Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

X Factor 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

AlexanDRA!

Eoghan has the demographic, but he doesnt deserve it!

He has all NI where as the others only have their town/area

he's the weakest of the contestants left, and past ones that go the boot [Ruth, Rachel, Laura, Austin]

Honestly, he needs to just GTFO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Carroller

Tis a tragedy Diana is gone:(:(:(....The only unique person on the show this series and her performances last night were epic :D

Alexandra on the other hand, i hope to GOD SHE DOESNT WIN. i cant stand the way she cries after every performance and in her video diary after saying shes all nervous when she knows well shes the favourite for the competition...

Alexandra for the LOSS

Pythia wrote: »
    Eoghan just kissed Diana. Hmm.

Jelous much, Cause i am :P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Carroller wrote: »
    Tis a tragedy Diana is gone:(:(:(

Well don't go overboard in your assessment of the situation or anything!

Carroller wrote: »
    Tis a tragedy Diana is gone:(:(:(....
    Alexandra for the LOSS

So you thought Diana was great, and Alex is crap?

Again, im askin the mods to PLEASE add a negative version of "Thanks" for posts like this!

damn teeny boppers

unreggd wrote: »

Again, im askin the mods to PLEASE add a negative version of "Thanks" for posts like this!

Well Alexandra is like every other pop act we have seen before...belts out song...Wow....Win....One no.1 single....never heard from.

She is too alike leona lewis and will never be promoted as well as her as its done before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

If Alexandra wins = she joins a world of music already saturated with female volalists who are all better than her. I think she sings well, but is average sounding. Leona Lewis even has a much stronger voice than her. Not a great money-spinner.

If Eoghan wins = where exactly will he fit in in the music market? He may have one album. Or come out with an album next year. He would just repeat what happened to that Ray guy. Also, I don't think his voice is that strong.

If JLS win = Granted, they had a few dodgy weeks, as did everyone else. However, if they win, there is a ready money-making market out there for them. Boybands are on the rise again. With Take That and Boyzone currently touring (sold-out tours aswell!), JLS can easily fit in as a support act. Use this method to get more people buying their music, corner both the teeny-bopper and grown-up boyband fan markets.

If I was behind the X-Factor, I'd be hoping JLS win it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Róisín-Casey

If Alexandra wins = she joins a world of music already saturated with female volalists who are all better than her. I think she sings well, but is average sounding. Leona Lewis even has a much stronger voice than her. Not a great money-spinner.

If Eoghan wins = where exactly will he fit in in the music market? He may have one album. Or come out with an album next year. He would just repeat what happened to that Ray guy. Also, I don't think his voice is that strong.

If JLS win = Granted, they had a few dodgy weeks, as did everyone else. However, if they win, there is a ready money-making market out there for them. Boybands are on the rise again. With Take That and Boyzone currently touring (sold-out tours aswell!), JLS can easily fit in as a support act. Use this method to get more people buying their music, corner both the teeny-bopper and grown-up boyband fan markets.

If I was behind the X-Factor, I'd be hoping JLS win it.

You make a good point much as i hate to admit it. i do like JLS but i think alex is my fave. as for Eoghan i dont think just because hes adorable makes hom a deserving winner. his voice isnt strong enough xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

damn teeny boppers

Don't generalise or anything.
    Alex is dull - yeah she can sing - big whoop - but as pointed out she's no different to Whitney Heuston or Mariah Carey and yeah those singers have fans, but not as many as they used to. Diva's are a dying breed.
    Diana was edgier and appealed to a bigger demographic.
    Everyone knows X-Factor is rigged and they don't pay any heed to the votes - hence the likes of Daniel and Rachel lasting so long. The producers keep who they want and with the latest stories of Diana romping her bf in the back of his car, no wonder they wanted to get rid of her.
    Fact of the matter is - calling all Diana fans teeny boppers is ridiculous - all ages of people like her. Don't be so conceded.

