Cork Hurling Manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I tell ya what, going by that interview, Gerald McCarthy doesn't look like a man that's going anywhere anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

deise59 wrote: »
    There were more people at the Cork-Dublin match than the Waterford-Tipp match, just to let you know.

Not exactly similar sized counties there Deise. ;)

corkhero wrote: »
    1000 is nearly an average league gate for us anyway.

most of cork fans are bandwagoners who go to championship games only.

I was at the Dublin game today but not the march yesterday as i dont support the players.

I think those who boycotted the Dublin game today are a disgrace.

I dont know why Ger is staying on as manager as he is not wanted but at least support the players wearing the jersey.

Id rather a team get beaten who want to play than a team whose ego has gotten the better of them.

Wha other team in the world picks their manager, none.

When ever the manager loses the respect of the dressing room, he invariably ****s off himself or is fired, whatever sport. Exactly why people think Ger is beyond this commen sense rule is beyond me. Its clear also that the players want a particular process in place in selecting the manager, not that they want to completely pick the manager himself.

As for that pathetic bandwagon remark... :rolleyes:

Hawk Wing wrote: »
    Not a bad result, Cork will obviously be building for the future for the next year or two

It was a terrible result, and puts on the level of the Westmeaths and Laois's of this world, going nowhere basically. One can only imagine what Tipp will do to us in Thurles...

Beyond that, I can only see more and more players falling off the panel with defeats like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭hawkwing

The Cork 2008 team didn't beat Dublin by very much either (Cork 1-17 Dublin 0-15 ) in last year's championship so there is no guarantee they would have beaten them.

Eh?

The 2008 squad beat them by 5 points in the Championship.

The current squad lost to them by 9 points in the League.

Not sure I see the worth of your argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

why do you even bother with that kind of stuff

1 THIS TEAM PLAYED AT HOME
    2 LOST LUCKILY BY ONLY 9PTS.(SHOULD HAVE BEEN 2 MORE GOALS)
    3 AGAINST AN UNDERSTRENGTH DUBLIN (DALY WAS QUOTED AS SAYING HE WOULD TRY OUT 3-4 GUYS TODAY)
    THIS WAS A LEAGUE RUN OUT AND THEY'RE BEST WERE HAMMERED
    4 THEY WERE ALL BUSTING A GUT FOR THEIR OWN PRIDE IN THE JERSEY ON THEIR DEBUT

LAST YEAR AS FAR AS I KNOW CORK WENT TO DUBLIN AND WON BY 5PTS

14PTS SWING AND DIFFERENT VENUE

YOUR POST IS A WASTE OF TIME AS YOU OBVIOUSLY DONT RECOGNISE THE DIFFERENCES IN THE 2 GAMES

• Site Banned Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Hawk Wing wrote: »
    Not a bad result, Cork will obviously be building for the future for the next year or two

Are you serious? C'mon be real. So you agree that this current panel will deliver for us in the next two years? lol. This same panel were beaten by WIT a few weeks ago, and you hardly can say that WIT had 15 county players on their team. Its funny to say but Kerry's hurling team will be beating us at our county's no 1 sport shortly.

By the way this current Dublin team were hammered by 6 goals by a 2nd rated Kilkenny team. What hope have this Cork team against Tippeary next week? We are going to get kicked off the pitch like lambs in the slaughter. It will be embarrassing for all of us Cork fans.

It was funny to hear the broadcaster on Cork's103fm praising up this current panel of players..(rory something) after the match today. He said at one stage the following sentence "we are only interested in the current panel of players not the ones that dont want to play". and he then started praising the players individually from the backs right up to the forwards...and saying how well they played etc. I wonder if the county board paid him to state such comments.

In the long run I doubt it that the Cork public will stand for this much longer. The standard of hurling in the county is far too great than be picking its 3rd or 4th best team. Kilkenny's task of winning 4 in a row will become much easier if the 2008 panel are not in the championship...

Afterall Cork have been the closest team to beating them since 2006 and the only team to beat them in an All-Ireland going back to 1999.

