dressing up as Madeleine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

abi2007 wrote: »
    Exactly.. so lets drop the discussion about my sig and stick to the thread

Well no because you're missing my point. You think it's sick to joke about a child that was abducted but not about giving away a baby because you don't have the money. I don't find it offensive but many people might. I'm trying to show you how silly it is to call a joke sick because of your own personal taste. A joke is just a joke regardless of the subject matter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

toiletduck wrote: »
    Meh, I make the girlfriend do that in bed all the time. RAAR.

I'm a Jon Benet ramsey sort of person myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

This thread - - - - -> Best thread ever. Carry on people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    Well no because you're missing my point. You think it's sick to joke about a child that was abducted but not about giving away a baby because you don't have the money. I don't find it offensive but many people might. I'm trying to show you how silly it is to call a joke sick because of your own personal taste. A joke is just a joke regardless of the subject matter

OMG I get you... give it a rest!

right so it's ok to joke about it

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

You make your girlfriend dress up as a little girl?

Dude, that's sick!! Like, OMG.

In fairness, they're both about the same age anyways :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Is this the first thing the muppets get offended by in 2009? Bravo, lets see some petitions and and angry letters, let the fcukwittery commence.

right so it's ok to joke about it

/thread

If you think it is then thats up to you.. I personally think its not.

Right so i'm off to report your sig for offending me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Wagon wrote: »
    I don't find it sick at all. Thousands of kids go missing every day and we never hear about those incidents. But I got absolutely sick to death of the constant updates on Madeline investigations and the media circus that went with it. Taking the piss out of it is normal for something that gets that much coverage.

Well, it's not exactly Maddie's fault that the media went over-board on her story , now, is it? How does that excuse the guy for dressing up as her?

And the Hitler thing doesn't really stand up either. If people dress up as him to take the piss, well, he deserves it really, being a murdering dictator and all. However, Maddie is an innocent kid. Big difference.

I don't find what the guy did funny, nor do I think it's 'The Worst Thing Evar!'. However, I do think it's perfectly understandable that her parents are upset by somebody taking the mickey out of the fact that their child has been missing for two years.

Come on, I know this is AH, and we like to act cavalier, but can you honestly say if that was your child you wouldn't be pissed off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

You make your girlfriend dress up as a little girl?

Dude, that's sick!! Like, OMG.
    You think thats bad?
    My gf makes me dress up as Maddie:confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Is that not the most ****ed up thing you have ever heard?

A sheltered life you must live. The thread that had the story about some guy who had sex with 400 cows and then killed them is more ****ed up

Right so i'm off to report your sig for offending me

OOOOHHH:p

Acacia wrote: »
    Well, it's not exactly Maddie's fault that the media went over-board on her story , now, is it? How does that excuse the guy for dressing up as her?

And the Hitler thing doesn't really stand up either. If people dress up as him to take the piss, well, he deserves it really, being a murdering dictator and all. However, Maddie is an innocent kid. Big difference.
    no, there is not a big difference. now we have the rules:

it has to not have actually happened
    it's ok if it happened as long as it happened 22.3/22.5/50 to 100 years ago
    it's ok as long as the person being joked about deserves it

you can come up with a million "reasons" why one thing is offensive and another thing isn't but those reasons only exist in your head. you found it offensive so now you're trying to think up differences to rationalise why your particular taste is the "right" one.

Come on, I know this is AH, and we like to act cavalier, but can you honestly say if that was your child you wouldn't be pissed off?

of course i'd be pissed off but i'd also acknowledge that it's a joke

edit: actually no i wouldn't be pissed off. i'd realise that it's human nature to make jokes about these things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

What this guy did was wrong. The only reason it was wrong is because it put the McCanns back in the papers. I was just getting used to headlines that didn't involve Maddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

Ass Face wrote: »
    What this guy did was wrong. The only reason it was wrong is because it put the McCanns back in the papers. I was just getting used to headlines that didn't involve Maddy.

In fairness, the only reason why this is getting any media coverage is because the guy is in the Conservative party. I doubt the McCanns follow up on everyne dressing up as Madeleine, I can just imagine them scouring Facebook photos.