If Alexandra wins = she joins a world of music already saturated with female volalists who are all better than her

Like who? She's a better singer than anyone in the charts today, only joint by Leona Lewis, but performance-wise, she'd trounce Leona any day
    [FTR im not bashing Leona, she's amazin]

and I dont get why people keep sayin she's too like Leona, she's nothin like her, their styles are completely different

And Leona was nothing new when she won, and look at her success now
    I think she sings well, but is average sounding

How can you call someone like her average?? You obviously didnt see her singing Listen last week
    Leona Lewis even has a much stronger voice than her

She doesnt. They both have a similar range, but Leona's comfort zone is in the high notes, and she still struggles at some lower stuff, where as Alexandra's comfort zone is the lower keys
    If JLS win = Granted, they had a few dodgy weeks, as did everyone else
    They had a LOT of crap weeks, and others didnt have many, if any at all
    However, if they win, there is a ready money-making market out there for them. Boybands are on the rise again With Take That and Boyzone currently touring (sold-out tours aswell!), JLS can easily fit in as a support act. Use this method to get more people buying their music, corner both the teeny-bopper and grown-up boyband fan markets.

Well the fact that you need a clever method to shove them in front of peoples faces shows how unsuccessful they'd be

And yes, Take That, Boyzone and New Kids OTB, aka the biggest boybands of all time are all back, so why bother with some randomers like JLS?

Their lack of consistency is too bad
    Alex is dull - yeah she can sing - big whoop

Why do you watch what's meant to be a singing competition, when you dont care about singing?

She's still the best all-rounder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Freshly squash

Lat night was the first programme I watched in full, to my shame. I'l say this; I think the quality isn't as high this year, theres no flat out amazing singer this. The producers seem to be aware of this too. All the songs were arranged to seemingly overpower the vocals as much as possible. On numerous occasions I had to really concentrate on the vocalist to even get an idea if they were a competent singer or not. In the past if someone was an astounding vocalist vocals were usually put front and centre for everyone to hear.
    I can't fathom why there seems to be so much bemusement from a minority of people here at why the majority of people couldn't stand Diana. I would suppose that if you couldn't stand her the main reason would be, you have fully functioning ears. Her voice was distinctive but I wouldn't confuse a distinctive voice with a good voice. She couldn't enunciate properly.Vocals was delivered in this sub par drawl and then alternately in this treacley, cloying croon. Complete with a lot of "ayyy-ayyys" and "uurrve-uurve" inflections. She justifiably got kicked out last night and I have to wonder how such an obviously **** singer made it that far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,831 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I think there were 5 or 6 people at least this year who were better than the finalists last year to be honest. Leon was fairly shiite and has achieved pretty much all he's likely to. Rhydian is an absolute chancer. These pseudo-opera singers annoy the hell out of me. Any decent opera singer worth their salt would make him look as ordinary as he is. He wouldn't hold is own. His warbling is as often as not off-key and simply weird sounding.

The reason why I liked Diana more than Alex is that Diana puts me in mind of a kind of mixture of Delores O'Riordan and Regina Spektor - something there isn't enough of around in my opinion. I'd be straight out to buy the album to be honest.

Alex on the other hand is in a market with the likes of Mariah Carey, Celine Dion and obviously the incredible Leona Lewis. I know some people will probably disagree, but to my mind Alex, while an excellent singer, is not on a par with Celine Dion or Leona especially and simply doesn't bring anything to the market that's likely to make her successful when these acts are already established.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Alex, while an excellent singer, is not on a par with Celine Dion or Leona especially and simply doesn't bring anything to the market that's likely to make her successful when these acts are already established.

She does, she's an incredible performer

Mariah and Whitney sound pants live, and that's just standin around in a pretty dress

Alexandra has been consistently great while doing top-notch performances
    Which is why IMO she'd match Leona, if not slightly beat her

Besides, we've no idea what kind of Album she'd bring out

Look at Leona's, lots of covers and only a few good, new sounding songs

I said it already, amazing voice but not original > unique but crap voice

any day

She does, she's an incredible performer

Mariah and Whitney sound pants live, and that's just standin around in a pretty dress

Alexandra has been consistently great while doing top-notch performances
    Which is why IMO she'd match Leona, if not slightly beat her

She sounding shocking doing Rihanna last night to be honest - if it's the likes of Rihanna and Beyonce she's hoping to muscle in on she hasn't a prayer, if it's Leona and Celine Deon she's outmatched as well.

Just because she dances more won't attract fans of Leona and Co, it'll be fans of Rihanna and Co that'll potentially be interested and she's not in the same league in terms of dancing and singing and performance etc.

Simply put - she has a really good voice, but not quite as good as Leona Lewis or Celine Dion.

She's not a bad performer, but wouldn't hold a candle to Rihanna or Beyonce.

any day

That's just an opinion. I don't agree that Diana has a crap voice, and I think you saying so smacks of the vitriol of a person obsessed with one act to the point where everyone else has to be shiite in comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Just to those who say Diana can't sing. I can see why you may think that, but she can sing. Without a shadow of a doubt. However it's whether or not you like the sound of her voice is where the opinion comes in.

