Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Acts of Kindness

• 11-02-2009 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭

I was standing outside Bonanza newsagents in Rathmines yesterday waiting for the 83 bus back into town. I was standing there for a few minutes minding my own business and watching who was coming and going etc when I noticed a chap crossing the furthur up the street.
    I don't know if he tripped getting up onto the path or if his bag simply snapped but bottles and bottles of drink fell to the footpath and shattered into dozens of pieces. He stood there momentarily not knowing what to do. A young lady who was waiting for the bus went into the newsagents and bought a plastic bag. She walked up to the guy handed over the bag and then returned to talk to her friend at the bus stop. The guy picked up as much glass as he could and put it into his bag and went along on his merry way.

Almost as soon as the guys shopping hit the ground the young lady (20's) went in and go the bag. I thought this was a really nice act for someone she didn't know. Most people, myself included, would most likely has just looked on.

So boardsies have you any stories of random strangers helping each other out or indeed helping you out when you least expected it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Dublin forum TBH :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

i was at a bus stop a while back when married couple gave me a day rambler ticket, i was chuffed and kept thanking them....not that i really needed it but it was very thoughtful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

I was standing outside Bonanza newsagents in Rathmines yesterday waiting for the 83 bus back into town.

You should walk you lazy bollox:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Moved from AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

This isn't a rathmines thread terry. I happened to witness this act of kindness there and asked had other people seen such acts of kindness. The thread is supposed to focus on someones acts rather than where I witnessed something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I finished college in DBS and it was pissing out. Had to get the 83 on aunger street back to Finglas and only had a t shirt and a wollen jumper on.
    I was standing there for a few minutes and getting soaked. A gorgeous asain girl came over and gave me her umbrella. She said she lives in the apartment behind where I was standing. Made my month so it did :-)

julep wrote: »
    Moved from AH.

Lol that'll teach them pesky Howyas

heymcflyx wrote: »
    I finished college in DBS and it was pissing out. Had to get the 83 on aunger street back to Finglas and only had a t shirt and a wollen jumper on.
    What good is an umbrella when you have no pants on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

I wish this was still in after hours. I love hearing about little nice things people do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

i was at a bus stop a while back when married couple gave me a day rambler ticket, i was chuffed and kept thanking them....not that i really needed it but it was very thoughtful!

I nearly always do this when getting off the bus and I don't need the ticket anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,524 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

After Hours tbh

Indeed, it was moved accidentally. I've pm'd Agent Smith and asked him to move it back to After Hours.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

This has nothing really to do with South County dublin....

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Larianne wrote: »
    I nearly always do this when getting off the bus and I don't need the ticket anymore.

Yep I always give my on-street parking tickets to people parking after me, or if there's nobody around I'll stick the ticket to the dispensing machine and hope it saves somebody a couple of yoyo's..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

you wernt wearing a blue jumper were you?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I was in a shopping complex today,and as I was leaving a tall elderly lady was coming in.
    She came towards me and asked if I could tell her where the post office was.
    So I start to tell her what direction to go in ,and noticed she was getting a bit upset.
    Without thinking I told her I would walk her back up to the PO,and off we went.
    Turned out she was going up to buy stamps and had momentarily forgotten where the post office was.(bless)
    Anyhow, I brought her up and all the way she kept saying "Thank You", I felt so sad for her that I waited for her to come out and walked her back down to the entrance where her hubby was sitting just outside in the car.
    He must have been watching for her because he got out immediately and asked if she was alright.
    I told him it was fine ,I had just been giving her a hand.
    As he was helping her into the car he told me she was in the early stages of Alzheimer's,memory going only now and again ,but stubborn enough to want to be self sufficient.
    I could tell he thought the world of her and after helping her I felt a little bit better about my day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

lol this thread is travelling more than I am! (well nearly) lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Was late for school the other day cos I stopped to help this kid who feel and badly hurt his ankle. Sat in the wet and cold for half an hour while his friend ran to the school to get a teacher. Made me feel a little bit better in myself that day! I try my best to help people in need when I can. Always makes me feel good.

