Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Many girls claim that the bodybuilder look isn't attractive...really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I can respect the effort that went into becoming that heavily muscled, but it's not attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

agree with kirby on this one... A+ for effort... just woldnt find them attractive

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

I'm with op on this. I cannot understand why women dont find this attractive. WHY GIRLS?????

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Muscular strength is a sign of dominance and power, both traits which are attractive for girls.

eh? rubbish, muscular strength is a sign of muscular strength. Its not a sign or dominance or power, it's a sign of spending plenty of time in the gym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Yuck!!!!!!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

No No No a thousand times no.

Its just not natural. It's horrible. Much prefer a bit of real-bloke-belly-wobble than .... than a mahogany table. Tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Zippie84

because its UGLY....!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Nope, not for me. Fair play to them but I like my men with less meat on them. Hate big arms, legs.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭honey79

no i couldn't, don't find this look a bit attractive and think most men with body like that spend too much time looking in the mirror and vanity is not attractive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I doubt any women would find a guy who got as big as possible without steroids or inflating their muscles unattractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Thing is not everybody can have that type body ,assuming they want it in the first place .So they settle for being in the majority ie , fat, thin, pudgy, slim, average, etc which is acceptable to the majority of boths sexs .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Greg Valentino?! You're using Greg Valentino (last video) to strengthen your argument? :confused:

As for muscular strength (dominance and power); this guy would wipe the floor with your BBers.
    Why don't women want a piece (and there is plenty to go around) of that ass? :p

lewisSQ_large.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

latchyco wrote: »
    Thing is not everybody can have that type body ,assuming they want it in the first place ..

i suppose this isnt the place but thats not true at all see the fitness forum for plenty of debate about genetics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

I'm with op on this. I cannot understand why women dont find this attractive. WHY GIRLS?????

I'm sorry -- but do you find those men attractive?

Being athletic and muscular is one thing, but being so big that your head looks out of proportion to the rest of your body just looks odd. I mean, in the last video, the guy looks as if there are bricks under his skin! As someone already said, you've got to admire the discipline involved, but it definitely doesn't turn me on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭clones1980

I personally think its gross. One of exes went a bit ott and it was such a turn off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Muscular strength is a sign of dominance and power, both traits which are attractive for girls. That in mind, I cannot understand why so many girls claim that they don't find heavily muscled men attractive. Do you think any of these men are attractive?

yeah man lets juice, you sound like bruice from grand thaft auto :pac:

why arnt women who build them self up attractive......... ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Nope doesnt do it for me, altho I do like a man with strong arms! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭KieranKennedy

The reality of the situation is that many women find it very attractive, but they realise, themselves being pretty average looking, that they could never hope to be involved with a man like that, so rather than admit this to themselves they deny that they would even want these type of men in the first place, thus appearing as if they are not put out by the fact that they cannot get these men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Charcoal

God no, a real turn off. I would find a toned athletic body like david beckham or brad Pitt the most attractive. In real terms I would find a couch potato with a beer belly & questionable personnel hygiene standards more attractive. I would totally avoid that type.

Edit: Is it true that steroids shrink the ahm, meat and two veg down to nothing or is that urban myth?

The reality of the situation is that many women find it very attractive, but they realise, themselves being pretty average looking, that they could never hope to be involved with a man like that, so rather than admit this to themselves they deny that they would even want these type of men in the first place, thus appearing as if they are not put out by the fact that they cannot get these men

Eh no.

PeakOutput wrote: »
    i suppose this isnt the place but thats not true at all see the fitness forum for plenty of debate about genetics
    Yeah fair enough but I think it can be a lot harder for some to obtain that
    ' desirable body ' look .Like if you look at professional footballers who are mainly on the meaty ,muscular , but slim side , with exceptions like the Wayne rooneys and Paul Gascoignes who will struggle to keep the weight off as they get older just as others struggle to gain weight. .Of course pure lazy people will never attain that body .Others will try but but their efforts may be in vain .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭fasterkitten

Yuk! It's quite repulsive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Lollers. You'll be popular around here. You come in and ask their opinions and then tell them no, that's not their (real) opinion.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

You could use that argument to justify anything, though. Maybe most women secretly find me attractive but since they could never hope to attain me cause of my average looks, they say that they don't find me attractive?:pac:

And the "reality of the situation" is in actual fact, your opinion. Nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

taconnol wrote: »

They look like trannys ewww

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

there ugly as hell and i wouldnt go near one....:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Not in the slightest bit attractive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Silverfish wrote: »
    No No No a thousand times no.

