speed camera m1 southbound (dunleer)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Again, never heard of any flying cars on the M50, and if there were some kind of accident, I'm sure the thick concrete wall would offer sufficient protection. In fact you're probably safer in the central meridian of the M50 than you are walking down an average street.

There was a thread here a while back . with pics iirc of a civic that went up the crash barrier and landed a couple of hundred yard sdown the road. Not sure if he landed back on the carriageway of inside the barrier, doesnt really matter.

I also came across a newish merc that had mounted the barrier mysef and I only use the road once ever few weeks.

I never said 120kmph, I said 80kmph. Which is a perfectly safe speed to overtake at, considering the majority of drivers around me every morning and evening are traveling at that speed.

200kmph is a safe speed to overtake at awell if the road is up for it. The plain and simple fact is that the sections of M50 with road works are not suitable for anyway high speeds.
    Through a few of the junctions your driving in what used to be the hard shoulder where there is mild banking and long strips that feel like really bad rumble strips where the hatch markings used to be. Add to that th enarrow lanes with no room for error due to the crash barriers being right on the dividing lines and any idiot knows it's not safe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Stekelly wrote: »
    There was a thread here a while back . with pics iirc of a civic that went up the crash barrier and landed a couple of hundred yard sdown the road. Not sure if he landed back on the carriageway of inside the barrier, doesnt really matter.

I also came across a newish merc that had mounted the barrier mysef and I only use the road once ever few weeks.

If no one was injured (other than the drivers and other road users), then whatever barriers were there did their job.
    200kmph is a safe speed to overtake at awell if the road is up for it. The plain and simple fact is that the sections of M50 with road works are not suitable for anyway high speeds.
    Through a few of the junctions your driving in what used to be the hard shoulder where there is mild banking and long strips that feel like really bad rumble strips where the hatch markings used to be. Add to that th enarrow lanes with no room for error due to the crash barriers being right on the dividing lines and any idiot knows it's not safe.

I'm not saying everyone should drive at 80kmph, I'm saying the limit should be upped to 80kmph. People still need to be smart when driving, and yes you're right the road is a little rough at places because of the old hard shoulder. For instance as you pass the Dundrum exit it gets a little ropey, that's why I always slow down slightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If no one was injured (other than the drivers and other road users), then whatever barriers were there did their job.

I dont know if anyone way injured. It may well have just been luck that there was no workmen standing on the exact spot the car landed. Your getting ridiculous now.

No one was killed when the guy drove down Henry street a couple of years ago. so should we open it to traffic?

I'm not saying everyone should drive at 80kmph, I'm saying the limit should be upped to 80kmph. People still need to be smart when driving, and yes you're right the road is a little rough at places because of the old hard shoulder. For instance as you pass the Dundrum exit it gets a little ropey, that's why I always slow down slightly.

YOU might do that, but what about the people who dont adjust? The rules are there to keep stupid people in check much more than people who know what they are doing.

As it is, the speed limit is 60 and a lot of the traffic moves at 80-100. How will upping the limit make anything safer or better?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I dont know if anyone way injured. It may well have just been luck that there was no workmen standing on the exact spot the car landed. Your getting ridiculous now.

No one was killed when the guy drove down Henry street a couple of years ago. so should we open it to traffic?

Why isn't it open for traffic?:D
    YOU might do that, but what about the people who dont adjust? The rules are there to keep stupid people in check much more than people who know what they are doing.

As it is, the speed limit is 60 and a lot of the traffic moves at 80-100. How will upping the limit make anything safer or better?

But stupid people don't stay in check, that's why they're stupid. If everyone travels at 80-100 then how is having a 60km limit making it any safer?

If this country cared about safety on roads then they'd have working speed cameras set up anywhere with a speed limit, which is everywhere! They'd issue points to everyone who broke that limit and the fact that they have a very real possibility of losing their licence they'd stick to the limit, and if they didn't, then they'd be taken off the road. But no, we have random cameras in random places, we tell people where they are so they can slow down before hand, completely negating the point of a speed camera! On top of this we have stupid 80kmph speed limits on narrow country roads. Where's the logic I ask?