And to be perfectly honest, as a Diana fan, she has a unique voice, everyone was saying this at the start in the auditions and boot camp. However towards the end she tried to make herself too unique. She was on a role after Man in the Mirror but after but I think Cheryl and Diana herself were trying too hard to win it. I don't think Laura-gate helped her in anyway either.

I also think that she should have gone last night as well as she experimented when she really shouldn't have. Louis was going on about how she doesn't dance. Cheryl and Simon commented that it's a singing competition and not Strictly Come Dancing. Diana took Louis' comments to heart and felt that she had do dance, when Cheryl said that she wasn't comfortable with it. It showed as well. She had absolutely no rhythm whatsoever. It was that performence that lost it for her because in my opinion because everyone had a solid second performence. Diana's second performence was her best in weeks to be honest. It was nowhere near as good as With or Without You or Man in the Mirror though. It was too late for her as well.

Eoghan's reactions don't surprise me either. Whether they're together or not you can tell that he felt that he had a special bond with Diana. They were always together if you read any of the tabloids. I don't think he deserves the slating he's been getting for the state he was in last night. The fact that it was between the two of them as well (Which was a cruel move in my opinion) didn't help Eoghan's emotions either.

Who'll win? I don't really know. Eoghan's got the demographic if reports are to go by. Alexandra has the talent and JLS are like Chico's except with some form of talent. I don't think any of them have the ability to pull off Hallelujah. It was chosen for Diana to sing blatently. However Diana wouldn't have done it well either. She did it well at boot camp. Very well at that. But you can clearly tell that her's and Cheryl's attempts to try and be too unique backfired on them and it wouldn't have sounded anywhere near as good as it did when Diana sang it at Bootcamp.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

seems to be a lot of comparring alexander to leona lewis going on here
    only similarities i see are that thier both women of colour only of course alexander is far better looking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

moe_sizlak wrote: »
    thier both women of colour

And which colour is that?:rolleyes:

She sounding shocking doing Rihanna last night to be honest
    Yeah, but she was still miles ahead of the rest, even with that!
    Also, she could have been pacin herself to really let go in her 2nd song [which she did]
    Simply put - she has a really good voice, but not quite as good as Leona Lewis or Celine Dion
    Simply put, it is as good, and she beats them on performances by a mile
    She's not a bad performer, but wouldn't hold a candle to Rihanna or Beyonce
    Rihanna sounds crap live, and she just walks around in her performances
    Beyonce is the only good performer right now
    But she sacrifices a bit of her vocals to up her dancing

Whereas Alex had to prioritize her voice, as its [meant to be] a singing competiton
    I don't agree that Diana has a crap voice, and I think you saying so smacks of the vitriol of a person obsessed with one act to the point where everyone else has to be shiite in comparison.
    She has good voice, but it sounds crap the way they have her forcing it out
    She's better when she sings mainstream

But even at her best, she's no match for Alex, or Ruth, Rachel, Laura, god even Daniel had a stronger voice than her ffs!

and im not obsessed with Alexandra, I actually wanted Diana to win up until after Call Me, she lost her spark after that

Ruth was and still is my top fave so im not bein biased as you're implying

You're lack of consistancy is retarded and makes arguing with you pointless.

elaborate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

there were way better people in the competition than those that reached the final. Laura was amazing, and ruth too. does anybody remember hannah? she didn't make it to the live shows but I really liked her, I was so pissed when diana got through and she didn't. one of the reasons I hate diana! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,220 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

The outburst by Eoghan last night might work in his favour for the final with grannies, mothers and young teenage girls feeling sorry for him and give him the vote and see him re-united with the Claw when they announce him as the winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

I have to laugh at all the Leona Lewis comparisons. Has the music industry suddenly become even more "saturated" with female vocalists since Leona Lewis appeared on the scene a mere two years ago? I certainly don't think so.

Lets see....

Celine Dion
    Whitney Houston
    Mariah Carey
    Beyonce

Right, now with the exception of Mariah and Beyonce, these ladies aren't exactly dominating the airwaves at the moment. Leona Lewis has been around for TWO years. That's all. She's no legend and has yet to prove herself in terms of longevity. She has taken a year to produce her first album and now she's re-released that same album with one or two changes. Yeah, quite the legend. Better tell all those femlae singers to give up now, the position has been filled.