Personally, I think its rip roaring funny, and people shouldnt take it so seriously. Also, if nothing else, it will bring the plight of the McCanns back into the public eye. Nothing like a bit of free publicity.

no, there is not a big difference. now we have the rules:

it has to not have actually happened
    it's ok if it happened as long as it happened 22.3/22.5/50 to 100 years ago
    it's ok as long as the person being joked about deserves it

you can come up with a million "reasons" why one thing is offensive and another thing isn't but those reasons only exist in your head. you found it offensive so now you're trying to think up differences to rationalise why your particular taste is the "right" one.

And you're trying to rationalize why your view that it's okay is the 'right' one.

The reasons only exist in my head and that's why it's offensive? Surely the reasons it's not offensive only exist in your head too? :pac:

I'm not saying my taste is 'right'- but I think it's fairly obvious that a guy who killed 6 million people is a little less defensible (and therefore more deserving to get the piss taken out of him), than an innocent four year old?

Can we agree on that?

of course i'd be pissed off but i'd also acknowledge that it's a joke

edit: actually no i wouldn't be pissed off. i'd realise that it's human nature to make jokes about these things

Is it human nature? I don't know about that- some people find it funny , some don't. The old 'human nature' excuse doesn't wash with me, tbh.

So you wouldn't be a teeny bit annoyed that somebody thought it would be hilarious to take the piss out of the fact that your child is missing, and possibly dead?

You'd want to have the patience and understanding of a saint, and frankly, I'd commend anyone who would be that tolerant of such a thing.

However, clearly, the McCann's don't feel that way and I don't blame them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Me man dressing up as her was hilarious. How come nobody found the people dressing up as suicide bombers sick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

So you wouldn't be a teeny bit annoyed that somebody thought it would be hilarious to take the piss out of the fact that your child is missing, and possibly dead?

Applying empathy to every joke like situation is going to be fun alright. Zzzzz.

Has it not crossed your mind that people read so much doom and gloom bull**** everyday that they like to make fun of everything and anything. Its a damn sight better than reading the news and acting like it was you who lost the people who died that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

I love people that get easily offended, take those Russell Brand phone calls for example, 99% of people that complained probably didn't even hear the radio show, they just hear about it and decide to jump on the bandwagon and complain. They really must be angry little people. I think some of them walk around every day with a face that looks like a fanny trying to find things to complain about. I wonder do these gimps meet other complainers and tell them of all the things they complain about, maybe they try to see who can make the most complaints about people having fun. I don't complain about anything really, apart from complainers, these cnuts really p1ss me off.

Now back on topic, are there any new Maddie jokes out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I wouldn't give my daughter away.. it's true that i can't really afford her but if i did give her away.. to a good home that can it would be for her good. anyway this is not about my sig!

So some people choose to find good homes for their kids and others choose to "disappear" theirs. Whats the problem?

At the end of the day , a funny joke is a funny joke, whether its said the day after an event or 20 years later(assumign it hasnt been done to death by that stage)

, im talking about people making fun of a missing child that could still be alive

Theres optimism and theres belief to the point of lunacy. You sir may already be across the line. :)

And you're trying to rationalize why your view that it's okay is the 'right' one.
    no i'm not. my view is that freedom of speech is absolute and people shouldn't be allowed give arbitrary rationalisations as to why people shouldn't say or do certain things that offend them
    The reasons only exist in my head and that's why it's offensive? Surely the reasons it's not offensive only exist in your head too? :pac:
    whether it's offensive or not doesn't come into my view, I'm simply saying he should be allowed do whatever he wants
    I'm not saying my taste is 'right'- but I think it's fairly obvious that a guy who killed 6 million people is a little less defensible (and therefore more deserving to get the piss taken out of him), than an innocent four year old?

Can we agree on that?
    no, you see this is the fundamental difference. you say "it's fairly obvious". but that's what everyone says when they're trying to say that someone shouldn't do something that offends them. it's fairly obvious to you but not necessarily to your neighbour. what's "fairly obvious" changes by location and time. in some places a joke about a certain prophet gets you executed for example. when you start to curtail what people are allowed to say based on what certain people say is "fairly obvious" you start down a bad road imo
    Is it human nature? I don't know about that- some people find it funny , some don't. The old 'human nature' excuse doesn't wash with me, tbh.

You'd want to have the patience and understanding of a saint, and frankly, I'd commend anyone who would be that tolerant of such a thing.

every time a celebrity dies or something tragic happens, my inbox fills up with jokes about it, e.g. santa didn't come to the tsunami victims, he just gave them a wave. i got that joke within hours of the tsunami. people use humour to cope with tragic events. they always have and always will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I'm ENTITLED to

I fcuking hate when people say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

seanybiker wrote: »
    She is still alive. well she was the last time I checked on her anyways.

