Garda Checkpoint Questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I must remember that one.

Buddy of mine got pulled over by Highway Patrol. Trooper walks up to the window, and before he could say "License and registration", buddy sortof waves his hand a bit and says "These are not the droids you are looking for"

Trooper fell apart laughing. Let him off.

NTM

Well played.

Should have read this one before I posted above !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

Terry wrote: »
    See, that's just being cocky.
    There's really no need for that type of behaviour.

You'll run into the same guy gain and he won't be as nice the next time. Then you'll start complaining that the cops are hassling you and it was all because you decided to be cocky.

Remember, kids. If you're nice to them, they'll be nice to you.

We're well known in the horse business around laois. This guy tailed me for 3 miles and he didn't think to check out my reg? I don't think so. I've been stopped by cops before in my locality and all they wanted to know was who owned the horses and how many we had. Horse thieving is fairly prolific you know. OK I suppose he was doing his job, but like everything else Ireland is full of begrudgers.

I've heard it back from mates that the gardai were asking questions about X's racehorses and how is he able to afford this and that.

I have dealt with the guard that stopped me since that incident and he was sound enough with me. People should not be afraid of the "blue uniform". As ordinary people we have rights too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

Jonty wrote: »
    We're well known in the horse business around laois. This guy tailed me for 3 miles and he didn't think to check out my reg? I don't think so. I've been stopped by cops before in my locality and all they wanted to know was who owned the horses and how many we had. Horse thieving is fairly prolific you know. OK I suppose he was doing his job, but like everything else Ireland is full of begrudgers.

I've heard it back from mates that the gardai were asking questions about X's racehorses and how is he able to afford this and that.

I have dealt with the guard that stopped me since that incident and he was sound enough with me. People should not be afraid of the "blue uniform". As ordinary people we have rights too.

Ireland is also full of people who think they are more important than they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Probably too old for most of ya to remember but I read this to the theme music of "The Lone Ranger"

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Relevant wrote: »

Be careful how you speak of the Moderators around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

People should not be afraid of the "blue uniform". As ordinary people we have rights too.

Absolutely! It is amazing how many people are terrified of the gardai and won't question what they are doing and why.

I got stopped recently by an unmarked car driven by a garda who was dressed like a right langer. When I asked to see his badge he refused (he is obliged to show it if out of uniform). When I left I went straight to his station, reported him to the Sgt and watched as he got boll0cked for not showing his badge :D

My guess is he won't pull that stunt again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

When a Garda is looking around your car, you automatically feel guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

Relevant wrote: »

Did I say I was more important?? I said that we would be well known in the locality, thats all.

Stop trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Did I say I was more important?? I said that we would be well known in the locality, thats all.

Stop trolling.
    Yeah, get off your high horse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

deadwood wrote: »
    Yeah, get off your high horse!

Ba-dum-tish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Just be glad they didn't ask if you've committed any crimes lately!

You're not allowed to lie to a Garda, so that would put you in an awkward situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭DARKIZE

Dave! wrote: »

You're not allowed to lie to a Garda, so that would put you in an awkward situation.

Really ??? Excellent.....lets forget about the Office of Corporate Enforcement investigation and just set up a random checkpoint outside the Anglo-Irish HQ with some burly rozzers from the midlands. Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

DARKIZE wrote: »
    Really ??? Excellent.....lets forget about the Office of Corporate Enforcement investigation and just set up a random checkpoint outside the Anglo-Irish HQ with some burly rozzers from the midlands. Job done.
    They'd use truth avoidance rather than truth evasion.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

If there was less checkpoints on the road people would be moaning that we dont have a large enough garda presence. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭pajodublin

well maybe if they were out solving real crimes instead of harassing innocent folk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

What happens if they stop you at a check point and ask you where you are going/coming from but you can't speak because your crazed girlfriend bit your tongue off and it couldn't be reattached? Who would the first one to break during this awkward silence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭livvy

pajodublin wrote: »
    well maybe if they were out solving real crimes instead of harassing innocent folk

yea...... because real criminals have a big sign over their heads stating that this exactly what they are ! The guards that harass the innocent folk really are just asking for it. Sure they should know immediately by looking at them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

livvy wrote: »
    yea...... because real criminals have a big sign over their heads stating that this exactly what they are !

But they do wear their baseball caps at 90degree angles to their heads