Religious People

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

They wake you up early, thats why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭yellowcurl

Biggins wrote: »
    Children will be attending non-religious school.

See here: http://www.educatetogether.ie/

That's brilliant! I wish i'd gone to a non-denominational school when i was growing up. Some of the nuns there were so harsh that my mom used to let me have every 3rd friday off if i went to school the rest of the time because i really didn't want to go in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

yellowcurl wrote: »
    What makes you say that? Like was it a bad personal experience or just ideas?

Did you not read the thread on the 75 year old women getting lashings?

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    Did you not read the thread on the 75 year old women getting lashings?

Lol sorry no, haven't gotten a chance to read some of the newer stuff yet. Although, i don't see how one case can skew your opinion of a whole religion? I know there are some extreme muslim people out there, but there are also others who go about their day to day lives just like you and I.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

If he tries to convert you, you have an issue that needs dealing with. If he doesn't, well then it's none of your feckin' business what he does in his room/spare time. And I'm speaking as a long-term atheist who holds fundamentalist atheists in as much contempt as I do religious people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Lol sorry no, haven't gotten a chance to read some of the newer stuff yet. Although, i don't see how one case can skew your opinion of a whole religion? I know there are some extreme muslim people out there, but there are also others who go about their day to day lives just like you and I.

Yeah, until there is a public protest to attend and they draw up signs saying "Death to all juice"* and take to the streets.

I would love to see Islam outlawed in the west of Europe & USA.

*Is referring to a sign seen in New York during an anti-Israel protest, laughed at at first but then found to be a smart way to dodge the law surrounding incitement of hatred/disturbing the peace so they couldn't be arrested.

This is NYC we're talking about, and to see such backwards, militant Muslims active there is worrying.

Rb wrote: »
    This is NYC we're talking about, and to see such backwards, militant Muslims active there is worrying.

God i do agree, i suppose there will always be a number of militants in NYC as it's a huge city it's easy for them to fade into the background until they're ready to do their worst. :(

Exactly, and don't forget the 7/7 tube/bus bombings in the UK.

Their mere presence in a country is a threat, unlike any other mainstream religion. It shouldn't be tolerated nor welcomed and as I said above, hopefully one day in the near future we will see it outlawed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭jane86

You don't trust religious people. Why has something happened with a religious person in your past? Get some counselling then.

If your problem is just that he is practicing his religion then cop on. It doesn't sound like he has been forcing his beliefs on you so get over it. You're being overly judgemental.

Exactly, and don't forget the 7/7 tube/bus bombings in the UK.

Their mere presence in a country is a threat, unlike any other mainstream religion. It shouldn't be tolerated nor welcomed and as I said above, hopefully one day in the near future we will see it outlawed.

I'll never forget the 7/7 bombings for various reasons, but i still have Muslim friends who are the complete opposite of militant and will continue to stick by them.

Be extra careful if you're around them whilst they're armed with knives though, we all know they're born with the unnatural ability to get even the bluntest of blades through an infidels neck, sure just ask the Bigleys ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

If I remember right, the Bigleys don't take kindly to being exploited for comedy points, Rb.

Particularly when it's not even good comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

My lordy god (suck on that religious terminology) , the way you people talk! As if adopting the trendiest ideologies for middle class teenagers makes you intellectually superior to those who don't!

It would be fine if you said "oh I arrived at this through so and so logical sequences", but to apply some of the same reasoning used in this very thread Most people don't. Most are idiot teenagers etc. who are following something, or thinking what they are told. Most religious people do the same. Most people do it.

So don't think that being part of one side makes you intelligent, what you say and act makes you intelligent. Until then we'll assume you're in the same class of raving idiots that most people who go about pushing ideologies they didn't form on other people are in.

If I remember right, the Bigleys don't take kindly to being exploited for comedy points, Rb.

Particularly when it's not even good comedy.
    Oh I know, Islam is srs business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

When did this change from a light hearted dig at religion in general to a muslim bashing thread. It's After Hours folks, not Stormfront!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

whatever makes your mate happy is his business none of yours. Whats he gonna do pray you to death.
    Grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭04KY

I somewhat agree OP, I'd be a little uneasy living with a devout Christian but if they were keeping it to themselves, unlike the majority, then I suppose there wouldn't be a problem.

Unlike the majority? Seriously? You might have the odd nutjob shouting bible verses in the street but in general I find most Christians to keep it to themselves.

Here on boards, I remember very very few religious threads outside Christianity forum, yet there are loads of anti-religion threads in After Hours. There's a place for them, A & A. It's almost like Atheists can't keep it to themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

How could you place any trust in a person who obviously has such little intelligence that he actually prays to "God"?

This is one problem I have with atheists (I'm one myself to be honest). What makes someone who is religious have 'such little intelligence'? Intelligence has nothing to do with religious outlook. I've known plenty of high IQ, incredibly intelligent people who believe. What you've just said there just sounds unbelievably ignorant and crass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

RichTea wrote: »
    This is one problem I have with atheists (I'm one myself to be honest). What makes someone who is religious have 'such little intelligence'? Intelligence has nothing to do with religious outlook. I've known plenty of high IQ, incredibly intelligent people who believe. What you've just said there just sounds unbelievably ignorant and crass.

