Cork Hurling Manager?

• Site Banned Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Lets face it alot of those club representatives are "yes" men..they are not going to go against the county board at any costs unless the decision affects their own club.

Its ok though... Im looking forward to the Tippeary massacre at the weekend..I just hope Tipp hammer them out the gate...I will have no pity for them at all...Then people might realise the whole seriousness of the situation... The 09 panel are traitors to the county...afterall it was only for the present situation that they were ever going to make the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

This topic needs a bit of lightheartedness..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

mrgaa1 wrote: »
    I think this on going wrangle has to stop now - http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0211/mccarthyg.html this clearly shows that the clubs support the manager. If the clubs had issues then they could have voted differently.
    I also understand that the players who have withdrawn their services have asked to meet with all the clubs to put their case across. This is not GAA protocol - all discussions are through the clubs and county board.
    There is no way the clubs would have had time to discuss with their members and inform their CB delegate which way to vote. What happened last night is the majority of CB delegates voted their own way which is very much in line with the CCB line. In Cork the CB Executive dictate to the clubs by using the CB delegates as pawns. In every other county its the other way around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 LesRitaMitsouko

It's an outbreak of Democracy in an undemocratic organisation. They'll have to drive a stake through Adolf O'Murphy's heart first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

teednab-el wrote: »
    Lets face it alot of those club representatives are "yes" men..they are not going to go against the county board at any costs unless the decision affects their own club.

Its ok though... Im looking forward to the Tippeary massacre at the weekend..I just hope Tipp hammer them out the gate...I will have no pity for them at all...Then people might realise the whole seriousness of the situation... The 09 panel are traitors to the county...afterall it was only for the present situation that they were ever going to make the team.

Take a bow son Ive read some fair drivel in my time on this forum but this without doubt takes the biscuit, apart from been slanderous its just so far removed from reality its scary, all these players are doing is their best and they are representing their county and if it wasnt for them btw Cork would as of saturday be thrown out of the league :mad:

Whether you support Ger and the CB or the 2008 panel is irrelevant here the 2009 panel are without question the only ones who come out of this without any shadow hanging over them.

all these players are doing is their best and they are representing their county and if it wasnt for them btw Cork would as of saturday be thrown out of the league :mad:

If these players had any respect for the 08 panel they should just simply refuse to play. Come on like, they are not even senior standard...their best isnt good enough for Cork hurling ..they know that themselves for heavens sake. And they are representing our county for all the wrong reasons. They are an embarrassment to Cork hurling along with Ger Mac and the CCB.

Cork will be thrown out of the league and the CHAMPIONSHIP anyway with this panel so i dont know what your talking about. Nicky Rackard cup here we come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

I emailed my chairman to know what our delegate did last night and got the following response.

The County Board Meeting last night was a total set up with no club knowing there was a vote on Gerald until the last minute –after the likes of Bob Honohan and all the officers had spoken for Gerald—Deleagte had no chance

It is also hard to believe that the seriousness of Footballers Strike wasn't mentioned once last night by the board. CB are treating last night as a victory yet they have probably achieved the following

1. No football team in Championship
    2. Hurling Team relegated from the league and relegated to the christy ring cup.
    3. Record hammerings, cork laughing stock of the country
    4. The most spiteful championship in history ahead, imaginge Sars V Anyone!
    5. Young fellas heading to Rugby in their droves
    6. Huge bitterness and divides in clubs
    Posted by a reputable member of another Forum. Shows how in the dark the clubs are.

Cork will be thrown out of the league and the CHAMPIONSHIP anyway with this panel so i dont know what your talking about. Nicky Rackard cup here we come!

Cork will not be thrown out iof the league, they have a team and are fullfilling their fixtures, they may very well be relegated but if no team had have played their first two fixtures they would have been thrown out of the league and would be playing in Division 4 (or 3B whichever it is this year).

Also Cork will not be thrown out of the Championship as they have a panel in place and will be able to fullfill all their fixtures :D

You argue that these players arent good enough to play for Cork, well maybe you should take a good long look at some of the more senior Cork players performances last year, Corks continued decline in U-21 and also Cork clubs recent record in Munster. Is it so hard for Cork people to comprehend that their golden boys are just not good enough, they were but no longer and the lack of new blood coming through combined to this is why Cork have slipped down the pecking order and to blame Ger Mac single handedly for this ( he may very well not be helping but is not alone in this) is scapegoating of the highest order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

If these players had any respect for the 08 panel they should just simply refuse to play. Come on like, they are not even senior standard...their best isnt good enough for Cork hurling ..they know that themselves for heavens sake. And they are representing our county for all the wrong reasons. They are an embarrassment to Cork hurling along with Ger Mac and the CCB.

