Many girls claim that the bodybuilder look isn't attractive...really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I can respect the effort that went into becoming that heavily muscled, but it's not attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

agree with kirby on this one... A+ for effort... just woldnt find them attractive

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭me_right_one

I'm with op on this. I cannot understand why women dont find this attractive. WHY GIRLS?????

• Subscribers Posts: 17,114 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Muscular strength is a sign of dominance and power, both traits which are attractive for girls.

eh? rubbish, muscular strength is a sign of muscular strength. Its not a sign or dominance or power, it's a sign of spending plenty of time in the gym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Yuck!!!!!!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

No No No a thousand times no.

Its just not natural. It's horrible. Much prefer a bit of real-bloke-belly-wobble than .... than a mahogany table. Tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Zippie84

because its UGLY....!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Nope, not for me. Fair play to them but I like my men with less meat on them. Hate big arms, legs.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭honey79

no i couldn't, don't find this look a bit attractive and think most men with body like that spend too much time looking in the mirror and vanity is not attractive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I doubt any women would find a guy who got as big as possible without steroids or inflating their muscles unattractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Thing is not everybody can have that type body ,assuming they want it in the first place .So they settle for being in the majority ie , fat, thin, pudgy, slim, average, etc which is acceptable to the majority of boths sexs .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Greg Valentino?! You're using Greg Valentino (last video) to strengthen your argument? :confused:

As for muscular strength (dominance and power); this guy would wipe the floor with your BBers.
    Why don't women want a piece (and there is plenty to go around) of that ass? :p

lewisSQ_large.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

latchyco wrote: »
    Thing is not everybody can have that type body ,assuming they want it in the first place ..

i suppose this isnt the place but thats not true at all see the fitness forum for plenty of debate about genetics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

I'm with op on this. I cannot understand why women dont find this attractive. WHY GIRLS?????

I'm sorry -- but do you find those men attractive?

Being athletic and muscular is one thing, but being so big that your head looks out of proportion to the rest of your body just looks odd. I mean, in the last video, the guy looks as if there are bricks under his skin! As someone already said, you've got to admire the discipline involved, but it definitely doesn't turn me on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭clones1980

I personally think its gross. One of exes went a bit ott and it was such a turn off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Muscular strength is a sign of dominance and power, both traits which are attractive for girls. That in mind, I cannot understand why so many girls claim that they don't find heavily muscled men attractive. Do you think any of these men are attractive?

yeah man lets juice, you sound like bruice from grand thaft auto :pac:

why arnt women who build them self up attractive......... ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Nope doesnt do it for me, altho I do like a man with strong arms! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭KieranKennedy

The reality of the situation is that many women find it very attractive, but they realise, themselves being pretty average looking, that they could never hope to be involved with a man like that, so rather than admit this to themselves they deny that they would even want these type of men in the first place, thus appearing as if they are not put out by the fact that they cannot get these men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Charcoal

God no, a real turn off. I would find a toned athletic body like david beckham or brad Pitt the most attractive. In real terms I would find a couch potato with a beer belly & questionable personnel hygiene standards more attractive. I would totally avoid that type.

Edit: Is it true that steroids shrink the ahm, meat and two veg down to nothing or is that urban myth?

The reality of the situation is that many women find it very attractive, but they realise, themselves being pretty average looking, that they could never hope to be involved with a man like that, so rather than admit this to themselves they deny that they would even want these type of men in the first place, thus appearing as if they are not put out by the fact that they cannot get these men

Eh no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

PeakOutput wrote: »
    i suppose this isnt the place but thats not true at all see the fitness forum for plenty of debate about genetics
    Yeah fair enough but I think it can be a lot harder for some to obtain that
    ' desirable body ' look .Like if you look at professional footballers who are mainly on the meaty ,muscular , but slim side , with exceptions like the Wayne rooneys and Paul Gascoignes who will struggle to keep the weight off as they get older just as others struggle to gain weight. .Of course pure lazy people will never attain that body .Others will try but but their efforts may be in vain .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭fasterkitten

Yuk! It's quite repulsive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,307 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Lollers. You'll be popular around here. You come in and ask their opinions and then tell them no, that's not their (real) opinion.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

You could use that argument to justify anything, though. Maybe most women secretly find me attractive but since they could never hope to attain me cause of my average looks, they say that they don't find me attractive?:pac:

And the "reality of the situation" is in actual fact, your opinion. Nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

taconnol wrote: »

They look like trannys ewww

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

there ugly as hell and i wouldnt go near one....:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Not in the slightest bit attractive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Silverfish wrote: »
    No No No a thousand times no.

Its just not natural. It's horrible. Much prefer a bit of real-bloke-belly-wobble than .... than a mahogany table. Tbh.

Hmm...While I believe you are perfectly entitled to personal opinions of what is attractive, calling those guys (with the exception of Valentino, the last vid) not natural is a little strong. I'm not going to put money on it but the first three guys don't look like they are on any drugs, therefore they are natural. Also you can still get bodybuilders with a belly wobble;

lee-priest-off.jpg
    Lee priest in full bulk mode. Those guys only look that lean and "mahogany" for a competition.

Lol you just sound bitter, assuming you've actually competed in bodybuilding. Otherwise you sound like a bit of a troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭fionnmar

meh..wouldnt have any truc with those bodybuidlers. Real men show their real men qualities in other ways. Strength of character, personality. Sometimes, physical vulnerability is very attractive, for example I know someone who is crosseyed and he is so damn attractive, just funny and down to earth, thats what cuts it. feck muscles.