Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US/IRL] 5X06 - "316" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

funny how the same ol' moaners moan every week, yet they still "tune in" every thursday morning to watch before rte/sky show ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,419 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Anyone else get the feeling that this whole O6-arc was ended earlier than planned?

After an entire season of the O6 getting off the island and several eps of them messing around in the real world, they suddenly all drop everything and get on a plane. Maybe the writers or ABC decided the off-island stuff wasn't working and so the O6 story got rushed to conclusion.

Think you've missed something SP, you've mention alot lately that the show has shifted away from character driven flashbacks. And the on/off island is not as good. I'm expecting the next few episodes to be flashback driven, starting with Locke, then hurley, Sayid, Kate
    Oh yeah, when Kate went to visit her father? I forgot all about that. I think that was from the the end of the Gulf War when Sayid is captured and made to work for the U.S. army. We saw that flashback in "One of Them", a few episodes after "What Kate Did".
    Just for completeness, the guy Sayid was working for was Kelvin from the Hatch
    cooker3 wrote: »
    Also was it my imagination or the timeline kinda screwed up. Jack goes from the church to the bar he then gets a phone call about his grandfather. He heads over and now it's daytime and grabs Christian shoes, he arrives home at night again to meet up with Kate. Did that represent a 24 hour period?
    I think either the bar scene was during the day (day after the church) or he only went to his grand father the following morning, it may not be all that close. Kate in the bed was 24 hours after the church (flight being 36 hours)

Good episode, I like all the proxies on the flight,
    Guitar=Charlie
    US Marshel
    Hurley reading a comic = Walt
    Frank was intended to be the original pilot etc

Who was that extra guy in first class?? The guy who accross from Hugo (also spoke to Jack at check-in)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

that episode was lethal. the jin bit at the end was brilliant, a classic lost moment. i enjoyed the return of the jack/science vs locke/fate theme. by the way, that was a very character driven episode actually - jack's struggle believing the insane premise of getting back to the island with his father's shoes on dead locke's feet. i think think was a huge episode, the way it linked back so much to the very first episode.....gonna watch this again later tonight.

why did locke need to have something belonging to christian? does that have something to do with locke's resurrection? did christian come back to life on the island coz he was was wearing sneakers, that may have belonged to someone important?

why did their crash have to be set up as similar as possible to the original one? if someone knows how to get to the island, then surely the original flight was known by people that it would crash on the island and they arranged for the losties to be on the plane? best example was claire, someone told her to get on the plane. or was it just pure coincidence coz i thought they only crashed when des was late pushing the button.
    Mellor wrote: »
    Who was that extra guy in first class?? The guy
    who accross from Hugo (also spoke to Jack at check-in)
    250px-5x06_Caesar.jpg
    this guy? i think he was in a sayid flashback. i definitely recognise him being on the show before.

oh yeah, another thing: "the island is always moving" said ms hawking, and jin in the dharma suit at the end which implies that the time is in the 70's or 80's.

does this imply that when the losties originally crashed on the island, that the island time wasn't 2004, but maybe some time in the past or future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Does anyone else think that ben might have injured himself to resemble locke to an extent??

The new guy could be a new sawyer! Was there anyone else in the front section of the plane??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

good episode,

no one mentioned that the guitar case is charlie's so that's another thing that's similar.

the humour was great too.

"who are these people?" - echos mike's last line before leaving the island with walt

lockes suicide note was brilliant too.

tok9 wrote: »
    Does anyone else think that ben might have injured himself to resemble locke to an extent??
    na, i'd say sayid kicked the **** out of him. he'd need to break his legs to resemble locke, but maybe you're right, he busted his arm was near enough - not everything else was perfect, there was a lot less passengers on this plane.
    tok9 wrote: »
    The new guy could be a new sawyer! Was there anyone else in the front section of the plane??
    probably just another 2 or 3 co-pilots and stewardesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,710 ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Think you've missed something SP, you've mention alot lately that the show has shifted away from character driven flashbacks. And the on/off island is not as good. I'm expecting the next few episodes to be flashback driven, starting with Locke, then hurley, Sayid, Kate
    Oh yeah I think so too, which is why I'm really happy that they are back. There's quite a bit of potential flashback material built up for the O6.

