Have you ever NEARLY been killed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I was hoping it was going to be a story about you being on a toilet that was rigged with a bomb like out of lethal weapon.

Disappointed now :(

Sorry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Nolanger wrote: »
    Walked through Rathmines late one night back in the '90s. Turned the corner and there was a group of guys standing in silence looking at me. One of them had a machine gun poking out of their coat. Kept my mouth shut and kept walking - not sure what they were up to but I was the only person in the area.

Was it Hallowe'en night by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭rua327

Locked on the streets of Brugge recently and almost wobbled into the path of a car easily doing 60km/hr. Some mysterious force wobbled me away in time. I think it was sobriety kicking in.
    Oh and the last 5 minutes of every Munster HEC game, mini heart attack central.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

SantryRed wrote: »
    Wow. You're an idiot:eek:

Banned. It may seem harsh, but you really don't seem to be able to play nice with others. Go take a timeout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

A good few Boardsies have been shot "at" it seems!!!

Now let me see, A bullet passed within 3 feet of me on a Rifle range once.

I was nearly hung while playing hangman with my cousin as a Kid, I had a noose around my neck, she kicked my chair and ran.

I was in a speedboat going 75 miles an hour(or there abouts) and They pulled a sharp turn so I came within 6 inches of falling from the boat, couldn't breath for 3 mins properly and still have a wierd pain in my back!!!

There are more I just can't remember them right now!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭Wurly

Yeah, at birth.

The umblical cord wrapped my neck and my shoulder got caught on my, er, way out.;)

I was delivered by caesarian section and apart from a bruised ickle shoulder, all was well.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,075 ✭✭✭gman2k

When I was a toddler we went to a visiting circus, I managed to wander away from the folks to go over to talk to a bear..... the ring announcer nearly shat himself apparently, and was only pulled away at the last second. Can't remember anything about it myself though!

Used to do a lot of cycling back in my teens, myself and a few mates were racing back home along some back roads when I broke away from them, I came to a T junction (which I thought I had the right of way - but didn't) so didn't bother looking. Only noticed the car at the same time I was shooting across the road, and missed the bumper by inches (the lads say it was less than that). The driver of the car got such a shock I overtook her on the bike a couple of hundred yards down the road.

In college at end of year a couple of us were sitting outside up against a building enjoying the sun. For no reason I got up and moved 10 yards down - other person came along also. 2 minutes later someone 2 floors up managed to throw a sweeping brush through a window and all the glass rained down on where we had just been sitting - we would have been shredded...

Was working on a building site one summer reroofing an old building when someone dropped a 2ft x 1ft stone slate on my head. Good thing I was wearing a hard hat, cos even with the hat I was almost knocked out. (These old stone slates are nothing like what you see these days)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Shinjuku wrote: »
    A few years ago some scumbag fired a stone straight at me with a galabandy (culchie word for catapult/black widow). It whizzed past my head, pretty close to my eye. It was going so fast I could hear a little "zzzip". If it hit my eye, I definitely would have been killed. It would have gone through my eye, through the eye socket and then lodged in my brain and caused general havoc. Tis a wierd thought. Kinda makes me nervous every time I remember it.

Anyone else nearly been killed? Or savagely injured at least?
    Nearly killed? Really? :rolleyes:

That did happen my dad though, when he was about 10. Some kid catapulted a stone at him which blinded his right eye :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Philush

yeah i was walking home there one evening in the "summer", youn fella came flying around a corner too fast a missed me by about a foot,he skidded across the road and hit the side of a jeep which then came my way,also missing me by a foot,haunted was all that can be said, was left with a crashed car either side and me standing in the middle,thankfully i was able to keep control of my bodily functions!haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

When I was about 8 I climbed a huge tree covered in ivy, must've been at least the height of a two storey house.
    The ivy gave way and I managed to somehow half slide / half fall to the ground. No real injuries, so maybe that doesn't count !

When I was 17 I was belting down Killiney Hill / Vico Road full speed on a bike. It was like a Raleigh Grifter.
    I remember padding the brakes to slow down before a serious hairpin turn, but don't remember much else. Must've went over the handlebars, serious blow to the forehead plus lots of bad cuts and scrapes.

I was in shock and in hindsight am always amazed at the bodies "auto-pilot". I picked myself up and cycled 2 miles home to Ballybrack, through the village and vaguely remember people looking at me funny. I would've been completely covered in blood ). My Granny immediately fainted as I got to the driveway. I remember putting my finger through a cut in my chin and curious to feel the bone without any pain. ( still in shock ) When they dealt with me in Loughlinstown hospital, they patched me up and the nurse asked, out of curiousity, what happened.
    I said I didn't know, and suddenly doctors were called in and started checking me for skull fractures.

