Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Checkpoint Questions

• 11-03-2009 1:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭

Was stopped at a checkpoint earlier and the Garda asked me the usual questions.
    My question is, should they be allowed or are they allowed ask certain questions.
    The ones that im talking about are,
    1: Where are you going?
    2: Where are you coming from?

Just looking for opinions thats why its in AH
    Discuss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

That depends.

Where were you going?

Where were you coming from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

All part of trying to see if you're hiding something, like drink on you, drugs under the seat, body in the boot etc. If you hesitate unduly (and I get the impression they can spot plain old nervous), chances are something's up. Also part of making conversation while they have a quick sniff of the breath to check for possible drink. And to see if you're coherent of course, as suggested below.

Got stopped myself earlier - tax/insurance/NCT etc. Donaghmede by any chance, pajo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Of course they're allowed to ask you. What's the point in stopping someone if they're not going to ask them something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

pajodublin wrote: »

Some blonde, can't remember her name.

They are Stupid questions.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭princess-sprkle

its sort of like when bouncers try to talk to you before letting you in, to make sure you can hold a conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭pajodublin

sdonn_1 wrote: »
    All part of trying to see if you're hiding something, like drink on you, drugs under the seat, body in the boot etc. If you hesitate unduly (and I get the impression they can spot plain old nervous), chances are something's up. Also part of making conversation while they have a quick sniff of the breath to check for possible drink. And to see if you're coherent of course, as suggested below.

Got stopped myself earlier - tax/insurance/NCT etc. Donaghmede by any chance, pajo?

Darndale :D
    on the breath thing i was on a bike so had helmet on so they cant smell the breath for drink and im sure theres a hundered other questions they can ask that are not as silly as the above
    ie: Tax, insurance, NCT(if applicable) licence etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Darndale :D
    on the breath thing i was on a bike so had helmet on so they cant smell the breath for drink and im sure theres a hundered other questions they can ask that are not as silly as the above
    ie: Tax, insurance, NCT(if applicable) licence etc etc

Ah, not a million miles away. Probably the same Guards - some sergeant in a bad mood making the lads miserable tonight :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

They're lonely.

"Where are you going?"
    "Eh... The George.... Then the Boilerhouse..."
    Pause.
    "Can I come?"

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

sdonn_1 wrote: »
    Ah, not a million miles away. Probably the same Guards - some sergeant in a bad mood making the lads miserable tonight :P

no it was a pair of freezin cold rookies, he shivered as he talked to me
    was the same gard that stopped me a few weeks ago in my sisters car and fined me for having no tax disc displayed
    I burst out laughing as i drove away and watched him in my mirror rubbing his hands together :D

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    They're lonely.

"Where are you going?"
    "Eh... The George.... Then the Boilerhouse..."
    Pause.
    "Can I come?"

you just gave me an idea for next time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭dazzerb

how come the guards can stop you anyway without probable cause or reasonable suspicion? Also when they stop you unprovoked for checking tax disk, insurance, drinking, etc.. can they arrest you for some other illegal thing that may be happening in your car that is totally unrelated to why they stop you? Not that I would be doing anything illegal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

dazzerb wrote: »
    how come the guards can stop you anyway without probable cause or reasonable suspicion? Also when they stop you unprovoked for checking tax disk, insurance, drinking, etc.. can they arrest you for some other illegal thing that may be happening in your car that is totally unrelated to why they stop you? Not that I would be doing anything illegal!

Most cars would be stopped at a checkpoint regardless.

I'm sure if they pull you over because of a tax disk and you've a dead prostitute in the back seat you might get done for it. Not sure though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

The woods with some shovels.

The crime scene.

jhegarty wrote: »

The woods with some shovels.

The crime scene.

Space my friend Space

From the house where i bought these drugs.........duh!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

1 Where are you going

boldly going where no man has ever gone before

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

They are checking your speech for slurness.
    Checking your eyes (while talking) to see if they are bloodshot or dilated strangely (drugs in the system too?)
    Are you nervous (if so why?)
    Are you coming from a spot where there was bother tonight night?
    Are you heading unknowingly into a place where it might not be at present a good place to go!
    Checking your tax disc/insurance?

