Random Acts of Kindness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Larianne wrote: »
    I nearly always do this when getting off the bus and I don't need the ticket anymore.
    I thought i was the only one...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,670 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I tend to do acts of Kindness myself:D

-One day two years ago I helped and elderly man get onto the bus because he was weak

-About 5 minutes later the same bus that I put the man onto, stopped at another bus stop just as I WAS PASSING AND THE SAME GUY NEEDED HELP GETTING OFF. Anyway I did the deed and felt enlightened that day

-Another day three years ago a girl in my school tripped and fell, dropping lots of change on the ground, so I helped her pick it up, of course it was really because of the thieving bas**rds walking past that I helped

-Just yesterday a man who I didn't know asked me to drop his school bag off at this place that I was going to(Don't worry it wasn't a bomb, and he didn't have a northie accent) anyway I dropped it off for him.

Yep I a real Mother Theresa:D

putting the headphones in on her ears, changing channels and turning up/down the volume. 13 hours of helping, I was chuffed with myself :)

I don't think the elderly get enough help, it's sad to see really... :(

Ahhh come on! You were totally played. :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0rXIvckZ6tA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

The old usual,giving me trolley to people when I am finished with it.

Pushing cars out of snow for women,yes i am a tank:pac:

Helping auld women about the place.

Having a chat with auld people really cheers them up I found out.They love the banter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

I don't know if he tripped getting up onto the path or if his bag simply snapped but bottles and bottles of drink fell to the footpath and shattered into dozens of pieces. He stood there momentarily not knowing what to do. A young lady who was waiting for the bus went into the newsagents and bought a plastic bag. She walked up to the guy handed over the bag and then returned to talk to her friend at the bus stop. The guy picked up as much glass as he could and put it into his bag and went along on his merry way.

This isn't that spectacular an act of kindness. If she had helped him sweep up, yes, but your story more shows how far our standards for "helping" people have fallen in this selfish society, if this is supposed to be something unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Do you ever find people suspicous of your helpful nature? I work in retail and often try to go that extra mile for some customers such as the elderly or those who have been really pleasant. I've often found though that people are taken back when you try to help alot and they aren't quite sure what to make of you.
    Húrin wrote: »
    This isn't that spectacular an act of kindness. If she had helped him sweep up, yes, but your story more shows how far our standards for "helping" people have fallen in this selfish society, if this is supposed to be something unusual.

Yes it wasn't a spectacular act but it was something that she didn't have to do at all. He was near a bin and a shop and could have managed to clear it up himself. It was the speed with which she acted, almost without thinking about it. I don't think it was unusual but it's always nice to see one stranger helping another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Was in London for a summer when i was 18, was walking towards the open doors of a tube train, listening to music on headphones, as i just took a step in side the doors closed (old northern line trains doors close very fast), got my arm caught in the door and it took me a couple of seconds to realise what happened, in that split second a couple of people sitting on the train jumped up to help me and a couple more on the platform started running over. I managed to pull my arm in with a bit of effort but i was just surprised how many people tried to help, especially on the tube were people are normally so indifferent to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

I do random acts of kindness like others in the thread but id rather boast about the others who have helped me..

One memory that has always stuck with me was when i was about 15 i got the bus to my friends house. Not being a regular bus user i went waaay to far and had to get the bus halfway back. Problem was i had only brought change for the trip there. I was mortified and didnt know what to do so eventually went up to a man and his friend and bright red in the face asked was there anyway i could have some change for the bus.

He reached into his pocket, pulled out a fistfull of coins and said to me take whatever you need. I just thought it was really really nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

On another note, I was once stranded in London. Around Kensington is where I ended up I think, with no money - long story. I was trying to get back to Liverpool street to get a train to the airport. I stood outside the tube station - dressed quite well, with a decent suitcase in tow - and begged I'd say 20 people for enough money to get back to Liverpool Street. Maybe 4 or 5 stops away. Not one miserable fúcker had the decency to help.

I ended up walking a long time to get myself out of that one, with help from the only people I could rely on - family.

So for all the great stories, there are evil ones. Baxtards. Fun all the same though, looking back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

Dr. Loon wrote: »
    On another note, I was once stranded in London. Around Kensington is where I ended up I think, with no money - long story. I was trying to get back to Liverpool street to get a train to the airport. I stood outside the tube station - dressed quite well, with a decent suitcase in tow - and begged I'd say 20 people for enough money to get back to Liverpool Street. Maybe 4 or 5 stops away. Not one miserable fúcker had the decency to help.

I ended up walking a long time to get myself out of that one, with help from the only people I could rely on - family.

So for all the great stories, there are evil ones. Baxtards. Fun all the same though, looking back.

God that made me depressed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

I used to be over and back on the M50 a lot. When ever I was going thru the toll. I always used to pay the toll for the person behind me as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

I save random acts of kindness for good looking girls.

not so random then really but..ah well. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

God that made me depressed

Imagine how I felt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

I rember once I had a meeting in UCD. After the meeting had finish I went back to my car, packed my stuff up and gave a car which had pulled up my parking ticket. Which was good for another hour or. The bloke I handed to acted as if Id just givin him the winning Lotto numbers. He was absolutly delighted with it. I really couldnt belive how astonished he was over getting a hours free parking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

My best hitching experience ever was when I was alone, visiting a friend studying in Ljubljana, in Slovenia. I flew into Treviso Airport near Venice in Italy. I had been talking to the woman who was sitting beside me on the plane, just to alleviate boredom. She was from Ljubljana.

