Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A racist Royal?..... No way!!!

• 10-01-2009 10:37pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭

'arry's at it again!

http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/UK-News/Prince-Harry-Racism-Row-Prince-Filmed-Making-Racist-Insults-News-Of-The-World-Says/Article/200901215200951?lpos=UK_News_Carousel_Region_0&lid=ARTICLE_15200951_Prince_Harry_Racism_Row%3A_Prince_Filmed_Making_Racist_Insults%2C_News_Of_The_World_Says
    Prince Harry has been embroiled in a fresh race row after a video showing him using racist insults was obtained by The News Of The World.

The newspaper reports that the tape was made by the third in line to the throne during his Army training.

It says the prince is heard calling one Asian trainee "our little Paki friend".
    The newspaper reported that the videotape was shot by the prince as he was about to embark on training as a combat helicopter pilot in an airport for their flight to Cyprus.

Panning around the floor, over his bored or sleeping colleagues, he says: "This is luxury. And here is our first example of possibly how to admin yourself (meaning take care of yourself and your kit) in the terminal awaiting the RAF.

It sweeps over his colleagues, with Harry commenting "Now that is bad admin, bad admin" before it tracks over an Asian cadet yards away.
    "Anybody else around here?" he asks. "Ah, our little Paki friend."

In a separate incident, the 24-year-old is heard calling another officer cadet who is jokingly wearing a veil on his head a "f***ing raghead".

Referring to the use of the word "Paki", a statement from Clarence House said: "Prince Harry fully understands how offensive this term can be - and is extremely sorry for any offence his words might cause.

"However, on this occaision three years ago, Prince Harry used the term without any malice and as a nickname about a highly popular member of his platoon. "There is no question that Prince Harry was in any way seeking to insult his friend." It added that he was using the term "raghead" to mean "Taliban" or "Iraqi insurgent".

Inayat Bungawala, of the Muslim Council of Great Britain, told Sky News that the remarks were "very, very disappointing". "Many Muslims will be very disappointed that someone like that has used this kind of language and he really neeeds to come out with a clear statement distancing himself from this."

The video is on Sky News now, no audio as yet, they're apparently reviewing it to make sure it's safe to air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

He is an infantry officer and now he is training to be a pilot? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Ah well...

Sure he's not as bad as Henry VII.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

It doesn't make him racist. We've all said a few things like that in our lives.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Mark200 wrote: »
    It doesn't make him racist. We've all said a few things like that in our lives.
    We have? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

This is such a non story! (or appears so at face value)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'd have never thought of "Paki" as being a racist term, kinda like calling us "Irish" - no?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

I'm getting to like this guy even more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

Mairt wrote: »
    I'd have never thought of "Paki" as being a racist term, kinda like calling us "Irish" - no?.

*Runs off crying back to Pakistan*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

The only thing good about the royal men were the wimmin they married.

Hope Harry marries a nut job, we could use the light relief.

Next time you're in London give it a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Trust me its racist. Its racist due to the common usage of the world. I am of Asian descent (both parents from Azad Kashmir) and I jokingly used the word around some of my family members and it was one hell of a **** storm. I would advise not using it.

Also, people from Pakistan, are referred to as Pakistani's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

More like calling us Paddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

A Scot is short for someone from Scotland (first four letters)
    A Paki is short for someone from Pakistan (first four letters)

If one of those groups immediately takes offense, they only have themselves to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

New of the World in 'attempt to shift papers' shocker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Poor lad has a lot to live up to if he wants to be as good as his grandfather was/is.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

mikemac wrote: »

If one of those groups immediately takes offense, they only have themselves to blame.

Rubbish. It offensive, as racists use it (Paki) as a derogatory term for Asians. This is why it is considered racist.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Pretty much the way I seen it. Depends on the way the person uses it. If they say it normally then I don't see the problem, if they say it with aggression and contempt then it's a different story.

Don't talk such utter shíte!

The fact that 'paki' is the first four letters of Pakistan is irrelevant. It's meant as a racist slur and that's why it's offensive to some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Paki is a racist term in the UK at least.
    Try calling an Indian a Paki.......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

It doesnt say whether the guy is from Pakistan or not though. I'd find it offensive if I wasn't but if I was I can't see the harm.
    For example on holiday if someone calls me Paddy I'm grand with it but if they call me a brit I'd be equally annoyed.
    Wish the article would give the details.

galwayrush wrote: »
    Paki is a racist term in the UK at least.
    Try calling an Indian a Paki.......:D

It would be insulting to call an Indian Paki (though hardly racist) but what if you call a Pakistani Paki?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Sherifu wrote: »
    News of the World in 'attempt to shift papers' shocker!

What's your source on this?

Some rag like the News of the World no doubt. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Don't talk such utter shíte!

The fact that 'paki' is the first four letters of Pakistan is irrelevant. It's meant as a racist slur and that's why it's offensive to some people.

