Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Zenith Classic Rock

• 15-05-2008 12:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭

Seek out on Reciva itunes or shoutcast. This is a REAL classic rock station, it makes The Rock sound like a NOW compilation. Tune in. Much respect to the promoters who I know pop on here from time to time !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Boardsbud

http://89.238.146.140:7860

copied from the Waterford City board. They kept ABC to themselves, lets share this one.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭TRSJ

stream doesn't work on my mac. Opens in itunes player and won't play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Boardsbud

Thats strange, i'm listening on itunes on a mac at the moment.

Boarsbud,

just tried it in the office on a pc and again itunes opens but it won't play. Strange as I often listen to stations on itunes. Other stations are playing fine on my itunes, just checked!

TRSJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Trick of the Tail

Try this link then:

http://89.238.146.146:7480

Thats a 64k MP3 stream, whereas the other one is 32k AACplus.

More things play MP3, although AACplus is better quality for lower bitrate.

Reception reports appreciated!

A.

that link works thanks and listening on my mac/itunes.

I listened also on my wi-fi radio. Reciva have it listed under "Ireland" and under the genre "classic rock" i see but its up named as Zenith Album Rock just to let you know.

Good tunes but the audio is not great to be honest. Most stations over 64k (especially 128k+) sound great on my roberts radio but this is needs to be tweaked yet I guess if its only on test. For comparison listen to tmf radio (holland), magic radio (france) or ipartyradio (usa) all with crystal clear streams.

TRSJ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Spotted that - the Album Rock stream on my Logik radio would'nt connect either but would with Classic Rock :odd:

Also get rid of the timing pips on the hour. Anyone else hate "beep beep beeeeeep" on thier recordings? ;)

Mike.

On a WiFi radio you should be listening to the MP3 stream, called "Zenith Classic Rock" (even though its the same content, its just to differentiate between the 32k AACplus and the MP3 streams).

Reciva-based WiFi radios don't decode AACplus correctly, so the audio doesn't sound good, but on the MP3 stream it sounds great.

If you listen to the 32k AACplus stream on a PC with Winamp, you'll hear AACplus like its supposed to be heard.

Again, reports are welcome!

A.

TRSJ wrote: »
    that link works thanks and listening on my mac/itunes.

I listened also on my wi-fi radio. Reciva have it listed under "Ireland" and under the genre "classic rock" i see but its up named as Zenith Album Rock just to let you know.

Good tunes but the audio is not great to be honest. Most stations over 64k (especially 128k+) sound great on my roberts radio but this is needs to be tweaked yet I guess if its only on test. For comparison listen to tmf radio (holland), magic radio (france) or ipartyradio (usa) all with crystal clear streams.

TRSJ

Alinton,

yeah it's a much better sound now from winamp through my pc but I would usually listen to stations through my wi fi radios at home or in the office than on a pc.

Great name for the station by the way.

TRSJ

Thanks! Try the Zenith Classic Rock stream on your WiFi radio then, thats what I listen to it on at home, sounds great!

Rgds

A.

Zenith Classic Rock now has a blog, at http://zenithclassicrock.blogspot.com

And a link to it from http://www.totalbroadcast.net/zenith

Comments appreciated!

A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Its Dave

Oh My God, I just heard Vanilla Queen by Golden Earring, gotta be one of the most amazing tracks ever recorded, right up there with Inna Gadda Da Vida by Iron Butterfly!

I havn't heard that in years.

Proper Classic Rock!

Fantastic, guys, keep it up!

Dave.

Lots of new tracks added to the Zenith playlist this week, check it out!

And there's the possibility this REAL Classic Rock station might be on REAL radio soon too!

A.

www.zenithclassicrock.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

One person's idea of classic rock may be another's idea of Chinese water torture, but I would say that The Rock - particularly during the daytime - seems to suffer from a fear of playing anything that they think might be too "obscure". Some of the stuff they play is far too mainstream and overexposed.

It threatens to become more like listening to The Greatest Top Gear Classic Rock Drive Time Anthems in the World Ever.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

alinton,

That rock station will be only in the Dublerlin area :(

Mike

I'm not talking about Nova 100 or The Rock!

A.

++++++ intrigue! ++++++ :)

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Heathen

mike65 wrote: »
    ++++++ intrigue! ++++++ :)

Mike

Ditto.....

Care to elaborate Andy ? :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭More Music

Is it a plane....

No, it's a temporary license coming down Waterford way.

Well nothing definite, but it would be nice to hear Zenith on AM and FM across the South-East!

A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭peterobrien100

Well I had to join up and post after Reading this thread an earlier review
    compared the Rock 949 as a Now compilation against the Zenith playlist,
    while somebody else also mentioned that everybodys taste is different.

I enjoyed listening to the Zenith tonight but Andrew Gold, Grandaddy,
    Flash In The Pan and James Taylor - Classic Rock to me no but maybe to
    somebody else yes.

