Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

monkey9 wrote: »
    He's not playing

Oh, i thought rio was in the england squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭shotamoose

Melion wrote: »
    I have an awful feeling about Torres :(

Please let him get through ok

So far he looks in absolutely no danger of over-exerting himself, which is nice to see.

Alonso with an assist and aparently a sublime goal by villa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Oh, i thought rio was in the england squad.

Well, he's not starting anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Ferdinand pulled out due to illness i believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Pepe and Arbeloa on at half-time. Alonso and Torres still on. :mad:

This is a big pile of donkey balls! France were playing Argentina too, was Mascherano playing?

Edit: Looks like he was!

Christ almighty.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,893 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Bring on 2 Liverpool players at half time and leave Torres and Alonso on? Spanish based players coming off only so far it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Torres off, thank ****...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

Torres comming off now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Torres off on 63

Looked lively enough from what I saw.

The good news is he hasn't picked up any knock

Alonso is out of the Man City game next week so having him play 90 mins wouldn't be the worst

Cant see Pepe being too busy as Spain well on top

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Nice work by Alonso generally, some pinpoint passing in tight areas.

Apparently Arbeloa dug into beckham* quite nicely, is it petty that I had a little grin :)

* i actually dont mind beckham or his wife for that matter. Nyom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Very petty! It was Lampard taking out Wright-Philips that made me laugh. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭slingerz

flogging_dead_horse.jpg

I'll bite.

Alex Fergusson, the man now going for his 11th premiership title, the man who's won some 25 or so trophies.
    The man whos team are champions of England, Europe, and the World..........

........didn't win any silverwear in his first 6 years at Man Utd.

Fergie in his first 6 years = 0 trophies
    Rafa in his first 4 years = 4 trophies

Bill Shankly, the greatest manager in the history of our club, didn't win the title until his 5th season.
    (Yes he won the old second division and brought us up from the bottom of the second, and I'm in no way saying Rafa has done anything near as much as him, as Shanks is and always will be the true managerial legend of LFC.;))

So in summary.

Bill Shankly(The greatest manager ever in all but a tiny amount of Liverpool supporters eyes)
    First 4 seasons

English 2nd division.

Alex Fergusson(The greatest manager in modern day football, if not ever)
    First 4 seasons

Nothing

Rafael Benitez(The guy you think needs to go)
    First 4 seasons

Charity Shield
    European Supercup
    FA Cup
    Champions League

But no, I'm sure you're right.
    Facts and common sense may disagree with you, but don't let that stop you.
    Live the dream.

you cant count the charity shield and super cup as proper competitons. Give yourself some credibilty the champions league and the FA cup are the 2 competitions worthy of noting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

slingerz wrote: »
    you cant count the charity shield and super cup as proper competitons. Give yourself some credibilty the champions league and the FA cup are the 2 competitions worthy of noting

So when Pople talk of Ferguson winning twenty odd trophies on a constant basis, they have no credibility?

Or when people talk of Paisleys 20 trophies in 9 years, they have none?

The reason that these trophies are there is that they mean something.
    The fact that the league cup and FA cup means so much less than it used to even a few years ago, is down to (such a clichéd statement at this stage, but still true) the Sky Sports generation, who are only told that the League and European Cups count.

The League Shield means something.
    The European SuperCup means something.

They are broadcast all around the world as living advertisments for English/European football.
    This is the very reason for them.

Back in the day these trophy results were plastered all over the world media, now they are watched by hundreds of millions of people live.

In a time where foreign fans are so important to football teams revenue, winning the Shield or Supercup are both very important.

Liverpools foreign fans went up in millions after our run from 2001-2007 (and continuing) in Europe.
    Now challenging Utd for the first time ever.

After we won the Charity Shield in 2005, I remember a lot of pundits saying that Liverpool were now their pick to win the league.
    They are the two opening matches of the seasons, both domestic and European.
    If you do well in them, new supporters can latch on, and that brings in the $$$.

But if you want to disparrage the trophies feel free.
    Of course it really doesn't help you to "give yourself some credibility" now does it.

If ferdinand as so much sneezes at torres :mad:
    daithijjj wrote: »
    Ferdinand pulled out due to illness i believe.

Now I really hope he doesn't sneeze on him!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,141 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

flogging_dead_horse.jpg

I'll bite.

Alex Fergusson, the man now going for his 11th premiership title, the man who's won some 25 or so trophies.
    The man whos team are champions of England, Europe, and the World..........

