Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fianna Fail

• 13-11-2008 10:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭

Fianna Fail
    Taken from http://www.fiannafail.ie/store.phpx

looks like they have lost their way over the years..........:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Fianna Fáil should just change their name to Fianna Fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭uturnin6weeks

I voted for them in the last election but I will not ever vote for them again. Have a second chance soon in the south Dublin by-electon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭paddy

I voted for them in the last election but I will not ever vote for them again. Have a second chance soon in the south Dublin by-electon.

Yeah, I never voted for them myself. Sooner they are gone the better, gang of muppets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Got there before me and not Fáda first time either.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Great party.

fcuk the lot of ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

snyper wrote: »
    Great party.

fcuk the lot of ye.
    *Forms an orderly line *
    * Pushesplaces AC at the front *
    / waits.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm a life long FF voter - I won't say "never again", but I will say 'Not for a very long time to come'.

It'll be SF & independents from now on for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

mehhhhhhh civil war politics them and the gael should **** off back to 1922

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭viota

ive never voted for them and i never will.SF all the way for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Great party.

fcuk the lot of ye.

What a refreshingly well phrased rebuttal of an obvious and now well known fact.

Fianna Fail are always the ones to blow all the money and let FG or Labour in to clean up and take all the blame when they try to save some cash.

Then the failures get back in and blow it all over again.

Never ceases to amaze me how stupid the electorate are. It's hilarious in some ways, and hideously pathetic in so many more. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Great party.

I was at a better one last night tbh.

Joker, like the rest of the lemmings in the media and here on boards you like to fire of sh1te without 1 single decent substanciated argument

its easy to shíte talk and blame the government without knowing a single fact about politics and whats involved in running a country

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Joker, like the rest of the lemmings in the media and here on boards you like to fire of sh1te without 1 single decent substanciated argument

its easy to shíte talk and blame the government without knowing a single fact about politics and whats involved in running a country
    Ok let's see...

-worry more about builders than anyone else
    -create an insane housing bubble and price many people out of the market
    -said housing bubble crashes, leaving thousands in negative equity
    -rely on PPPs that aren't water-tight & result in collapsed projects
    -fail to properly regulate banking industry
    -cancel cervical cancer vaccine
    -roll back on pathetic vote-grabbing stunt of giving medical cards to all over 70
    -incapable of running the health service so hand it over to the HSE, an agency that is immune from all criticism
    -ignore basic planning measures and create a country with the lowest density residential developments, worst public transport and highest dependency on the private car in Europe.
    -ignore basic building regulations, which results in most of the housing stock now having to be retrofitted to be more energy efficient
    -refuse to hold childrens' rights referendum
    -get hauled up in front of the UN over failure to ratify UN charter of childrens' rights

Jesus, do you want me to go on??

All of those are most definitely on the list of things NOT to do when in government.

so whats involved?

Making a flim flam shamble budget and then using your power of goverance turning back on every major decision you made what a way to lead.

Except one they really should have turned back on cervical cancer prevention for young girls

Turning back on every major decision? Lol.
    Or reacting to economic change.

my major gripe is with the public sector unions that inhibit any possible changes that could be made to match the effiency of the private sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,552 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

I was disgusted when they got back in last time. But for Enda Kenny's uncharismatic leading of Fine Gael it would have been alot closer IMO.

But in hindsight I'm much happier they're in now, so they have to clean up their own bloody mess.

Turning back on every major decision? Lol.
    Or reacting to economic change.

my major gripe is with the public sector unions that inhibit any possible changes that could be made to match the effiency of the private sector.

oh come on now! The budget was released early as a reaction to the economic change, they then turned back on every major money saving decision because they picked on the old and the vulnerable and people reacted and they had to undo all the suppossed money saving plans one by one not becasue they reacted to economic change that particular week.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,552 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

I'll have to agree with that point, but the current government have let themselves be bullied by the faceless people behind the public service.

One of the core problems is public sector reform/reviews being performed by, uhhh the public sector.

I'll have to agree with that point, but the current government have let themselves be bullied by the faceless people behind the public service.

One of the core problems is public sector reform/reviews being performed by, uhhh the public sector.

