Fianna Fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭paddy

I'm absolutely ashamed of myself for voting for them in the last election. So much so that i will be deny it if anyone ever asks me.

The Cervical cancer cutback is an absolute disgrace.

Well at least now you know who not to vote for. I never have & never will vote for them, God help them when they come canvassing election time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

paddy wrote: »
    Well at least now you know who not to vote for. I never have & never will vote for them, God help them when they come canvassing election time.

but the only party i'd want to vote for are the Greens. They've hardly been dissenting on some of these issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Vote Labour.

Fine Leaders within that party and a party wanting to go in a good direction.

Get Bruton to lead FG and lets get an election in 09's and get this shower of incompetent muppets out of government for once and for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

I'm absolutely ashamed of myself for voting for them in the last election.

Not trying to get at you, but im Interested in why you voted for them last time around?

Was it based on past performance or future promises

or was it the bertie factor

Ive been asking around in the real world, and I havent met one FF voter in the past few weeks

Fair play to ya for admitting it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

delop wrote: »
    Not trying to get at you, but im Interested in why you voted for them last time around?

Maybe he believed Bertie when he said, ""the boom would get boomier".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Fianna Fail threads are the new "Polish girls are hot, Irish girls are mingers" threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

delop wrote: »
    I'm absolutely ashamed of myself for voting for them in the last election.

Was it based on past performance or future promises

or was it the bertie factor

Ive been asking around in the real world, and I havent met one FF voter in the past few weeks

Fair play to ya for admitting it....

I'm going to let you in on a big secret, maybe people just tell you what you want to hear so they don't have to argue with a stranger trying to preach :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Dudess wrote: »
    Fianna Fail threads are the new "Polish girls are hot, Irish girls are mingers" threads.

I can't say I see a connection.

On the one hand, Ireland's largest political party overseeing the country going down the toilet.

On the other, the idea that Irish women are unattractive whereas foreign women are universally savage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Whats really depressing is that despite all the giving out about F.F. - same muppets of this country will still vote for them having suffered short or long term memory loss!

As Joseph de Maistre once said: Every country has the government it deserves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I meant in terms of frequency... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Fianna Fáil should just change their name to Fianna Fail.

And Fine Gael should change theirs to For Sale cause they'd sell their mother if it meant they'd get into government.

I hope they get a chance just to show people that they're just as useless as the rest.

And I find it hilarious that this thread and that other thread titled "those of you who voted Fianna Fail apologise here" are about Fianna Fail considering that the two issues that has the moaning, bandwagon-jumping public up in arms were created by a right-wing, obese, ideological lunatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I was disgusted when they got back in last time. But for Enda Kenny's uncharismatic leading of Fine Gael it would have been alot closer IMO.

But in hindsight I'm much happier they're in now, so they have to clean up their own bloody mess.

Totally agree, imagine the ranting from Cowen, O Dea, Hannifan and co. blaming the Goverment for the mess if they were in Opposition. At least now, even the thickest Fianna Fail Voter can see ( maybe :rolleyes:) who created the mess and how inneffective they are at trying to get the country out of it.
    I hope they finally get wiped out next Election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

The day Sinn Fein get into power will be the day I'll grab my coat and leave this county for good. I'd take Fianna Fail anyday. Doesn't mean I like them though.

Dudess wrote: »
    I meant in terms of frequency... ;)

Still not the same methinks.

Criticisms against the government in a recession and generalisations about women.
    Chalk and cheese. Of course people will be talking about the government now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭heyjude

Biggins wrote: »
    Whats really depressing is that despite all the giving out about F.F. - same muppets of this country will still vote for them having suffered short or long term memory loss!

As Joseph de Maistre once said: Every country has the government it deserves.

Very true, the opinion polls may say FF has 27% support, but thats because many of their supporters are too embarassed to admit in public who they truly support, but in the privacy of the polling booth, around 40% will support them as they always have.
    kraggy wrote: »
    And Fine Gael should change theirs to For Sale cause they'd sell their mother if it meant they'd get into government.

Just like Fianna Fail sold whatever principles or beliefs they may have had, in the party tent at Galway Races and other corporate events over the past 10+ years. The only thing Fianna Fail stands for is 'being in government and staying there', they have no core beliefs, no principles and would compromise on anything if it gave them political advantage.
    And I find it hilarious that this thread and that other thread titled "those of you who voted Fianna Fail apologise here" are about Fianna Fail considering that the two issues that has the moaning, bandwagon-jumping public up in arms were created by a right-wing, obese, ideological lunatic.
    Are you referring to Cowen ? You must be, as we're supposed to have cabinet government and all policies are supposed to have been agreed by the cabinet and supported by the government, with the financial parameters that made it all happen, set by the Fianna Fail Finance Ministers.
    Of course, if you are a Fianna Fail supporter, then you are doubtless referring to that very convenient scapegoat Mary Harney; if hospitals improve you take credit for it, claiming it as a successful government policy, if its unpopular or doesn't work, then its all Harney's fault. But how did she slip all these unpopular measures past all those Fianna Fail geniuses as the cabinet table ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I'd apply a cheese-grater to scrotal area sooner than vote FF.

