Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eastwood rants at "soft" generation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Biggins wrote: »
    The Israel government has the right idea.
    Stick all teenagers in the army for two years when you finish highschool. Toughens them the frak up - I know they do it for self-defence reasons - but the kids come out the other end with at least tougher, stronger and more mentally able to take on this world of dog eat dog.
    I've worked along side them and I can honestly tell you, they have more kop on and awareness of the real world than the gormless twats found draping themselves daily around our shopping centrers dossing about!

Yea, and on the upside, if ever theres a war half of them will get blown up. Awesome.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Puddleduck wrote: »
    Yea, and on the upside, if ever theres a war half of them will get blown up. Awesome.
    ...and the other remain half will still be defending, while the gormless twats are crapping in their pants crying for their mammies, daddies and playstations, hiding under their beds!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Don't you work in a library?

I do now but its not the only job i've ever had.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

He kinda has a point. I think a lot of adults have a fear of growing up, both physically and emotionally. Back in the day, you would just get on with it, accept the responsibility that comes with growing up- sure, in this country, you would work from about 16 or 17 ( if not younger), and you'd be expected to have a family by your early twenties.

Now there is a whole generation of people who want to stay 15 forever. They want to constantly have fun, never want to settle down, and think they have 'The Worst Life Evar!' if they don't have the most fashionalble clothes or gadgets. I see people like this in their thirties and think ''God, I know teenagers who are more mature than them!". They just have everything so easy.

I know I'm generalising a bit here, but I kinda agree with Clint. Though I don't know where he got that "Everyone has forgotten about 9/11" thing.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Degsy wrote: »
    I remember there was a thread on Parenting called "somebody allowed my child to fry".
    This wasnt about some kid getting the elctric chair as a result of a bad defence lawyer,no.
    It concerned a six year old who the parents had sent to some summer camp style thing and it came back with a bit of sunburn.
    the mother concerned was even talking about legal action against the owners of the summer camp.
    Pathetic.
    Well it is when you say "a bit of sunburn" (to suit your argument) but the poster in question described her daughter as "roasted" - and we've no proof she wasn't. Those taking care of her daughter that day were in loco parentis and duty-bound to apply suncream to the child's skin throughout the day.
    Being concerned about sunburn (which is quite dangerous - especially for children) doesn't make you a "pussy". I'm from one of the generations who played outdoors all summer, broke several bones a week yadda yadda... and in hot weather, my mother made us cover up til we were whingeing.
    The Israel government has the right idea.
    Stick all teenagers in the army for two years when you finish highschool. Toughens them the frak up - I know they do it for self-defence reasons - but the kids come out the other end with at least tougher, stronger and more mentally able to take on this world of dog eat dog.
    I've worked along side them and I can honestly tell you, they have more kop on and awareness of the real world than the gormless twats found draping themselves daily around our shopping centrers dossing about!
    True. I'd be fairly toughened if I was trained to torture, humiliate and kill people.

I'd apply what Clint says to poncey metrosexual men all right - the likes of Christiano Ronaldo etc. What women!!

Love "manly" men - and my god, Clint was the manliest! :D:o

Dudess wrote: »
    True. I'd be fairly toughened if I was trained to torture, humiliate and kill people.

:rolleyes: Jeeze - that only happens after basic training when they are given the option to stay on and specialise in categorical areas specific to the army.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I'd say he's right. I'd like to think I'm not too badly affected but i know i still am at a level. To this day, i still look at my dad as one of the toughest B*****ds to walks to the planet. He's been on his own since he was 18, deals with everything himself, hates when people mention the word "psychologist" and fondly remembers his school days where corporal punishment was still in full effect.

I have things alot easier than he did, even if i've done my fair share of tough jobs or fights etc. I still would hate the thought of scrapping with my dad, he'd probably strangle me with my own leg :D

:rolleyes: Jeeze - that only happens after basic training when they are given the option to stay on and specialise in categorical areas specific to the army.

I really dont think exposing teenagers to the brutality of war is going to be useful. I think making the youth useful would probably help toughen them up. Instead most seem to fart around outside supermarkets and shops all day.
    Also 'Back in the day' how many people were screwed up because they didnt pay any attention to emotional matters since thats for the wimmins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Mingey

Sounds like Clint is suffering from a bout of Backinmydayitis. If he is not a careful it will stay with him until he draws his last breath.

