Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

They're leaving :/

Surely you're not trying to tell me you can't get a job?

There's loads of stuff out there - there's christmas work advertised on every single shop up and down the country; there's ads in every paper from recruitment agents and what not...

I put it to you that you could get a job tomorrow if you didn't sit around in pyjamas all day drinking tae and moaning about people who had the initiative to get up off their backsides and go and make something of themselves even if they had to travel to do it.

Better check what year is on those newspapers!

If this is true, why are so many leaving!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Jesus your username is apt.

Dziękują - swoje jest przyjemny. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

strongr wrote: »
    But just speaking for teenagers in general, nearly all of my friends couldn't get one and its the same for most of the country.
    They ain't looking very hard - I pretty much guarantee that I could pop out on my lunch break and get myself a job interview in a bar, cafe, restaurant or shop somewhere nearby.
    PeterLT wrote: »
    I gona start my course in DIT next september...
    Welcome to the asylum.
    If the qualifications they have are not recognised here, then they are not worth a sh!te...
    Not necessarily true. The recognition of certain qualifications is not necessarily related to their worth - there's a lot of politics involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Surely you're not trying to tell me you can't get a job?

There's loads of stuff out there - there's christmas work advertised on every single shop up and down the country; there's ads in every paper from recruitment agents and what not...

I put it to you that you could get a job tomorrow if you didn't sit around in pyjamas all day drinking tae and moaning about people who had the initiative to get up off their backsides and go and make something of themselves even if they had to travel to do it.

You are as ignorant as the sun is bright...

I don't sit on my hole all day drinking tea in my PJ's. firstly I do not wear PJ's. If you think that agencies are the good samaritans and want to help people, well I suggest you crawl back into your hole and think how secure your cushy little public sector job is. Agencies advertise "hollow" jobs or jobs that are already taken, or let me simplify it further for your barin to manage, THEY LIE

I have no doubt in my mind that the jobs are there, but what we have here is more competition and applications for the same job. I went for an interview 2 weeks ago, there were 18 interviews for ONE position. 6% or something? Yea it's easy to get a job alright.

Goodluck to the poles... how soon are they going exactly?

djpbarry wrote: »
    They ain't looking very hard - I pretty much guarantee that I could pop out on my lunch break and get myself a job interview in a bar, cafe, restaurant or shop somewhere nearby.

LOL goodluck with that one ;)

I don't understand how so many people are just "stuck in their ways" little ignorant world some of you people live in. Wake up...

Actually I hope your job is not so secure and you need to get another one soon, that would be a right kick in the teeth for you there.

If a qualification is not recognised in a country then what is it worth? Nothing, saying that the person may still be able to do the duty, but goodluck with no FETAC etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Not necessarily true. The recognition of certain qualifications is not necessarily related to their worth - there's a lot of politics involved.

I agree. I know a few people living here who are very educated but their degree isn't recognised here. So they have to start all over again- going through college, working part-time jobs, etc., to get back into the type of work they want. I say fair play to them.

Also, just because you see a foreign person working in a service job, don't automatically assume they have bad English.

Acacia wrote: »

Also, just because you see a foreign person working in a service job, don't automatically assume they have bad English.

My statements were not based on assumptions but on experiences. Both with working with them and being served by them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭PeterLT

Welcome to the asylum.

What do you mean by saying that?

LOL goodluck with that one ;)

I don't understand how so many people are just "stuck in their ways" little ignorant world some of you people live in. Wake up...
    Scarcely a day goes by when I don't see a job vacancy advertised in a street window. Especially now in the run up to Christmas.
    Actually I hope your job is not so secure and you need to get another one soon, that would be a right kick in the teeth for you there.
    Well isn't that nice? I will actually be looking for another job soon, but I won't be looking in this country.
    If a qualification is not recognised in a country then what is it worth?
    Who decides whether the qualification is recognised or not?

PeterLT wrote: »
    What do you mean by saying that?

I work in DIT. I was welcoming you in a light-hearted manner :).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Better check what year is on those newspapers!

If this is true, why are so many leaving!

well on the basis of the article in the irish times that recipitated this very thread we're posting in we have 7.8% unemployment forecast.

"full employment" is generally taken by economists to mean unemployment between 3 - 7% - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Full_employment

i really don't think it's in any way accurate to say that there isn't work out there to be found in ireland at this moment in time, wherever in europe it is you're from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭PeterLT

Thank God, I thought something's wrong with DIT, I don't think I made a wrong choice. Thanks for welcoming

• Registered Users Posts: 14 beldub

strongr wrote: »
    Well for teenagers like myself looking for summer jobs and the like it will be good, it was near impossible to get a summer job last year. Nearly all them type of jobs were taken by the poles.

With whole respect. Read what you wrote and think what does it mean that somebody without native English and not living here permanently, having no family support is able to get summer job when you can't.

I think you don't really belive in what you wrote, you ate just looking for easy excuse...

Scarcely a day goes by when I don't see a job vacancy advertised in a street window. Especially now in the run up to Christmas.
    Well isn't that nice? I will actually be looking for another job soon, but I won't be looking in this country.
    Who decides whether the qualification is recognised or not?

Are people jsut plain stupid or something?

The amount of people going for that job is immence. Be lucky to get any reply at all. Sending out multiple CV's and following them up is not enough to get you a job anymore. It seems that most people in a secure job, or a job for that matter, seems to think that it is piss easy to get a job. Now it will be if you have the education and the experience, unfortunately I graduated in a recession giving me very little experience. Employers once went for someone with experience in full time work, now that experience must be in said sector. TImes have changed and it is not as easy as it once was, ffs, I thought that was common knowledge.