I've never voted for them, or any other Irish political party because, in essence, they're all shite.

As much as I dislike FF, FG is an even bigger sack of muppets. Remember the VAT on kids' shoes debacle that brought down FG in 82? Probably not.

Many a political party in Ireland should learn the Glitter-Shipman rule - you don't touch children or the elderly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

I'd apply a cheese-grater to scrotal area sooner than vote FF.

I've never voted for them, or any other Irish political party because, in essence, they're all shite.

As much as I dislike FF, FG is an even bigger sack of muppets. Remember the VAT on kids' shoes debacle that brought down FG in 82? Probably not.

Many a political party in Ireland should learn the Glitter-Shipman rule - you don't touch children or the elderly.

it was the socialist td jim kemmy who voted against that bill, the gov were forewarned that it would happen, they still went ahead with it, in todays climate it would have been headed off quite early in the time, the same gov. also removed vat on femine hygine products, me thinks it was gemma hussey that got it thru

heyjude wrote: »
    Very true, the opinion polls may say FF has 27% support, but thats because many of their supporters are too embarassed to admit in public who they truly support, but in the privacy of the polling booth, around 40% will support them as they always have.

Just like Fianna Fail sold whatever principles or beliefs they may have had, in the party tent at Galway Races and other corporate events over the past 10+ years. The only thing Fianna Fail stands for is 'being in government and staying there', they have no core beliefs, no principles and would compromise on anything if it gave them political advantage.

Are you referring to Cowen ? You must be, as we're supposed to have cabinet government and all policies are supposed to have been agreed by the cabinet and supported by the government, with the financial parameters that made it all happen, set by the Fianna Fail Finance Ministers.
    Of course, if you are a Fianna Fail supporter, then you are doubtless referring to that very convenient scapegoat Mary Harney; if hospitals improve you take credit for it, claiming it as a successful government policy, if its unpopular or doesn't work, then its all Harney's fault. But how did she slip all these unpopular measures past all those Fianna Fail geniuses as the cabinet table ?

I'm referring to Harney. And it's very easy for her to slip whatever she believes in through the cabinet. She and Grealish are/were the two PD members of government. If they pull out, that leaves the majority at a perilous 4 TD's. So, of course this makes having their policies implemented infinitely more feasible.

And she's not being used as a scapegoat. She's made dreadful decisions and thus should be lambasted for it. Money could have been saved in countless other ways but she chose to execute two clangers in the form of the medical card u-turn disaster and now the cervical cancer vaccine.

I am not a Fianna Fail supporter. But we in this country are guilty as hell when it comes to moaning and jumping on the popular bandwagon of blame and begrudgery. And so threads with titles placing the blame solely on Fianna Fail are disingenuous and misinformed.

....And so threads with titles placing the blame solely on Fianna Fail are disingenuous and misinformed.

Sorry but some think they are. After all, they, each Fianna Fail T.D. worrying about their wages and state pension consistently voted again and again, backing each subsequent cut, disgusting decision and destruction of the people's healthcare, education systems, etc. It was Fianna Fail T.D.'s that are even this week still voting to up uphold each decision of their useless master. Its Fianna Fail that is directing the decisions and directions that this state is heading into...

...and that state, is a state of further disaster!

Fianna Fail is not responsible! Who in hell do you think is running/ruining this country? The last time I checked they were in the Dail!

Sorry but some think they are. After all, they, each Fianna Fail T.D. worrying about their wages and state pension consistently voted again and again, backing each subsequent cut, disgusting decision and destruction of the people's healthcare, education systems, etc. It was Fianna Fail T.D.'s that are even this week still voting to up uphold each decision of their useless master. Its Fianna Fail that is directing the decisions and directions that this state is heading into...

...and that state, is a state of further disaster!

Fianna Fail is not responsible! Who in hell do you think is running/ruining this country? The last time I checked they were in the Dail!

Do you understand the term "solely"?

After what Fianna Fail have done to the country, it's worrying to see that 27% of the voters would still vote for them.:confused:

Do you understand the term "solely"?

I do but then again to use an analogy: if a crime/murder is committed do we sentence the culprit or do we go after the maker of the knife or all the staff on the production line down to the box guys! Do we blame the captain/management for the wrong steering of his ship (country!) or do we blame the passengers for being on the ship, for the wrong direction they have been taken.

We, the population of Ireland voted for representatives whom in turn took so many wrong turns so far, its not that we just can't turn back, we are so lost in the dark mess they created that we don't know where we are, what to do and are left to making absolutely wild pot shots and grabs in the dark at solutions - clearly not helping and a clear indicator that we need something better.