Some people use the term paddy and brit in the same way but I wouldn't consider those racist slurs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

He's a royal, they are all twats, they get away with such things, and they bore us to death.
    Its not right that they still exist but sadly thats the world for us!
    I'm happy in the knowledge that I know they are full of their own crap.
    I leave them be in hope that sooner or later they will just die off.

Its a non-story, moving on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,270 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

But if the Pakistani gentleman in question was one of his army mates then no offense would probably have been taken. Sure the Pakistani lad could just have easily insulted him back, no need for people to get so excited.

Yet another sh!tstorm in a teacup tbh.

No different to my mates and me ripping the piss about being from different parts of the country.

ShooterSF wrote: »
    I'd find it offensive if I wasn't but if I was I can't see the harm.
    For example on holiday if someone calls me Paddy I'm grand with it but if they call me a brit I'd be equally annoyed.

That's just plain idiotic.

You'd be offended if someone called you a Paki or a Brit? Do you have something against Pakistani's or British people that would cause you to feel offended?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OK-Cancel-Apply

How could anyone not know it's a racist term? Anyway Harry is just an idiot, like his father and grandfather (Prince 'foot-in-mouth' Philip).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Paki is usually meant as an offensive term, but he probably knows the bloke, and they're having a laugh.

Anyway, Harry is from a ridiculed and persecuted minority himself, being ginger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭sassa

Surely you mean a racist soldier??....No way cos thats what really shocked me :rolleyes:
    I love that they said on sky news he's been forced to apologise means fcuk all its like when your mam makes you apologise for hitting your little sister:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

"it added that he was using the term "raghead" to mean "Taliban" or "Iraqi insurgent".

lol oh well it must be okay so. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I seem to remember that nice man George W using the term in a press conference in Pakistan. :eek: It was rampant face-palms and a lot of coughing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ah God, where would the paddies be if you didn't have something to tut tut about the German royal family.

You'd be offended if someone called you a Paki or a Brit? Do you have something against Pakistani's or British people that would cause you to feel offended?

No I'd be offended by being called something I'm not. I'd be offended at people making an assumption. How someone can get offended when called paki and be from Pakistan yet an Irish man been called a brit or heck scot yank anything is idiotic to take offence is fantastically loopy logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Seriously, if he's a mate then it's no problem.

I'm reading the Johnson Beharry autobiography at the moment. He was a private in the BA, and from Grenada. His bessie mate in his unit had the nickname 'paki'.

You see, lads don't get themselves worked up over these things, especially when it comes to ripping the piss out of each other for whatever reason.

Women (and tabloids) just don't understand.

Some people use the term paddy and brit in the same way but I wouldn't consider those racist slurs.
    Neither would I, it's all rather subjective I guess. Just like some Pakistani's may not be offended by being call a Paki.

However, spending a large portion of my childhood living in the UK, amongst large communities of Pakistani people, I can safely say that using the term Paki is widely looked upon as being racist.

Face it though, calling someone 'paki' doesn't always make you a racist.

ShooterSF wrote: »
    No I'd be offended by being called something I'm not. I'd be offended at people making an assumption. How someone can get offended when called paki and be from Pakistan yet an Irish man been called a brit or heck scot yank anything is idiotic to take offence is fantastically loopy logic.
    You're a snail.

Did I offend you?

What if I called a black person a nig*er? After all it's merely a term denoting a black person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

According to the news of the word website he called an Asian Squaddie "our little paki friend"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

sunnyjim wrote: »
    Face it though, calling someone 'paki' doesn't always make you a racist.

Ask these people, they'll put you straight :eek:

http://www.pakembassydublin.com/

See that's the thing there. A person from Pakistan is called a Pakistani. Not a Paki.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Kick Harry out of Conservative Future!!! How dare he!

You're a snail.

Did I offend you?

What if I called a black person a nig*er? After all it's merely a term denoting a black person.

Maybe if he was from Niger :p

What, so if my mate was of paksitani origin, and our thing was to call each other paddy and paki, I'd be racist?

Seeing as Paddy can be used as a derogatory term and all... Oh wait. It's only racist if it's used against a minority, non-christian or non-western race :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

The whole concept of royalty is racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,328 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Prince Harry is a ginger, surely he has got enough abuse in his life that he should be allowed to call a Paki a Paki

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,328 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Mark200 wrote: »
    See that's the thing there. A person from Pakistan is called a Pakistani. Not a Paki.
    I call them Pakis (and so does Harry)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

He's a prince.He can do what he wants.

These guys go through a lot together.

They'll stand guard together for hours on end. They all eat together, sleep in the same dorms. They'll suffer under the same officer, be put through crap, and probably come under fire together. When overseas, they probably spend their waking days in each others company.

These guys know each other. It's not in their personal interests to get at each other. If the guy was offended by being called paki, you can be sure people wouldn't go calling him it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Absolutley disgusting behaviour.

The video is here:

http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/news/123700/Watch-Prince-Harrys-racist-outbursts-on-video.html

It happened THREE YEARS AGO.

He was friends with the guy he was referring to. Obviously no complaints were ever made by this guy, or we would have heard about it well before now.