A racist Royal?..... No way!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

he is supposed to be liberating thoese ragheads isn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Only in the last year or two have I really woken up to the fact that alot of the media are a shower of *****rs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Only in the last year or two have I really woken up to the fact that alot of the media are a shower of *****rs.

Yep. So say we all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I don't like the term Paki, especially since a pretty disturbed 5 year old that I teach (from the inner city flats) told me that he goes to *the Paki shop* with his teenaged uncle.. :eek:

I told my boyfriend and he said Paki is an ok term and not racist. Surely just shortened, like callling an Australian an Aussie.

Is "Aussie" a racist term??

On topic: Old news, friends messing about, no big deal. Prince Philip has been racist for years. Harry is the only royal I like, he's nyom and that Nazi thing WAS funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

If a loylist f**k called me a Paddy, I'd want to kill the f**ker. If a mate called me a paddy, I'd call them Polish (non-polish eastern europeans hate being called polish), and ask does he want another beer :D Contect is the rule of the game.

It's like the n word. A black man can call his friend a n****r, but if his black enemy called him a n****r, he may be offended by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

the_syco wrote: »
    If a loylist f**k called me a Paddy, I'd want to kill the f**ker.

Why would his opinion or comment matter? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Tbh, I am offended, but because he called him little. This is degrading to Dwarfs, but where's their headline?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

Mairt wrote: »
    I'd have never thought of "Paki" as being a racist term, kinda like calling us "Irish" - no?.

Why? Do you use it?

Paki is a racist term, it's used by racists to insult Pakistanis. The fact it shares some letters with the words Pakistan is irrelevant. Niger and Nigeria share some letters with the "N-word".

Pretty much the way I seen it. Depends on the way the person uses it. If they say it normally then I don't see the problem, if they say it with aggression and contempt then it's a different story.

Would you call somebody a "nig*er" joking with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    Why would his opinion or comment matter? :confused:

Because if a Loyalist said it they would be implying the person is inferior as they're a Paddy. I think the_syco hit the nail on the head with that post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

chanianaus wrote: »
    AZAD Kashmir ?????? Is this Indian kashmir one or PAKI kashmir ?

Its the Pakistani one.

Also, as pointed out "Paki" is a racist term. Why you choose to use it in this instance is puzzling.

Anyway, the guy apologized, so it really should be dropped. Still the Prince was pretty dumb saying what he said. The guy should have enough common sense to know that in his position, this stuff will bite him in the ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

wes wrote: »
    Its the Pakistani one.

Also, as pointed out "Paki" is a racist term. Why you choose to use it in this instance is puzzling.

Hey wes, interested to know if you think Harry was being racist? and do you think most people of South Asian descent would be offended if they knew the context it was said in?

I think they'd be offended if one of the British royal family was calling someone a term used by racists to denigrate them, no matter what the context.

You don't have to be any colour to be offended by racism. The fact you think you do is the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

I think it was a bunch of lads taking the piss. I don't think he is racist. Now, he is a bit of an idiot, he should know better considering he is a prince and stuff like this is tabloid gold. Still the term is racist and he would know that, so I really have no idea why he would say it. He should have known better.

I reckon the younger generation would get it in context. Also, even if they didn't they probably wouldn't care.

The older generation who would have been called "Paki" in the streets, wouldn't see the difference. They will be offended.

Of course I could be wrong on this and people may very well be offended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭sukikettle

Harry was in Afghanistan and he didn't go there to cut ribbons or collect flowers. He's in a war, in a desert, looking over his shoulder, Shame on the News of the World.Most of those reporters including Sky news who are as newsworthy as a 'pick me up' magazine use derogatory terms if not overtly they're certainly thinking what Harry was saying.It's hypocritical and who cares in times such as these with world wars and a global economic depression. Cop on media

sukikettle wrote: »
    Harry was in Afghanistan and he didn't go there to cut ribbons or collect flowers. He's in a war, in a desert, looking over his shoulder, Shame on the News of the World.Most of those reporters including Sky news who are as newsworthy as a 'pick me up' magazine use derogatory terms if not overtly they're certainly thinking what Harry was saying.It's hypocritical and who cares in times such as these with world wars and a global economic depression. Cop on media

I agree, His Majesty Prince Harry should be free from such nuisances as having the media reporting on his casually racist jokes, especially seeing as he's helping kill foreigners in Afghanistan.

He wasn't engaged in friendly fire and he was saying no more than his comrades.It was obvious he was comfortable enough to say it indicating other culprits. He was wrong but let's get our priorities straight and sarcasm too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭HarryPalmer

WTF are the Irish doing commenting on some Brit parasite? It is the /English/ royal family, and that has /nothing/ to do with Ireland. Some cop-on, lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,772 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

How could anyone not know it's a racist term? Anyway Harry is just an idiot, like his father and grandfather (Prince 'foot-in-mouth' Philip).

Considering his father was the butler what has Prince Philip got to do with it??

I like Harry. sue me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'll start the action on Monday, when I am sober. You like a Brit royal? Take a shower and say Our Father three times. Skanky.

I'm sure Harry will royally pardon you for that Harry Charmer.

I'm an Irishman, I couldn't care less about what he does and does not. Now, excuce me please, I'm looking for some files... ;)

They must be your ex files otherwise you'd be in bed ;)

Cheeky one, aren't you? :D

HRH Suki of Kettle accepts graciously the extra title of Cheeky from her servant Harry

That's my girl. Looks good on you. ;)

So how staunchly Irish are you Harry. I'm a highly regarded nutter in here and not one to be seen fraternising with. I also carry the dubious title of headbanger but no one has labelled me Irish til you Harry

So how staunchly Irish are you Harry.
    Very staunchly. Folks moved to England in the late seventies, and I was put in hospital several time because I had an Irish accent - back in the days when Kerrygold was renamed so that the Brits would buy it. Some ****er stole the accent, though, and the filth were no use at all. :)
    I'm a highly regarded nutter in here and not one to be seen fraternising with.
    I like you already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I am not racist,but I find it difficult to see how "Paki" is a racist slur compared to other racist terms that I wont mention on here.

Other racist terms usually genralize about a etnic group.You could be called worst things imo.Just my opinion though....