Yeah, this stuff of "in my day there was no such thing as depression, no therapists, we just got on with it"... Yeah, by self-medicating with alcohol...

Daddy coming home and beating several shades of sh!te out of you made you stronger dont you know?

Also letting bullies beat the crap out of your kids was a good thing.

Marital rape? Sure there was no such thing then.

Who is this Clint Power anyway?

Daddy coming home and beating several shades of sh!te out of you made you stronger dont you know?

Also letting bullies beat the crap out of your kids was a good thing.

yes and no. My dad gave me a fair few whacks as a kid but nothing i wouldn't have deserved. I haven't seen a kid smacked in years though. I'd 100% believe it did me good. I learned fast too and I have nothing but respect for the man.

As for bullies, i had my encounters with them too. And i overcame them. and it was character building and it did make me stronger. It may not work like that for everyone but it did for me.

Either that or the brain damage has started to kick in :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I don't think avoiding fights is being a wimpy little ****e, it's more being a smarter one, but any decent bloke will jump in to defend his mates. I think clint is talking more about this...

http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/351/guidohd1.jpg

Moral: you can work out and buff up till your biceps are bigger than your head, but you'll still look like a ****ing ponce.

RedXIV wrote: »
    yes and no. My dad gave me a fair few whacks as a kid but nothing i wouldn't have deserved. I haven't seen a kid smacked in years though. I'd 100% believe it did me good. I learned fast too and I have nothing but respect for the man.

As for bullies, i had my encounters with them too. And i overcame them. and it was character building and it did make me stronger. It may not work like that for everyone but it did for me.

Either that or the brain damage has started to kick in :confused:

A smack when a kid is bold is a lot different to a beating with a belt or whatever as it was 'back in the old days' By smack I dont mean hard enough to leave marks either. Thats a seperate issue.

You were one of the lucky few then that you managed it so well, many kids are resorting to suicide and self harm. Bullies have also advanced since I was a kid. Theres much more open to them for them to abuse.

Its easy to paint a rosy picture, anyone can do it if you block out the negatives.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

...and the other remain half will still be defending, while the gormless twats are crapping in their pants crying for their mammies, daddies and playstations, hiding under their beds!

but if they call up everyone then surely they call up the gormless twats too?

do you really want to give a whole bunch of gormless twats automatic weapons?

I really dont think exposing teenagers to the brutality of war is going to be useful. I think making the youth useful would probably help toughen them up. Instead most seem to fart around outside supermarkets and shops all day.

A couple of years i the arms toughens up teens physically and mentally.
    Doing hard grunt work, living in tough harsh conditions, having to rise early every day with basic food, with training on how to defend yourself and your territory, training in introductory areas (that later can become specific) is not a bad thing either.
    It helps you find a place in the world, gives you time to mentally prepare yourself for the real world, discover your limits and even better capabilities and stretches your horizons knowing all this.

Our teens have become a ipod, playstation frakin' wusses. They worry about have they got the latest ringtone or what the latest name in sneakers/runners is right to be seen wearing!

Conscription for two years, yep, I'm all for it. Maybe then we wouldn't be such wusses and take the crap we are dealt out on our streets so much. Maybe we would not crap ourselves so much knowing that if we find ourselves in a awkward situation, well at least we stand a better chance of walking away alive 'cos I can handle myself even at a basic level.
    Yep' basic conscription - I'm all for it. If it was available, I'd sign my four kids up for it right now.

...do you really want to give a whole bunch of gormless twats automatic weapons?
    Well the british did and allowed themselves eventually to call themselves America!
    - What will be new!

yes and no. My dad gave me a fair few whacks as a kid but nothing i wouldn't have deserved.
    Not the same as being beaten to a pulp and having bones broken. On corporal punishment threads, yes there is always serious idiocy from a very small minority about how even giving your kid a light tip will do irreparable damage... different matter though.

I know you consider your experiences of tackling bullies to be character-building but that doesn't mean it's all right for it to be happening.

A couple of years i the arms toughens up teens physically and mentally.
    Doing hard grunt work, living in tough harsh conditions, having to rise early every day with basic food, with training on how to defend yourself and your territory, training in introductory areas (that later can become specific) is not a bad thing either.
    It helps you find a place in the world, gives you time to mentally prepare yourself for the real world, discover your limits and even better capabilities and stretches your horizons knowing all this.