This is much much more complex than that, yes granted the public service is now too big but during the growth times we needed to expand the public service to deal with peoples expectations. Now we have the bad times but what should the government do sack half those public servants and then have more unemployed as well as the cost to lay off those people, plus the bad reaction the press/public would make of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Mairt wrote: »
    It'll be SF & independents from now on for me.

That's how I voted in the last election. Screw Fianna Fáil! :mad:

Dord wrote: »
    That's how I voted in the last election. Screw Fianna Fáil! :mad:

Sinn fein wont be in government i dont belive there loss of seats in the last election was blip or glitch i believe people no longer see a need for them in the republic we have peace they are a war party be gone with them too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Will never in my life time support F.F. again.
    I don't care if Fergus O'Dowd is running it (he's being quietly eyed up now as a main contender for Cowans position sometime soon).

F.G are more than useless under the present leadership with the no teeth, characterless poodle they have running it - that and they are a bunch of hypocrites

Labour are the next Progressive Democrats! Soon to be forgotten...

S.F. will never see government in the Republic as long as they are related in any way to the actions of the goons with guns and/or crime.

The Greens are a bunch of lying, double-crossing, dealing with the devil traitors - soon to lose their seats at the next election for sure.

So what we have is a totally fracked up political system.
    As soon a new political party is set up up and has someone running it with a good set of honest and strong balls ...I'll then consider voting for them and signing up.
    ...till then I'm voting independents.

Biggins wrote: »
    Will never in my life time support F.F. again.
    I don't care if Fergus O'Dowd is running it (he's being quietly eyed up now as a main contender for Cowans position sometime soon).

F.G are more than useless under the present leadership with the no teeth, characterless poodle they have running it - that and they are a bunch of hypocrites

Labour are the next Progressive Democrats! Soon to be forgotten...

S.F. will never see government in the Republic as long as they are related in any way to the actions of the goons with guns and/or crime.

The Greens are a bunch of lying, double-crossing, dealing with the devil traitors - soon to lose their seats at the next election for sure.

So what we have is a totally fracked up political system.
    As soon a new political party is set up up and has someone running it with a good set of honest and strong balls ...I'll then consider voting for them and signing up.
    ...till then I'm voting independents.

Declan ganley and libertas would like you to subscribe to their newsletter

Rob_l wrote: »
    Declan ganley and libertas would like you to subscribe to their newsletter

Yes. I would subscribe to any peaceful material and read it.
    I might not support their positions on some things but I am willing to listen.
    By knowing what I don't like - helps me further understand what I do like and stand for!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

I was disgusted when they got back in last time. But for Enda Kenny's uncharismatic leading of Fine Gael it would have been alot closer IMO.

But in hindsight I'm much happier they're in now, so they have to clean up their own bloody mess.

I agree with you that Enda didn't communicate well but he's done a lot for the party - given it stability after a long period of infighting and winning back a lot of the losses.

He also has people around him who are actually capable of doing there job - Bruton, Reilly, Hayes etc.

Essentially if you want to get rid of FF you have to vote FG and Lab - the independents will just go into government with FF - over the past 25 yrs we've had Tony Gregory, Finian McGrath, Lowry, Fox all back up FF even though most people who elected them didn't really want that.

Oh and SF would hop into bed with any party to get into government if they were let and if they did get into government it would be a disaster for this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Other countries hit by recession are planning tax cuts to stimulate their economies. What do our muppet of a government do, increase taxes in the form of a levy. Fukking wasters.

"Gordon Brown last night called for "urgent" action from world leaders to follow Britain by bringing in tax cuts to stimulate their crisis-hit economies."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/financetopics/financialcrisis/3454003/Gordon-Brown-World-leaders-must-cut-taxes.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Got there before me and not Fáda first time either.:(

Get your coat, that was horrific :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I'm fairly saddened by Fianna Fáil.

Ah well, It's Labour for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

all treir leaders seem to do is become fatter and uglier to look at, cowen harney an that other wan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

I'm absolutely ashamed of myself for voting for them in the last election. So much so that i will be deny it if anyone ever asks me.

The Cervical cancer cutback is an absolute disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭paddy

I'm absolutely ashamed of myself for voting for them in the last election. So much so that i will be deny it if anyone ever asks me.

The Cervical cancer cutback is an absolute disgrace.