...and finally, they are looking for Gerry Ryan. They heard he's gone missing and want to get the people that took him!
    They wish to tell you a good place to hide him right and proper!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

dsmythy wrote: »
    Of course they're allowed to ask you. What's the point in stopping someone if they're not going to ask them something?

So they look busy when the call comes through that the car down the road is being stolen.. ;)

11 gardai and 4 patrol cars in Bray last Sunday night week in four different spots within no more than 1km checking 4 different things. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

You're forgetting the flashlight in the face at night..why do the Gardai wave some cars on at checkpoints?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Friends father who's a garda was driving through the village a while back. Gets stopped by a young one fresh from Templemore.

Her: Where are you going?
    Him: Up the road.
    Her: Where are you coming from?
    Him: Down the road.

10 minutes later and he's coming back again and the same girl pulls him over again.

Her: Where are you going?
    Him: Down the road.
    Her: Where are you coming from?
    Him: Up the road.

She lost it a bit with him and he let her rant for a few seconds before showing her his badge:D She went a bit:o

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I must remember that one.

Buddy of mine got pulled over by Highway Patrol. Trooper walks up to the window, and before he could say "License and registration", buddy sortof waves his hand a bit and says "These are not the droids you are looking for"

Trooper fell apart laughing. Let him off.

NTM

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

no it was a pair of freezin cold rookies, he shivered as he talked to me
    was the same gard that stopped me a few weeks ago in my sisters car and fined me for having no tax disc displayed
    I burst out laughing as i drove away and watched him in my mirror rubbing his hands together :D
    you. da. man.

Where did you come from?
    Where did you go?
    Where did you come from cotton-eye Joe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Where are you going?

Home.

Where are you coming from?

Mountjoy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Biggins wrote: »
    They are checking your speech for slurness.
    Word of the day Biggins. I'm gonna use this in a minimum of 3 conversations today. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

Conversation with Ireland's Finest after being tailed for 3 miles on my motorbike. I was obeying all speed limits and behaving myself.

Guard: Thats a nice lookin motorbike "sonny" (said in a condesending manner)
    Me: Its an animal of a yoke. she'll do 150 mph no bother.
    Guard: Is that a fact? I wasn't following you.
    Me: Really?? I suppose you want to know why I've pulled in here?
    Guard: Em Yes.
    Me: I'm checking my dad's horses.
    Guard: Really. How many does he have?
    Me: I don't see the relevance of that question. Bye now.

So i jumped the gate and looked in at the horses and waited for him to shift before I left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

dazzerb wrote: »

In addition to the general checkpoints that there have always been, the introduction of random breath testing means that they can pull anyone over without cause and breathalyse them, so if they want to pull you over, they'll find a way, even if they know breathalysing will turn up nothing!

I fail to see why they wouldn't be able to arrest you if they observe something illegal that's unrelated to them stopping you, especially if it's clearly visible through the car windows. I suppose if they actually broke open your boot or the back of your van and started rooting through it could be dodgy, as I think they may need a warrant, or at least probable cause before they can do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

Jonty wrote: »
    Conversation with Ireland's Finest after being tailed for 3 miles on my motorbike. I was obeying all speed limits and behaving myself.

So i jumped the gate and looked in at the horses and waited for him to shift before I left.

Ooh you mad egg you! Giving out about the gardai doing their job! :rolleyes:

Maybe they were looking for someone who matched your description? Maybe they asked about the horses to see if you were talking bollox, or maybe to initiate friendly conversation..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

See, that's just being cocky.
    There's really no need for that type of behaviour.

You'll run into the same guy gain and he won't be as nice the next time. Then you'll start complaining that the cops are hassling you and it was all because you decided to be cocky.

Remember, kids. If you're nice to them, they'll be nice to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

My question is, should they be allowed or are they allowed ask certain questions.

Why wouldn't they be allowed to ask you where you're coming from?

They can ask you whatever they like just like you can ask them whatever you like.

There ain't no law against asking questions.

Of course you don't have to answer. But then they'll just search you and your car.

Be a good lad and just do what you're told now, ok?

On your way - and get that tail-light sorted out in the morning too, the bulb is on the way out. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

dsmythy wrote: »

So that they can use the Jedi (Templemore) Mind Trick ??

I must remember that one.

