Irish in McDonalds

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

The majority of this thread is the problem with this country. Too many people who are too proud to work in McD's, Supermacs, Abra etc. Brought up on daddy's money who have no idea what its like to be broke as fúck. You work wherever there is a job and you earn your own money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Melion wrote: »
    The majority of this thread is the problem with this country. Too many people who are too proud to work in McD's, Supermacs, Abra etc. Brought up on daddy's money who have no idea what its like to be broke as fúck. You work wherever there is a job and you earn your own money.

I hate saying it, because I don't really wish it on anybody, but the one good thing about this whole mess will be watching a great number of expectations being radically recalibrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

With me it wouldnt be a pride thing, i'd just know i'd hate the place. had my share of awful jobs/managers in the past.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Can i work in the drivethrew?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭otwb

First job after college was as a management trainee in McDonalds, after two years I took a 5k pay drop to work as a manager in the career that I had trained for - the only reason that I got the job was because of the management training that I received.

At the time that I was there many of the regional managers had worked their way up from counter staff. There was a store manager who was in her early 20's and earning probably the equivalent of 45k in todays money. Not bad for no degree and a couple of years hard work.

Don't knock it until you have tried it....but if you are a lazy git then don't bother applying...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

i worked in maccy ds in cork patrick street for about 3 months and i can honestly say nobody ever gave me hassle about working there. It turned out to be a great experience and everyone including the managers were 100% friendly.

The christmas party was a great laugh with a free meal and open bar. I worked there cause i needed to raise funds while i was in UCC repeating a year, and if i was stuck for abit of cash again i would have no problem working there again

The pay is pretty decent, double time after 11 pm and they pay for your taxis home after late shifts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭colly10

Can't understand why some of the people on this thread say stuff along the lines of the wouldn't be caught dead working there, there will be a few in for a shock in the near future.
    I didn't get a good degree to flip burgers either but if/when I loose my job I will do anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Maybe the penny is finally begining to drop though. Daddy won't be around forever either. It wouldn't be my ideal job but if I did loose my job Monday morning I'd do it. I don't think there would be much room for pride if somebody was in danger of loosing their house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭BubbleWrap85

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Work in Mc Donalds, i'd rather beg.

And voila ladies and gentlemen, this is exactly the sort of condescending attitude that has people complaining "the foreigners took our jobs" yet too "proud" to do the jobs themselves!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Who the **** is employing people who cannot spell the word "lose" properly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭BubbleWrap85

Like if I was to "loose" my job in the morning? Haha I dunno :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

That extra "O" costs money.
    You wouldn't last long in McDonald's if you kept putting extra fries in the bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I once knew a Buddhist who worked in McDonald's: I went in for a burger and he made me one with everything.

*runs*

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Carlotta

stovelid wrote: »
    I worked in McDs in college, and got this all the time. Usually from student types who should have known better.

I hope the girls enjoyed the gratis saliva and snot condiments they no doubt certainly received with their food.

Yes and yes. I worked in McDs and Supermacs during college. There were some amount of knobs who would make smart, condescending comments. The thing is they were all students, like me, except they never had to work a day in their lives. I never got mad, I actually kinda pitied them.

By the by, after working in McDs I wouldn't eat the food, but would have no prob with Supermacs. Where I worked everything was immaculately clean and the food was always fresh. Nicer place to work too, still bump into ex staff and managers on occasion and have the chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Me? Work in McDonalds!?

But...but people...people might make fun of me! :eek:

(:pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

marbar wrote: »
    dunno what it's called
    but they are definitely opffing a type pof trainoing that will count towards other mgmt
    Tuluttut oqalusinnaavit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭trailerparkboy

I think some people are making a good living begging at the moment, i heard about one guy who wears dirty clothes and spends about 5 days a week begging the when his shift is over he goes home to his nice pad. Hes on the dole i guess and rent allowance which works out at over 285 per week plus he would bring in a extra few hundred from begging, which is not bad at all, im even heard some beggers can make upwards of a grand a week or more. The question is would you beg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I don't know about anyone else, but one of the reasons i worked as hard as i did in Uni was so that i didn't have to work in McD's ever again.

Yes, it's pride. But it's justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

then get ready for the fall

I don't know about anyone else, but one of the reasons i worked as hard as i did in Uni was so that i didn't have to work in McD's ever again.

Yes, it's pride. But it's justified.

So if you're out of work you would rather live on the dole instead of earning your own money? Thats not justified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

So if you're out of work you would rather live on the dole instead of earning your own money? Thats not justified.

Yes it is.

McD's is a dead end job, i'd rather take my dole money and spend a little longer, trying a little harder to get a job that is at least slightly more suited to my skills than just applying to the first minimum wage crapshoot i find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭suspectpackage

fair play to the irish working in mcds! but it does seem like a job that most irish would be "too big" to do. I don't know why. I dont think i've ever seen an irish person on the til in mcdonalds or burger king and as regard begging, I don't understand how people can give money to the romanian beggers who are just scamming people out of money. they live in plush houses, they go home to warm beds, begging is just a job for them, unlike the actual homeless people around who sleep on grafton street etc!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I'd work there but just not put it on my CV

I liked the foreigners though tbh. They were nice and usually had a sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Highsider wrote: »
    Anyone notice the amount of Irish working in McDonalds recently compared to a few years back. Have to say from a personal standpoint i think it's bloody great.
    Yup...we're getting back into the minimum wage jobs, go us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭97i9y3941

fair play to the irish working in mcds! but it does seem like a job that most irish would be "too big" to do. I don't know why. I dont think i've ever seen an irish person on the til in mcdonalds or burger king and as regard begging, I don't understand how people can give money to the romanian beggers who are just scamming people out of money. they live in plush houses, they go home to warm beds, begging is just a job for them, unlike the actual homeless people around who sleep on grafton street etc!!

i think the guards are powerless to do it,fierce problem of it too where i live,usually aswell there is someone near by keeping an watch on the begger as they do it,only law i think was when dermot ahern brought in to stop agressive begging :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

Let me get this straight - the OP is happy that hundreds of thousands of Irish people are unemployed and desperate for jobs, so much so that lawyers and accountants are queuing up for a job there, just for his own convenience that they speak English?

Wow hes a great person. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭suspectpackage

Fred83 wrote: »
    i think the guards are powerless to do it,fierce problem of it too where i live,usually aswell there is someone near by keeping an watch on the begger as they do it,only law i think was when dermot ahern brought in to stop agressive begging :confused:

yeah well i do be in the city every day and i see them changing up sometimes. they often go to mcdonalds and get nice burgers that they eat on the way home. why people give them money il never understand. in saying that i do give the genuinely homeless people my spare change when i have it. the guards can't do anything about it I know but it is a bit of a joke to me. you never see them sleeping rough do you?

Yes it is.

McD's is a dead end job, i'd rather take my dole money and spend a little longer, trying a little harder to get a job that is at least slightly more suited to my skills than just applying to the first minimum wage crapshoot i find.

Would you not rather work a 40 hour week, make more money than you would on the dole while still looking for a job that you are trained for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,404 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Would you not rather work a 40 hour week, make more money than you would on the dole while still looking for a job that you are trained for?

No, id rather do FAS training courses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭97i9y3941

yeah well i do be in the city every day and i see them changing up sometimes. they often go to mcdonalds and get nice burgers that they eat on the way home. why people give them money il never understand. in saying that i do give the genuinely homeless people my spare change when i have it. the guards can't do anything about it I know but it is a bit of a joke to me. you never see them sleeping rough do you?

what amazes me most is how do they get in the country?,i thaught there was an cap on the romanians from the e.u?