Orizio wrote: »
    Not exactly similar sized counties there Deise. ;)

Yeah I suppose. I guess I was just annoyed when I posted that because according to RTE, only 2,000 turned up for the Cork/Dublin game. They make it sound like there was a mass exodus of supporters. 2,000 is very respectable for an opening league game, especially considering they were hardly facing a Kilkenny or Tipperary.

Btw, shammy, no need to shout ;)

soundsham wrote: »
    why do you even bother with that kind of stuff

1 THIS TEAM PLAYED AT HOME
    2 LOST LUCKILY BY ONLY 9PTS.(SHOULD HAVE BEEN 2 MORE GOALS)
    3 AGAINST AN UNDERSTRENGTH DUBLIN (DALY WAS QUOTED AS SAYING HE WOULD TRY OUT 3-4 GUYS TODAY)
    THIS WAS A LEAGUE RUN OUT AND THEY'RE BEST WERE HAMMERED
    4 THEY WERE ALL BUSTING A GUT FOR THEIR OWN PRIDE IN THE JERSEY ON THEIR DEBUT

LAST YEAR AS FAR AS I KNOW CORK WENT TO DUBLIN AND WON BY 5PTS

14PTS SWING AND DIFFERENT VENUE

YOUR POST IS A WASTE OF TIME AS YOU OBVIOUSLY DONT RECOGNISE THE DIFFERENCES IN THE 2 GAMES
    Last year's game WAS in Cork and i only stated there was no guarantee that the Cork 2008 team would have beaten them yesterday either.
    "An opportunistic goal from Joe Deane proved crucial at Páirc Uí Chaoimh this evening as Cork fended off a wholehearted Dublin side to progress to the fourth round of the All-Ireland SHC qualifiers."
    "Dublin rallied again with overs from Ryan and O'Callaghan making it 1-14 to 0-14, with little over five minutes remaining."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭mrgaa1

Well done to the CORK hurlers for standing up and being counted - I'm talking about those who played the match. Not the whiners and those who are disgracing our national game by talking at rallies. Its a disgrace. BTW where are the old men from 2008 training? who is insuring them? are they training on a GAA pitch? is it allowed? What are their clubs doing about it? SHAME, SHAME, SHAME. And now look at Offaly - they are following suit. CORK have brought SHAME on the GAA and mark my words the GAA are in serious trouble over there actions - its like a virus - its spreading and where does it stop?
    The Offaly manager knows who is behind the withdrawal of services and where is the Offaly county board?
    We may be celebrating 125years of the GAA - but which GAA will we see going forward - One that stands up and informs its members to abide by the rules or the One that says Ah now Cork can ye not sort this out - get rid of the manager and lets have the old boys back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭spillcoe

mrgaa1 wrote: »
    Well done to the CORK hurlers for standing up and being counted - I'm talking about those who played the match. Not the whiners and those who are disgracing our national game by talking at rallies. Its a disgrace. BTW where are the old men from 2008 training? who is insuring them? are they training on a GAA pitch? is it allowed? What are their clubs doing about it? SHAME, SHAME, SHAME. And now look at Offaly - they are following suit. CORK have brought SHAME on the GAA and mark my words the GAA are in serious trouble over there actions - its like a virus - its spreading and where does it stop?
    The Offaly manager knows who is behind the withdrawal of services and where is the Offaly county board?
    We may be celebrating 125years of the GAA - but which GAA will we see going forward - One that stands up and informs its members to abide by the rules or the One that says Ah now Cork can ye not sort this out - get rid of the manager and lets have the old boys back?

Clearly you have absolutely no idea what is behind this dispute. It really annoys me when people who don't know what is going on come out and make broad sweeping statements like this (eg Eddie Kehir). Blaming the Cork players for what happened in Offaly is just ridiculous. Players losing faith in managers and having votes of no consequence is not a new occurrence in the GAA.

And another thing, why are these Cork players continually referred to as being too old or as Mr GAA so eloquently put it "the old men"? The Kilkenny team have a very similar age profile and nobody ever suggests that they are too old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭corkhero

Orizio wrote: »
    When ever the manager loses the respect of the dressing room, he invariably ****s off himself or is fired, whatever sport. Exactly why people think Ger is beyond this commen sense rule is beyond me. Its clear also that the players want a particular process in place in selecting the manager, not that they want to completely pick the manager himself.

