Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Zenith Classic Rock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Trick of the Tail

Total Broadcast Consultants are the eng contractors and the owners of Zenith!

The AM will cover approx 30 miles radius, tx location is a couple of miles west of Waterford City.

A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,591 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

Who will be imvolved with the station when it starts broadcasting on the radio and what is their previous radio experience?

Some ex-ABC Radio of the 80s presenters, plus a few other experienced local jocks, apparently.

The schedule will be made public nearer the time.

A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If I dont hear the "ABC - the Power FM" jingle I'll be most dissapointed. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

Stumbled across this in the car the other day and was so pleasantly surprised that I actually made a mental note to google it and see what it was all about. That's how I stumbled across this thread.

Really cool station, for once I am happy to drive with the radio on without the urge to be constantly flicking over. Fair play to ye lads, I hope to hear lots of this on the airwaves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

fabbydabby wrote: »
    Stumbled across this in the car the other day and was so pleasantly surprised that I actually made a mental note to google it and see what it was all about. That's how I stumbled across this thread.

Really cool station, for once I am happy to drive with the radio on without the urge to be constantly flicking over. Fair play to ye lads, I hope to hear lots of this on the airwaves.

how do you stumble across an internet radio station in the car

Get with it mate! :) Zenith has a temporary licence and is on 1584 AM Stereo and 103.8 FM Stereo this week then weekends till the 22nd Feb.

A.

Yeah man, get with it!

Heard the announcer say "A pop band called U2" today :D

Quite right too (wrong for U2 to be on the playlist mind ;) ).

mike65 wrote: »
    Quite right too (wrong for U2 to be on the playlist mind ;) ).

It's not!

The announcer was referring to Television's Tom Verlaine, who's guitar style The Edge copied.

A.

Ah thats okay, Marquee Moon ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

alinton wrote: »
    Get with it mate! :) Zenith has a temporary licence and is on 1584 AM Stereo and 103.8 FM Stereo this week then weekends till the 22nd Feb.

A.

in my neck of the woods , 103.8 gets you spin 1038

It only applies in the Waterford area to about 30 miles radius at most I'd say.

I have it crystal clear in North Co. Kilkenny. Today I heard Steve Miller, Dire Straits and The Who... quality stuff.

I only ever listen to radio when I am in my car... why does this have to go off the airwaves? That sucks! Can't they just leave it there?

i assume it's a licencing issue, but FFS we are deprived in the south east and don't want or need any more Beat FM clones.

Yes it would be lovely if the BCI would ring up and say 'oh to hell with it, you can keep it on, its not doing any harm,' but sadly common sense doesn't prevail in this situation.

The south east has been overlooked with the new 'grown-up' station 4fm, - we're the only part of the country with a city it won't cover.

There obviously is an audience for an oldies/classic rock music-based station here, but there isn't actually a licence available for one in the south-east.

The BCI could make one available, and Zenith will be lodging an expression of interest with the BCI, but don't hold your breath.

Unfortunately the currently-popular structure for radio stations doesn't lend itself to the small-scale, music-based, low-operating-cost model.

So- I'm afraid, after this weekend, Zenith will be on Fri, Sat and Suns only, and then finishing on the 22nd February.

A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭djsupreme

alinton wrote: »
    Unfortunately the currently-popular structure for radio stations doesn't lend itself to the small-scale, music-based, low-operating-cost model.

I think therein lies the problem. It would be unfair for the BCI to licence a music-based low-operating cost model whilst expecting the current licencees to continue with the ridiculous 20% talk rule. Surely it would put the low-cost model at a distinct advantage?

I do agree that each region in the country could handle a number of musically targeted stations like Zenith (perhaps a dance, country, classic rock service etc) - BUT only if the rules were relaxed for the bigger stations. The reality is that bigger stations like Beat, Red, Spin SW etc could sound more like the original ABC Hot FM if some of the terms of contract were relaxed a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭patrickc

I can pick it up in my oh's car in Carlow and surrounds, but not mine for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

OK, we have a BCI issued temporary licence for Zenith, it will be on 103.8 FM, with 2 kW e.r.p from a high site in Co. Wexford, and 1584 AM with 1 kW from near Waterford City.

Broadcast Dates are as follows:
    28th - 31st December 2008
    1st - 5th Jan 2009,
    9th - 11th Jan 2009
    16th - 18th Jan 2009
    23rd - 25th Jan 2009
    30th Jan - 1st Feb 2009
    6th - 8th Feb 2009
    13th - 15th Feb 2009
    20th - 22nd Feb 2009

Reception reports appreciated and QSL'd if required!

Picking you up loud and clear in the Kilkenny city area on 103.8 fm while driving around without any noticable dips in reception,great music ,dont have to touch the cd player now,just the volume, to crank up those classic rock tunes.

Great isn't it! My sort of music all day.

A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Nice. Better than Beat102-103, the SouthEast's radio station that doesn't appeal to anyone over the age of about 16

Guys if you'd like to hear Zenith Classic Rock in AM Stereo, here's a webstream:

http://89.238.146.146:7280/listen.pls

This is an AAC+ stream, so you'll need Winamp or VLC to play it.

Its off air reception of Zenith on 1584kHz, about 3 miles from the tx. AM stereo via a Sony tuner.

There is some local interference, but that adds to the authenticity I think!

A.

Should mix in a "weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee-ooooooooooooooooo" loop just for that extra late night vibe (with the faint sound of an east European newreader)

yea, and some faint morse code and perhaps the Woodpecker every now and again?

...and maybe a german voice fading up saying "Achtung, eins, funf, zeiben, dwei.." etc?

Oh those were the days!

A.

Can the Zenith guys list off the regular presnters? Ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 murray sparkle

Here are the regular presenters

Andy Ellis - (Sat or Sun 10am -1pm)
    Dave Hunt (Sat or Sun 10am - 1pm - alternates with above)
    Andrew Looby - Friday Night 7 - 10pm
    Richie O'Shea - Saturday 1 - 4pm
    Clive Derek Saturday 4 - 7pm
    Brian Cleary Saturday 7 - 10pm
    Harry Harrison Saturday 10pm - 2am
    Tony Murrell Sundays 3 - 5pm or 4-6pm can't remember right now
    Les Vickers Sunday 9 - 12Midnight

Others there so far include

Bob Lawrence
    Marty Miller
    Daragh Corcoran
    Paul Dower - on right now

Its Zenith Classic Rock's last weekend of broadcasting.

A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

1584 travelling very well today. Possibly the best I've heard it. Les hasn't changed a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

So is it definitely gone after this weekend? :(

Yes, afraid so, licence expires midnight Sunday.

A.

Still online though. Not quite the same of course, maybe live broadcasting online?