Shamrock Rovers win Tallaght Stadium case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

A club sells its ground to developers for a large amount of money.

Club or Kilcoyne?

Fans own the club now.

What have you against Shamrock Rovers if you are in Galway?

Only in Ireland!

=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Hmm, I'll let the photo say what it does about Shamrock Rovers fans...

http://www.srfcultras.net/season2007/foad/foad13.jpg

http://www.srfcultras.net/season2007/foad/foad12.jpg

And some more links. Seems the Shambolic fans are quite proud of their reputation...

http://www.srfcultras.net/season2005/scum/scan.jpg

http://www.srfcultras.net/season2005/shels/shels17.jpg

Healthy social outlet indeed..... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

Let me try and financially cripple and crush the thing you hold dear out of spite and greed. How will you respond?
    And some more links. Seems the Shambolic fans are quite proud of their reputation...

Where does it say that THERE WAS VIOLENCE? There wasn't get over yourself

what has that got to do with anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Personally I was delighted with the top two banners. People pushed into a corner come out fighting.

Regarding their nasty element.. Im no apologist. They are a disgrace, but every club(including GAA clubs) have idiots.

The last banner was probably relevant at the time. Ollie Byrne(RIP) was a bollix at times.

Regarding their nasty element.. Im no apologist. They are a disgrace, but every club(including GAA clubs) have idiots.

The article quoted though had no mention of actual violence taking place?

It was about spray paint on a dear monument to an Irish sporting memorial and how they were against such a thing

Link to site it was taken from as it was completely outta context

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

rovers get a free ground, TD get one in rathcoole with access.

fail to see why people happy that their tax dollar gong to both.

well done rovers etc: 5-0 in your own ground sounds nice.

kdjac

Let me try and financially cripple and crush the thing you hold dear out of spite and greed. How will you respond?

With a banner that was filthy and just a little bit over the top. Fcuk off and die? :rolleyes: If a banner like that was displayed at a GAA match it would be removed immediately and people asked to leave the ground.
    Where does it say that THERE WAS VIOLENCE? There wasn't get over yourself

OK, how about this one.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FKd9Ai_n_KQ

Oh, and just cos I'm in Galway doesn't mean I can't have an opinion. By that logic, only TD and Shamrock Rovers fans or local residents would be entitled to an opinion. If I agree with their point of view I'm entitled to my opinion and to express it, same as you are.
    BTW I grew up playing hurling in Dublin and played against Thomas Davis many times, so I haven't always been a Galwegian who shouldn't dare to speak on matters in Dublin ;)

With a banner that was filthy and just a little bit over the top. Fcuk off and die? :rolleyes: If a banner like that was displayed at a GAA match it would be removed immediately and people asked to leave the ground.
    The local area is gonna drown in sorrow and fall 2 pieces over a banner. wow.

There's always muppets like that. Do you reckon the 2 clubs gave the people involved a pat on the back? Do you think they like it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Why should I get banned? For discussing the laughing stock that Thomas Davis have become? Are they not a GAA club? Is this not a GAA discussion board?

They should accept the decision of the Judge and get over it, but they most probably won't...
    Thomas Davis GAA club ought to be ashamed of themselves. Even by the GAA's low standard, they are an embarrassment.

^^^^ because that's a blatently trolly post that adds nothing to the topic. If your going to continue doing that, fuck off and do it elsewhere. I'm sure soccer will accomodate you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Well if you insist on playing this petty game.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=he-D4QIrWGk

http://www.highbeam.com/doc/1G1-115953216.html

http://breakingnews.iol.ie/sport/story.asp?j=202573992&p=zxz574698&n=202574752

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2007/1209/moorefield.html?rss

http://www.accessmylibrary.com/coms2/summary_0286-19211672_ITM

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/northern_ireland/1043268.stm

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2000/1128/gaa.html

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2004/1122/mccartan.html

And I don't think any referee has ever had to be smuggled out of a Shamrock Rovers game in the boot of a car. As for a Galway man telling the people of Tallaght what's good for us, we can actually decide for ourselves. The stadium issue was a major election point here and every single TD elected backed Rovers in their case. The fact that Tomas Davis felt they had to ban members of the Government from their clubhouse (two days after receiving a substantial Government grant) shows exactly how isolated and out of touch their stance is regarded here in Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Enough of the one-upmanship and get back on topic.

Well if you insist on playing this petty game.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=he-D4QIrWGk

http://www.highbeam.com/doc/1G1-115953216.html

http://breakingnews.iol.ie/sport/story.asp?j=202573992&p=zxz574698&n=202574752

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2007/1209/moorefield.html?rss

http://www.accessmylibrary.com/coms2/summary_0286-19211672_ITM

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/northern_ireland/1043268.stm

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2000/1128/gaa.html

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2004/1122/mccartan.html

And I don't think any referee has ever had to be smuggled out of a Shamrock Rovers game in the boot of a car. As for a Galway man telling the people of Tallaght what's good for us, we can actually decide for ourselves. The stadium issue was a major election point here and every single TD elected backed Rovers in their case. The fact that Tomas Davis felt they had to ban members of the Government from their clubhouse (two days after receiving a substantial Government grant) shows exactly how isolated and out of touch their stance is regarded here in Tallaght.