........didn't win any silverwear in his first 6 years at Man Utd.

Fergie in his first 6 years = 0 trophies
    Rafa in his first 4 years = 4 trophies

Bill Shankly, the greatest manager in the history of our club, didn't win the title until his 5th season.
    (Yes he won the old second division and brought us up from the bottom of the second, and I'm in no way saying Rafa has done anything near as much as him, as Shanks is and always will be the true managerial legend of LFC.;))

So in summary.

Bill Shankly(The greatest manager ever in all but a tiny amount of Liverpool supporters eyes)
    First 4 seasons

English 2nd division.

Alex Fergusson(The greatest manager in modern day football, if not ever)
    First 4 seasons

Nothing

Rafael Benitez(The guy you think needs to go)
    First 4 seasons

Charity Shield
    European Supercup
    FA Cup
    Champions League

But no, I'm sure you're right.
    Facts and common sense may disagree with you, but don't let that stop you.
    Live the dream.
    Your stats are slightly wrong there.
    In the first part you say that Alex Ferguson didn't win any silverware in his first six seasons. Incorrect
    Later you say first four seasons = nothing Incorrect

He won the FA Cup in his 4th season in charge of United.

He won the Cup Winners Cup in the next season.

To clarify the point you were trying to make, it took him 7 seasons to win a League title.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

i would love to do a poll of liverpool fans of which ones believe that rafa can deliver a PL title and those that dont.

i think yes he can. but he will have to stay in the job for a lot longer to do it. Utd will be going through a transition sooner then they think. this is the last great fergie squad and alex will be retiring soon (2010/11 apparantly according to himself "i dont want to be in management at 70") so the man u juggernaut will take a hit. wat liverpool have to do tho is keep up with them, chelski & probably citeh (ugh... pains me to say that. villa are so much more deserving) and stick in there. i really dont mind coming 2nd this season as that is a big mark up. it will be the 2nd time we have come 2nd in the pl and this time it will have more meaning.
    the problem is, who & how do we buy? citeh are going to go crazy arabian style in the summer and make stupid buys. i dont believe they will really be a force until the 10/11 season tho. chelski, who knows. it might all implode or da gangsta might just plough stupid money into keeping up with city.
    utd are pretty loaded and have been buying 20-30 million pound players for 10 years or so whereas liverpool have only started that in the last 2. most utd fans will give out stats of spending and watnot but they matter nought as they are only really a way of making urself feel better and arent a true reflection of how a club works (gonna leave that to another day tho as its a whole other topic in itself). so where does that leave pool?

we have a fairly young squad. our key man has a good 4/5 years left in him (gerrard) and nando has loads. but we still really need to build a team that will go from strength to strength in the right areas. our centre line is grand (GK, CB, CM, CF) but as has been the problem since benitez took over, our flanks are still fairly ramshackled. arbeloa is good. left back..... i dunno. reira is good but thats it (hes a grafter. will work hard and do a job. bit of skill but not that special). kuyt, well hes kuyt. a good comparison to him is park for man u, and tbh - park will never win a league for utd.
    we really need to get the right players for these positions. arbeloa is another grafter.. never anything special. until we get real quality, real world class on the wide areas i dont think we can really keep up. this is why i never understood the keane deal. a player that categorically cant play wide and 20m on him. if we go for the same amount on someone to replace kuyt and maybe ditch dossena then we could be in for the title. as it stands tho, utd just have too much quality not to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,845 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Lads the whole "I hope Rio doesnt injure Torres bs" was exactly that - total bs. He's not that type of player and i'm sure that you lads were being a little OTT with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    Lads the whole "I hope Rio doesnt injure Torres bs" was exactly that - total bs. He's not that type of player and i'm sure that you lads were being a little OTT with it.

no. we were dead serial cos we HATE UTD ARTRRRYRYRYRYRYHHHGGGGgGHh!hh!!! die!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Jazzy wrote: »
    i would love to do a poll of liverpool fans of which ones believe that rafa can deliver a PL title and those that dont.

NO HE CANNOT DELIVER - his judgement gets extremely clouded.

1. Was prepared to sell Alonso (and still will in the summer).
    2. Selling a proven goalscorer when the club is second in the league and NOT replacing him.
    3. Playing second rate players like Lucas and Kuyt.
    4. Agger will go in the summer due to the lack of contentment at the club caused by Benitez. Never before has there been bickering at Anfield on a scale like this.