While the Rock 949 may be a bit commercial during the day I still heard
    Ted Nugent, Queensryche and Blackfoot during the day last Friday, it is
    the night time when it shines. Last Friday and Saturday Night was brillant I did not hear Sunday but where would you get Triumph, Uncle Tupelo, Aerosmith, Metallica, Tom Petty, Dave Gilmour, Paul Kosoff, Nazareth and
    lots more and these were album tracks on the airwaves not the greatest hits.

I am not connected to the station in any way but give it a fair listen and long may Zenith Radio last as well, any station that spreads the word
    has got to be admired and respected.

As Richie and Ronnie once sang "Long Live Rock And Roll".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

Agreed. The Rock definitely thinks outside the box more at night.
    To be honest, I'm not sure what I'm more surprised by: Zenith playing Grandaddy, or The Rock playing Uncle Tupelo. Cynics would say both belong more on Phantom.
    Either way, it's back to my original point that listeners are going to have different views. While one person might be prompted to text a station and praise them for playing something, someone else might be driven demented by having to endure the same track.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

Well if in a hours listen I can catch a few tunes from 1966-1986 period then I'm happy.

Emotional Rescue on right now so thats one down.

Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭mang

intrigued myself...

Well speaking for Zenith - its not a conventional Classic rock format, if indeed there is one. All are different. Some would play The Little River Band, some wouldn't.

Zenith has a few tongue-in-cheek deciders for playing some tracks normally not considered Classic Rock, one is " does the artist or song have some rock cred? ".

That Grandaddy track does, because its a skit on Alan Parsons, who does have CR cred (for a number of reasons, incl. Steve Harley being a vocalist). But I agree perhaps it shouldn't be played this early before Christmas!

Flash and the Pan? Produced (and largely staffed by) AC/DC. Nuff said!

James Taylor? I think he is a rock artist. Not heavy rock, certainly. And Caroline, Nova, Sunshine, ABC, South Coast etc played him, which means he satisfies the "means something to people of a certain age" criteria.

If Ireland had a radio market in which every genre was catered for, then I'd agree that a station format should be rigid and defined. But when we don't, I think is good to hear a station that plays tracks you never normally hear, as long as they have even a tenuous connection to 'Classic Rock'!

A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭peterobrien100

Alinton

I agree with you totally as regards boxes and demographics for calling
    different music Classic Rock or whatever music should not have boxes or
    genres but unfortunately it does. Zenith uses the term Classic Rock and
    all I was making comparison to what the first poster said about the Rock 949 looking like a Now compilation.

I thought that was unfair and was only making some artist comments
    and on that issue.

Grandaddy - played beacuse they did a skit on Alan Parsons "Give Me A Break" even if Steve Harley did sing with them by the way I thought the
    best vocal performance by APP was Gary Brooker from Procol Harum on
    Limelight from Sterotomy.

Flash In The Pan - Produced by Ac/Dc No formed by Vanda & Young
    the Ac/Dc producers (and family members) what next Shania Twain
    because Mutt Lange produced her and was also a family member
    (for a short while) or Neil Diamond because Rick Rubin produced
    Death Magnetic and all the trash stuff back in the 80's.

Fair Enough if you think James Taylor is a rock artist, I think he is
    very good but would class him as easy listening, he has really gone MOR
    on the new Covers album, best thing he ever did IMO was Her Town Too
    with JD Souther. Now JD was a man played a lot on Nova and Sunshine back in the days.

As we said earlier its all a matter of taste.

Keep up the good work.

A happy listener to The Rock 949 and Zenith Classic Rock

Ah I know, and agree with all your points, I was being light-hearted about Grandaddy etc!

I'm sure the Zenith people would love to hear from you on their blog.

Rgds

Andy.

Oh, Yep Gary Brooker was great on Limelight, Steve Harley was excellent on everything he did for APP, especially on The Voice from I Robot.

Zenith Classic Rock now available for Windows Media Player, at:

mms://89.238.146.148/zenith

or from browser:

http://89.238.146.148/zenith

reception reports appreciated! :)

A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Hissing Sideban

OK, we have a BCI issued temporary licence for Zenith, it will be on 103.8 FM, with 2 kW e.r.p from a high site in Co. Wexford, and 1584 AM with 1 kW from near Waterford City.

Broadcast Dates are as follows:
    28th - 31st December 2008
    1st - 5th Jan 2009,
    9th - 11th Jan 2009
    16th - 18th Jan 2009
    23rd - 25th Jan 2009
    30th Jan - 1st Feb 2009
    6th - 8th Feb 2009
    13th - 15th Feb 2009
    20th - 22nd Feb 2009

Reception reports appreciated and QSL'd if required!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭More Music

Who are the engineering contractors? :D

What's the approx. coverage prediction for 1584 AM?