Not one of those links refers to Thomas Davis. All the links I posted referred to Shamrock Rovers. If I wanted to engage in one-upmanship (its ok Smashey, I won't!) I could post links about soccer violence in South America and they would be as relevant as the ones you posted i.e. totally irrelevant.

All I said in my original post was I felt sorry for the people of Tallaght - fair enough if you want SR, but I still feel sorry for anyone in Tallaght who will have to put up with soccer hooligans carry-on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

Why should the whole stadium be torn apart when there are perfect GAA facilities nearby? Ridiculous tit for tat from TD
    Why should Croker with public money be used exclusively for GAA?
    Why shouldn't other sports expect to be able to use a publicly-funded facility?

this has been explained before.

The GAA got no grant money for Croke Park. What they got was a refund from the Government on the VAT paid on all building materials to construct the place. as an amateur organisation they were able to build a national stadium when the government or anyone else were unable to deliver similar development

you can be sure local GAA club TD did not get their facilities for free but have had to beg, fundraise and scrimp for every penny and euro to build their pitches etc. and for SR to get the place for free?

Yes SR went broke because they tried to build the place. but that was down to financial mismanagement by their directors and other people who took large sums of money out of the club

don't have a problem with SR being in Tallaght, or having a ground. But when the place is going to be paid for by my own taxes then I do care. no other sports organisation/club is direclty given money by a local authority in this way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭aliveandkicking

don't have a problem with SR being in Tallaght, or having a ground. But when the place is going to be paid for by my own taxes then I do care. no other sports organisation/club is direclty given money by a local authority in this way

Rovers are not being given money directly. What they are getting is anchor tenancy in a Community Stadium. What this means is they rent the stadium from the Council up to 40 times per year.

Everything else that happens in the stadium will be run by the council - junior GAA, school sports days etc., rugby matches, concerts etc. They could even turn the pitch into a giant ice rink in the winter months when Rovers season is over. Really the stadium has so much potential as a community facility. It is simply wrong to say Shamrock Rovers are getting money directly from the taxpayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Delighted Rovers one. Although I'll miss some of the homeless related banter, this is great of the League of Ireland.

Thomas Davies were very greedy to continue with this. Am I right in saying that John O'Donoghue offered to get a stadium built in the area to accomadate senior GAA, but Thomas Davies declined? And, if senior GAA was to be accomadated, would one existing stand have to be knocked and started from scratch and the overall capacity of the ground reduced?

Is the situation here similar to Cork City's deal with the MFA for Turners Cross?

First two banners are understandable. Thomas Davies could have destroyed Shamrock Rovers, so of course they would hate them. The fcuk off + die part is a tongue in cheek remark, I'd say...

The third link is from two years ago. Since the 400 club took over, the hooliganism problem with Rovers has been tackled. There's only a minority.

What's wrong with the fourth link?

I'm surprised to hear that you would be thrown out of a GAA stadium for expressing your opinion. Is John Delaney invloved with the GAA as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

If Thomas Davis (1814-1845), Protestant, son of a British Surgeon, was alive today he might be surprised to hear that a club using his name, and affiliated to an organisation founded (1884) forty years after his death, is in legal conflict with another sporting club.

According to Wiki, Thomas Davis preached peace between Catholics and Protestants.
    Soccer (Football Association 1863) and GAA (1884) hadn't been invented before his death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭patmac

The High Court have decided that Shamrock Rovers should get the stadium, so we should let this whole sorry saga end as I can't see the point in debating it further, FWIW I don't think TD have come out of this with much credit, and they shouldn't be concerned with the impact that Rovers would have in the area regarding players. One thing that would concern me is if judging by the f off and die banner posted previously and by some of the hate filled anti-GAA bias posted here and on previous threads on the soccer forum that some form of retribution would be carried out on TD's clubhouse etc. A line should be drawn under the whole sorry affair and people should move on.

Paz-CCFC wrote: »
    First two banners are understandable. Thomas Davies could have destroyed Shamrock Rovers, so of course they would hate them. The fcuk off + die part is a tongue in cheek remark, I'd say...

Oh, its tongue in cheek now to suggest to someone that they fcuk off and die? :rolleyes:
    I wonder if you walked down the street with such a banne what the gardai would have to say. Just because they hate TF doesn't mean they can display banners that could be constued as incitement to hatred.

I'm surprised to hear that you would be thrown out of a GAA stadium for expressing your opinion. Is John Delaney invloved with the GAA as well?

I'll take that as tongue in cheek! You're welcome to John Delaney, we certainly don't want him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

kincsem wrote: »
    If Thomas Davis (1814-1845), Protestant, son of a British Surgeon, was alive today he might be surprised to hear that a club using his name, and affiliated to an organisation founded (1884) forty years after his death, is in legal conflict with another sporting club.

