Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Article] Eircom to cut off Music File Sharers ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 telemakus

Cabaal wrote: »
    I strongly suggest you cease all discussions on this matter for your own good. This is your ONLY warning!
    Any further discussions on that subject will get you banned, the rules are VERY clear!

Cabaal,

lol ;) fair enuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

telemakus wrote: »
    T
    Why are moderators, pushing THEIR view, which amazingly, agrees and is on message with the record companies on this, i find that interesting.

If you're referring to me these are my personal views - you seem to be implying Mods are towing the party line. This shows to me you don't understand how Boards works. I've never met or spoken to any other Mod except my co-mod on the Music Prod Forum. There is no party line to tow.

Some (not much!) of my income IS royalties - so I am one of the victims of illegal downloading - that's MY interest.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    Some (not much!) of my income IS royalties - so I am one of the victims of illegal downloading - that's MY interest.

This is what I've been saying, if it actually affected people here they would not be so quick to give out about this move by eircom and the music industry.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

well, as per usual, a blocked user inevitably WILL appeal against a ban!!! Where then? the carpark?

OK, I've read this post several times and I still can't make any sense of it.

Are you drunk, or what? :confused:

Actually if all you theivin' b@&tards would please send me Euro 20 each we'd all be squared up ....

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,448 Mod ✭✭✭✭dub45

neilk32 wrote: »
    i think what a lot of people are not realising is it is not the bands that are losing money its the big companies. Bands make their money from playing live shows and if people download there music because of a friends recommendation and go to their shows and they recommend their friend its like a rollover effect. Infact i think it is fair to say that a lot of bands that are big today wouldnt be if all the bandwagon didnt hop on and download their music.

Unfortunately you are taking a very narrow view here. There are many bands who play to very small audiences indeed. Audiences that are getting smaller now by the day because of the recession. The justification for downloading is often that bands can make their money out of live gigs.

But that argument just doesn't cover areas of minority interest where smaller labels existed to cover relatively small but enthusiastic markets and where artists depended on the relatively small number of cd sales to augment their incomes. For example an excellent alt-country magazine called 'No Depression'
    closed last year - there were a number of reasons for this and you can read most of them here:

http://idolator.com/358090/no-depression-to-shut-down-after-next-issue
    but a couple of the factors were the huge decrease in advertising budgets of the labels (and we are not talking the big labels here) and the simple fact that the specialist music stores which such magazines depended on were closing down. The actual sales of the magazine were holding up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

FruitLover wrote: »

You know, I was thinking the exact same thing, about this one and an earlier post with lots of double negatives in it. Still don't have a fricken clue.

If you're referring to me these are my personal views - you seem to be implying Mods are towing the party line. This shows to me you don't understand how Boards works. I've never met or spoken to any other Mod except my co-mod on the Music Prod Forum. There is no party line to tow.

I can appreciate that fact! So what im wondering is you think that the UK is wrong in NOT kicking people off the internet? I mean if you really want to get your royalty's!! (which is your entitlement, and im not disputing that)

Kicking people of the Internet, implementing a nationally embarrasing 3 strike logic - is not the way for you to get your royalties!

Thats my point! Not really tinfoil hat material to be honest!! (especially since these people have just agreed to it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Actually if all you theivin' b@&tards would please send me Euro 20 each we'd all be squared up ....

Wheres the smiley face to go with that post ?

Christ theres more cd's in the gaff than I've had hot dinners.
    And I'm a fat bastard at that !

i re-read it, i understood it!!

tinfoil hat wearer, sad, drunk etc! - even more interesting you guys!! Such hostility!!! its amusing!

i re-read it, i understood at it!!

tinfoil hat wearer, sad, drunk etc! - even more interesting you guys!! Such hostility!!! its amusing!

it sounds like the russian vodka is nearly fineeshed.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

you expect us to have bought some of your music?

yoshytoshy wrote: »
    Laziness i'm referring to is that of getting cd's out as oppose to listening to music I've ripped to the pc.
    I've not ever tried internet radio (apart from RTE),sounds like a great idea.
    I do like to listen through albums though ,even if I don't like them I like to make my own opinion on them. It's very hard online to do this I feel ,with all the protection and bitterness towards listeners/customers.:(

It is desperately hard to get a cd out ok and put it into a cd player and as for the weight of that remote control!:rolleyes: And then there was that exhausting journey to the record shop to buy it!

http://www.shoutcast.com/

http://www.npr.org/music/

Just two amazing links and they will conserve your energy!

And where exactly is this bitterness towards customers/listeners?

I can appreciate that fact! So what im wondering is you think that the UK is wrong in NOT kicking people off the internet? I mean if you really want to get your royalty's!! (which is your entitlement, and im not disputing that)

Kicking people of the Internet, implementing a nationally embarrasing 3 strike logic - is not the way for you to get your royalties!