Was walking through Eyre Square in Galway one day when I saw an elderly woman trying to carry two heavy bags. I walked up to her and asked if she would like some help, to which she happily agreed. In the end, I had to walk twenty minutes out of my way to help this woman, but it was worth it because she was happy somebody had offered.

Usually always stop to help a woman with a pram who struggles getting it down the stairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

This one time I responded to a reported post and moved a thread from AH to South County Dublin. I thought it was a nice gesture.

Then I realised I had ****ed up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭lovemypinkhat

My boyfriend and I were in Paris and I decided to use my minimal knowledge of the French language to ask where a certain shop was. We came across a group of people with bags from the shop so I went up and asked. There were two ladies there trying to explain to us where it was and I did my best to understand (it was hard!). I must've looked confused because a man (presumably one of their husbands) came over and said something in French which I didn't understand but walked off and gestured to follow him. We thanked the ladies and went off with yer man. Didn't he only take us to the shop! And it wasn't like around the corner or anything, we were walking for a good five minutes - so that was really nice of him... :)

Nice to know there are still good people out here. The stories already posted are great... :)

julep wrote: »
    This one time I responded to a reported post and moved a thread from AH to South County Dublin. I thought it was a nice gesture.

Then I realised I had ****ed up.
    Human error, we all **** up.

/before leaving thread I will erase all memory of julep being human.

/ everybody knows you are all wired into the system and have no feelings.

/It's AHs where Mods are Mods and posters are infidels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I suppose I've done a few here and there. I don't really think about it at this stage.

But, someone did a nice one for me before. I got hit by a car several years ago and was knocked out, a passer-by stayed with me until the ambulance arrived. I was passing in and out of consciousness (and talking rubbish apparently). I only found out afterwards but never found out who it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I will give my parking ticket to people when there is time on it. If there is anyone there. I gave it to an elderly man once, he was like "WTF"... Surprised him... haha. I volunteer every friday for the homeless in smithfield.

I can't remember the last time someone surprised me with a random deed... Oh... in aldi, while this woman unloaded her weeks shopping, she told me to go ahead with my 4 pieces of shopping, there was one other bitch woman ahead of me, she had a lot of shopping, I asked if I could go ahead of her, she sighed and moaned, but didn't answer me, I said "thanks" and went ahead anyway, theethee :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Couple of things.

Helping carry a big suitcase for some old lady onto the bus and then bringing it down the road for her when we got off at the same stop. She was from the country and had just gotten out of hospital for an operation on her hip. I told her my plans and what I was up to in college etc. and she said she'd pray for me!

Another time I was on the bus and had gotten up and was about to get off when some guy taps me on the shoulder and hands me this big handful of change. Turns out it fell out of my pocket and onto the seat and I hadn't a clue. Thought that was a very decent thing to do.

Just before last new years I got absolutely sucker punched by a psycho in the cinema (UGC foyer - Sunday evening!) I'd never even met (jealous ex of a girl i was meeting up with). He completely floored me and was kicking me when I was on the ground. Cinema security restrained him and I was just left there sitting on the ground with blood pumping from my face and me trying to catch it all in my hands. Some Asian guy gave me his new packet of tissues. Then two big eastern European lads knelt down beside me and told me they were brothers, and wondered if I wanted them to "do anything" (I can only assume that meant break the head off the other guy - I'm tall but skinny so they probably knew I couldn't do it myself!).
    Cinema staff couldn't be more helpful in getting me water and cleaned up.

Kind of makes you remember that for every absolute scrote there's ten decent human beings.

Oh and I'm pressing charges and that guy is going to jail :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

One of my favourite daydreams/fantasies is, i'm on the bus which is full of gorgeous birds and a little sweet old lady gets on with loads of shopping and can't manage the shoping and also can't get a seat. So then i step in and lend a caring hand to the sweet old lady making sure said rides can see it all unfold. I can't wait for that day.