Still have the scars of that argument with gravity nearly 20 years on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Closest was stepping out off a path slightly to avoid a post and people blocking the way - hadn't checked the traffic (stupidly) and got brushed by a dublin bus barrelling down - was luckily slightly stooping as the mirror would have caught me otherwise I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Nearly killed no, but almost died yes. Had bacterial meningitis when I was 12, was in a coma for days & was given last rites... Some doc tried a new type of antibiotic on me and there ya go, win some lose some! I reckon this is why I'm so risk averse in adult life...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 amber_apple

Shinjuku wrote: »
    A few years ago some scumbag fired a stone straight at me with a galabandy (culchie word for catapult/black widow). It whizzed past my head, pretty close to my eye. It was going so fast I could hear a little "zzzip". If it hit my eye, I definitely would have been killed. It would have gone through my eye, through the eye socket and then lodged in my brain and caused general havoc. Tis a wierd thought. Kinda makes me nervous every time I remember it.

Anyone else nearly been killed? Or savagely injured at least?

Yes I once fell into a vat of cotton wool and was slightly winded...which is about as near to death as you came

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I love how, for clarification purposes, the OP emphasizes the word ''NEARLY'' in the thread title.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Had a few actually!

Run over by a car, doctor said if it had been a smaller car I would have died but due to its size I got away with a cracked knee cap.

Ended up under a truck a couple of eyars back while cycling, very james bond off me I rolled out between the tyres (which was an extremely stupid thing to do as the tyres could have mushed me) Though all i was thinking was the car behind was going to run me over!

A couple of Ryanair landings :D

Only one flying incident, coming back from NZ a couple of years back and the plane felt like it dropped a couple of thousand feet in about a second, people ended up on the roof, all the luggage bins opened, puke and s**t everwhere, Thought that was the end of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Damo 236

Got ran over by a Motorbike wen i was bout 3
    Nearly broke my back wen i was doing a sports day in school, i know that wouldnt of killed me but ah well :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Had a few actually!

Run over by a car, doctor said if it had been a smaller car I would have died but due to its size I got away with a cracked knee cap.

Ended up under a truck a couple of eyars back while cycling, very james bond off me I rolled out between the tyres (which was an extremely stupid thing to do as the tyres could have mushed me) Though all i was thinking was the car behind was going to run me over!

A couple of Ryanair landings :D

Only one flying incident, coming back from NZ a couple of years back and the plane felt like it dropped a couple of thousand feet in about a second, people ended up on the roof, all the luggage bins opened, puke and s**t everwhere, Thought that was the end of me.

Thats why I fcuking hate planes. That would frighten the crap out of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

2 Near death car crashes.

Shot at once, accidently (I think).
    Threatened with shotgun once.

Near fatal brain haemorrgage.

2 very bad mountain bike accidents.

Had to be recussitated once after getting too
    drunk and vomiting in my sleep and choking on it.

Gettin pissed in New York in September 2001
    instead of bothering to go round and see the sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

passenger in a car crash at 16, car hit two walls. Walked away from that one thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭marco murphy

I'm dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭Valmont

Was walking along some cliffs when I was twelve with a friend in Waterford, it was only about a 30 foot drop but the bottom was completely jagged. Anyway I lost my footing and just about fell over the edge and my friend grabbed my jumper and pulled me back, didn't realise how close it was til' a week later!

A Black Widow to the eyeball has an incredibly good chance of killing someone and an even better chance of inflicting a serious head injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Freewheeling Ed

yup... the word "nearly" , pretty much ruins most stories... but

was driving down a road, and an oncoming car was so close to me our wing mirrors bashed each other. So was I "nearly" killed ?? As far as I was concerned I was about 3 inchs from a head on collision.

To say I was really pissed off, doesnt "nearly" describe how angry I got with the guy, after he said " I was doing 30, I was on my side of the road". I screamed at him for a full 5 minutes.

Also , "nearly" washed off a flooded road. There was a lot of water on the road, so could not see where the road dipped, and suddenly went from about 3 inchs to 2 feet. And water washed up over the windscreen. If the car went a few feet further, I reckon , it would have caught the current/flow of the river, where it had flooded over the road, the car which was "nearly" floating, would have been washed off the road into a flooded field. I was 13 and a friend with me was 14, with my mum with a baby in her arms, my sister 7, and my da driving. Me and my mate had to get out the window, and push the car back to a safer spot. Which was really easy , as the car was "nearly" floating..

"nearly"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Was driving home with a friend in a massive thunderstorm. She was driving and I was in the passenger seat. A giant rock fell off the back of a pick up truck in front of us and before she could get out of the way, it came crashing through the windshield. Fortunately, it went between the two of us and neither of us were hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

2 Near death car crashes.

Shot at once, accidently (I think).
    Threatened with shotgun once.

Near fatal brain haemorrgage.

2 very bad mountain bike accidents.

Had to be recussitated once after getting too
    drunk and vomiting in my sleep and choking on it.

Gettin pissed in New York in September 2001
    instead of bothering to go round and see the sites.