Jack: The story of how he became Junkie-Jack and his realisation that he had to "go back". There's a big gap between his breakup with Kate and the first flash-forward. A flashback could cover his off-island meeting with Locke and possible visit from Christian.

Kate: Her whole relationship with Aaron and what happened to him.

Sayid: Nadia's death and how he came to be on the plane.

Hurley: How he got out of prison; maybe more on his seeing dead people.

I dunno, maybe the writers always planned to get them back quick and use flashbacks to fill in the rest. It just sort of begs the question why they didn't just start the season with Jack waking up in the jungle and used flashbacks to fill in everything. Narratively it would have been a lot smoother.
    i enjoyed the return of the jack/science vs locke/fate theme.
    Yeah I really liked this as well. Jack's new found fate was evident in the season 3 flashforward but it's really starting to come full circle now. What greater act of fate then for Jack to bring Locke's body back to the island so he can be resurrected. I think the writers have handled this very well. It's a great resolution to the Jack/Locke conflict that's been at the heart of the show since the start.

no one mentioned that the guitar case is charlie's so that's another thing that's similar.
    mellor mentioned it ^^^
    Good episode, I like all the proxies on the flight,
    Guitar=Charlie
    US Marshel
    Hurley reading a comic = Walt
    Frank was intended to be the original pilot etc
    I dunno, maybe the writers always planned to get them back quick and use flashbacks to fill in the rest. It just sort of begs the question why they didn't just start the season with Jack waking up in the jungle and used flashbacks to fill in everything. Narratively it would have been a lot smoother.
    well the writers did say a few podcasts ago something like "we know the fans would hate us if we spent all season getting them back to the island" so it sounds like they had it planned to bring them back early, although i do think they brought them back a little earlier than originally intended.

not sure about starting the season with jack waking up, hard to say if it would have worked better...maybe when re-watching on DVD watch this episode first then the first 5 episodes, see how it plays....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭pkumohideeile

The way they get back to the island is lame. Perhaps it's not so bad they had to use a plane but the way Hawking told them to recreate the things from the first flight just smells of BS.

And who is this "very clever man" who wrote all the equations? Is it Widmore? Is Widmore Daniel Farradays father?

They seemed to pose an awful lot of questions this episode rather than answering stuff. I still gave it a 7 cause it was good but a bit on the cutting corners side. I'm all in for this show til the bitter end but this ep was a bit shakey. And i'm starting to get sick of this 'need to know basis' since the 1st or 2nd series. "You're not ready" and all that bull****. They need to give us some bloody answers this season and end the final season with a full on war. I honestly believe they'll end lost with a return of the jedi scene - Christian Shepard, Locke, Libby etc all hanging out with yoda, hayden christianson, marty mcfly.

Did anyone see the picture of the island with the date from 1953 in the statino? I wish it was more interesting.

Oh and what about at the end of an earlier ep where Hawking says "god help us all" if they can't get them all back. And now it's like 'sure feck it we'll see what happens'. That crap and the holey solution to getting back to the island make me not take them serious.

Loving this series! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Yeah I really liked this as well. Jack's new found fate was evident in the season 3 flashforward but it's really starting to come full circle now. What greater act of fate then for Jack to bring Locke's body back to the island so he can be resurrected. I think the writers have handled this very well. It's a great resolution to the Jack/Locke conflict that's been at the heart of the show since the start.

I agree. I loved when Jack was talking to him and saying "I hope you are happy now as this is crazier then you ever were"
    Go Team Locke!

The dialogue in this episode was top quality.

It just sort of begs the question why they didn't just start the season with Jack waking up in the jungle and used flashbacks to fill in everything. Narratively it would have been a lot smoother.

