Garret Fitzgerld.......WHF!!!!!

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Sleepy wrote: »
    OP, cop yourself on. Arguably the most intelligent taoiseach the country has ever had and you think the bunch of corrupt idiots currently in power couldn't possibly benefit from his advice occasionaly?

But arguably, along with DeV and Costelloe, the most useless.

Ask the 1,000s a week who emigrated in 85/86?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Leave the blind party allegiance behind Fitzgerald. It just makes you look like a simpleton.

FYP.

The man was a bumbling idiot.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

K-9 wrote: »
    ............Ask the 1,000s a week who emigrated in 85/86?

As one of them ('86) I have to agree with this poster ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭ronano

junkyard wrote: »
    FFS....I'M NOT A FF SUPPORTER........DOES ANYONE EVEN LOOK PROPERLY AT MY SIG!!!!:rolleyes:

something bout loving ff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

wasn't he an economics lecturer? pretty sure he's one of the most qualified people in the country to give advice.

Also lost his bollix when the GPA share flotation went tits up and was forgiven a (going on memory) 400,000 Pound loan by the Bank in the aftermath. They don't forgive me as much as their poxy "outside the Eurozone" charges.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,003 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Apologies Junkyard, I disregard most sigs tbh, all I saw in yours was the car and the Ográ logo...

Nodin, Fitzgerald was forgiven the part of the debt he couldn't pay after disposing of his assets as the Bank didn't want the bad publicity of forcing a former Taoiseach into bankruptcy. Nothing like Haughey's acceptance of bribes written off debts while he was still in possession of a private island.

I think you'd find most banks would behave in a similar fashion towards Joe Public tbh Nodin. One of the many jobs I had as a student was indexing a warehouse full of a major banks bad debts files for the western region. There were hundreds of thousands of cases over the previous ten years or so and as far as I'm aware, none of these customers were ever forced into bankruptcy. While I'm obviously not at liberty to disclose any of the names on the thousands of files I sorted through, many of them were quite recognisable as people who'd gone on to run very successful businesses in the area.

There's absolutely nothing to be gained in bankrupting someone if they've already done everything in their power to make good on a debt and huge adverse publicity through word-of-mouth... Never mind the fact that if the person who's debt you're forgiving has a change of fortune down the line, their custom may be very valuable to the bank and you'll find very few customers with the same degree of loyalty towards a bank as one who's given them a second chance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I just watched the nine o'clock and there I saw Garret Fitzgerld advising on how to sort out the mess we're in at the moment.........

What the fuck is Garret Fitzgerald doing on your clock?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Apologies Junkyard, I disregard most sigs tbh, all I saw in yours was the car and the Ográ logo...

Nodin, Fitzgerald was forgiven the part of the debt he couldn't pay after disposing of his assets as the Bank didn't want the bad publicity of forcing a former Taoiseach into bankruptcy. Nothing like Haughey's acceptance of bribes written off debts while he was still in possession of a private island.

I think you'd find most banks would behave in a similar fashion towards Joe Public tbh Nodin. One of the many jobs I had as a student was indexing a warehouse full of a major banks bad debts files for the western region. There were hundreds of thousands of cases over the previous ten years or so and as far as I'm aware, none of these customers were ever forced into bankruptcy. While I'm obviously not at liberty to disclose any of the names on the thousands of files I sorted through, many of them were quite recognisable as people who'd gone on to run very successful businesses in the area.

There's absolutely nothing to be gained in bankrupting someone if they've already done everything in their power to make good on a debt and huge adverse publicity through word-of-mouth... Never mind the fact that if the person who's debt you're forgiving has a change of fortune down the line, their custom may be very valuable to the bank and you'll find very few customers with the same degree of loyalty towards a bank as one who's given them a second chance.

To hell with you, and your seemingly well informed opinions......[/sarc]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭MoominPapa

FFS....I'M NOT A FF SUPPORTER........DOES ANYONE EVEN LOOK PROPERLY AT MY SIG!!!!:rolleyes:

The more the lady doth protest....
    You are a chick, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

themont85 wrote: »
    To be fair to GF he was in a coalition with Labour and had a hefty opposition led by Charles Haughy who agreed to **** all consensus and was all about getting himself back as Taoiseach(like Kenny now being a beligerant prick and putting politics over the country). As soon as he was FG agreed to the Tallaght Strategy.
    The current Government have a majority and at this stage have no support to lose. They can implement whatever policy they want. They and we don't need a National Government or Tallaght Strategy II.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

MoominPapa wrote: »
    You are a chick, right?

Not for nigh on 3 years now.

I just watched the nine o'clock and there I saw Garret Fitzgerld advising on how to sort out the mess we're in at the moment.........now correct me if I'm wrong here, but this man couldn't look after his own finances a few years ago and had the banks write off his own bad debts along with Haughey and a few others, and now he's advising the government on how to sort things out?? I don't know wheather to laugh or cry at the brass neck of him I really don't. Watching the running of this country is like watching a car crash in slow motion, you know it's going to be bad but you'd feel like running in and pulling these muppets out before there is absolutely no hope.:(
    I assume you are talking about the aircraft firm?

I don't think its right to compare Fitzgerald and Haughey. Fitzgerald actually attempted to pay back the debt going as far as liquidating his personal assets. Including his family home.
    The Moriarity Tribunal absolved him of any wrong doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

KerranJast wrote: »
    The current Government have a majority and at this stage have no support to lose. They can implement whatever policy they want. They and we don't need a National Government or Tallaght Strategy II.

Yeah but Kenny and Gilmore want an election. They see power which they haven't had for over a decade. Kenny has to exploit this for his own sake, if FG can't win an election now when will they ever have a better chance? Doesn't look like there will be any sort of Tallght Strategy 2 unfortunately.

Fitzgearld would have been a great Taoiseach during the Celtic Tiger now i think of it.