Our teens have become a ipod, playstation frakin' wusses. They worry about have they got the latest ringtone or what the latest name in sneakers/runners is right to be seen wearing!

Conscription for two years, yep, I'm all for it. Maybe then we wouldn't be such wusses and take the crap we are dealt out on our streets so much. Maybe we would not crap ourselves so much knowing that if we find ourselves in a arkward situations, well at least we stand a better chance of walking away alive 'cos I can handle myself evan at a basic level.
    Yep' basic conscription - I'm all for it. If it was available, I'd sign my four kids up for it right now.

Then why not send them to work on a farm for a while if you want them doing grunt work, its less dangerous but also teaches them self worth.

This generation is ipod lovers with all the newest fashions because of mummy and daddy, not the kids. Its up to parents to teach them to live without, for many parents this is too hard since they dont want their kids to suffer. Parents also teach their kids how to live in the everyday world. Sending them off to the army to do a parents job is lazy and its shrinking away from the responsibility of being a parent.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

You wouldn't have to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭karen3212

:

Some bullies build character. Some bullies make kids lives a misery.

We just need to work out which bullies build character and we're set.:confused:

I know you consider your experiences of tackling bullies to be character-building but that doesn't mean it's all right for it to be happening.

maybe not, but we're never going to reach a stage where it's completely rid of. its just not in human nature. And even if you step away from Eastwood's idea of being in a fight, everyone needs to learn how to stand up for themselves. and some people take an awful long time to learn that lesson. Bullying was the catalyst in my case. I understand that it's not a great example for alot of people but it still taught a fundamental lesson that everyone needs to learn, i.e. I'm just as valid as you are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Exactly. I hate when people say to bully victims that they should ''suck it up'' and ''this will make you stronger''. It's just deflecting the blame and responsibility from the bully to the victim. I've lost count of the times I've heard people say ''well, if he wasn't so weak he wouldn't get picked on- it's his own fault."

Ridiculous.

javaboy wrote: »
    You wouldn't have to.

Jeeze doh! - I wouldn't wait for them to be conscripted, I'd stick them in myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

everyone needs to learn how to stand up for themselves. and some people take an awful long time to learn that lesson.

Agree with that. Took me ****ing years. I remember a problem i was having where a bunch of 15 year olds were giving me hassle on a bus, one of them swung a kick at me. It was a good few years ago, I was probably only 17 myself/ I didn't do anything and walked on. The thing that was going through my head at that point was, "you can kick his head off no problem, and probably his mates as well but whats going to happen when he runs home crying to mammy and she gets the guards involved because some big bad boy hit her son?" The law protects the little ***** and all they do is grow up to be bigger *****, so I support Biggins to an extent on the military training. Make it fair though like they do in Poland, if you leave school and aren't going to college or haven't got a job then get your arse to the military for 2 years.

Sending them off to the army to do a parents job is lazy and its shrinking away from the responsibility of being a parent.

Cobblers.
    When they reach seventeen at the very least mammy and daddy has to let go of their friggin' hands for gods sake! By that stage of joining a conscription army, they will or should have learned all they can expect from their parents that they are going to ingest.
    Parents will never stop being parents but your doing them no favours wrapping them up in cotton wool till they are married or move out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Acacia wrote: »
    Exactly. I hate when people say to bully victims that they should ''suck it up'' and ''this will make you stronger''. It's just deflecting the blame and responsibility from the bully to the victim. I've lost count of the times I've heard people say ''well, if he wasn't so weak he wouldn't get picked on- it's his own fault."

Ridiculous.

In a way i agree and i disagree.

At this point in my life i firmly believe there is a way to beat every bully, regardless of their strength, their friends, their family, their position. No one is untouchable, everyone has a weakness.

The important issue is finding the best way to fight your own fight that makes you happy.

Sometimes people reach an inner peace and they can honestly walk away and not let it bother them. Some will stand and fight there and then, others will turn their bad experience into a positive thing within their own life.

I used to talk the stand and fight route, now i am trying out the second one.

It can take time to find the right way to deal with these situations.

Why are people likening owning a piece of technology to wussiness? How does it make this generation any more wussy to have mobiles, net access and ipods? Is it more manly to use a telegraph and a walkman?