Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garret Fitzgerld.......WHF!!!!!

• 26-02-2009 10:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭

I just watched the nine o'clock and there I saw Garret Fitzgerld advising on how to sort out the mess we're in at the moment.........now correct me if I'm wrong here, but this man couldn't look after his own finances a few years ago and had the banks write off his own bad debts along with Haughey and a few others, and now he's advising the government on how to sort things out?? I don't know wheather to laugh or cry at the brass neck of him I really don't. Watching the running of this country is like watching a car crash in slow motion, you know it's going to be bad but you'd feel like running in and pulling these muppets out before there is absolutely no hope.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,310 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

WHF!!!!

FAIL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

He couldn't be any worse than the muppets in power at the moment.
    and btw, it's Fitzgerald, there's an a in there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

WTF does WHF stand for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Sorry, I meant WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

MGO! :eek: tis a FIAL!

Its a bit rich but I suspect he puts down the 80s screw ups to coalition with Labour before the beards went. His prognosis is bloody gloomy but sadly not wrong.

tallus wrote: »
    He couldn't be any worse than the muppets in power at the moment.
    and btw, it's Fitzgerald, there's an a in there :)
    Does it matter?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

junkyard wrote: »
    Does it matter?:)

well if you're going to piss an moan about someone at least spell their name correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Surely this is a joke. He needs advice on how to put on a pair of shoes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I thought it was socks he usually mixed up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

mike65 wrote: »
    His prognosis is bloody gloomy but sadly not wrong.

The thing is the opposition is very short on detail of what they will actually do which has been a let down.

mike65 wrote: »
    I thought it was socks he usually mixed up?
    You might be right. I just remember him being dubbed goody two shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

He's gloomy but I think he's right about a lot of things. We need an emergency budget right now, not in 10 months.

He also said that taxes will need to go up, but the government won't do it until after the local elections.
    The opposition won't even mention raising taxes because if they do, they won't get in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

When I voted No to the Lisbon Treaty I meant it.

Well at least you voted no.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Sleipnir wrote: »
    The opposition won't even mention raising taxes because if they do, they won't get in.

I agree the opposition have been very short on detail of what they would do, their is a great deal of uncertainty as to what the govt will do in the next budget and this uncertainty is not a good thing, what will they raise and this is not necesaary a good thing, just look what has happned with VAT going up, will putting up the likes of cgt necessary bring in more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

but this man couldn't look after his own finances a few years ago and had the banks write off his own bad debts along with Haughey and a few others, and now he's advising the government on how to sort things out??

I wouldn't worry that he couldn't sort out his own finances, I'd worry he couldn't sort out the countries. IMF was due to be called in.

Take whatever advice he gives and do the opposite.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

eoin wrote: »
    WTF does WHF stand for?

As I understand WHF is the frequency on televisions that Delboy sells so that you can tune in Eastern European stations without having to get a satellite dish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I just watched the nine o'clock and there I saw Garret Fitzgerld advising on how to sort out the mess we're in at the moment.........now correct me if I'm wrong here, but this man couldn't look after his own finances a few years ago and had the banks write off his own bad debts along with Haughey and a few others, and now he's advising the government on how to sort things out?? I don't know wheather to laugh or cry at the brass neck of him I really don't. Watching the running of this country is like watching a car crash in slow motion, you know it's going to be bad but you'd feel like running in and pulling these muppets out before there is absolutely no hope.:(

wasn't he an economics lecturer? pretty sure he's one of the most qualified people in the country to give advice.

PHD in economics, lectured in politics and economics.

Obviously OP is better qualified.

wasn't he an economics lecturer? pretty sure he's one of the most qualified people in the country to give advice.

He might have been, but practice and theory are two very different things.

Well, he's not practising it now, he's talking about it. He's retired.

Given his education and the fact that he's been Taoiseach twice, he's more qualified to comment on the current state then either you or I do.

I know someone who lectures and has degrees coming out of his arse but doesn't know how to boil an egg.

Sleipnir wrote: »
    PHD in economics, lectured in politics and economics.

Obviously OP is better qualified.

Maybe I am, maybe I'm not, but at least i wouldn't be telling people what to do if I wasn't capable of running my own affairs properly.

dSTAR wrote: »
    I know someone who lectures and has degrees coming out of his arse but doesn't know how to boil an egg.

i presume he knows about what he lectures though?

Heh, I take it you aren't old enough to remember 1982-87?

Exactly, sums him up.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Maybe I am, maybe I'm not, but at least i wouldn't be telling people what to do if I wasn't capable of running my own affairs properly.