Yes that would have being a great way to begin the series but i think we really needed them to spend some time off the island since we've being with them trapped on the island for 4 seasons.

Does anyone see any connection between Joyces Ulysses and lost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭lynchpin

Good episode but -

1) I thought Walt might have made an appearance on the plane. any thoughts?
    2) Am I the only one who thinks that Des and Penny might be dead and in coffins along with Locke's coffin?

They need to give us some bloody answers this season and end the final season with a full on war.
    i thought we've been getting loads of answers this season?
    Did anyone see the picture of the island with the date from 1953 in the statino? I wish it was more interesting.
    5x06_army_photo-thumb-470x264-1875.jpg
    I loved when Jack was talking to him and saying "I hope you are happy now as this is crazier then you ever were"
    one of the episode's highlights for me. it's amazing, locke didn't say a line in the whole episode but we still got that whole jack/locke conflict going on. i'll put that line up there as one my top favourites of the show.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Kate: "Don't ever ask me what happened to Aaron"

...then later Ben appears covered in blood - must be linked :D

It was enjoyable at the beginning and end, if a bit slow in the middle. I did love the meta joke almost where they pointedly remarked how ridiculous it all was and not to bother pointing it out.

Seriously though, I thought there was a rational basis for all the stuff? How does someone wearing someone's shoes make any sort of sense? And I'm surprised nobody worried about all the other passengers who would potentially have their lives destroyed (although almost made up for by Ben's classic "Who cares!" response).

Show is bonkers now and I don't believe it will really make a proper lick of sense in the end, but I'm still really enjoying it so I guess it doesn't matter too much anymore!

And who is this "very clever man" who wrote all the equations? Is it Widmore? Is Widmore Daniel Farradays father?
    My guess is Chang
    http://lostpedia.wikia.com/wiki/Chang
    Oh and what about at the end of an earlier ep where Hawking says "god help us all" if they can't get them all back. And now it's like 'sure feck it we'll see what happens'. That crap and the holey solution to getting back to the island make me not take them serious.
    They got them all didn't they?
    And, my guess is that once we see how Kate, Sayid, Hurley were persueded, we might see some more urgency from the Ben/Hawking side.

Any paticular why you pick Ulysees? (apart from Ben reading it on the flight)

i was just reading on another site that the last chapter of ulysses is called "penelope". i only read half that book but i can't think of any other possible links it might have with Lost.

Ulysees... ugh, my head hurts just thinking about it. I seriously doubt the Lost writers have even read it. They probably just threw it in there for a laugh.
    ixoy wrote: »
    Show is bonkers now and I don't believe it will really make a proper lick of sense in the end, but I'm still really enjoying it so I guess it doesn't matter too much anymore!
    Yeah, that pretty much sums up how I feel now. And maybe the show was always bonkers and we were all deluded to think otherwise? I've heard Damon say more than once that in the beginning he never thought the show would last longer than 12 eps and just wanted to go out in a blaze of glory. And to his credit, the show has never stopped being crazy. If your gonna jump the shark, jump it big, I guess.

Whatever happens in the end, whether it makes sense or not, it's been a great ride.

I wish there was more to this picture, but nice to see them throw something in.

Where is Desmond? Does he not count as one of the people that should go back or "god help us all"?

It would be nice if there was some Ulysses connection since we're Irish here but if not it could be just to give Ben some credit for being a reader. I don't know really.

Yeah, that pretty much sums up how I feel now. And maybe the show was always bonkers and we were all deluded to think otherwise? I've heard Damon say more than once that in the beginning he never thought the show would last longer than 12 eps and just wanted to go out in a blaze of glory. And to his credit, the show has never stopped being crazy. If your gonna jump the shark, jump it big, I guess.

Whatever happens in the end, whether it makes sense or not, it's been a great ride.

Does anyone reckon we should lower our standards and just enjoy the ride out? I'm thinking so.

