2 Dead several others shot outside Army base Antrim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

It's a bit more complicated than that. do you really think the people of NI whichever side they from really want to be part of our Republic. What would you rather-Free health service, good roads and infrastructer etc as compared with the over bloated systems we have here.

Romantic Ireland is dead and gone and the IRA in whatever form has lost support on this Island as well as on the world stage. We have come to far to ever go back.

My sympathies and prays are with the famlies of the two boys who were murdered.

I wasn't commenting on whether the people themselves would decide to join the republic, I was saying that, far from occupying the north, the british would love to get rid of it and would do so if the people there wanted it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

gurramok wrote: »
    This post is BS.

The 6 counties were part of our country as the political entity of Ireland under an Irish parliament before 1801, they were then ruled from 1801 onwards under the Act of Union. Nothing changed until 1922.

The hint being that Ireland as an island was treated as a country politically no matter who ruled her before 1922.

I'm not really getting your point. So you're saying that because the British administration found it easier to rule this island by joining it into one Kingdom (The Kingdom of Ireland), this country (The Republic of Ireland) should tear up it's constitution and lay claim to foreign territory?

To recognise the Kingdom or Ireland as a legitimate entity recognises that all Ireland legitimately belong to England until the Anglo-Irish Treaty.

The fact is that we were not occupied for 800 years. We never existed as a nation until the last century, and as a nation we consist of 26 counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    I wasn't commenting on whether the people themselves would decide to join the republic, I was saying that, far from occupying the north, the british would love to get rid of it and would do so if the people there wanted it

Spot on. The people of East Finchley couldn't give a toss about what's going on in some rock on the periphery of Europe.

I'd say, with the credit crunch, there will be a lot of this sentiment made public in the coming year as it is their taxes being used to keep the place afloat.

The UK exchequer subvents the Northern Ireland economy by £5bn per year.

They'd love to drop it like a hot potato.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

dotsman wrote: »

To recognise the Kingdom or Ireland as a legitimate entity recognises that all Ireland legitimately belong to England until the Anglo-Irish Treaty.

The fact is that we were not occupied for 800 years. We never existed as a nation until the last century, and as a nation we consist of 26 counties.

Nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Sam Vimes wrote: »

I agree,
    and would the people in the Republic really want 6 more counties to pay for?

Nodin wrote: »
    Nonsense.

Care to elaborate (in an intelligent, constructive manner if possible)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Spot on. The people of East Finchley couldn't give a toss .

I think when people say "the North" they mean Ireland and not North London;):pac::pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I agree,
    and would the people in the Republic really want 6 more counties to pay for?

As far as I know, we already do.
    We contribute directly (by direct finance) and indirectly through our own people (Gardi/Army/etc) to border security.
    I can only see these costs worsening now. So guess who, on this side of the border is going to have to pay even more now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I'm not really getting your point. So you're saying that because the British administration found it easier to rule this island by joining it into one Kingdom (The Kingdom of Ireland), this country (The Republic of Ireland) should tear up it's constitution and lay claim to foreign territory?

You said "The six counties were NEVER a part of our country"

I proved that your assertion is wrong. Now you are trying to backtrack saying our country was never a country before 1922!!

In case you didn't know the Kingdom of Ireland was treated as such politically pre1922. We did exist as a nation before 1922, did you not read up the history of this island?

Are we going off topic here? ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I'm surprised no-one has managed to blame the government for this yet.
    Or immigrants.

And i can't tell if i'm disappointed or pleasantly surprised by this turn of events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Mairt wrote: »
    ''Special Forces'', listen - If the British weren't occupying our country NOT ONE BRITISH SOLDIER WOULD BE NEEDED UP THERE - nada, not fvcking one!.

As it is its a provence under occupation, and while I don't condone violence and I would hope that someday we'll find a peaceful political end, I do recognoise that other's see violence as politics through other mean's.

Biggins said something which will be lost on the majority of people here (I'm assuming from previous posts that Biggins is old enough to have remembered the war in N.I.) - that today there are parenting mourning the loss of their children.

By provoking republicans into this action I hope the British haven't condemned further generations of Irish and British families to the same faith.

We gave up our Constitutional claim to NI and the people of NI also took it away when the GFA was voted on. So they're not occupying our country at all.

The Special Reconnaissance Regiment has been in NI for the past few months because the threat level from Dissident Republicans had been raised since before Christmas. You should know this because there's a good chance you've been to the same briefs I have in the past few months. Usually we agree on most things but to claim that the Brits bringing back their best Intel organisations because of a raised threat level is provocative, is something I just see no sense in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Apparently the two pizza delievery lads got caught up in it and are in hospital too.

Connolly would've loved that. The wanke/rs carry Starry Ploughs anytime one of them gets knocked off by another dealer, but feel nothing when innocent workers get caught up in their mess. Who'd republicans kill at Canary Wharf again :rolleyes:

Smart money is on a small RIRA unit, they've split all over the shop and the other crowd are apparently unable to go buy milk without the Brits knowing about it.

The fact is that we were not occupied for 800 years.

exactly. The rest of your post is garbage hence me leaving the bit that makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Or immigrants.

And i can't tell if i'm disappointed or pleasantly surprised by this turn of events.

Damn immigants. Even when it was the IRA I knew it was the immigants

And all is right with the world again :)

Or immigrants.

Will somebody please think of the immigrants ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It could be a pizza war though, like the ice-cream wars in Scotland once upon a time.

I'm glad I don't like pizzas.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

So pray tell what great things have you done for YOUR country?

Two lives were lost in a cowardly way. I feel sorry for those famlies today.