Meh, neither can Stephen Hawkings; smart man though. Churchill was a drunk who spent a large part of the war sleeping during the day but He did know how to run a war.

It's often the case that intelligent people can't do things that you or I take for granted. My uncle is a mathematical genius but we found him trying to use a coffee machine to make soup.

K-9 wrote: »
    Heh, I take it you aren't old enough to remember 1982-87?

before i was born :pac:

i can't claim to know much about that era, but that wasn't really his fault was it? and he's hands were tied by being in coalition with a bunch of those bearded types?

Well from what I can remember of his governing skills he wasn't exactly great at that either.

i presume he knows about what he lectures though?
    Quite possibly. But book knowledge and practical experience / pragmatism are two very different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Is there a politician in this country, retired or otherwise, who hasn't got a high opinion of himself?

before i was born :pac:

i can't claim to know much about that era, but that wasn't really his fault was it? and he's hands were tied by being in coalition with a bunch of those bearded types?

And this isn't Cowens?

He was the stereotypical intellectual.

Quite possibly. But book knowledge and practical experience / pragmatism are two very different things.

but he has both?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I fund it funny that someone who supports Fianna Fail is critising someone from Fine Gael for offering up a solution to all the crap happening at the moment. Bertie couldn't remember where all that money came from. Surely pot calling the kettle black, eh?

Asking Fitzgerald (or Haughey) to come back to run the country would be like asking my granma to enter the Miss World competition. Shes dead btw. They came from very different eras and the world we are in now is very different to the world in which they were running the country.

i don't think he supports ff.

I hope you don't think I support FF.....TAKE A CLOSER LOOK AT MY SIG!!!!!!!!!

And this isn't Cowens?

He was the stereotypical intellectual.

i wasn't implying that it was cowens. i just took it that you were insinuating that the problems back then were Garret Fitzgerald's doing.
    Asking Fitzgerald (or Haughey) to come back to run the country would be like asking my granma to enter the Miss World competition. Shes dead btw. They came from very different eras and the world we are in now is very different to the world in which they were running the country.

i think he would do a much better job than the politicians were have around at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I thought you left the country?:confused:

i think he would do a much better job than the politicians were have around at the moment.

Well that wouldn't be hard because the politicians we have at the moment are doing sweet f*ck all.

Stekelly wrote: »
    I thought you left the country?:confused:

Coming and going sorting out my stuff, if that's ok with you.

you still don't accept that with his education and the fact that he's been Taoiseach twice that he may have some worthwhile advice to give?

i wasn't implying that it was cowens. i just took it that you were insinuating that the problems back then were Garret Fitzgerald's doing.

He was the Taoiseach for 5 years and instead of doing what he said he would, he doubled our debt and raised taxes.

Jaysus, give it 20 years and we'll be reading Cowen lectures on the economy.

I hope you don't think I support FF.....TAKE A CLOSER LOOK AT MY SIG!!!!!!!!!

Hey now here....... I seem to remember round election 07', posts on the Politics forum to the contrary.

Sad but true.

He was the Taoiseach for 5 years and instead of doing what he said he would, he doubled our debt and raised taxes.
    but that wasn't really his fault was it? and he's hands were tied by being in coalition with a bunch of those bearded types?

no?

Jaysus, give it 20 years and we'll be reading Cowen lectures on the economy.

It didn't help that Fianna Fail left an almighty mess before Fine Gael either I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Coming and going sorting out my stuff, if that's ok with you.

Nope, jog on and moan about the goings on wherever your laying you hat nowadays.

I just hope it isnt France. I'll be able to hear you from here.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Did he not double the national Debt during his tenure?. Surely as an economist, he had to wonder about that?.

That's possibly true, but a lot of people would be better than the idiots - both Government and opposition - in both houses at the moment. I can see very few genuine leaders or representatives in either the Dáil or the senate right now.

no?

I believe he was well intentioned but he was never a politician.

It was a coalition and yes, he had to consider Labour. Still, FF don't care too much about the Greens. That doesn't absolve him of responsibility for the mess in 1987, after 5 years of his Govt.

He was that bad, Dukes introduced the Tallaght strategy, somebody finally had to do what they said. If anything, we owe him the "how not to run a country during a recession" lessons.

PS. If Dick Spring wrote the same, I'd be as critical.

stepbar wrote: »
    It didn't help that Fianna Fail left an almighty mess before Fine Gael either I suppose.

Completely accepted. Unfortunately FG and Labour made it worse. McSharry cleaned up everybodies mess.