as long as they're shooting each other ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

Mordeth wrote: »
    one person was a friend of me and one person was some randomer who got shot, not unlike the many thousands of randomers who get shot, stabbed, raped, molested, burned, run over or catch aids every day.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭peasant

The original question wasn't really

"How affected should you (pretend to) be about the death of this innocent man?"

but

"How does the death of this innocent man affect your thoughts about gangland killings?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

peasant wrote: »
    The original question wasn't really

"How affected should you (pretend to) be about the death of this innocent man?"

but

"How does the death of this innocent man affect your thoughts about gangland killings?"

Start a thread in AH and you have no control over how the replies go! You know that.

At the end of the day this doesn't really change my thoughts around gangland killings.

The fact that they occur is indicitive enough that something is wrong. Some poor innocent getting caught up in crime?

Happens everyday with rape, muggings, assault etc.

But, the media doesn't have a decent story or a tag line or a photo to go with them. So when something like this happens they'll march out the old court day photos and imply who it might have been and all to sell papers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

What I posted was more of a statement about Limerick to be honest and not a joke about the man who was killed. If there are any friends or family of the man on here, then I apologise if you have taken offence to my post. The rest of you, kindly, stfu and kiss my ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

WindSock wrote: »
    What I posted was more of a statement about Limerick to be honest and not a joke about the man who was killed. If there are any friends or family of the man on here, then I apologise if you have taken offence to my post. The rest of you, kindly, stfu and kiss my ass.

And what kind of ass would that happen to be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Who's ma ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

So... How about that Kerry Katona eh? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭GeorgeCostanza

Clap, clap ..... what a man .......

What did people like you do before you had the internet to spout your puerile nonsense?

I hope, for your sake, you have youth to excuse your incredible stupidity, but I'm guessing you don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭lezizi

Shane was a 28 year old lad who was walking home from his friends house after playing rugby for his local team that day and watching the ireland game.
    Maybe alot of ye done the same on saturday.
    The only difference is shane was shot 10 times a few minutes away from he's house he shares with his girlfriend, because he was mistaken for some drug dealing scum that lived near him.
    It is disgusting how an innocent guy was killed in such a brutal way.

I for one am shocked by this i live up the road from where this happened, he was a friend of my brother and my boyfriend.

But from reading this thread you would think he desrved it just cause he is from limerick.

I am really uoset after reading this thread, didnt realise there are so many heartless bastards out there.

Ya people die everyday but that it is no reason to make fun of this tragedy.

Maybe ye should take a minute think of shanes mother who has not only lost her son, but also lost her daughter to leukemia a few years ago, his brother and his girlfriend who was probally waiting for him to come home that night, while he was outside there house dead and all his friends the people who have to deal with this loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Clap, clap ..... what a man .......

What did people like you do before you had the internet to spout your puerile nonsense?

I hope, for your sake, you have youth to excuse your incredible stupidity, but I'm guessing you don't.

Woo Hoo, this thread just gets better and better :pac:

Very few getting out of this thread covered in glory, thats for sure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

georgecostanza\ banned for a week for personal abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 grotty

I really hope that poor mans friends or family aren't reading this thread.It is just adding insult to injury. The people who carried this out are the lowest of the low, followed closesly by the people who are making light of it. RIP Shane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,776 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

grotty wrote: »
    I really hope that poor mans friends or family aren't reading this thread.It is just adding insult to injury. The people who carried this out are the lowest of the low, followed closesly by the people who are making light of it. RIP Shane
    I have to agree with Grotty but I would just like to add that anything that was said in jest earlier could be pointed at any faceless victim of any crime. Topics of a serious close to home issue such as this should not be posted in AH. AH is notorious for p*sstaking and therefore is probably not the best place for such topics. Thats just my €0.02. Its especially sad to see this happening when someone who knows the victim is a part of the thread and obviously, understandably cannot see the funny side of any of the remarks made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭thewing

If the mods have any respect for standards maintained on this website, they'll wind this thread up fairly lively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

**** him, not my problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Varkov wrote: »
    **** him, not my problem.

No one said it was YOUR problem. That is a real **** thing to say tho!

Kiera wrote: »

It doesn't take a genius to use a keyboard, don't sweat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,425 ✭✭✭robtri

it is amazing how many people here are taking the p*ss over someones death,
    I would bet not one of these posters making light of it would find it funny if at the death of a close relative people where taking the mick out the them....
    murder is a horrible situation and more so when innocent lifes are lost...
    have some respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Kiera wrote: »

Have to agree with that.

Windsock made a joke lighting the mood. Bad taste, maybe. It was more pointed at Limerick.

I say majority of boards.ie users are sorry for the family's loss and find this an outrage. There really isn't else to say about that except we hope our law enforcement can catch the people responsible.

robtri wrote: »
    it is amazing how many people here are taking the p*ss over someones death,
    I would bet not one of these posters making light of it would find it funny if at the death of a close relative people where taking the mick out the them....
    murder is a horrible situation and more so when innocent lifes are lost...
    have some respect.

Your post content and you sig don't really match mate.

Look, the simple take home message is that if you want something treated with dignity and respect then you DON'T post it in AH.

It's like posting in the Thunderdome and then giving out about personal abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 13tsoptuo

Dragan wrote: »
    You ever been there?

Culture capital of the world.

Me hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

13tsoptuo wrote: »
    Me hole.

Your hole is the Culture capital of the world? I find that very hard to believe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Yeah, seriously like. I already apoligised to family or friends who took offence, and stated my joke was a jibe at Limerick. What else do you want me to say? Everyone else, get over you yourselves and stop jumping on the high horse bandwagon.

+1 for the idea that news stories close to home should not be posted in AH.

Yeah, seriously like. I already apoligised to family or friends who took offence, and stated my joke was a jibe at Limerick. What else do you want me to say? Everyone else, get over you yourselves and stop jumping on the high horse bandwagon.

+1 for the idea that news stories close to home should not be posted in AH.

Don't sweat it. You know how they are here, they sense a chink in your armour and they'll hammer away all day to try bring you down.

The people here who know you don't need to see you repeat yourself to know that your a good person.

Fvck the begrudgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

13tsoptuo wrote: »
    Me hole.

I meant bacteria.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

lezizi wrote: »
    Shane was a 28 year old lad who was walking home from his friends house after playing rugby for his local team that day and watching the ireland game.
    Maybe alot of ye done the same on saturday.
    The only difference is shane was shot 10 times a few minutes away from he's house he shares with his girlfriend, because he was mistaken for some drug dealing scum that lived near him.
    It is disgusting how an innocent guy was killed in such a brutal way.

I for one am shocked by this i live up the road from where this happened, he was a friend of my brother and my boyfriend.

But from reading this thread you would think he desrved it just cause he is from limerick.

I am really uoset after reading this thread, didnt realise there are so many heartless bastards out there.

Ya people die everyday but that it is no reason to make fun of this tragedy.

Maybe ye should take a minute think of shanes mother who has not only lost her son, but also lost her daughter to leukemia a few years ago, his brother and his girlfriend who was probally waiting for him to come home that night, while he was outside there house dead and all his friends the people who have to deal with this loss.

Know a few guys who played with him last season, my own brothers would have played underage with him, Windsock is clearly utterly insensitive to the grief that this is causing for so many people but the entire city is shocked by this, I hope the Geogheon's know that they are in our thoughts and prayers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Yeah, nothing quite screams hilarity like making fun of a senseless murder. I'll be sure to tell your joke at the removal, maybe it'll help lighten the mood and everyone will forget that a young man was murdered in cold blood, might even write it in a mass card to his fiance.