Well at least now you know who not to vote for. I never have & never will vote for them, God help them when they come canvassing election time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

paddy wrote: »
    Well at least now you know who not to vote for. I never have & never will vote for them, God help them when they come canvassing election time.

but the only party i'd want to vote for are the Greens. They've hardly been dissenting on some of these issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Vote Labour.

Fine Leaders within that party and a party wanting to go in a good direction.

Get Bruton to lead FG and lets get an election in 09's and get this shower of incompetent muppets out of government for once and for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

I'm absolutely ashamed of myself for voting for them in the last election.

Not trying to get at you, but im Interested in why you voted for them last time around?

Was it based on past performance or future promises

or was it the bertie factor

Ive been asking around in the real world, and I havent met one FF voter in the past few weeks

Fair play to ya for admitting it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

delop wrote: »
    Not trying to get at you, but im Interested in why you voted for them last time around?

Maybe he believed Bertie when he said, ""the boom would get boomier".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Fianna Fail threads are the new "Polish girls are hot, Irish girls are mingers" threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

delop wrote: »
    I'm absolutely ashamed of myself for voting for them in the last election.

Was it based on past performance or future promises

or was it the bertie factor

Ive been asking around in the real world, and I havent met one FF voter in the past few weeks

Fair play to ya for admitting it....

I'm going to let you in on a big secret, maybe people just tell you what you want to hear so they don't have to argue with a stranger trying to preach :eek:

Dudess wrote: »
    Fianna Fail threads are the new "Polish girls are hot, Irish girls are mingers" threads.

I can't say I see a connection.

On the one hand, Ireland's largest political party overseeing the country going down the toilet.

On the other, the idea that Irish women are unattractive whereas foreign women are universally savage.

Whats really depressing is that despite all the giving out about F.F. - same muppets of this country will still vote for them having suffered short or long term memory loss!

As Joseph de Maistre once said: Every country has the government it deserves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I meant in terms of frequency... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

And Fine Gael should change theirs to For Sale cause they'd sell their mother if it meant they'd get into government.

I hope they get a chance just to show people that they're just as useless as the rest.

And I find it hilarious that this thread and that other thread titled "those of you who voted Fianna Fail apologise here" are about Fianna Fail considering that the two issues that has the moaning, bandwagon-jumping public up in arms were created by a right-wing, obese, ideological lunatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Totally agree, imagine the ranting from Cowen, O Dea, Hannifan and co. blaming the Goverment for the mess if they were in Opposition. At least now, even the thickest Fianna Fail Voter can see ( maybe :rolleyes:) who created the mess and how inneffective they are at trying to get the country out of it.
    I hope they finally get wiped out next Election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

The day Sinn Fein get into power will be the day I'll grab my coat and leave this county for good. I'd take Fianna Fail anyday. Doesn't mean I like them though.

Dudess wrote: »
    I meant in terms of frequency... ;)

Still not the same methinks.

Criticisms against the government in a recession and generalisations about women.
    Chalk and cheese. Of course people will be talking about the government now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭heyjude

Whats really depressing is that despite all the giving out about F.F. - same muppets of this country will still vote for them having suffered short or long term memory loss!

As Joseph de Maistre once said: Every country has the government it deserves.

Very true, the opinion polls may say FF has 27% support, but thats because many of their supporters are too embarassed to admit in public who they truly support, but in the privacy of the polling booth, around 40% will support them as they always have.
    kraggy wrote: »
    And Fine Gael should change theirs to For Sale cause they'd sell their mother if it meant they'd get into government.

Just like Fianna Fail sold whatever principles or beliefs they may have had, in the party tent at Galway Races and other corporate events over the past 10+ years. The only thing Fianna Fail stands for is 'being in government and staying there', they have no core beliefs, no principles and would compromise on anything if it gave them political advantage.
    And I find it hilarious that this thread and that other thread titled "those of you who voted Fianna Fail apologise here" are about Fianna Fail considering that the two issues that has the moaning, bandwagon-jumping public up in arms were created by a right-wing, obese, ideological lunatic.
    Are you referring to Cowen ? You must be, as we're supposed to have cabinet government and all policies are supposed to have been agreed by the cabinet and supported by the government, with the financial parameters that made it all happen, set by the Fianna Fail Finance Ministers.
    Of course, if you are a Fianna Fail supporter, then you are doubtless referring to that very convenient scapegoat Mary Harney; if hospitals improve you take credit for it, claiming it as a successful government policy, if its unpopular or doesn't work, then its all Harney's fault. But how did she slip all these unpopular measures past all those Fianna Fail geniuses as the cabinet table ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I'd apply a cheese-grater to scrotal area sooner than vote FF.