Buddy of mine got pulled over by Highway Patrol. Trooper walks up to the window, and before he could say "License and registration", buddy sortof waves his hand a bit and says "These are not the droids you are looking for"

Trooper fell apart laughing. Let him off.

NTM

Well played.

Should have read this one before I posted above !!

Terry wrote: »
    See, that's just being cocky.
    There's really no need for that type of behaviour.

You'll run into the same guy gain and he won't be as nice the next time. Then you'll start complaining that the cops are hassling you and it was all because you decided to be cocky.

Remember, kids. If you're nice to them, they'll be nice to you.

We're well known in the horse business around laois. This guy tailed me for 3 miles and he didn't think to check out my reg? I don't think so. I've been stopped by cops before in my locality and all they wanted to know was who owned the horses and how many we had. Horse thieving is fairly prolific you know. OK I suppose he was doing his job, but like everything else Ireland is full of begrudgers.

I've heard it back from mates that the gardai were asking questions about X's racehorses and how is he able to afford this and that.

I have dealt with the guard that stopped me since that incident and he was sound enough with me. People should not be afraid of the "blue uniform". As ordinary people we have rights too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

We're well known in the horse business around laois. This guy tailed me for 3 miles and he didn't think to check out my reg? I don't think so. I've been stopped by cops before in my locality and all they wanted to know was who owned the horses and how many we had. Horse thieving is fairly prolific you know. OK I suppose he was doing his job, but like everything else Ireland is full of begrudgers.

I've heard it back from mates that the gardai were asking questions about X's racehorses and how is he able to afford this and that.

I have dealt with the guard that stopped me since that incident and he was sound enough with me. People should not be afraid of the "blue uniform". As ordinary people we have rights too.

Ireland is also full of people who think they are more important than they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Probably too old for most of ya to remember but I read this to the theme music of "The Lone Ranger"

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Relevant wrote: »

Be careful how you speak of the Moderators around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

People should not be afraid of the "blue uniform". As ordinary people we have rights too.

Absolutely! It is amazing how many people are terrified of the gardai and won't question what they are doing and why.

I got stopped recently by an unmarked car driven by a garda who was dressed like a right langer. When I asked to see his badge he refused (he is obliged to show it if out of uniform). When I left I went straight to his station, reported him to the Sgt and watched as he got boll0cked for not showing his badge :D

My guess is he won't pull that stunt again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

When a Garda is looking around your car, you automatically feel guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Relevant wrote: »

Did I say I was more important?? I said that we would be well known in the locality, thats all.

Stop trolling.

Did I say I was more important?? I said that we would be well known in the locality, thats all.

Stop trolling.
    Yeah, get off your high horse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

deadwood wrote: »
    Yeah, get off your high horse!

Ba-dum-tish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Just be glad they didn't ask if you've committed any crimes lately!

You're not allowed to lie to a Garda, so that would put you in an awkward situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭DARKIZE

Dave! wrote: »

You're not allowed to lie to a Garda, so that would put you in an awkward situation.

Really ??? Excellent.....lets forget about the Office of Corporate Enforcement investigation and just set up a random checkpoint outside the Anglo-Irish HQ with some burly rozzers from the midlands. Job done.

DARKIZE wrote: »
    Really ??? Excellent.....lets forget about the Office of Corporate Enforcement investigation and just set up a random checkpoint outside the Anglo-Irish HQ with some burly rozzers from the midlands. Job done.
    They'd use truth avoidance rather than truth evasion.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

If there was less checkpoints on the road people would be moaning that we dont have a large enough garda presence. :rolleyes:

well maybe if they were out solving real crimes instead of harassing innocent folk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

What happens if they stop you at a check point and ask you where you are going/coming from but you can't speak because your crazed girlfriend bit your tongue off and it couldn't be reattached? Who would the first one to break during this awkward silence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭livvy

well maybe if they were out solving real crimes instead of harassing innocent folk

yea...... because real criminals have a big sign over their heads stating that this exactly what they are ! The guards that harass the innocent folk really are just asking for it. Sure they should know immediately by looking at them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

livvy wrote: »
    yea...... because real criminals have a big sign over their heads stating that this exactly what they are !

But they do wear their baseball caps at 90degree angles to their heads