if thats ok
    i made no comment on you personally at any time , i played the ball as they say , not the man unlike you

ive no wish to continue a game with a dirty player