Total Broadcast Consultants are the eng contractors and the owners of Zenith!

The AM will cover approx 30 miles radius, tx location is a couple of miles west of Waterford City.

A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,359 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

Who will be imvolved with the station when it starts broadcasting on the radio and what is their previous radio experience?

Some ex-ABC Radio of the 80s presenters, plus a few other experienced local jocks, apparently.

The schedule will be made public nearer the time.

A.

If I dont hear the "ABC - the Power FM" jingle I'll be most dissapointed. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

Stumbled across this in the car the other day and was so pleasantly surprised that I actually made a mental note to google it and see what it was all about. That's how I stumbled across this thread.

Really cool station, for once I am happy to drive with the radio on without the urge to be constantly flicking over. Fair play to ye lads, I hope to hear lots of this on the airwaves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

fabbydabby wrote: »
    Stumbled across this in the car the other day and was so pleasantly surprised that I actually made a mental note to google it and see what it was all about. That's how I stumbled across this thread.

Really cool station, for once I am happy to drive with the radio on without the urge to be constantly flicking over. Fair play to ye lads, I hope to hear lots of this on the airwaves.

how do you stumble across an internet radio station in the car

Get with it mate! :) Zenith has a temporary licence and is on 1584 AM Stereo and 103.8 FM Stereo this week then weekends till the 22nd Feb.

A.

Yeah man, get with it!

Heard the announcer say "A pop band called U2" today :D

Quite right too (wrong for U2 to be on the playlist mind ;) ).

mike65 wrote: »
    Quite right too (wrong for U2 to be on the playlist mind ;) ).

It's not!

The announcer was referring to Television's Tom Verlaine, who's guitar style The Edge copied.

A.

Ah thats okay, Marquee Moon ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

alinton wrote: »
    Get with it mate! :) Zenith has a temporary licence and is on 1584 AM Stereo and 103.8 FM Stereo this week then weekends till the 22nd Feb.

A.

in my neck of the woods , 103.8 gets you spin 1038

It only applies in the Waterford area to about 30 miles radius at most I'd say.

I have it crystal clear in North Co. Kilkenny. Today I heard Steve Miller, Dire Straits and The Who... quality stuff.

I only ever listen to radio when I am in my car... why does this have to go off the airwaves? That sucks! Can't they just leave it there?

i assume it's a licencing issue, but FFS we are deprived in the south east and don't want or need any more Beat FM clones.

Yes it would be lovely if the BCI would ring up and say 'oh to hell with it, you can keep it on, its not doing any harm,' but sadly common sense doesn't prevail in this situation.

The south east has been overlooked with the new 'grown-up' station 4fm, - we're the only part of the country with a city it won't cover.

There obviously is an audience for an oldies/classic rock music-based station here, but there isn't actually a licence available for one in the south-east.

The BCI could make one available, and Zenith will be lodging an expression of interest with the BCI, but don't hold your breath.

Unfortunately the currently-popular structure for radio stations doesn't lend itself to the small-scale, music-based, low-operating-cost model.

So- I'm afraid, after this weekend, Zenith will be on Fri, Sat and Suns only, and then finishing on the 22nd February.

A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭djsupreme

alinton wrote: »
    Unfortunately the currently-popular structure for radio stations doesn't lend itself to the small-scale, music-based, low-operating-cost model.

I think therein lies the problem. It would be unfair for the BCI to licence a music-based low-operating cost model whilst expecting the current licencees to continue with the ridiculous 20% talk rule. Surely it would put the low-cost model at a distinct advantage?

I do agree that each region in the country could handle a number of musically targeted stations like Zenith (perhaps a dance, country, classic rock service etc) - BUT only if the rules were relaxed for the bigger stations. The reality is that bigger stations like Beat, Red, Spin SW etc could sound more like the original ABC Hot FM if some of the terms of contract were relaxed a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

I can pick it up in my oh's car in Carlow and surrounds, but not mine for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

OK, we have a BCI issued temporary licence for Zenith, it will be on 103.8 FM, with 2 kW e.r.p from a high site in Co. Wexford, and 1584 AM with 1 kW from near Waterford City.

Broadcast Dates are as follows:
    28th - 31st December 2008
    1st - 5th Jan 2009,
    9th - 11th Jan 2009
    16th - 18th Jan 2009
    23rd - 25th Jan 2009
    30th Jan - 1st Feb 2009
    6th - 8th Feb 2009
    13th - 15th Feb 2009
    20th - 22nd Feb 2009

Reception reports appreciated and QSL'd if required!

Picking you up loud and clear in the Kilkenny city area on 103.8 fm while driving around without any noticable dips in reception,great music ,dont have to touch the cd player now,just the volume, to crank up those classic rock tunes.

Great isn't it! My sort of music all day.

A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Nice. Better than Beat102-103, the SouthEast's radio station that doesn't appeal to anyone over the age of about 16