Thats my point! Not really tinfoil hat material to be honest!! (especially since these people have just agreed to it)

Nationally embarassing? would you please cop yourself on?

I presume you would have no problem then with sharing your internet connection with your neighbours if they found some way into it? Or if a hacker found his way into your pc and shared some of your personal details with himself and a few friends? Or if you come home someday and find your place empty because somebody has taken upon themselves to share your property on a permanent basis.

I think that it needs to be explained to people that Downloading Unlicensed Copyrighted Material is a crime.

Committing a crime in a modern society should have consequences.

I think what's happening now is -

1. Eircom are tacitly admitting that they are party to this illegal activity - or at very least acknowledging that they are not unconnected to it, even that a significant step for an ISP.

2. A punishment must be administered to repeat offenders in order to encourage curtailing such activities.

The fine details I think will be chopped and changed over the coming years. This, I believe is only the start.

dub45 wrote: »
    It is desperately hard to get a cd out ok and put it into a cd player and as for the weight of that remote control!:rolleyes: And then there was that exhausting journey to the record shop to buy it!

http://www.shoutcast.com/

http://www.npr.org/music/

Just two amazing links and they will conserve your energy!

And where exactly is this bitterness towards customers/listeners?

It's far easier to have music on file in a pc and call it up as opposed to rooting through hundreds of cds.Unless of course you have a B&O stereo and the pleasure is in the waving the hand:p

I've tried apple and I hate the operation ,the only time online I buy is from a site !K7.COM , some of the stuff is crap but they genuinely try and get people out on label ,with all types of styles.
    To be honest I don't really use the pc for music as much as I'd like to ,it was when I bought an apple ipod when things went sour on the pc.

Thanks for the links

You may as well blame that on the likes of Amazon, Play and (legal) commercial mp3 sites. I'm not convinced in the slightest that high-street media shops losing money is down to piracy.

Case in point:

Number of records and CDs I've bought in the last year:
    zero

Number of mp3s I've bought in the last year:
    probably around 50

I don't doubt that Amazon and general online purchasing have played a role in the demise of the bricks and mortar store be it large or small but the fact is that the sales of cds have fallen rapidly even with the presence of Amazon.

Nationally embarassing? would you please cop yourself on?

I presume you would have no problem then with sharing your internet connection with your neighbours if they found some way into it? Or if a hacker found his way into your pc and shared some of your personal details with himself and a few friends? Or if you come home someday and find your place empty because somebody has taken upon themselves to share your property on a permanent basis.

Well you just defeated your own argument there! The only people it seems intent on fiddling with my internet connection! And stealing my personal details would be IMRO and Eircom!!! And YOUR 100% correct. Its not right! Hence my annoyance!

If you read boing-boing, theregister etc, they describe it as an embarrassment! And it is! So maybe you can email those editors as well, and ask them to cop on also!

Actually tell the British Minister that stopped Britains 3strikes rule, that they need to cop on also!!!

I think that it needs to be explained to people that Downloading Unlicensed Copyrighted Material is a crime.

Committing a crime in a modern society should have consequences.

I think what's happening now is -

1. Eircom are tacitly admitting that they are party to this illegal activity - or at very least acknowledging that they are not unconnected to it, even that a significant step for an ISP.

2. A punishment must be administered to repeat offenders in order to encourage curtailing such activities.

The fine details I think will be chopped and changed over the coming years. This, I believe is only the start.

Yes i agree with you, this is just the start, and that's what is worrisome!

yoshytoshy wrote: »
    It's far easier to have music on file in a pc and call it up as opposed to rooting through hundreds of cds.Unless of course you have a B&O stereo and the pleasure is in the waving the hand:p

I've tried apple and I hate the operation ,the only time online I buy is from a site !K7.COM , some of the stuff is crap but they genuinely try and get people out on label ,with all types of styles.
    To be honest I don't really use the pc for music as much as I'd like to ,it was when I bought an apple ipod when things went sour on the pc.

Thanks for the links

Yes it is an interesting change in habits that virtually no one sits and listens to music any more in an active way (as distinct I know from people sitting in cars and sharing their thumping bass with the rest of society). Sales of hi fi have dropped sharply as well.

Hard to believe that no so long ago (relatively speaking anyway) whole families gathered around a radio to listen to important and not so important broadcasts.

http://images.google.ie/images?q=family%20listening%20to%20radio&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&client=firefox-a&hl=en&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&tab=wi

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

I don't doubt that Amazon and general online purchasing have played a role in the demise of the bricks and mortar store be it large or small but the fact is that the sales of cds have fallen rapidly even with the presence of Amazon.