Its just not natural. It's horrible. Much prefer a bit of real-bloke-belly-wobble than .... than a mahogany table. Tbh.

Hmm...While I believe you are perfectly entitled to personal opinions of what is attractive, calling those guys (with the exception of Valentino, the last vid) not natural is a little strong. I'm not going to put money on it but the first three guys don't look like they are on any drugs, therefore they are natural. Also you can still get bodybuilders with a belly wobble;

lee-priest-off.jpg
    Lee priest in full bulk mode. Those guys only look that lean and "mahogany" for a competition.

Lol you just sound bitter, assuming you've actually competed in bodybuilding. Otherwise you sound like a bit of a troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭fionnmar

meh..wouldnt have any truc with those bodybuidlers. Real men show their real men qualities in other ways. Strength of character, personality. Sometimes, physical vulnerability is very attractive, for example I know someone who is crosseyed and he is so damn attractive, just funny and down to earth, thats what cuts it. feck muscles.

It's the whole ****ing ' look at me adonis, gods gift to womonhood ' I hate ....when the fact is the guy is probably the biggest asshole in the neighbourhood .

Having said that I am sure their are some really nice body builders with personalitys to go with the body :)

fionnmar wrote: »
    meh..wouldnt have any truc with those bodybuidlers. Real men show their real men qualities in other ways. Strength of character, personality. Sometimes, physical vulnerability is very attractive, for example I know someone who is crosseyed and he is so damn attractive, just funny and down to earth, thats what cuts it. feck muscles.

Body builders can have these so called "real men qualities" too, they just add to it with the ability to tear the average skinny waster limb from limb if it came to the crunch, a masculine, sexy, dominant trait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Nah, they're women, it's empowering for them to take steroids to get to an unnatural size and any man who says they're ugly is a chauvinist and feels threatened by them.

But really, they're just on steroids.

Body builders can have these so called "real men qualities" too, they just add to it with the ability to tear the average skinny waster limb from limb if it came to the crunch, a masculine, sexy, dominant trait.
    Indeed,as long as he's not a psychopath.

Nutting shexy bout dat !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

latchyco wrote: »
    It's the whole ****ing ' look at me adonis, gods gift to womonhood ' I hate ....when the fact is the guy is probably the biggest asshole in the neighbourhood .

Having said that I am sure their are some really nice body builders with personalitys to go with the body :)

Considering you have "look at me adonis, gods gift to womanhood" in quotation marks, I take it this is a statement made by a real person and you forgot to reference who they are? Otherwise you just sound a bit insecure and bitter. You've judged a guy to be the biggest asshole in the neighbourhood, solely on a pass time he enjoys. Well bully for you. Your second statement isn't really enough to hide the judgemental and ill informed tone of the first I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Ew, no way.

I could never hope to be involved with James Marsden or Matthew McConaughey but that doesn't stop me thinking they're fabulous and dreaming about it.

Being that muscular is just horrible. There's nothing in the least bit attractive about it. It's just unnatural. I would much prefer a tubby man than a steroid-filled creature who spends all his time in a gym painting fake tan on himself and getting larger by the day.

The size of a man's heart is one hundred times more important than the size of his muscles.

What people need to remember is that the relative strength difference between a man and a woman is similar that seen when a normal dude is compared to a bodybuilder. That means that compared to body builders, a lot of dudes would be nothing more than frilly underpants wearing girls, and there is not a whole lot sexy about that, now is there? A body builder is a real man, one who can back up his words with strong actions, and who can tear your to shreds if you disagree.