As for that pathetic bandwagon remark... :rolleyes:

when does any team players ever have a say in the process to pick the manager??

Not in any other sport.

Its an absolute disgrace.

And the bandwagon remark is justified. We get absolutely no one follow us during the league games yet when championship games comes the "best supporters in the country" come out for their family day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

And the bandwagon remark is justified. We get absolutely no one follow us during the league games yet when championship games comes the "best supporters in the country" come out for their family day out.

The "band wagon" is common is all sports, ot just GAA, and not just in Cork. Just have a look at Munster rugby!!! Anyway, it is a little off the topic of the manager.

I'm not saying its right or anything, but it is common in all teams and in all sports, whether or not they are in dispute.

Yeah you're absolutely right, it only happens in Cork. I mean, take Waterford for example. 55,000 for an AI Semi Final against Tipp last year, and barely 2,000 for the same match barely 5 months later

Oh, wait...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭evil-monkey

Been away for a bit lads and couldn't be arsed reading through them all :p

How goes the debate then?? What do ye all reckon of the the 10k marchers. Is that a lot or a little considering the number of supposed hurling supporters in Cork??

Been away for a bit lads and couldn't be arsed reading through them all :p

How goes the debate then?? What do ye all reckon of the the 10k marchers. Is that a lot or a little considering the number of supposed hurling supporters in Cork??

Christ dude its been hard enough reading through the comments the past week without having to fill you in on whats been happening :p

I had predicted around 7-8k for the march, so I'll admit it was slightly larger than I anticipated. But personally I was more impressed with the good attendence at the Dublin match given the circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

See Mc Carthys logistics guy walked away. Can't tolerate the nonsense that Ger has been spouting about the players !
    Take a bow Ger, it's all going south.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Okay, so we're four month's into the dispute, and even though there's a palpable shift in support in the direction of the players, things seem as entrenched now as they were at the start, and maybe even more so. I've always been one of the few non-rebels on here to (tentatively) support the players (posting as lenny_leonard, btw), but I've never given a good rationale for my position, and I feel compelled to do it as there are some repeated arguments against the players which I believe to be somewhat unfair. Admitedly my position is not based on any knowledge of the political machinations of the Cork GAA scene, but that also means my arguments are not influenced by any emotional attachment to the issues at hand, and are purely those of an outside observer.

Anyway, the first point I take issue with is the continued assertion that the players want to pick their own manager. A lot of posts in this thread seem to use this as the basis that the players are the villains of the piece. This, imo, is a complete misrepresentation of the players position; they have always asserted that what they are fighting for is an appropriate manager appointment process. Right from the start, we had Ger McCarthy acknowledging this, shortly after his ratification as manager: “I met with two players on Monday and they spoke to me about the process that saw my name go forward for ratification and that they felt it was wrong”. And since then, there has been nothing in the media to suggest that the players want anything other than an effective appointment process. From an article in The Examiner on 10th October, regarding the two player representatives at the appointment proceedings [1]:
    wrote:
    “The players... said they were here to talk about processes, not personalities. How would they go about seeking the best man and system for the job? Would there be a shortlist? Interviews? It's how it worked in other counties, including Tyrone with Mickey Harte's appointment. The board informed them that wasn't how Cork operated.”
    From the Players Statement, Wednesday 05th November [2]:
    wrote:
    “The players don’t say they have the right to pick the manager, (their wish was to be involved in the selection process) nor do they want the right to pick the manager.“

From here the argument logically goes on to the involvement of the two players reps in the discussions of the appointment of a new manager- how hard did they fight for the process they seek? Did they even offer any names? Admittedly, this is one aspect that I originally thought worked against the players as it appeared that they played a very passive role in the discussions, and thus were partly to blame for the resulting stand-off, and maybe even were the instigators of it. However, the November Players Statement indicates that the reps did indeed try to steer the appointment discussion in a positive direction:

Players Statement, Wednesday 05th November [2]
    wrote:
    “The county board insists the two player representatives never presented any other candidate for consideration . . . at the third meeting there was a discussion of the names of other possible managers.”