Now, people can compare Leona Lewis to Mariah Carey, thats fine. They both have wonderful voices that are completely ruined with that ridiculous vocal gymnastic, warbling rubbish. Alexandra's voice is very different. As has already been pointed out, Alexandra has a deeper and, imo, stronger voice than Leona.

Now who are all these other ladies saturating the market?

Rhianna - I wouldn't class this girl as having the strongest voice ever. She's good with the fast, uptempo songs but she wouldn't exactly be a vocal powerhouse.

Christina Aguilera - wonderful, wonderful voice. Was often compared to Mariah Carey and ooooh look, she's still very successful.

Amy Winehouse - Totally, totally different style. No point in even comparing.

Duffy - Amy Winehouse-a-like as far as I'm concerned. They have the same style and are both doing ok for themselves. Perhaps there is room, eh?

Estelle - Not sure why I'm even including this one but tbh I'm trying to come up with names of all these female vocalists saturating the market at the moment. It's proving difficult. This girl hasn't been around for long either and again I don't think her voice is that strong when compared to Alexandra.

All the "she's no Leona Lewis" comments make me laugh. Leona Lewis is still very, very new on the music scene and could very easily be compared to Mariah, Whitney, Celine Dion. People on this thread have been doing it constantly ("Alex doesn't compare to Leona, Celine..."). So what if she is like them? (I personally don't think Leona Lewis comes close to Celine Dion but thats my opinion) You all think she's great and is doing well for herself. Then you go and compare Alexandra to Leona as if it's such a terrible thing. Laughable really.

In summary;

Leona Lewis is not any sort of vocal legend. She has released one album...TWICE.

There is plenty of room for Alexandra Burke in the music industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Chinafoot wrote: »
    Your entire post

The best post I have seen in this thread.

Last night was a bit of a surprise. Again I thought I was in an alternate reality to the judges. JLS's second performance was underwhelming IMO; the ballads are not their style. I could barely hear the chap at the start before they all joined it. Yet it was apparently so good that Cowell says he wouldn't be surprised if they won?:confused:

Eoghan in his 1st performance is where he should stay; it's the style most suited to him. The second performance was awful, absolutely awful. And I am shocked that he got through. I don't think he can be stopped judging from last night.

Diana, I have to say I thought last night was one of her best nights. Probably was her best night. She didn't deserve to go last night as she did better than Eoghan and JLS.

Alexandra wonderful as usual. Two great performances and she should really walk this but I fear that Eoghan has too big a fanbase in little girls, the NI vote and in the granny/mother vote. This ex-bloke, scum of the lowest order, could derail Alexandra too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

I just think that, from a money-making exercise, it's going to be a lot harder to make money from Alexandra Burke as they're going to have to go to more expense to ensure that she stands out. It'll be more of a gamble.
    Sure look at the money they have thrown after Leona. Working in the US, good producers, good song-writers. Noone is successful unless they've got the best team working for them. Alexandra will need that. I'm just saying that JLS may not need as much financial support to begin with as they can slot nicely in to pre-made tours, etc.

I liked Diana btw! I liked her voice, but I really would have liked Ruth to win :(

Austin deserves to be in the final more than Eoghan :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Great post Chinafoot, but I do think Alexandra is too close to Leona - sure, she may be more funky diva than ballad chanteuse, but at the end of the day, they're both big-voiced chicks. Still think Alex deserves to win though.
    Eoghan - people are being unnecessarily harsh, I think. They're focusing more on his babyfaced cutesieness, but seriously listen to his voice. The boy can actually sing - in fact he has a very powerful voice for such a wee lad.
    Lil Kitten wrote: »
    Waving at the camera like a spa. Hate that girl. "Ir'm in lorve and arrways wirr breee"