Why should they respect the '08 panel. They are a shower of whinging bitches who are now on strike for the 3rd time? Maybe they are as bored of this carry on as the rest of the country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

do ye know I have been following this thing for a while now and these are my conclusions.

1. The players are probably right, they didn't want Mc Carthy and felt he was substandard.
    2. The players that are nearing retirement age should probably now announce their retirements allowing younger members to return to the panel. Their point has been made and the damage is done.
    3. Gerald Mc Carthy is a tramp. He is petty , insulting, hypocritical, manipulative. These players he ha insulted repeatedly have achieved more for Cork hurling than he ever did. He should have walked a year ago.
    4. Gerald Mc Carthy is a failed manager both in Waterford and Cork and presided over 5 Chship losses in 2 years in Cork. Surely a national record for Chshp defeats?
    5. I wish the new Cork team well . It is a pity this has happened but surely Mc Carthy will have to go now that his backroom team are deserting him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Whether you support Ger and the CB or the 2008 panel is irrelevant here the 2009 panel are without question the only ones who come out of this without any shadow hanging over them.

Rubbish.

The only people who come out of this without any shadow on them are the players who were asked to play and who turned it down. They showed class and respect. Everyone else is tainted, the old team, management and the so called new team.

You argue that these players arent good enough to play for Cork, well maybe you should take a good long look at some of the more senior Cork players performances last year, Corks continued decline in U-21 and also Cork clubs recent record in Munster. Is it so hard for Cork people to comprehend that their golden boys are just not good enough, they were but no longer and the lack of new blood coming through combined to this is why Cork have slipped down the pecking order and to blame Ger Mac single handedly for this ( he may very well not be helping but is not alone in this) is scapegoating of the highest order.

Got nothing to do with the strike but don't let that get in the way of your bitterness. :rolleyes:

buck65 wrote: »
    do ye know I have been following this thing for a while now and these are my conclusions.

1. The players are probably right, they didn't want Mc Carthy and felt he was substandard.
    2. The players that are nearing retirement age should probably now announce their retirements allowing younger members to return to the panel. Their point has been made and the damage is done.
    3. Gerald Mc Carthy is a tramp. He is petty , insulting, hypocritical, manipulative. These players he ha insulted repeatedly have achieved more for Cork hurling than he ever did. He should have walked a year ago.
    4. Gerald Mc Carthy is a failed manager both in Waterford and Cork and presided over 5 Chship losses in 2 years in Cork. Surely a national record for Chshp defeats?
    5. I wish the new Cork team well . It is a pity this has happened but surely Mc Carthy will have to go now that his backroom team are deserting him.

So completely wrong its funny, check your history books before you slag off one of the most decorated players in the history of the association.

Got nothing to do with the strike but don't let that get in the way of your bitterness. :rolleyes:

It has everything to do with it actually, the 2008 panel are squarely laying all the blame on Gerald for the downturn in their fortunes when the fact is they are no longer the team that they once were and the blame cuts both ways - now is that clear enough for you, just read the big words slowly :rolleyes:

Wow, you've an amazing ability not to understand yourself. ByeBye baby. :rolleyes:

Is it so hard for Cork people to comprehend that their golden boys are just not good enough, they were but no longer and the lack of new blood coming through combined to this is why Cork have slipped down the pecking order

Listen look back at the 2008 championship...Cork were the closest team to beating Kilkenny and have been the closest since Kilkenny began their winning streak in 2006. We could have beaten them on both occasions only Kilkenny got the crucial scores at crucial times at those games and finished off strong. If your above argument is true stating that the 08 panel are not good enough and the lack of talent coming through etc. well then all other counties are going down on the same boat. Offaly, Wexford and Waterford got bigger hammerings than Cork last year and if Tipperary were good enough they would have beaten Waterford in the semi but they didnt so I think its a bit rich from yourself saying that the 08 panel are slipping down the pecking order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Listen look back at the 2008 championship...Cork were the closest team to beating Kilkenny and have been the closest since Kilkenny began their winning streak in 2006. We could have beaten them on both occasions that day only that Kilkenny got the crucial scores at crucial times of those games. If your above argument is true stating that the 08 panel are not good enough and the lack of talent coming through etc. well then all other counties are going down on the same boat. Offaly, Wexford and Waterford got bigger hammerings than Cork last year and if Tipperary were good enough they would have beaten Waterford in the semi so no one can argue that the 08 panel are the closest to beating the Kilkenny team. FACT!

