Banned Words

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 artie ziff

Guesstimate. I hate people who use this word. Also the phrase "touch base with".

And saying " i could tell you but then i'd have to kill you". that's not funny on any level.
    djruane wrote: »
    Actually the word recession should be banned!

ehm ok there biffo? Apparantly the word recession came about in the U.S.A. because of a reluctance to use the word depression.... So what word/phrase could we use in its place? Happy jobless time?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Macbeth

Also, Jehovah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

"Pretentious" 9 times out of 10 the thing being described is not in fact pretentious but the person claiming that it is is a f*cking idiot pissed off that they aren't being treated as such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Macbeth

Oh please tell me you didn't go there ?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

my most hated has to be " going forward " :mad:

how about i go forward with my fist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭HouseHippo

"I'm not racist, but...."
    ah the cornerstone of irish phrase-ology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

Originally posted by Boom_Bap
    Pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis

Used way too much for my liking.

Hmm. I concur going forward. I want to touch base with the people who use it and get a guesstimate for the whopping amount of savagness and copper fasten it.

I know I made no sense but I dont care....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

RATM wrote: »
    Every year on Janurary 1st the Lake Superior State Uni issues a list of 'banned words or phrases' meant to eternally banish phrases that, through their overuse or misuse, get on people's wick.

This years list comprised of 15 words and phrases:

http://www.lssu.edu/banished/current.php

Obviously some of these are very much U.S. related but what words/phrases are used in Irish society would you like ot see the back of?

For me the phrase 'Moving forward' or 'Going forward', which seems to be used ubiquitously by politicians and business leaders in all manner of interviews should be laid to the grave. It's already been done to death over the last 18 months.

Of course another is the footballer's mantra 'At the end of the day...blah,blah,blah'

And another I have noticed in the face of redundancies is 'The government is setting up a multi-agency task force'. Lovely stuff, the unemployed will be well pleased that a multi-agency task force is in operation.

Ubiquitous.
    It's fcuking everywhere...

Actually one phrase in political circles i could never get my head around a couple of years ago was "sexed up documents".
    -re. the UK military intellence prior to the Iraq war.

I mean what the fcuk was all that about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Deadzone

"Uber"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Used way too much for my liking.

Hmm. I concur going forward. I want to touch base with the people who use it and get a guesstimate for the whopping amount of savagness and copper fasten it.

I know I made no sense but I dont care....

That's very cromulent of you ;)

"Credit Crunch" grinds my gears.
    Actually, "grinds my gears" sets my teeth on edge.
    "Sets my teeth..."
    Ah fcuk it.

KTRIC wrote: »

Nice post.
    Really embiggened you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Imagine Arnie saying "I'll be back" in a bogger accent.

"eye-ll be back with de tractor ye langer"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Man flu

Mary Harney.

End of.

(Yeah, that last one, too.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Christ this could take a while....lets see.
    Session On!
    Tuuunnnnneeessss
    Savage
    Wicked
    Random
    Jager-bomb (bastardin things:mad:)
    Story?
    Whats the craic? (since I never know how to answer it.Its just a feckin stupid way of askin how are you)

Yes I know Im a picky bastard:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Story?
    Whats the craic? (since I never know how to answer it.Its just a feckin stupid way of askin how are you)

Actually, I'll agree with those ones. Living in Cork 10 years and I still have trouble knowing what answer will make any sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,535 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

The use of the word grow in any business related context.

'Grow the business' 'Grow a strategy' what's wrong with the words expand and develop?????!!!!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

The answer to "What's the craic?" Is always "Not too bad now bai, not too bad, yourself?", even if you've just found out your whole family has been killed and your wife's been shagging the milkman, it's the only response.

I hate the way papers call every fella that's playing away, a "love/sex rat". I think the 'random' thing is phasing itself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

RATM wrote: »
    Don't you love it when tabloids such as the Metro and Herald AM always refer to anybody who works in the sciences ( or anybody who may be more intelligent than their average reader ) as 'boffins':pac:

No, I just chuckle at it.

Wouldn't mind seeing the back of "Economic Climate". What the hell does that mean?

Strong gusts through the Dow Jones today....The FTSE 100 rising....slowly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Turncoat

'Joe Duffy' - banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭HouseHippo

Loike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Patriotic duty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

scope
    as in "i'll scope that out" meaning "i'll find out about that"
    horrendous manager-speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

I believe the blame there is only on yourself for actually reading tabloids
    djruane wrote: »
    Actually the word recession should be banned!

people saying actually all the time should be raped with blade wire

Macbeth

Also, Jehovah

that macbeth thing only applies if you're acting in the play
    KTRIC wrote: »
    tech77 wrote: »
    Nice post.
    Really embiggened you.

heh heh nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

stovelid wrote: »
    Savage. Especially when said with a bogger accent.

Jaysus did ya see dat point it was ****in savage like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I want the words "offended" and "insulted" banned

longshanks wrote: »
    Actually people saying actually all the time should actually be raped with acutal blade wire

Actually I agree with you actually...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

DanGerMus wrote: »
    Actually I agree with you actually...

ho ho ha you made a funny. well done

longshanks wrote: »
    ho ho ha you made a funny. well done

2251502_795a1bc7e5.jpg?v=0

My machine tells me you don't think i've done well at all.
    Me no funny but but me not dat stupid. :(