Let's just agree to disagree, you're not going to convince me that 60kmph is an acceptable limit on parts of the M50 and I'm not going to convince you of otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

ClioV6 wrote: »
    Yeah, imagine hitting them at the 120kph speed limit.

no damage at ALL would be done! :rolleyes:

What exactly is your point? You are a he-man behind the wheel in a perfect world where other drivers also drive perfectly? Cop the **** on. Speed limits are there for a reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭NADA

TO the op. I regularly fly by that camera doing about 160 - 170. Sometimes it flashes sometimes it doesn't. Have not got a fine or anything yet. And it's been about a year and a half!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    What exactly is your point? You are a he-man behind the wheel in a perfect world where other drivers also drive perfectly? Cop the **** on. Speed limits are there for a reason.

no, my point is there's little ****ing difference between 120kph and 140kph regards impact.

yeah, speed limits are there to protect the stupid. If everyone was a decent driver they'd be much much higher, unfortunately the road is full of retards who think that once they're driving at the speed limit they're driving safely..

ayeee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

no, my point is there's little ****ing difference between 120kph and 140kph regards impact.

yeah, speed limits are there to protect the stupid. If everyone was a decent driver they'd be much much higher, unfortunately the road is full of retards who think that once they're driving at the speed limit they're driving safely..

ayeee

Well, any body at 140km/h would have 1.381' times the kinetic energy of the same body travelling at 120mk/h, if I have my maths right. That's a significant increase.

Donny5 wrote: »
    Well, any body at 140km/h would have 1.381' times the kinetic energy of the same body travelling at 120mk/h, if I have my maths right. That's a significant increase.

You don't need to know any kind of maths to know that a sudden stop from 120 to 0 is going to kill you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

You don't need to know any kind of maths to know that a sudden stop from 120 to 0 is going to kill you.

I was thinking about the impact on other vehicles, more than the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Handsomecake,

I live close by and there is astrong possibillity that it does record as there are two local cameras out of commission due to losing a tug of war with some sort of vehicle, rope left dangling from one.

There are cameras in the following locations in louth,hunterstown N2 , dunleer N1, haggardstown N1, Dundalk racecourse N1, Drogheda N1.

There is also a large number of speed checks by patrols , on all roads and in all villages.

Before any ye other saints lambast me all these speed checks were recently published in the local papers by the gardai to avoid entrapment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I notice it is impossible to keep to the 60 Kmph speed limit which is imposed on a lot of the M50, as motorists tend to get pissed, flash, beep and look at you like you are doing something wrong. Anyone else get this? I normally just go with the flow of the traffic.

As for NADA, you are not funny. You are not cool, and you are not a matcho man. That is a rediculous speed to be doing and especially on that part of the road.

speed limits are there to protect the stupid. If everyone was a decent driver they'd be much much higher, unfortunately the road is full of retards who think that once they're driving at the speed limit they're driving safely..

ayeee

Unfortunately for you the speed limits are there for everyone. The roads are also full of retards who believe they can drive a car as good as a rally driver.

It is unfortunate.

Are you one of those drivers or the former? :)

I drive at the speed limit where it allows. Does this bother you somehow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭barnacle

Berty wrote: »
    People like you should be rounded up and shot!

And people like you should be round up and thought how to spell gooder.

I drive at the speed limit where it allows. Does this bother you somehow?

It doesn't no?

How on earth would you get that impression?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Toto McCann

i was on that road coming home from dundalk last night and it flashed some fella in front of me...going by that it does seem to be working alright and you should put that money aside :o
    btw,is there a speed camera going northbound on the m1 towards dundalk, I always thought they had them in the same place on either side of the road, but didnt see one on the way up?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

If in theory 80 km/h is a suitable speed limit for a road, the speed limit should be ~60 km/h just to keep too many people from going above 80 km/h. :pac:

Put it at 80 km/h and you'll have people going at 100 km/h because after all THE SPEED LIMITS ARE ALWAYS TOO LOW FOR ME WTFBBQ I R BEST DRIVAH EVAR AND I KNOW EVERYTHING!