PLAYERS: “In two sentences, the innate contradiction of the county board statement is clearly set out. It can hardly be said that nobody was presented for consideration if there was a discussion of their names. By way of further clarification, the names were suggested at the second meeting (not the third), which was attended by Seán Óg Ó hAilpín (as proxy for John Gardiner). It was the only meeting he attended and he suggested potential candidates. Regarding the process, the players believe that the board tried to force them into a vote (on one man) where they held the majority, while attempting to maintain that this was ‘a process’. “

So again, there's nothing to indicate that the players were interested in anything other than an appropriate appointment process.

Another argument floated around is that the players agreed to a “No-Strike Clause” in the Keiran Mulvey Arbitration Deal last February (almost a year ago to the day, incidentally), yet here they are again involved in a de facto strike. This aspect troubles me and is one which is tough to argue against, although one of the reasons for that is that the full text of the arbitration is hard to find. All that's available online are these excerpts; The No-Strike Clause is:

"No strike clause -- the players agree not to invoke any strike process in future where it is clear that the terms of this arbitration memorandum have been adhered to by the Board."

All that says is that once the CCB carry out their obligations as detailed in the arbitration deal, then the players won't strike in the future. Without knowing the full text of the arbitration, it's impossible to analyze whether or not the CCB have carried out their obligations to the letter of the law. I mean, was there a clause that a better manager appointment process would be carried out in future, or would it just be business as usual for the CCB executive? Or was there an unspoken, implicit understanding by all sides that a more thorough appointment process would be carried out in the future (the 'spirit' of the process, as mentioned a lot recently)? My feeling is that the latter was the prevailing sentiment; after all, the strike in the first place was due to what was perceived to be a flawed appointment process. Surely any settlement would include a commitment to improve the process, at least in spirit if not in an actual clause? And from the two statements in the last couple of weeks (hurlers and fooballers), I'm inclined to believe that this is the case:

Hurlers Statement 26th January 2009 [3]
    wrote:
    “We were given a role in the selection process for the Hurling manager for 2009 by Kieran Mulvey in his arbitration findings in early 2008.

In good faith, our representatives took part in a number of meetings on behalf of the panel, until it became clear that there was no process really involved. The Board Executive clearly viewed it as a vote, in which they would always have a majority. This was obviously not a "process" by any interpretation of the word. “

...Accordingly, we have always maintained that the appointment of the current manager was flawed.“

Footballers Statement, 5th February 2009 [4]
    “We believe that Mr Kieran Mulvey’s arbitration findings were an ideal template for the executive and the players to begin working together for the benefit of the GAA in Cork and to help repair relations that have been damaged in the past.

“Unfortunately, we believe that it is evident that the executive would rather work against the Cork hurling panel of 2008 rather than work with them and we are fearful that Cork hurlers and footballers of the future will be put in the same position.

“We do not believe that the executive have acted with the best interest of Cork GAA at heart with their recent actions, whereby the spirit of the arbitration was not adhered to in the selection process.
    At the risk of rambling on with this point, it could of course be argued that the players were negligent in not having an 'appointment process' clause in the deal (if indeed one doesn't exist, as it would appear), and so any consequences are the fault of the players. But if the 'spirit' of the deal was that the appointment process would improve, then the CCB are completely wrong, in my opinion, for exploiting the lack of any such clause. In addition to this, the fact that the CCB can effectively ignore the opinions of the players reps through the 5-2 majority they hold in the selection process, gives some legitimacy to the claim that the CCB is using the arbitration deal as a tool to gain revenge over the losses to the players in 2002 and 2008. While I'm not saying definitively that the CCB are exploiting the arbitration deal, the fact is that the ways and means to do so are available to them, and the cynic in me suggests that they are in fact doing this, even if only subconsciously.

And then we get around to the issue of whether Ger Mc is in fact good enough to get the full potential out of this team. Speaking as an outside observer, I think the answer to that is a resounding 'No'. In 2003-2006, Cork lost only two championship games, and won five of the major finals they were in. In the two years under Ger Mc, they lost five championship games and didn't make one final. As the players said themselves in their recent Statement:

Players Statement 26th January 2009[3]
    wrote:
    There was no complaint from us from 2003 to 2006. We contested all eight available championship finals and won five of them over those four seasons. We haven't contested a final since.