How happy I was, when we got off the plane, she told me that she had driven from her city (three hours drive) to the airport. I took a lift with her, no hesitation! Thus saving me a six hour journey by bus and train, and money. I always offer to help share the petrol cost but she refused. It's so easy to help someone out at no extra expense to yourself, when you're not dominated by fear.
    starn wrote: »
    I used to be over and back on the M50 a lot. When ever I was going thru the toll. I always used to pay the toll for the person behind me as well.

Ever pull into the toll booth in front of a Rolls Royce? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

i was walking out of the office this evening and a guy was going out the door as i got into the lobby. he waited for me to get to the door (about half a minute's walk) and held it open for me to go out. really simple and random but it totally made me smile - when most people in the building would barely hold the lift for you normally. brightened up my evening! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

any time i see a bike or car broke down on side of road I pull over and offer a hand. Dont see it much tbh. Few years ago the person would normally say they was ok. Probably cause im a skin head with a beard. I can understand the nervousness though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Do you ever find people suspicous of your helpful nature? I work in retail and often try to go that extra mile for some customers such as the elderly or those who have been really pleasant. I've often found though that people are taken back when you try to help alot and they aren't quite sure what to make of you.

Quite often. I've often found that people who are struggling to fit something into their car or whatever get very wary about you if you ask them if they want a lift with whatever it is.

Another night some woman's car had broken down on the side of the road so I pulled in and got out to see if she was okay, she physically took a step backwards and looked like she was going to start crying so I went back and got the g/f to go to her and ask instead.

Just noticed the chap before my last post said he held a door open.I always do that but wouldnt count it as kindness just manners.ya be suprised how many people dont say thanks. Not that i be looking for that but its not hard work to say thanks.
    My worse thing ever is , if i ever see a new person in me local i always pop over and say hello and if they are sound i buy them a pint. Met me best mate a few years ago by doing that. He english chap and my local wouldnt be best bout that.

c - 13 wrote: »
    Quite often. I've often found that people who are struggling to fit something into their car or whatever get very wary about you if you ask them if they want a lift with whatever it is.

Another night some woman's car had broken down on the side of the road so I pulled in and got out to see if she was okay, she physically took a step backwards and looked like she was going to start crying so I went back and got the g/f to go to her and ask instead.
    sadly in this day and age she was just been careful. Ya know that yourself. It is a horrible
    Feeling though. Poor you and poor woman. Nice one though for offering.

Do you ever find people suspicous of your helpful nature?
    I don't want to get into the amount of things I do , but I do find this to be the case. I find it odd for other people to help me to be honest , but when I do help someone out , I usually get a smile that makes it all worth it.

yeah the smile or a simple thank you does make your day. Sadly me been a 6foot
    Tall shaved head bearded chap with biker gear on normally scares the people. Piercings dont help. Sometimes they comment on that and admit they thought i was scary. I dont mind that though

seanybiker wrote: »
    yeah the smile or a simple thank you does make your day. Sadly me been a 6foot
    Tall shaved head bearded chap with biker gear on normally scares the people. Piercings dont help. Sometimes they comment on that and admit they thought i was scary. I dont mind that though

Yeah I guess that could happen , but when people are in a state of vulnerability/frustration they are more wary to others that are not the norm , but it's nice to know there are some good people out there . The way I think is that what if it happened to me , would people just walk on by .
    From doing that one simple act of kindness you also get the feeling that there maybe another person who will be converted to try to help someone if they are ever in need .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

seanybiker wrote: »
    sadly in this day and age she was just been careful. Ya know that yourself. It is a horrible
    Feeling though. Poor you and poor woman. Nice one though for offering.

Ah I know, I don't blame her or anything, I could have been up to anything like. Thats why I left the g/f go talk to her instead.

Yeah I guess that could happen , but people when people are in a state of vulnerability/frustration they are more wary to others that are not the norm but it's nice to know there are some good people out there . The way I think is that what if it happened to me , would people just walk on by .
    From doing that one simple act of kindness you also get the feeling that there maybe another person who will be converted to try to help someone if they are ever in need .
    I am totally the same. I dont work at the moment. Whatever is wrong. If i can help i will. If i cant help ill ring someone i know to help. My bike got pushed over last week outside the pub. I got 4 texts and 3 phone calls. 1 person picked me bike up. I wont forget that. Only something small. Some kids decided to play on me bike and ran once it fell. They only been kids is all.
    Could have been worse. Its a heavy bike. Thank feck the child didnt get caught in under it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I remember in Hodges & Figgis the person ahead of me was about a quid short trying to pay for a book, I offered to pay the balance, big smiles all round. More then 10 years ago now but nice memory none the less.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Alicano

big fan of the paying toll for the car behind...unless its full of knackers!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭ART6

I has arrived in Geneva a few months ago. Took the train from the airport to the central station and walked out into a cold dark evening to find my hotel that was supposed to be near. After wandering about for half an hour with a useless and inaccurate map, I was lost. A lovely elderly lady approached me and asked in French if I was lost. I didn't fully understand her but told her the name of the hotel. Without hesitation she beckoned me to follow her, and she led me to the right street. Without her I'd still be looking for the b****y place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Alicano wrote: »
    big fan of the paying toll for the car behind

Do you think it qualifies as an random act of kindnss? is it not more of a pi88 take?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,361 ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Some years back I came off my motorbike in black ice, bike went sideways along the road, up on the path and into a pole. (Luckily I escaped with a fractured toe and scraped knee)
    Was a bit shaken to say the least. A lovely biker came along, helped me back on the bike and drove behind me till I got home.
    Thank you Mr. Wonderful Biker.