What sites were they??

The building site out in Queens or the one for the new Mall in White plains??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Coming down a really steep road in the mountains, There's a main road at the bottom which the trucks use, was coming around the last bend and the back break jammed into the wheel, Which caused the bike to skid out of control towards the busy road, So i steered the bike into the side of the road to crash the bike or else i would have got hit by a truck.

So the bike flips over, I flip over the bike and there's a crack in my neck, Lying there in the long grass looking up at the sky thinking 'Am i dead?', Suddenly my mate comes skidding around the corner crashing into me and my bike!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Shinjuku

Valmont wrote: »

A Black Widow to the eyeball has an incredibly good chance of killing someone and an even better chance of inflicting a serious head injury.

THANK YOU:pac:
    the word "nearly" , pretty much ruins most stories

Well I'm getting much more replies than I would if I asked "did you ever die before"!

Most of these close encounters with death seem to be on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I recently went windsurfing at an unfamiliar spot. I got a bit carried away and sailed maybe 1km out to sea. I came over a bit of swell and all of a sudden saw the face of a monster wave (I reckon at least 20ft) looming above me, breaking from an angle to my left. I nearly shat myself - if it had broken on me I would have been a goner for sure, there must have been a reef underneath, I was far from land without a bouyancy aid and my gear would have been destroyed. Luckily I looked to the right and saw the break zone about 30 feet away. The wave passed under me, I turned around and hightailed it outta there before I got swept into it.

I'm convinced that if I had picked a slightly different course, or if I failed to turn around and get out of there on time, I would be here to tell this. Luckily I just have a good story out of it :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭DenMan

When I was a small child I was with a pal (neighbour). There was a coal bunker that was covered with a huge sheet of glass. I was on top of it and started to dance on it. Low and behold I fell right through it. I needed stitches on both legs (marks I still have to today). I was told that the glass almost severed an artery that would have killed me. I was also on prescription for hay fever and had recently had an operation to remove a growth in my nose which further hampered my immune system. I was a lucky boy that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,581 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Was driving home with a friend in a massive thunderstorm. She was driving and I was in the passenger seat. A giant rock fell off the back of a pick up truck in front of us and before she could get out of the way, it came crashing through the windshield. Fortunately, it went between the two of us and neither of us were hurt.

i bet she told you she'd never let anything come between you again :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Cianos wrote: »
    Can you tell at least one of these stories? :pac:

The house that collapsed was my grandmothers home.
    She was in a nearby hospital (there after a fall), never to return home.
    I was asked to move into the old house (by my mother) so that it wouldn't get broken into, etc.
    As I was single at at the time, I had no real reason not to.
    Long story short, frozen attic pipes in the winter which cracked then leaked across the attic floor/bedroom ceiling. Flood from pipes got worse. Between weakening of the roof and the entire water weight, collapse was imminent.

I had been out on a Christmas drinking session (as you do), came home afterwards, sat down to the brought pc that was in the sitting room.
    Was only in it ten minutes when I heard a crash above me. What I now know is that the attic collapsed along with the rafters, in to the bedroom above me, such was the weight of the old heavy roof tiles as well as everything else, the weight was too much for the bedroom floor just above my head below.
    Seconds after I heard the first crash, a second crash echoed and the next thing I knew was that now two ceilings had collapsed upon down into the living room and me and the computer which was at my fingertips.
    I was lucky in three ways (according to the firemen).
    1. That I didn't get killed with the weight of the ceilings and roof upon me.
    2. That the electric supply from the pc alone didn't take me out as it shattered all around me and
    3. The grans house was 70 yards away from the firestation. From their first floor huge corner window they could first hear an almighty crash, they looked across to my grans home (they knew my gran for 40+ years) and seen the roof, etc fallen in. They also knew she was in hospital and knew I was residing in the house to mind it.
    They were over in a flash. They managed to pull myself out (the worse for wear to say the least and quite shellshocked - I can laugh now!) after 20 minutes. I was fracken frozen, bruised and a few broken bones. Otherwise I was ok and a stumbling miracle!

Trust me, you can't make this stuff up. I still have the scars to prove it!

The plane crash was in England. The front wheel failed to come down fully on a plane I was landing in so we went skidding along the runway, sparks flying, base and bits of the plane being left behind us as we made our way slowly to a halt.
    I can honestly say that I had to change my frakin' trousers when I walked away from that one. It took an hour for me to stop shaking alone!

Coming home from work in my home town, I was walking, It was night time and thus dark. Motor bike coming too fast came around a corner and slammed right into me. Sent me literally flying. Again I was lucky. I landed with broken ribcage (and arm/leg) in a field across a hedge. Months betting better, the Gardi eventually traced the driver who did a runner.

Bus crash was in Dublin. Car ran into the side of the bus. Bus tyres blew out with the impact and the bus flipped.
    We landed eventually with a bang!

I still consider myself a lucky person.