Where is Desmond? Does he not count as one of the people that should go back or "god help us all"?
    I forgot all about Desmond. I guess, as before, he'll find his own way back to the island. His destiny is separate to the others.
    It would be nice if there was some Ulysses connection since we're Irish here but if not it could be just to give Ben some credit for being a reader. I don't know really.
    Ulysses is pretty much based on Homer's The Odyssey, which inspired Desmond and Penny's relationship. So it's probably just another reference to that.

Does anyone reckon we should lower our standards and just enjoy the ride out? I'm thinking so.
    i don't agree with the lower standards bit. but yeah, just enjoy the ride, enjoy the show for what it is. for me, just as much of the enjoyment comes from the basic concepts, motifs and themes: good vs evil, science vs fate, one of them, time travelling consciousness, dreams vs reality, life/death, all the different philosophies, eye opening, games, fate vs free will....plus many more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,247 ✭✭✭stevejazzx

so jack puts some of his dads shoes on locke becasue they (ben et al) are trying to recreate the inital crash as far as possible becasue they need to be on the island otherwise their mates will die? that is bonkers, why?
    what i'm thinking is that ben & hawking are aware that in order to sort out the time issues the original crew must be back on the island but the part that of this remains nuts is that christian jacob shepard is walking around like some kind calm ghost overlord pulling the strings! if christian was dead when he arrived was he brought back to life? was not really dead in the first place? or the whole plane went back in time?
    and what's with danielles team that was studying time arriving on the island and all going mad almost immediately? lost is nuts..what's going on???:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭oleras

So surprised this has not been mentioned so far.

from what i can gather, when the original plane, oceanic crashed it was obviously passing through a window, this would have been know by ma faraday and certain people had to be on it, christian sheppard would have been 1 of them, who else was on that flight we dont know yet, but like the O6 they must have left in the past and now had to return. before that plane crashed there was a flash and the people that needed to return were returned, the rest of the passangers crash landed, jack and co.

well, it makes sense in my head anyways......:D

Also, i was convinced that by jack ignoring the letter that when he eventually opend it it would have said " jack, i was wrong, dont trust ben, never step foot on that island ever again"........i was kinda wrong about that one....lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Does the army photo look like the location of the giant foot statue? Just minus the statue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

ixoy wrote: »
    Kate: "Don't ever ask me what happened to Aaron"

...then later Ben appears covered in blood - must be linked :D

i didnt that about ben and kate

it better make sense at the end but your right the shoes thing makes no sense at all

still it was the best episode of lost i have seen in a long long time for 2 reasons

1. it was explained how dharma found the island
    2. i actually laughed out loud for the first time since season 2

I wish there was more to this picture, but nice to see them throw something in.

I was thinking the same, then I spotted it.

Check out the date. It's 50 years (edit +1 day, less interesting now). Before the Oceanic 815 crash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

I was wondering about that aswell. Bens saying his mother taught him to read. Never trust a word he says.
    oleras wrote: »
    So surprised this has not been mentioned so far.

from what i can gather, when the original plane, oceanic crashed it was obviously passing through a window, this would have been know by ma faraday and certain people had to be on it, christian sheppard would have been 1 of them, who else was on that flight we dont know yet, but like the O6 they must have left in the past and now had to return. before that plane crashed there was a flash and the people that needed to return were returned, the rest of the passangers crash landed, jack and co.
    As far as I remember the plane was pulled off course by the intense electromagnetic from The Swan when Desmond failed to push the button in time while he followed Kelvin and killed him.

Did anyone else not notice that Desmond said that Hawking told him that he was supposed to go to the island and that it was his purpose? Then she said that the island wasn't finished with him yet. I think that this is the first time we've heard this. All along we were led to believe that Desmond was shipwrecked while trying to win the navigational race.

Great episode anyway. Loved the way it started. Really put the whole episode in a sense of deja-vu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

oleras wrote: »

^^^^^^
    I like that

one thing that annoyed me, and i'm not normally annoyed by plot-holes, was that as part of her agreement mith the DA or w/e Kate isn't allowed leave California she got through the airport handy enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Joseph

what a ****ing rubbish episode