According to Wiki, Thomas Davis preached peace between Catholics and Protestants.
    Soccer (Football Association 1863) and GAA (1884) hadn't been invented before his death.

Right on!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

If this GAA v Soccer forum match goes ahead, i think it could be a sea of red cards after this thread. This whole SR V TD was only a ploy by the mods to build up more interest in the game, admit it! :D

kaimera wrote: »
    ^^^^ because that's a blatently trolly post that adds nothing to the topic. If your going to continue doing that, fuck off and do it elsewhere. I'm sure soccer will accomodate you.
    Get in Kaim! I dont think i have ever seen you curse before :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

patmac wrote: »
    The High Court have decided that Shamrock Rovers should get the stadium, so we should let this whole sorry saga end as I can't see the point in debating it further, FWIW I don't think TD have come out of this with much credit, and they shouldn't be concerned with the impact that Rovers would have in the area regarding players. One thing that would concern me is if judging by the f off and die banner posted previously and by some of the hate filled anti-GAA bias posted here and on previous threads on the soccer forum that some form of retribution would be carried out on TD's clubhouse etc. A line should be drawn under the whole sorry affair and people should move on.

I'm sure if the rovers fans were going to do that, they would have done it by now. I'd be more concerned about the Thomas Davis lads carrying out some kind of retribution on the new stadium etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

patmac wrote: »

Come on guys can ye all calm down. :cool:
    As The Big L said I think the rovers fans would have carried out this retribution before. No point putting the idea in their heads all the same!
    Personally I am a sports fan number one and of all sports GAA is my number one.
    As for comments made regarding the GAA i think the GAA have finally entered a 21st century mindset but the organisation does have a history of being small minded and the TD V Rovers case is a reminder of this
    Big L I think you should accept that the GAA in general has moved on in huge strides and let us all move on in a less aggressive tone with the debate.

Tomthepost wrote: »
    Come on guys can ye all calm down. :cool:
    As The Big L said I think the rovers fans would have carried out this retribution before. No point putting the idea in their heads all the same!
    Personally I am a sports fan number one and of all sports GAA is my number one.
    As for comments made regarding the GAA i think the GAA have finally entered a 21st century mindset but the organisation does have a history of being small minded and the TD V Rovers case is a reminder of this
    Big L I think you should accept that the GAA in general has moved on in huge strides and let us all move on in a less aggressive tone with the debate.

Good post. I am a sports fan also with the GAA being my favourite. A club with the history SR has deserves a new home. The GAA is the most professional organisation in the state and a lot of soccer people hate the fact we are far better equipped than they are. They should just shut up on this thread, its got a bit out of hand. We will whoop them in both codes in the upcoming games. Trolls go home!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Oh, its tongue in cheek now to suggest to someone that they fcuk off and die? :rolleyes:
    I wonder if you walked down the street with such a banne what the gardai would have to say. Just because they hate TF doesn't mean they can display banners that could be constued as incitement to hatred.
    Well, what I think they meant was just get away from Tallagh. I don't think they meant for them to actually fold
    I'll take that as tongue in cheek! You're welcome to John Delaney, we certainly don't want him :D
    Ah, John is a great man. His skills include paying top dollar for a man with no experience and managing to fine a club because their supporters celebrate :D

I think what alot of people may be forgetting is that alot of GAA fans are also soccer fans. Im quite sure some people who post on the GAA site might even prefer soccer to GAA but enjoy both. All this Soccer V GAA bitterness is quite hilarious tbh. I, like others here, like all sports but my first and second favourites are GAA and Soccer. My opinion on the Eircom League and the level of enjoyment i get from it i have made quite clear, but thats just my opinion. Thats doesnt mean i hold a cross up to all fans of it and try and banish them back underground while quoting bible verses! :D We all know from Rule 42 etc that the GAA can be quite small minded at times however dont forget that Rule 42 has now been overturned which is a major step and to be honest i have seen alot more smallminded comments coming the other way, particularly from a now banned Soccer fan who shall remain nameless ;) Just remember, your posting on another groups forum so try and have the decency to respect them. If you cant post without trying to belittle the entire GAA, i would suggest not posting here at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Am i happy that SR won? Yes. They have a good schoolboys thing going, they have been investing in Tallaght for years. Dont forget it was because of property developers getting all greedy that this all started by the way. A lesson for Clare and Kildare County Boards lites therein.

Tallaght is big enough to have a very successfull GAA team and Soccer team. God knows, after all these years, the community deserves it. This was a bad call by elements in the GAA and, hopefully, may be the death rattle of the Frank Murphy's in the Capital.

Bump, Rovers are moving into their stadium shortly. Congratulations to them. But why did they buy the leftover seats from Dr.Cullen Park, it looks like the home of Carlow GAA not Irelands most successful Soccer club:confused:http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/stadium.php

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

It does look like that alright but they are the colours of South Dublin County Council.