Me man dressing up as her was hilarious. How come nobody found the people dressing up as suicide bombers sick?
    It's because of the media campaign which some people were fooled by - I was once in a shop and a tabloid had a Maddie is dead headline on it - an old bag of a woman (gravedodger age - must have seen a lot in her life) started crying to her friend when she saw this, I hit her a smack then swept the legs from under her and stood over her telling her to cop the fcuk on for herself

I have always maintained the same position on Madeline McCann, it must be devestating for the parents, (although I still think they did it), and I would hope that she was found alive but more importantly unharmed, but even so there are so many things equally terrible happening in the world as I type this that people here couldnt give a fcuk about cos they don't make the front page of the English newspapers and Sky News almost every day for 18 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

At least this thread was a break from the only other 2 topics currently on boards, "lets cannonise all members of Hamas" and "why I hate FF".

It's because of the media campaign which some people were fooled by - I was once in a shop and a tabloid had a Maddie is dead headline on it - an old bag of a woman (gravedodger age - must have seen a lot in her life) started crying to her friend when she saw this, I hit her a smack then swept the legs from under her and stood over her telling her to cop the fcuk on for herself
    Ha ha ha class. Bitch went down lol. Ya would love to do that sometimes though

no i'm not. my view is that freedom of speech is absolute and people shouldn't be allowed give arbitrary rationalisations as to why people shouldn't say or do certain things that offend them

Eh, is it me or does something not quite add up there?

You're saying it's grand to make possibly offensive jokes, but saying that they're offensive is 'not allowed'?

You ( or anyone else) can make offensive jokes all you want. Just don't act surprised when people call you on them.

If you accept that it's your right to make the joke, the you should accept the responsibility that comes with it i.e. expect people to get p1ssed off.
    whether it's offensive or not doesn't come into my view, I'm simply saying he should be allowed do whatever he wants

Well, is it offensive or not? Correct me if I'm wrong, but you've given the impression that it's a-okay. I'm rather confused by your statement that ' whether it's offensive or not doesn't come into my view'. Surely that's the whole crux of the matter?

In any case,yeah, he can do what he wants. It's a free country. Is he being marched off to a gulag for what he did? No. He's just facing the back lash that comes with making such a joke. It comes back to the whole 'rights and responsibility' thing.

no, you see this is the fundamental difference. you say "it's fairly obvious". but that's what everyone says when they're trying to say that someone shouldn't do something that offends them. it's fairly obvious to you but not necessarily to your neighbour. what's "fairly obvious" changes by location and time. in some places a joke about a certain prophet gets you executed for example. when you start to curtail what people are allowed to say based on what certain people say is "fairly obvious" you start down a bad road imo

Let's make one thing clear- I never once said he shouldn't be allowed to do what he did. What I'm defending is the McCanns right to be offended.

You've nicely avoided my question there by going down the route of semantics.

I'll re-phrase the question then- who is more defensible, a murdering dictator or a four-year-old child? And who, therefore, is more deserving to be made fun of?

every time a celebrity dies or something tragic happens, my inbox fills up with jokes about it, e.g. santa didn't come to the tsunami victims, he just gave them a wave. i got that joke within hours of the tsunami. people use humour to cope with tragic events. they always have and always will

Why would the people who send these messages need to 'cope with' a tragic event such as the tsunami? I'm guessing that it doesn't actually affect them- considering they still have a computer to send jokes like that.

I think it would be more accurate to say people will use cheap humor to get attention and for shock value. They always have and always will. If people find things like that funny, then fair enough. All I'm saying is people have a right to say they're offended by it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

He could've not turned up and said he'd gone as Madeline.

Mr. Frost wrote: »
    He could've not turned up and said he'd gone as Madeline.
    ha ha ha excellent. Post of the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

I'll re-phrase the question then- who is more defensible, a murdering dictator or a four-year-old child? And who, therefore, is more deserving to be made fun of?

In short, neither, and both. Do you think comedians (or even general everyday folk like ourselves) apply ANY sort of logic or methodology to what they consider humorous? Cop on!

If that was the case, sure we'd all get a friggin script going into the Laughter Lounge or wherever!