My source? Absolutely nothing! Either way you can slow down. It's not like everyday you're trying to stop somebody from murdering your entire family so you have to drive so very ****ing fast to get there.

Just invent a teleporter if you really want to save time, it's not that ****ing hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭rugbyman

I never cease to be amazed at the number of Belligerent people who post on Boards. Actually on many posts, but here I suppose it may represent the sam sort of Belligerency thats to be seen on the roads,

Anyway, tarmac above mentions the race course Road in Dundalk. Before the M1 was completed this was the main Belfast Dublin Road. That particular part of it was a veritable highway, but it was in the 30 MPH zone (I think).

it generated the most fines in Ireland at one time and putting it there was a disgrace.

Some weeks agpo i was in the company of a middle aged senior enough Garda.

the conversation came around to the disgraceful " netting" of hundreds of steady drivers breaking speed limits at really safe locations.

the good news for all of us is ,he says that the Garda Commissioner is well aware of the fallout among responsible drivers/citizens, and their changing attitudes to Authority.

If what this fellow was saying is true ,ye should all have noticed a fall off in putting mobile cameras in" easy win "situations. I certainly notice it in my area.

There had been /are roads in my area where drivers regularly do 50 mph in a 30 zone, but the Guards nicked my 50 something year old cousin, who never broke a law in her life, for 52 mph in a 50mph dual carriageway

regards, Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,301 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Came past that Dunleer camera last night on the M1. Just before we passed it, a Civic or the like tore past us in the overtaking lane, and past the camera. We were nudging the limit so he must have been doing 150-170.

Didn't see it flash, but still saisfying. Especially if he got caught :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

rugbyman wrote: »
    There had been /are roads in my area where drivers regularly do 50 mph in a 30 zone, but the Guards nicked my 50 something year old cousin, who never broke a law in her life, for 52 mph in a 50mph dual carriageway

regards, Rugbyman
    I'm pretty sure they can't get you for 52 in a 50, because its within the margin of error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

I find it unbelievable that on the one hand we have one of the main motorways in the country with a speed limit of 60; yet I have walked on back roads in rural Ireland with speed limits of 80. How is that justified :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

swingking wrote: »
    I find it unbelievable that on the one hand we have one of the main motorways in the country with a speed limit of 60; yet I have walked on back roads in rural Ireland with speed limits of 80. How is that justified :confused:

Well you see, these things are called roadworks. Its normal speed is not 60.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

biko wrote: »
    You managed neither.
    On topic, try checking the Motors forum under Rec.

prick

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

just an update. february now and still no points in the post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

There's a ban in the post for you instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Phototoxin

what century is this? do they have to take out the roll of film every week and send it off to Boots to get developed? do they keep the negatives? maybe you could request an enlargement!

erm i think maybe digital technology is possibly utilised!

they should be able to show you two photos take a set time apart with lines on the road a set distance apart showing that you were speeding.

also road markings are a joke - coming out from drogheda there's a sign wiht 80kmph and about 3 metres after that there is a roundabout! WHEEEEEEEEEEE round the magic roundabout at 80kmph!

It wasn't that long ago that there was no speed limit in this country..

Phototoxin wrote: »

also road markings are a joke - coming out from drogheda there's a sign wiht 80kmph and about 3 metres after that there is a roundabout! WHEEEEEEEEEEE round the magic roundabout at 80kmph!

You've never driven in Milton Keynes then...
    20 years ago I lived at one end and worked at diaganaly opposite end 15 roundabouts (or there abouts) many of the roads at that time had a 70mph limit and yes it was nothing unusual for locals to go through at 70:eek:, got used to it after a while.
    Had an estate agent take around a couple of places while looking for a house to rent, the V8 was a bit of a blur that day...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Agamemnon wrote: »
    There's a ban in the post for you instead.

This.