Have to agree with this. I had religion myself and gave it up cos it just seemed bollix. But i certainly don't look down on those that practice it. High IQ's don't define intellegence either. I know some people with big IQ's and they act like complete retards :p

OP, has he got an xbox 360? See if he has an Xbox 360. If he doesn't ask him if you both want to go halves on an Xbox 360 and see what he says. If it's a "no, it's the work of the devil" then you got a problem. If he says "yes" and goes out and buys Pro Evo, Mercenaries and Far Cry 2 then you'll get along just fine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Some people have said Religion should be private and while I can see why you'd think that it really goes against the whole point of religion. Religion was supposed to be about coming together as a group. People who lock themselfs away ultimately seem to go crazy and start making up their own rules.

I'm not at all against religion. I think it has a purpose and I don't think it has to be associated with ancient pieces of text I don't see why it can't be progressive and even science based. It is great at highlighting the fact that people are generally good and have brought allot of great things into the world. And it's always been asking the same questions as science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭towel401

Yes, because not believing in something that there's absolutely no evidence of is the choice of the insane :rolleyes:

Anti-religious tripe? Sorry buddy, the non-religious or even anti-religious aren't the ones making up stories about magical men so you may want to rethink your stance on what you define as "tripe".

no really the anti-religious folk are no different than the religious ones - they both think they know something the rest of us don't and for some reason feel the need to shout about it. and they're both equally annoying.

i don't even know how the anti-religious crowd got to be the way they are - maybe they all still have a sore arse from their days as an altar boy. but srsly the anti-religion threads in AH are getting fairly old at this point. i thought there was a special forum for them? so why not use it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I am the bread of life! and i can walk on water...

bull sh1t science has prooved that jeous was a mad man and a very good story teller but he set him self up good and propper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

I am the bread of life! and i can walk on water...

bull sh1t science has prooved that jeous was a mad man and a very good story teller but he set him self up good and propper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

"How could you place any trust in a person who obviously has such little intelligence that he actually prays to "God"?"

So anyone who prays to God has "little intelligence" in your opinion? That's pretty narrow-minded and ignorant, don't you think?

Also, it seems to me that Christian-bashing is ok but as soon as anyone criticises the Muslims, comparisons to Stormfront are made.

”If I offended you, you needed it!!” - Corey Taylor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

To be completely honest, I do tend to be a bit wary of religious folk's judgement. I can't help wondering if they're doing something because they think it's right or because their damn book told them to.

Besides which, as previously stated, all the big religions encourage their followers to go out and spread the word, so I tend to find myself waiting for it to arise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I'm an atheist. I don't have a problem with anyone believing in religion, I wouldn't consider them unintelligent as such, but I do wonder about the logic they use in their thought processes.

To paraphrase Bill Maher, no rational adult believes in Santa, I mean a mythical white-bearded figure who manages to drop presents down the chimneys of just about every house in the world in the course of one night? Obviously ridiculous.

Yet these same people don't seem to have a problem believing a mythical white-bearded figure created the world in seven days and is taking us all to a happy fantasy land when we die. Obviously that's totally believable??

Creationism: ok you don't believe in four million years of evolution, think that fossils prove nothing, and that men and dinosaurs exsisted at the same time? Grand, and your explanation for where we came from is that an invisible sky fairy did the lot in a week. Oooook.

Religion is about people's fear of death, and other people's desire to control the masses. That's it.

I'm an atheist. I don't have a problem with anyone believing in religion, I wouldn't consider them unintelligent as such, but I do wonder about the logic they use in their thought processes.

To paraphrase Bill Maher, no rational adult believes in Santa, I mean a mythical white-bearded figure who manages to drop presents down the chimneys of just about every house in the world in the course of one night? Obviously ridiculous.

Yet these same people don't seem to have a problem believing a mythical white-bearded figure created the world in seven days and is taking us all to a happy fantasy land when we die. Obviously that's totally believable??

Creationism: ok you don't believe in four million years of evolution, think that fossils prove nothing, and that men and dinosaurs exsisted at the same time? Grand, and your explanation for where we came from is that an invisible sky fairy did the lot in a week. Oooook.

Religion is about people's fear of death, and other people's desire to control the masses. That's it.
    Indeed.

I also love seeing theists dismissing conspiracy theories, such as those behind 9/11 or the possibility of aliens, as "crazy nonsense" and then going off to pray to the big man in the sky who has provided them with not an iota of evidence for his actual existence.

Religion, at it's core, is absolutely illogical yet when questioned, we're told we've just got to have "faith" that it's the truth. Complete and utter bullshit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

BTW this is not a thread about Religion, it's about a fundamental mistrust I have in religious people.

What exactly do you think he is going to do to you? What are you worried about?

Religious people are often called irrational by non religious, but here you are displaying some irrationality yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

dvpower wrote: »
    What exactly do you think he is going to do to you? What are you worried about?

Religious people are often called irrational by non religious, but here you are displaying some irrationality yourself.

It's not as much irrationality as it is prejudice - what he could do is actually meet the guy and talk to him. If the guy starts banging on about religion constantly, trys to convert you or generally a loon, yes the OP may have a problem.

If the religious guy minds his own damn business, then the OP can do likewise and everyone will be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I'm an atheist, and have absolutely no problem with living with religious people. I've done it before and I'll probably do it again. None of them were in -your-face or obnoxious about it though

It's easy to bash muslims because its pretty damn easy, probably due to being from a 'westerner'ss perspective. But pretty much any fault you can use to bash islam with can also be (or has been) applied to christianity in almost the exact same way