Theres is one good note for those here who dont know what a league title looks like - Torres seems to think the sun shines out from Benitez arse, why? I dont know and to be honest if it came down to Benitez leaving and Torres going with him then I'd rather he stayed...

But No I dont see him bringing us a league title

john47832 wrote: »
    NO HE CANNOT DELIVER - his judgement gets extremely clouded.
    and you know this how?
    1. Was prepared to sell Alonso (and still will in the summer).
    and you know this how?
    2. Selling a proven goalscorer when the club is second in the league and NOT replacing him.

in the majority of games he played for us the guy couldnt kick snow of a rope in front of goal, why would that change in the second half of the season.
    3. Playing second rate players like Lucas and Kuyt.
    yes second rate players - why does Kuyt make the Dutch team if he is so bad.
    4. Agger will go in the summer due to the lack of contentment at the club caused by Benitez. Never before has there been bickering at Anfield on a scale like this.
    caused by Benitez? he is actively trying to get agger a new contract which the club wont give him. and again how o you know that agger will leave "due to the lack of contentment"?
    Theres is one good note for those here who dont know what a league title looks like - Torres seems to think the sun shines out from Benitez arse, why? I dont know and to be honest if it came down to Benitez leaving and Torres going with him then I'd rather he stayed...

But No I dont see him bringing us a league title

its a new level of BS that post, there is only three reasons a post could have that much BS

1. you're not a liverpool fan and are just trolling
    2. you're 12
    3. you are in fact dunphy

oh you dont have any mental disabilities do you? coz then i'd feel bad tearing your post apart...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,079 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Thanks BastardPrince, you posted a much more polite response than the one I was going to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

A difference of opinion to here is not trolling.
    Calling names is childish which I wont get into.
    The post is open to criticism (or tearing apart as you call it)

i didnt call you a name, i asked you a question. im glad you're not because i dont feel bad telling you how wrong you are. of course its open to criticism it is a stupid post...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Mod note:

1. Any more abuse on this thread will be dealt with severely.
    2. Any posts judged to be trolling will be deleted, and the user infracted.
    3. Any more off-topic posts will be deleted.

If you feel you cannot comply with those three instruction do not post on this thread.

The soccer forum charter is here for those who need to remind themselves of its contents.

Thank you.

p.s. thanking posts that are in breach of the charter will result in an infraction.

John, while posting your oppinion is most certainly not trolling, posting your oppinion, getting a load of countering responses, and completely ignoring them, then going off and posting another oppinion is trolling albeit inadvertant.

You're perfectly entitled to your oppinion, you are not however entitles to post it as fact.
    This is something that you have been doing constantly.

Everytime that you say something, 4 or 5 voices sound to point out their reasons for why they think you are wrong, usually posting facts.
    You ignore them, and instead post more oppinions as facts.
    This is trolling, cause it's something you are doing that is causing aggravation on the thread.

If you are capable and willing to post your oppinions, be willing to address those that disagree.
    That would cut down on a lot of the attitude you have been recieving.
    Also, you constantly acting as if your oppinion is fact, is very aggravating.

This is not in any way any kind of attack, just some advice on how to stop the agro and trolliung accusations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

This is not in any way any kind of attack, just some advice on how to stop the agro and trolliung accusations.

Since you've taken the time to explain some of the responses to john47832 I'll overlook your use of the word "trolling" in that post. Just this time though.

For the attention of other users:

If you have a problem with a post report it, and if actionable will be dealt with by a mod. Do not accuse another poster of trolling, it is back-seat modding and as you should know, is mentioned in the forum charter.

Let's all get back on topic, shall we?

eagle eye wrote: »
    Your stats are slightly wrong there.
    In the first part you say that Alex Ferguson didn't win any silverware in his first six seasons. Incorrect
    Later you say first four seasons = nothing Incorrect

He won the FA Cup in his 4th season in charge of United.

He won the Cup Winners Cup in the next season.

To clarify the point you were trying to make, it took him 7 seasons to win a League title.

You're exactly right, my stats were way off for AF.
    Not my area of expertice;)

I'm sure you can see my point though.
    Stating that Benitez should be fired if he doesn't win the league after 5 years is farcicle.
    Not winning the league and showing no progress and never challenging maybe.
    But some of the best managers ever took years to build their dynasty.