Sadly that something better has yet to rear its head - for the rest so far are completely useless.
    Meanwhile the sheep of Ireland will continue sleep walk through our political process.

I have never been so depressed and discouraged in my lifetime as I am right now at the state Fianna Fail has left my country in right now.
    I no longer know my own state and have lost faith in its slumbering people - its demoralising and to some extent a shameful thing to admit.
    I'm guilty of stating it but that don't change the message behind the words.

I have three, soon to be four children. I genuinely worry about the condition and sleeping complacency of my country that they will grow up into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Rob_l wrote: »
    Sinn fein wont be in government i dont belive there loss of seats in the last election was blip or glitch i believe people no longer see a need for them in the republic we have peace they are a war party be gone with them too

A war party? A bunch of indians is it? GFA is so last decade. Get with the program. SF are engaged in a peaceful and political road-map to Irish Unity, and work hard for the working-class. You might not be in favour of all of their policies or past - but they are a grassroots party, who's members are always working hard on the ground and do alot for the communities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Lexus1976

I'd vote for Fianna Fail again. By the sounds of things on this thread nobody understands what a recession is, never mind what a world recession means. What are the governement suppose to do in the current market climate lower tax rates, increase government expenditure etc. Obviously the government are going to have to make cut backs and unfortunatley this will not go down well with some people. But you cant please all the people all of the time.

If you would prefer Labour, FG or SF to manage the gov, in my humble opinion you need your head examined. ;)

A lot of us understand what a recession is but if Fianna Fail hadn't been too busy cashing in their continous envelopes under the tables (and we have only discovered the tip of the iceberg on that subject) and looking after themselves, IF they only had gotten 10% of their job right, Ireland while having the best economy in Europe would have a financial buffer to some (any!) extent to help in the current economic times - but we have nothing and is left to cut even absolutely vital services.
    ...and that others will still vote for the useless shower ruining and continuing this state of affairs is astounding!

We went from the best economy in Europe to the very first to suffer official signs of a recession economy. That's some achievement by any government in power!
    How the hell did they take us from one extream down to another!
    If this state was a private company, every one of the board of directors would have been sacked and sued a long time ago - instead of letting them stay on, cut the staff pensions and medical abilities alone, never mind the rest!

A lot of us understand what a recession is but if Fianna Fail hadn't been too busy cashing in their continous envelopes under the tables (and we have only discovered the tip of the iceberg on that subject) and looking after themselves, IF they only had gotten 10% of their job right, Ireland while having the best economy in Europe would have a financial buffer to some (any!) extent to help in the current economic times - but we have nothing and is left to cut even absolutely vital services.
    ...and that others will still vote for the useless shower ruining and continuing this state of affairs is astounding!

We went from the best economy in Europe to the very first to suffer official signs of a recession economy. That's some achievement by any government in power!
    How the hell did they take us from one extream down to another!
    If this state was a private company, every one of the board of directors would have been sacked and sued a long time ago - instead of letting them stay one, cut the staff pensions and medical abilities alone, never mind the rest!

Check your facts :rolleyes: Ireland is still the best economy in Europe, we will be spending more this christmas than any other economy in Europe perhaps the world. This is what gives the country the essential cash injections to enable it stablise its resources.

stepbar wrote: »
    The day Sinn Fein get into power will be the day I'll grab my coat and leave this county for good. I'd take Fianna Fail anyday. Doesn't mean I like them though.

Maybe we could split taxi fare?

Lexus1976 wrote: »
    Check your facts :rolleyes: Ireland is still the best economy in Europe, we will be spending more this christmas than any other economy in Europe perhaps the world. This is what gives the country the essential cash injections to enable it stablise its resources.

:confused: we're the first country in Europe to drift into recession , from that point, we have the worst economy in the eurozone.and the only reason people might spend a lot this Xmas is because they are stupid enough to use their Credit Cards to buy things they can't really afford.

Lexus1976 wrote: »
    If you would prefer Labour, FG or SF to manage the gov, in my humble opinion you need your head examined. ;)
    God forbid Labour for helping out the Celtic Tiger with the low corporation tax (thanks Ruairí Quinn) and the free third level education (cheers Niamh Bhreathnach)

galwayrush wrote: »
    :confused: we're the first country in Europe to drift into recession , from that point, we have the worst economy in the eurozone.and the only reason people might spend a lot this Xmas is because they are stupid enough to use their Credit Cards to buy things they can't really afford.

Your right to be confused, its got to do with economics..........sure we are in recession but that does not mean we have the worst economy in the eurozone! It is guaranteed we'll be the first country in the world to pull out of it due to the resouces we have at our disposal,the government we have in place and the policies they have implemented.