All I can picture in my head after reading that is Sylvester the cat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Oh, ha I remember this one time, a few years ago this old lady sat beside me on a flight to America, the flight was 13 hours. She was quite old, the flight was a present from her family who lived in America. She needed help with everything, fastening her belt, opening the food package, putting the headphones in on her ears, changing channels and turning up/down the volume. 13 hours of helping, I was chuffed with myself :)

I don't think the elderly get enough help, it's sad to see really... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Oh, ha I remember this one time, a few years ago this old lady sat beside me on a flight to America, the flight was 13 hours. She was quite old, the flight was a present from her family who lived in America. She needed help with everything, fastening her belt, opening the food package, putting the headphones in on her ears, changing channels and turning up/down the volume. 13 hours of helping, I was chuffed with myself :)

Yes, but more importantly was there any hot women around to see you do this??? If not you wasted your time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I thought i was the only one...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I tend to do acts of Kindness myself:D

-One day two years ago I helped and elderly man get onto the bus because he was weak

-About 5 minutes later the same bus that I put the man onto, stopped at another bus stop just as I WAS PASSING AND THE SAME GUY NEEDED HELP GETTING OFF. Anyway I did the deed and felt enlightened that day

-Another day three years ago a girl in my school tripped and fell, dropping lots of change on the ground, so I helped her pick it up, of course it was really because of the thieving bas**rds walking past that I helped

-Just yesterday a man who I didn't know asked me to drop his school bag off at this place that I was going to(Don't worry it wasn't a bomb, and he didn't have a northie accent) anyway I dropped it off for him.

Yep I a real Mother Theresa:D

putting the headphones in on her ears, changing channels and turning up/down the volume. 13 hours of helping, I was chuffed with myself :)

Ahhh come on! You were totally played. :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0rXIvckZ6tA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

The old usual,giving me trolley to people when I am finished with it.

Pushing cars out of snow for women,yes i am a tank:pac:

Helping auld women about the place.

Having a chat with auld people really cheers them up I found out.They love the banter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

I don't know if he tripped getting up onto the path or if his bag simply snapped but bottles and bottles of drink fell to the footpath and shattered into dozens of pieces. He stood there momentarily not knowing what to do. A young lady who was waiting for the bus went into the newsagents and bought a plastic bag. She walked up to the guy handed over the bag and then returned to talk to her friend at the bus stop. The guy picked up as much glass as he could and put it into his bag and went along on his merry way.

This isn't that spectacular an act of kindness. If she had helped him sweep up, yes, but your story more shows how far our standards for "helping" people have fallen in this selfish society, if this is supposed to be something unusual.

Do you ever find people suspicous of your helpful nature? I work in retail and often try to go that extra mile for some customers such as the elderly or those who have been really pleasant. I've often found though that people are taken back when you try to help alot and they aren't quite sure what to make of you.
    Húrin wrote: »
    This isn't that spectacular an act of kindness. If she had helped him sweep up, yes, but your story more shows how far our standards for "helping" people have fallen in this selfish society, if this is supposed to be something unusual.

Yes it wasn't a spectacular act but it was something that she didn't have to do at all. He was near a bin and a shop and could have managed to clear it up himself. It was the speed with which she acted, almost without thinking about it. I don't think it was unusual but it's always nice to see one stranger helping another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Was in London for a summer when i was 18, was walking towards the open doors of a tube train, listening to music on headphones, as i just took a step in side the doors closed (old northern line trains doors close very fast), got my arm caught in the door and it took me a couple of seconds to realise what happened, in that split second a couple of people sitting on the train jumped up to help me and a couple more on the platform started running over. I managed to pull my arm in with a bit of effort but i was just surprised how many people tried to help, especially on the tube were people are normally so indifferent to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

I do random acts of kindness like others in the thread but id rather boast about the others who have helped me..

One memory that has always stuck with me was when i was about 15 i got the bus to my friends house. Not being a regular bus user i went waaay to far and had to get the bus halfway back. Problem was i had only brought change for the trip there. I was mortified and didnt know what to do so eventually went up to a man and his friend and bright red in the face asked was there anyway i could have some change for the bus.

He reached into his pocket, pulled out a fistfull of coins and said to me take whatever you need. I just thought it was really really nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

On another note, I was once stranded in London. Around Kensington is where I ended up I think, with no money - long story. I was trying to get back to Liverpool street to get a train to the airport. I stood outside the tube station - dressed quite well, with a decent suitcase in tow - and begged I'd say 20 people for enough money to get back to Liverpool Street. Maybe 4 or 5 stops away. Not one miserable fúcker had the decency to help.