Sure, there were other issues going on such as Semplegate in '06 and the strike last year, but that still doesn't account for such a dip in form. And the claim that Cork are an aging team doesn't lend as much weight to the argument as some people believe- for an obvious corollary one just needs to look at the Irish Rugby side. Twelve months ago, they were written off as a stale, aging team, and three days ago they come out as a completely rejuvenated side to destroy France, with 'finished' BOD playing like a 23 year old. Eddie O'Sullivan lost the Irish dressing room last year, and Declan Kidney has reclaimed it this year. But Ger Mc clearly just doesn't have the dressing room, and his training seems to have a certain old-skool aspect to it as well. (From the article in The Examiner on 10th October [1]):
    wrote:
    They felt training wasn't up to scratch either... One drill was of particular concern to the players. Six men in one line facing infield, six in another facing them, between them, six poles in a straight line for them to solo zig-zag through. Player One goes. Solo in open space for a few yards, negotiate the six poles, solo in some more open space for a few yards, pass the ball off to the man first in line and then go back to the end. Players felt they were standing around idle for too long waiting for their next go.

... That summer Gerald had instructed the players to be on the field for training at 10 to seven every night yet too often he wasn't there. And when it had started, it was still too pedestrian and that was reflected in their hurling. The sharpness wasn't there to compete with Kilkenny.

... People say the players want to run the show, that they won't listen to anyone,'" says one player. "But under [Donal O'] Grady, we were more than happy to do what we were told. It was reflected on the field. We didn't have the same confidence in Gerald's coaching.

At the end of the day, even though there are some peripheral issues going on to add to the demise of the Cork hurlers fortunes, it's glaringly obvious that the fit of management and players just wasn't working. So why on earth would the CCB be so eager to reappoint Ger Mc? The only reason I can come up with is that the CCB are trying to reassert themselves as being in charge. And if that's not the reason, and they believe their appointment process is sufficient, then they are just as negligent in looking after Corks welfare. As I mentioned in an earlier post, their appointment process, one that they consider good enough for the most successful county in GAA history, consisted of a few names being floated about, a call to the outgoing manager, and a vote by county board delegates on that one man. Compare that to the Galway appointment process with 8 candidates nominated, all 8 being interviewed, 3 getting called back for a second interview, and finally John McIntyre getting the job. The CCB executive should be ashamed if they feel that their 'process' is sufficient, because in all honesty it's just embarrassing.

Of course the fact that the county board delegates ratified Ger's appointment by 88 votes to 6 is also somewhat bizarre- but if the CCB/Frank Murphy is the wielder of power that some suggest, then maybe it's not that strange. Plus voting in a one-man election is inherently flawed; what's the question supposed to be? “Would you prefer this man elected, or would you prefer no-one?” You have to applaud the bravery (insanity?) of the 6 clubs who voted against, to be honest, as it's quite the insult to not be approved by everyone in a one man race.

This is rambling rapidly out of control, not that I expect anyone to have gotten this far anyway. I'm not sure I've even made a good case for the players, but I do believe that they have genuine grievances in this dispute. There is however one last thing that really annoys me about the whole debate, and that's the labeling of the players as “whingers” and “cry-babies”, as has happened a lot in the thread. I personally think that's way off the mark and is very unfair on the players. I've always believed that hurling in one of the true remaining 'warrior' sports, and that top-class inter-county hurlers exist on a different psychological level to other Irish athletes due to the mythical roots in Irish history. These players aren't 'throwing the toys out of the pram', as has been suggested; some of these players have won three All-Ireland's since '99, and surely they've earned the right to a lot more respect than a simple labeling of 'cry-babies'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

holy sh*t.........:eek::eek::eek:
    i'm more confused than ever

lol, I haven't read the post yet, but anything that size deserves a thanks!

I think you added a degree clarity and subtlely to the debate Lenny, much thanks. (and yes I did read it ;) ). Here's hoping you replace Eamonn Sweeney one of these days...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭dahayeser

deise59 wrote: »
    I had predicted around 7-8k for the march, so I'll admit it was slightly larger than I anticipated. But personally I was more impressed with the good attendence at the Dublin match given the circumstances.