I've never voted for them, or any other Irish political party because, in essence, they're all shite.

As much as I dislike FF, FG is an even bigger sack of muppets. Remember the VAT on kids' shoes debacle that brought down FG in 82? Probably not.

Many a political party in Ireland should learn the Glitter-Shipman rule - you don't touch children or the elderly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

I'd apply a cheese-grater to scrotal area sooner than vote FF.

I've never voted for them, or any other Irish political party because, in essence, they're all shite.

As much as I dislike FF, FG is an even bigger sack of muppets. Remember the VAT on kids' shoes debacle that brought down FG in 82? Probably not.

Many a political party in Ireland should learn the Glitter-Shipman rule - you don't touch children or the elderly.

it was the socialist td jim kemmy who voted against that bill, the gov were forewarned that it would happen, they still went ahead with it, in todays climate it would have been headed off quite early in the time, the same gov. also removed vat on femine hygine products, me thinks it was gemma hussey that got it thru

heyjude wrote: »
    Very true, the opinion polls may say FF has 27% support, but thats because many of their supporters are too embarassed to admit in public who they truly support, but in the privacy of the polling booth, around 40% will support them as they always have.

Just like Fianna Fail sold whatever principles or beliefs they may have had, in the party tent at Galway Races and other corporate events over the past 10+ years. The only thing Fianna Fail stands for is 'being in government and staying there', they have no core beliefs, no principles and would compromise on anything if it gave them political advantage.

Are you referring to Cowen ? You must be, as we're supposed to have cabinet government and all policies are supposed to have been agreed by the cabinet and supported by the government, with the financial parameters that made it all happen, set by the Fianna Fail Finance Ministers.
    Of course, if you are a Fianna Fail supporter, then you are doubtless referring to that very convenient scapegoat Mary Harney; if hospitals improve you take credit for it, claiming it as a successful government policy, if its unpopular or doesn't work, then its all Harney's fault. But how did she slip all these unpopular measures past all those Fianna Fail geniuses as the cabinet table ?

I'm referring to Harney. And it's very easy for her to slip whatever she believes in through the cabinet. She and Grealish are/were the two PD members of government. If they pull out, that leaves the majority at a perilous 4 TD's. So, of course this makes having their policies implemented infinitely more feasible.

And she's not being used as a scapegoat. She's made dreadful decisions and thus should be lambasted for it. Money could have been saved in countless other ways but she chose to execute two clangers in the form of the medical card u-turn disaster and now the cervical cancer vaccine.

I am not a Fianna Fail supporter. But we in this country are guilty as hell when it comes to moaning and jumping on the popular bandwagon of blame and begrudgery. And so threads with titles placing the blame solely on Fianna Fail are disingenuous and misinformed.

....And so threads with titles placing the blame solely on Fianna Fail are disingenuous and misinformed.

Sorry but some think they are. After all, they, each Fianna Fail T.D. worrying about their wages and state pension consistently voted again and again, backing each subsequent cut, disgusting decision and destruction of the people's healthcare, education systems, etc. It was Fianna Fail T.D.'s that are even this week still voting to up uphold each decision of their useless master. Its Fianna Fail that is directing the decisions and directions that this state is heading into...

...and that state, is a state of further disaster!

Fianna Fail is not responsible! Who in hell do you think is running/ruining this country? The last time I checked they were in the Dail!

Sorry but some think they are. After all, they, each Fianna Fail T.D. worrying about their wages and state pension consistently voted again and again, backing each subsequent cut, disgusting decision and destruction of the people's healthcare, education systems, etc. It was Fianna Fail T.D.'s that are even this week still voting to up uphold each decision of their useless master. Its Fianna Fail that is directing the decisions and directions that this state is heading into...

...and that state, is a state of further disaster!

Fianna Fail is not responsible! Who in hell do you think is running/ruining this country? The last time I checked they were in the Dail!

Do you understand the term "solely"?