And who was that panel managed by?

You are just contradicting yourself now!

Waylander wrote: »
    And who was that panel managed by?

You are just contradicting yourself now!

No I'm not. Gerald was working with pretty much the same panel of players from 2004-2006. Only difference is that Cork won something those years. We won nothing under Gerald, not even a Munster final and why? because Gerald's coaching style is not up to scratch.

Waylander wrote: »
    Why should they respect the '08 panel. They are a shower of whinging bitches who are now on strike for the 3rd time? Maybe they are as bored of this carry on as the rest of the country!

And Frank Murphy and the CCB are the saints here? ...come on be real...The 08 panel are obviously not whinging about nothing....We all know that Frank Murphy and the CCB are trying to get one over the 08 panel because they had the balls to highlight how corrupt the CCB are. C'mon like they even had a rule once that one player from a certain club had to be on the Cork team...regardless of if he was good enough or not that kind of s**te... Fair play to the 08 panel for standing up for what they believe is best for the county. Its ok though the 08 panel will have the last laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

No I'm not. Gerald was working with pretty much the same panel of players from 2004-2006. Only difference is that Cork won something those years. We won nothing under Gerald, not even a Munster final and why? because Gerald's coaching style is not up to scratch.

Thats the only difference??? Have you ever heard of players peaking, players being past their best, old age, retirement.......... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

Look, no-one can question the players ability. They're not that old yet and have proved themselves very successful in the past.

Also, one need only look at Gerald Mcs record to know that he is a very able and successsful player himself, as well as a manager (excl. the latter few years)

However, the players and the managers do not seem to fit together, as is obvious from the last few months.

I think people should stop running down one side or the other. Obviously the fit between the two isn't right, and so something needs to change, but saying the players are no good, or the manager is useless doesn't hold up, given both their records.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Hawk Wing

No, the team just were not good enough, deal with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Hawk Wing wrote: »
    No, the team just were not good enough, deal with it

Putting aside for a minute the reasons of why Cork have gone back so much in two years, do you believe that the CCB were right in being so eager to reappoint a manager that had such a poor record with the team, and one that the players apparently had no confidence in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

There is some amount of tripe being written here from people who have no clue what is really going on. Frank Murphy has been determined since 2002 to give a big two fingered salute to the players. He has the perfect lap dog in gerald to do it. Gerald has to do what frank says because gerald has a big contract with the CCB to supply them with medals and cups. Gerald is not a top class coach. What did he do with waterford? One munster final and an all ireland semi in 5 years? He says he is against commericalism but he accepted a big payment from tyhe waterford board to get lost. While the cork team might not be as good as they were they are still the second best team in the country. The tripe that is being written is unreal from people that have no idea what is really going on behind the scenes.

I really wish people would stop saying Gerald McCarthy failed with Waterford. Just like Cork people feel we don't know the true nature of whats happening in the county, you don't know what kind of job he actually did with us. Our team of 96-01 was no where near as good as the team we've had in the past few years.

So stop using that as an argument to back up your claim that Gerald McCarthy is a failure of a manager.

Gerald had his two years and did nothing. While people might say that this team has gone back they are probably still the second best team in the country. Deise fella, Would ye take Gerald back??? Justin Mc is widely regarded as a much better coach than Gerlad but would never be considered for the post as FM would not have it. No other county board would have appointed a manager that the players didnt want. At the end of the day that is a fact!

Kauto wrote: »
    Deise fella, Would ye take Gerald back???

Nope, because I'm perfectly happy with Davy Fitz at the moment.
    Kauto wrote: »
    No other county board would have appointed a manager that the players didnt want. At the end of the day that is a fact!

And no other club in Europe of this scale gives the players the right to decide who should and shouldn't manage the team. At the end of the day that is a fact too!

Thats the only difference??? Have you ever heard of players peaking, players being past their best, old age, retirement.......... :confused:
    oh really? Can the same be said about the No.2 for Kilkenny M. Kavanagh ?

He is playing his best hurling now and has been in All-irelands since 1998..why is he playing so well? Its because he has a good manager..who is bringing out the best in him. . Henry Shefflin is playing awesome stuff also and he is around for ages also. The same could be done for the Cork 08 panel if they had the right manager to coach them.

No other club in Europe would appoint a manager which the players clearly didnt want!