I wouldn't read too much in to that. Those 2000 people didn't just turn up for the Dublin match. There was an almighty effort behind the scenes to round up that crowd.

dahayeser wrote: »
    I wouldn't read too much in to that. Those 2000 people didn't just turn up for the Dublin match. There was an almighty effort behind the scenes to round up that crowd.

There also might have been alot of other reasons for the "crowd" of people at the match.

Lets face it, it was the whole teams first time togging out for Cork. I'm sure all their families and friends are extremely proud of those players, regardless of the cirumstances, and would go just to support them. Also, there was an elelment of curiosity to see how the players would get on.

By attending the match, unlike the march, you are not necessarily picking the side of the CCB over the player, and it should not be taken as this.

I think this on going wrangle has to stop now - http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0211/mccarthyg.html this clearly shows that the clubs support the manager. If the clubs had issues then they could have voted differently.
    I also understand that the players who have withdrawn their services have asked to meet with all the clubs to put their case across. This is not GAA protocol - all discussions are through the clubs and county board.

I think this on going wrangle has to stop now - http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0211/mccarthyg.html this clearly shows that the clubs support the manager. If the clubs had issues then they could have voted differently.
    I also understand that the players who have withdrawn their services have asked to meet with all the clubs to put their case across. This is not GAA protocol - all discussions are through the clubs and county board.

But the players believe that the problem is with the county board!!! If the clubs believe as they voted last night, and we have no reason to believe different, then the county board should have no problem with the platers meeting with the clubs.

With regards to GAA protocol, it is hardly protocol for players to refuse to play, so I hardly think that holds any argument in this case.

As a side note, the power of the GAA comes form the clubs only. The county board merely represents the clubs at a forum. It is not independant of the clubs and cannot (should not) over rule the clubs wishes.

Sorry but I don't agree. All county boards are made up of officers and a member ( or two ) from all the clubs - this then forms the county board. Clubs have their representative who takes the clubs mandate ( or at least he/she should follow the clubs mandate ) and then if there any votes then the club delegate votes according to mandate.

As you said yourself
    " As a side note, the power of the GAA comes form the clubs only. The county board merely represents the clubs at a forum. It is not independant of the clubs and cannot (should not) over rule the clubs wishes. "

The clubs have voted at their county board meeting and so that should be it. The players should not be allowed to meet with the clubs collectively. The players should contact their own clubs and talk to their OWN clubs about the situation - the club membership through a EGM ( or a executive meeting ) can vote on a motion and through that motion the county board delegate can then take that mandate. If we have the situation where a group of county players who have withdrawn their services bypassing the county board and meeting with clubs then what sort of system would we have.
    I think the vote that was taken should be taken as final and the players who have withdrawn their services should accept what has happened and then decide whether or not to make themselves available or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Sorry but I don't agree. All county boards are made up of officers and a member ( or two ) from all the clubs - this then forms the county board. Clubs have their representative who takes the clubs mandate ( or at least he/she should follow the clubs mandate ) and then if there any votes then the club delegate votes according to mandate.

You're naive if you think this is the case- the majority of club members, especially players, neither know nor could care less what goes on at county board meetings, unless it directly affects them regarding fixtures. A clubs' mandate usually comes from a small group, basically the executive and a few others, at the top. It's not that the executive wants things this way, it's just that interest in the political wranglings just isn't healthy in most clubs. This is speaking from experience, having been a CB delegate, as well as holding other positions with my club variously as ILO, PRO, asst. secretary and full secretary. My Da was also on the Westmeath CB executive for 20-odd years, so I gained a great insight into what actually goes on 'at the top'.

Also, Orizio posted a link a while back, where the CCB voted against clubs having to vote on important issues before giving their delegtes a mandate. So are the delegates really offering the opinions of their clubs as a whole?

Another thing- Ger Mc chaired that CCB meeting last night. You don't think that might have biased the vote in any way? The only thing thing of any sense I'm hearing of last night's meeting was from one delegate:
    wrote:
    Blarney delegate White said he believed delegates should be allowed go back to the clubs and get their views on McCarthy’s appointment and said he had warned last October McCarthy’s reappointment would cause the players to walk away.

A vote of 84-13 is over-whelming alright, but I wouldn't be too confident that it really reflects the views of the various club memberships.