To the people who say they are trained killers that knew what they signed up for. would ye say the same if it was a terrorist/Freedom fighter etc that was killed?

Well, I'm glad you asked!

I'm up here working directly in conflict resolution between the protestant and catholic areas. And therefore I know what I'm talking about, and I can safely state there is still a long way to go.

I help people on a daily basis up here, so THATS what I have done for my country.

Thanks for asking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

Do we actually know it was a terrorist attack, maybe it was an attempt to rob the pizza men that went wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

MooseJam wrote: »
    Do we actually know it was a terrorist attack, maybe it was an attempt to rob the pizza men that went wrong.

It is definitely a terrorist attack. There have been warnings of it starting up again for a while now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Eh? He was shot by the police. Nothing whatsoever to do with the special forces.

i think they were hybrid force, there were at least army trained

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

I'd say, with the credit crunch, there will be a lot of this sentiment made public in the coming year as it is their taxes being used to keep the place afloat.
    The UK exchequer subvents the Northern Ireland economy by £5bn per year.
    They'd love to drop it like a hot potato.
    They would have dropped it years ago but for the fact it would have looked like they were bowing to terrorism.
    I'd say 5bn is a conservative estimate, aren't something like 60% or the working population employed by the government?

There is an enormous administrative infrastructure in place, divvied up along political lines so that everyone has their snout in the trough and there is little incentive to return to the old days.

The misty eyed longing some people have to own the six counties would disappear pretty quickly when the bill came in and we realised the british couldn't be blamed anymore for the mess the place is in.

Of course it would probably kick off again with the other side claiming they are occupied or victimised or whatever. The difference being it would be Gardai and Irish soldiers blown to smithereens.
    No appetite for that I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

It is definitely a terrorist attack.

the 2 guys were on there way to Afghanistan, they were dressed in desert combat gear, are we sure were pointing the finger in the right direction, there are more than one group of people who could have caused this...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Will the Loyalists retaliate? - I think that would be the biggest concern right now. BBC says Loyalist/Unionist politicians are pleading with them not to. If they did then we are in a spot of bother. Personally I reckon this is once off thuggery but we will see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

I'd say the average squadie up there is pretty miffed, they won't be able to order any more pizza in, or maybe thats being too rash, they could I guess implement greater security arrangements on the ordering of pizza, unfortunate for dominoes too, I'd say a lot of their business came from the army base, it would be interesting to see how it all works out, but it's unlikely they will make any public announcement on their plans as it would be information the terrorists could use, maybe they will start baking their own pizzas, I'm sure they have a canteen and chefs in there, thats probably the best thing to do

gurramok wrote: »
    You said "The six counties were NEVER a part of our country"

I proved that your assertion is wrong. Now you are trying to backtrack saying our country was never a country before 1922!!

In case you didn't know the Kingdom of Ireland was treated as such politically pre1922. We did exist as a nation before 1922, did you not read up the history of this island?

Are we going off topic here? ;):D

I haven't backtracked on anything. You can't seem to get around the simple concept of nationhood. Our country is The Republic of Ireland (Officially Ireland, or Eire, but commonly referred to as "The Republic of Ireland" to differentiate between the nation and the island). It is less than 100 years old. Our founding fathers, at first, claimed the 6 counties as part of an all-island nation, however as part of the Anglo-Irish treaty and the subsequent formation of our country, this was reduced to the 26 counties that continue to this day to make up our country.

Prior to this, Ireland was never an independent country/nation. It was an island that had various forms of rule throughout the millennia. But no nation of Ireland ever existed.
    rarnes1 wrote: »
    exactly. The rest of your post is garbage hence me leaving the bit that makes sense.
    Any explanation as to why you have formed the opinion of it being "garbage"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

the 2 guys were on there way to Afghanistan, they were dressed in desert combat gear, are we sure were pointing the finger in the right direction, there are more than one group of people who could have caused this...

Who said they were dressed in Dessies? Usually the Brits don't wear them until the day they deploy, because they have to make do with 3 uniforms for 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Mmcd

Prior to this, Ireland was never an independent country/nation. It was an island that had various forms of rule throughout the millennia. But no nation of Ireland ever existed.

There are many Asian and African countries where tribes rule certain areas and the government have no say yet they are still official whole nations!

For example Afghanistan as far as I know has never been fully under the one control and still large parts are ruled by tribal law!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Who said they were dressed in Dessies? Usually the Brits don't wear them until the day they deploy, because they have to make do with 3 uniforms for 6 months.

they were minutes away from leaving http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/eyaukfidsnau/

it's a thing of nothing, some guys with guns were shot by some guys with guns who were on there way to shoot more guys with guns...pretty obvious what caused the whole thing.....guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I haven't backtracked on anything. You can't seem to get around the simple concept of nationhood. Our country is The Republic of Ireland (Officially Ireland, or Eire, but commonly referred to as "The Republic of Ireland" to differentiate between the nation and the island). It is less than 100 years old. Our founding fathers, at first, claimed the 6 counties as part of an all-island nation, however as part of the Anglo-Irish treaty and the subsequent formation of our country, this was reduced to the 26 counties that continue to this day to make up our country.

The 1st part of this post contradicts the 2nd part. The nation of Ireland was divided to form to new jurisdictions, understand?

There are people still living up there who claim Irish nationhood. An artificial line on a map does not stop that.

Here, learn yourself http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nation

A nation is not equal to a state. People can be part of the nation living in one or 2 states, simple as.

How far you going back now that you were proved wrong by the Irish Parliaments existence in the 1700's?!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

gurramok, dotsman take the debate to Politics or History. It's not relevant to this thread.