Considering you have "look at me adonis, gods gift to womanhood" in quotation marks, I take it this is a statement made by a real person and you forgot to reference who they are? Otherwise you just sound a bit insecure and bitter. You've judged a guy to be the biggest asshole in the neighbourhood, solely on a pass time he enjoys.
    Sorry but I did say also I am sure their are some nice body builders who have the personality to go with the body .I have met some big muscular guys ,ugly ****ers with the personality of a cockroache. Usually the womon on his arm is a trophy to be shown off .
    Well bully for you. Your second statement isn't really enough to hide the judgemental and ill informed tone of the first I'm afraid.
    What can I say , bitter and insecure dont come into it. The nighbourhood guy in question is a bore . Some guys just want to get big so the can pick on /show off / bully other guys .Suppose it's the same in the animal kigndom .Like the lion will devour the gazelle .

fonpokno wrote: »
    Ew, no way.

I could never hope to be involved with James Marsden or Matthew McConaughey but that doesn't stop me thinking they're fabulous and dreaming about it.

Being that muscular is just horrible. There's nothing in the least bit attractive about it. It's just unnatural. I would much prefer a tubby man than a steroid-filled creature who spends all his time in a gym painting fake tan on himself and getting larger by the day.

The size of a man's heart is one hundred times more important than the size of his muscles.

Really? Cool. The heart is a muscle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭fionnmar

fonpokno wrote: »
    Ew, no way.

Hear hear. My thoughts exactly.

Funny, threads like this make me think just how much for men, attraction is a physical thing, while for women its really the whole package (no pun intended).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Really? Cool. The heart is a muscle

Not a visible one thank Jebus. It's the visible ones that are petrifyingly huge.

Some women will find it attractive, other women wouldn't. I'm one who doesn't find it nice in the least. My best friend loves muscular men.
    That means that compared to body builders, a lot of dudes would be nothing more than frilly underpants wearing girls, and there is not a whole lot sexy about that, now is there?

My boyfriend isn't a bodybuilder by any stretch of the imagination. He carries a little extra weight and he has the most gorgeous body. I could just look at him all day. If he got all muscular I'd be much less attracted to him.
    A body builder is a real man, one who can back up his words with strong actions, and who can tear your to shreds if you disagree.

And you think that's an admirable trait do you?

Also, a body builder is real man? Bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

What people need to remember is that the relative strength difference between a man and a woman is similar that seen when a normal dude is compared to a bodybuilder. That means that compared to body builders, a lot of dudes would be nothing more than frilly underpants wearing girls, and there is not a whole lot sexy about that, now is there? A body builder is a real man, one who can back up his words with strong actions, and who can tear your to shreds if you disagree.

A body builder isn't the toughest of the tough. Try your claim in the self defence and martial arts forum and you'll be laughed out of there. body builders do not equal tough. by any means. something to think about maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

A little bit muscular is nice, but that bodybuilding stuff ...

*shudder
    *ewww
    *nooo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Charcoal

Men bulking up to look like Arnie is similar to women starving themselves to look like Posh - very few men find Posh's body attractive.
    Masculine, sexy, dominant = big muscles? You have a lot to learn a mhac!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

This thread is hilarious.

OP aggrieved at not getting any gash perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Sean_K wrote: »
    OP aggrieved at not getting any gash perhaps?
    Most likely - OP really does sound a little butthurt.

RedXIV wrote: »
    A body builder isn't the toughest of the tough. Try your claim in the self defence and martial arts forum and you'll be laughed out of there. body builders do not equal tough. by any means. something to think about maybe?

Martial arts is about as useful in a real fight as a condom full of rat poison. It is a social club where people go to meet people and get a bit of exercise, until you get up to a seriously, seriously high level, but for the most part that never occurs. If a skinny computer programmer who goes to taekwondo after work two nights a week got into any sort of argument with a body builder the council would be scraping him up off the road with a shovel the next morning thats right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA..............HAHAHAHAHA..........HA:pac:
    And heres me thinkin a real man can turn his head without moving his upperbody
    RedXIV wrote: »
    This man speaks the truth.Thumbs up to you sir:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

So you think women should find violence appealing too? Clearly I've been watching the wrong chick flicks.... Is there a directors cut of Beaches I'm missing out on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

Martial arts is about as useful in a real fight as a condom full of rat poison. It is a social club where people go to meet people and get a bit of exercise, until you get up to a seriously, seriously high level, but for the most part that never occurs. If a skinny computer programmer who goes to taekwondo after work two nights a week got into any sort of argument with a body builder the council would be scraping him up off the road with a shovel the next morning thats right.

sounds like a gym to me