GET SOME SPEECH AND LANGUAGE THERAPY FFS!!!
    Except she doesn't actually need it because those pronunciations are just put on to sound "quirky".
    mickdlk wrote: »
    What have you got against the girl. The only thing I can think of is you are JEALOUS
    mickdlk wrote: »
    Her good looks, singing talent and how much money she is going to make if she goes through or not
    Ah... the usual chestnut thrown out nastily at females who dislike Diana's act. Ok, here's the thing: there's a myriad of reasons besides jealousy for the anti Diana sentiment - honestly. Perhaps you could consider that, instead of just making that assumption without putting any thought into things.
    Nothing against the girl - although if press reports are to be believed, she behaved like a spoilt, selfish diva during the show - e.g. throwing a tantrum and storming off crying to the toilets and staying there until the judges caved in and let her butcher sing Yellow; constantly leaving a mess in the house for others to tidy up; being a school bully... but hey, you can't believe everything you read in several press sources...
    Now, where was I? Oh yes, reasons besides jealousy for anti Diana sentiment: weak voice in terms of range - awful trembly low notes, screamed out high notes (because she's not capable of singing them), regularly being out of tune; infuriating, contrived, forced quirks - ludicrous accent ("you" is not pronounced "yrrrrrr"), yelping at the end of every line, "croaks" carefully placed at certain points... all to hide her piss-poor voice. No, these quirks are not unique - anyone could do them. No, she's not alternative - she's on the bloody X Factor. Yes, she's different, but painful.
    Different is great - I'm all for it, but only when it's actually good.
    What else? Oh yeah, the ludicrous adulation and the favouritism.
    Sure, she's very pretty - I don't think I've heard anyone say she's ugly (which would indeed be a ridiculously jealous thing to say) but she's not talented and I personally think it's highly unlikely she'll have a successful career. She's a novelty - it won't last.
    I don't agree that Diana has a crap voice, and I think you saying so smacks of the vitriol of a person obsessed with one act to the point where everyone else has to be shiite in comparison.
    Actually, that poster was a Diana defender up to a few weeks ago... but saw the light. :D
    andyman wrote: »
    Just to those who say Diana can't sing. I can see why you may think that, but she can sing. Without a shadow of a doubt.
    She can sing yes, to a limited degree. Mid-range notes, songs that don't require vocal power... yep, she could do those. And if she lost the bullsh1t quirks she'd probably sound nice.

Couldn't stand all the dismay about Diana afterwards though - Cheryl may as well have said "Alex, I'd have preferred you to go".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Dudess wrote: »
    Eoghan - people are being unnecessarily harsh, I think. They're focusing more on his babyfaced cutesieness, but seriously listen to his voice. The boy can actually sing - in fact he has a very powerful voice for such a wee lad.

I accept that he is consistently competent vocally and he is good; especially given his age. But I am more than bemused at how he has been pushed through this competition. There has been more than one week where the backing track has masked his limitations vocally. Am I being unnecessarily harsh on a young lad? Maybe. But it is a talent show that should have contestants progressing in regards to how good they are in this moment in time.

Eoghan, because of his market appeal, has been spoonfed to the audience over other contestants (some that were better) through the use of unfair resources (backing track) and manipulative comments from the judges (especially annoying for people who are more than aware of the judges "playing" the voting public).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ah I presume it's a hell of a lot of 12 and 13-year-old girls that are keeping him in. Plus, as mentioned earlier, he's got the whole of Northern Ireland backing him (perhaps apart from a few extremist loyalists :D) - that's pretty hardcore, when you've got a small country behind you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

I just think that, from a money-making exercise, it's going to be a lot harder to make money from Alexandra Burke as they're going to have to go to more expense to ensure that she stands out. It'll be more of a gamble.

Anyone at all, regardless of this competition, would need huge amounts of money behind them in order to gain commercial success. Thats pretty much a given of the music business. I'm sure thats something anticipated by the makers of the programme.
    Sure look at the money they have thrown after Leona. Working in the US, good producers, good song-writers. Noone is successful unless they've got the best team working for them. Alexandra will need that.

Of course Alexandra will need that. As would JLS, as would Eoghan, as would Ruth, as would anyone trying to "make it".
    I'm just saying that JLS may not need as much financial support to begin with as they can slot nicely in to pre-made tours, etc.

I disagree. I think people are over-estimating this "return of the boyband" lark. Take That are doing well for themselves, Boyzone have yet to prove that they're as good as, or any better than, they were. Westlife are now essentially a covers band. As for slotting in to tours, you've already made the point that anyone needs money behind them to be successful. You can't assume that Take That are going to want them as a support act simply because they're a boyband. If anything, I personally think a boy band would find it harder to succeed. They seem to have a short shelf-life in the industry in the grand scheme of things.
    Dudess wrote: »
    Great post Chinafoot, but I do think Alexandra is too close to Leona - sure, she may be more funky diva than ballad chanteuse, but at the end of the day, they're both big-voiced chicks.

So what? Is there only room for a limited number of "big-voiced chicks"? Better tell successful artists like Beyonce and Christina Aguilera to go home then, Whitney and Celine were there first. And sure if we operate a last in first out policy, tell Leona to grab her coat while you're at it.