Good for you, unfortunately I do not have the comfort of travelling abroad for work.

I do not know who states if the qualification is recognised or not, but there is a body there for it. Sure if there was none I would have changed my 4 years at college for one of them online degrees which you can buy basically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭marelz2

I don't know about poles but I'm Latvian here, and i am here for two moths now and all those two moths for now i am unemployed. I hope to get a job in nearest time but it's seems impossible, i had a good job in Latvia i was working as a computer technician and IT specialist in good company, but then me and my girlfriend thought to move to Ireland and we did it... :D But i don't care i like here in Ireland anyways! I think no one should judge anyone, Europe is open now, personally i someday will go and live in Spain or Italy i think, because i like warm climate... :D Anyways in Ireland is warmer than Latvia anyways, all i need now is to get friends there and some job and life here can start! :)

Anyways i think if polish people will go back to their home land, it could be hard for them who has friends here, but that could be good for them who are really desperate for a job, but anyways that is their free choice...;)

And please don't judge me about that i am Latvian here in Ireland, many Irish people who has been in Latvia know situation there and know how cool is there to go on weekends or vacation... But people who lives there knows how hard is to live every day there...

Marelz2, Welcome to Ireland.

Thanks! :)

marelz2 wrote: »
    Thanks! :)

Don't eat the pork;)

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I don't know about poles but I'm Latvian here, and i am here for two moths now and all those two moths for now i am unemployed. I hope to get a job in nearest time but it's seems impossible, i had a good job in Latvia i was working as a computer technician and IT specialist in good company, but then me and my girlfriend thought to move to Ireland and we did it... :D But i don't care i like here in Ireland anyways! I think no one should judge anyone, Europe is open now, personally i someday will go and live in Spain or Italy i think, because i like warm climate... :DAnyways in Ireland is warmer than Latvia anyways, all i need now is to get friends there and some job and life here can start! :)

Anyways i think if polish people will go back to their home land, it could be hard for them who has friends here, but that could be good for them who are really desperate for a job, but anyways that is their free choice...;)

And please don't judge me about that i am Latvian here in Ireland, many Irish people who has been in Latvia know situation there and know how cool is there to go on weekends or vacation... But people who lives there knows how hard is to live every day there...

I see you've picked up some Hiberno-English. :)

Welcome to Ireland.
    Please don't take my job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Unaton

I don't know about poles but I'm Latvian here, and i am here for two moths now and all those two moths for now i am unemployed. I hope to get a job in nearest time but it's seems impossible, i had a good job in Latvia i was working as a computer technician and IT specialist in good company, but then me and my girlfriend thought to move to Ireland and we did it... :D But i don't care i like here in Ireland anyways! I think no one should judge anyone, Europe is open now, personally i someday will go and live in Spain or Italy i think, because i like warm climate... :D Anyways in Ireland is warmer than Latvia anyways, all i need now is to get friends there and some job and life here can start! :)

Nenokar galvu, gan jau kaut ko atradīsi :)

To the rest, don't freak out, the economy will pick up and the hot eastern european girls will be back in no time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Welcome to Ireland (Skyforger=good band, btw). A phrase you'll find useful while living here is "f/uck the begrudgers".

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

i someday will go and live in Spain or Italy i think, because i like warm climate... :D Anyways in Ireland is warmer than Latvia anyways,

You came here for the climate? you poor, poor, bastard

Bambi wrote: »
    You came here for the climate? you poor, poor, bastard
    Well when compared to Latvia, Ireland is like the Canary islands... The summers are hot though.

Nodin wrote: »
    Welcome to Ireland (Skyforger=good band, btw). A phrase you'll find useful while living here is "f/uck the begrudgers".

Whats is the begrudgers? :D

The Irish in general *ducks* :D

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Unaton wrote: »
    The Irish in general *ducks* :D
    That seems right.

Begrudgers are people who constantly complain about the percieved good fortune of others. What they fail to realise is that people who are wealthier than them usually worked hard for the money. So hard for the money.

The amount of people going for that job is immence.
    Is it? Could you quantify immense? Because I'm looking at an unemployment rate of 7.8% (which is only just above the EU average) which is lower than what it was when I was in school in the 90's and I never had any problems getting full-time work during the summer.
    Sending out multiple CV's and following them up is not enough to get you a job anymore. It seems that most people in a secure job, or a job for that matter, seems to think that it is piss easy to get a job.
    I never said it was piss easy. But if I were looking for a job and there were jobs available that I knew I could do, I'd spend a little less time bitching on the internet and a little more time thinking about what I could do to make myself more attractive to prospective employers.
    Now it will be if you have the education and the experience, unfortunately I graduated in a recession giving me very little experience.
    There were no jobs available in my field of interest when I graduated either. So I took a job temping in an agency for practically minimum wage until something better came along. It took nearly 2 years (which isn't very long in the grand scheme of things), but I got where I wanted to be eventually.
    I do not know who states if the qualification is recognised or not, but there is a body there for it.
    If you don't know why certain qualifications are not recognised then how can you know whether or not said qualifications are worthless?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Terry wrote: »
    people who are wealthier than them usually worked hard for the money. So hard for the money.
    ... so you better treat them right.

Terry wrote: »
    That seems right.

Begrudgers are people who constantly complain about the percieved good fortune of others. What they fail to realise is that people who are wealthier than them usually worked hard for the money. So hard for the money.

Is here many of them? And how can i recognize one? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

In common usage, the kind of person who whinges about things and people for no particular reason (or reason that stands to much scrutiny) other than a certain amount of spite and jealousy.