Along with Amazon, people are buying music from the likes of iTunes, Beatport, etc. When I can buy a new track on mp3 for €2, versus €8 for the same track on vinyl (or €5 for the CD (if it's even available)), it's not hard to see why people buy online instead of in brick-and-mortar shops.
    The only people it seems intent on fiddling with my internet connection! And stealing my personal details would be IMRO and Eircom!!! And YOUR 100% correct. Its not right! Hence my annoyance!

Holy Christ. I don't have the energy right now to deal with a troll of your calibre, so I'm going to put you on ignore. I'll check again tomorrow to see if your ribbitings have become entertaining once more.

There's also another element to Illegal Downloading apart from the direct income loss.

If one can't make money from recording then ...... why record?

And even if one does want to record (as a Musical Calling Card for example, effectively what singles are ) then where does one do it?

Basic stuff can be done at home - but for anything complex a studio is needed, but they're closing all the time due to lack of business.

The likely effect of no Album sales will eventually be ...............No Albums.

Classic Rock stations 24/7 anyone? 'Don't stop believin' ..............ad infinitum"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

And stealing my personal details would be IMRO and Eircom!!!

If you're an eircom customer, then they already have your details, you would have given them over already, so no need for them to steal anything. IMRO will be given details if, and when, a court order is issued, as has happened in the past. Again, no stealing necessary.

Well you just defeated your own argument there! The only people it seems intent on fiddling with my internet connection! And stealing my personal details would be IMRO and Eircom!!! And YOUR 100% correct. Its not right! Hence my annoyance!

If you read boing-boing, theregister etc, they describe it as an embarrassment! And it is! So maybe you can email those editors as well, and ask them to cop on also!

Actually tell the British Minister that stopped Britains 3strikes rule, that they need to cop on also!!!

If you had read any of the posts in the thread before now which attempted to explain what has been agreed you would have realised (but then again there are none so blind etc etc) that no one will be 'stealing' your personal details.

You are concerned about some non existent threat to your personal details and you have no concern whatsoever about the personal creations, work and intellectual property of the musicians that you are 'sharing' willy nilly.

Yes it is an interesting change in habits that virtually no one sits and listens to music any more in an active way (as distinct I know from people sitting in cars and sharing their thumping bass with the rest of society). Sales of hi fi have dropped sharply as well.

Hard to believe that no so long ago (relatively speaking anyway) whole families gathered around a radio to listen to important and not so important broadcasts.

http://images.google.ie/images?q=family%20listening%20to%20radio&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&client=firefox-a&hl=en&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&tab=wi

The radio deserves a funky revival alright ,some jivin on a sunday eve with twistin ankles galore:pac:
    I got myself a decent set of senheisser earphones hd595 ,sound on the pc is cracking through them. I find with good phones i have more time for music while using the pc.
    sorry for going ot.:o

Along with Amazon, people are buying music from the likes of iTunes, Beatport, etc. When I can buy a new track on mp3 for €2, versus €8 for the same track on vinyl (or €5 for the CD (if it's even available)), it's not hard to see why people buy online instead of in brick-and-mortar shops.

Yes but the two 'legal' ways of accessing music don't make up for the very large gap caused by downloading.

There's also another element to Illegal Downloading apart from the direct income loss.

And even if one does want to record (as a Musical Calling Card for example, effectively what singles are ) then where does one do it?

Basic stuff can be done at home - but for anything complex a studio is needed, but they're closing all the time due to lack of business.

The likely effect of no Album sales will eventually be No Albums ....

Classic Rock stations 24/7 anyone?

your supposed to create music for the love of creating it Mr Brewer! Or am i talking to Lars from Metallica here!

And Radiohead would disagree with you! But then they are famous and musically important.

Even Lars from metallica would disagree with you point of view on the need for making money...i mean music at this point!

The likely effect of no Album sales will eventually be ...............No Albums.

Classic Rock stations 24/7 anyone? 'Don't stop believin' ..............ad infinitum"

I agree totally - I was trying to make this point earlier in the thread that it is not just about musicians being affected but there are loads of other people in the industry who have given their lives to music and with less and less people wiling to pay for music these people will find their livelihoods threatened thats if they have not already lost their jobs.

your supposed to create music for the love of creating it .....................

And who laid down this edict pray tell us?

If you had read any of the posts in the thread before now which attempted to explain what has been agreed you would have realised (but then again there are none so blind etc etc) that no one will be 'stealing' your personal details.

You are concerned about some non existent threat to your personal details and you have no concern whatsoever about the personal creations, work and intellectual property of the musicians that you are 'sharing' willy nilly.

who said i share music! I dont really download either aint bought a cd in years! Last album i got on itunes!

I really, like the vast majority of non mods here, dont have any concern for people who have no concern about my kicking me off the internet!!! Which no other major market had the stupidity to enforce!

If someone is struck off after 3strikes!! They will receive a letter etc! Details will have to be got!