I ended up walking a long time to get myself out of that one, with help from the only people I could rely on - family.

So for all the great stories, there are evil ones. Baxtards. Fun all the same though, looking back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

Dr. Loon wrote: »
    On another note, I was once stranded in London. Around Kensington is where I ended up I think, with no money - long story. I was trying to get back to Liverpool street to get a train to the airport. I stood outside the tube station - dressed quite well, with a decent suitcase in tow - and begged I'd say 20 people for enough money to get back to Liverpool Street. Maybe 4 or 5 stops away. Not one miserable fúcker had the decency to help.

I ended up walking a long time to get myself out of that one, with help from the only people I could rely on - family.

So for all the great stories, there are evil ones. Baxtards. Fun all the same though, looking back.

God that made me depressed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

I used to be over and back on the M50 a lot. When ever I was going thru the toll. I always used to pay the toll for the person behind me as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I save random acts of kindness for good looking girls.

not so random then really but..ah well. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

God that made me depressed

Imagine how I felt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

I rember once I had a meeting in UCD. After the meeting had finish I went back to my car, packed my stuff up and gave a car which had pulled up my parking ticket. Which was good for another hour or. The bloke I handed to acted as if Id just givin him the winning Lotto numbers. He was absolutly delighted with it. I really couldnt belive how astonished he was over getting a hours free parking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

My best hitching experience ever was when I was alone, visiting a friend studying in Ljubljana, in Slovenia. I flew into Treviso Airport near Venice in Italy. I had been talking to the woman who was sitting beside me on the plane, just to alleviate boredom. She was from Ljubljana.

How happy I was, when we got off the plane, she told me that she had driven from her city (three hours drive) to the airport. I took a lift with her, no hesitation! Thus saving me a six hour journey by bus and train, and money. I always offer to help share the petrol cost but she refused. It's so easy to help someone out at no extra expense to yourself, when you're not dominated by fear.
    starn wrote: »
    I used to be over and back on the M50 a lot. When ever I was going thru the toll. I always used to pay the toll for the person behind me as well.

Ever pull into the toll booth in front of a Rolls Royce? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

i was walking out of the office this evening and a guy was going out the door as i got into the lobby. he waited for me to get to the door (about half a minute's walk) and held it open for me to go out. really simple and random but it totally made me smile - when most people in the building would barely hold the lift for you normally. brightened up my evening! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

any time i see a bike or car broke down on side of road I pull over and offer a hand. Dont see it much tbh. Few years ago the person would normally say they was ok. Probably cause im a skin head with a beard. I can understand the nervousness though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Do you ever find people suspicous of your helpful nature? I work in retail and often try to go that extra mile for some customers such as the elderly or those who have been really pleasant. I've often found though that people are taken back when you try to help alot and they aren't quite sure what to make of you.

Quite often. I've often found that people who are struggling to fit something into their car or whatever get very wary about you if you ask them if they want a lift with whatever it is.

Another night some woman's car had broken down on the side of the road so I pulled in and got out to see if she was okay, she physically took a step backwards and looked like she was going to start crying so I went back and got the g/f to go to her and ask instead.

Just noticed the chap before my last post said he held a door open.I always do that but wouldnt count it as kindness just manners.ya be suprised how many people dont say thanks. Not that i be looking for that but its not hard work to say thanks.
    My worse thing ever is , if i ever see a new person in me local i always pop over and say hello and if they are sound i buy them a pint. Met me best mate a few years ago by doing that. He english chap and my local wouldnt be best bout that.

c - 13 wrote: »
    Quite often. I've often found that people who are struggling to fit something into their car or whatever get very wary about you if you ask them if they want a lift with whatever it is.

Another night some woman's car had broken down on the side of the road so I pulled in and got out to see if she was okay, she physically took a step backwards and looked like she was going to start crying so I went back and got the g/f to go to her and ask instead.
    sadly in this day and age she was just been careful. Ya know that yourself. It is a horrible
    Feeling though. Poor you and poor woman. Nice one though for offering.