Do you hate Culchies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Dudess wrote: »
    Ye think "langer" offends us... :D

Nope, I don't. Hence, I don't use it.

I highlighted "ye". Another culchie trait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Des wrote: »
    That is the wrong classification.

A culchie is an Irish person who is not from Dublin.

Not true, a nordie is not a culchie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Bill wrote: »
    Do you hate Culchies Dulchies?

Corrected that there for you.

Bambi wrote: »
    Not true, a nordie is not a culchie.

Different breed altogether, imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Nope, I don't. Hence, I don't use it.

I highlighted "ye". Another culchie trait.

Grammatically its more correct than saying 'Youse'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,670 ✭✭✭DenMan

Sorry about that Brian. However statistics don't lie and the amount of non-Dubs attending third level education in Dublin is at an all time high.

Grammatically it's more correct than saying 'Youse'.
    fyp grammar nazi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

DenMan wrote: »
    Country people tend to gather in packs and wolf down their food making upsurd noises.

It's in their DNA now, leftover trait from the famine, they all believe it's going to happen again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Sorry about that Brian. However statistics don't lie and the amount of non-Dubs attending third level education in Dublin is at an all time high.

So what you are saying is there are more non dubs (not a lot, just more) in Dublin? As opposed to in the countryside, now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

As a Londoner I can safely say that it doesn't matter where you come from in Ireland, you're all uncultured farmers to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

I can't read
    I can't write
    That doesn't really matter
    I am a Cork City fan
    and I can drive a tractor.....

you're all uncultured farmers to us

quiet blood thirsy tea loving imperialist with bad teeth from across the water!

So what you are saying is there are more non dubs (not a lot, just more) in Dublin? As opposed to in the countryside, now?

Was at a recent seminar in the West of Ireland where they discussed the main IT's there (Sligo, Lettkenny, GMIT) who have lost students to courses they provide to students who wanted to study in Dublin. They also talked about counties like Kilkenny (no university) and Cavan. They had applied for courses in DCU, DIT and UCD. Doesn't bear well for those colleges as those in Dublin are getting inundated with applications.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

So what you are saying is the people who study in Dublin, are in dublin, and you were talking out your ass when you said many of them in the west have been to college in Dublin? something like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Can we get an "I hate Des" option??

He seems to be an uncontrollable ball of rage when it comes to matters outside the pale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

Was at a recent seminar in the West of Ireland where they discussed the main IT's there (Sligo, Lettkenny, GMIT) who have lost students to courses they provide to students who wanted to study in Dublin. They also talked about counties like Kilkenny (no university) and Cavan. They had applied for courses in DCU, DIT and UCD. Doesn't bear well for those colleges as those in Dublin are getting inundated with applications.

This is true. I can't understand why some gob****e from a hole in Mayo would come to Dublin to do an Arts course thats available in every regional IT in the country. They should be forced to go to their nearest IT in this case. Its frustrating that they take up all the accomodation for students whose course is only available in one of the Dublin unis.

And I 100% agree with whoever mentioned culchies constantly wearing their countie's GAA jersey - irritating cnuts. As far as I'm concerned they are just highlighting themselves as targets for me to smash a bottle over their head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Yiz all think that that "jackeen" word offends us.

Why would it. Isn't Dublin made up of tans and poles these days? I thought all the Dubs moved to Rochfortbridge?

Think you took me up wrong there Brian. I don't hate culchies at all. There is nothing wrong with them wanting to get educated in Dublin, just doesn't look good on the other institutions around Ireland who are losing out on potential candidates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

I'm sorry but yes, yes I do hate cluchies and I practically am one, there just such fcking bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,541 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

phenomenon wrote: »
    This is true. I can't understand why some gob****e from a hole in Mayo would come to Dublin to do an Arts course thats available in every regional IT in the country. They should be forced to go to their nearest IT in this case. Its frustrating that they take up all the accomodation for students whose course is only available in one of the Dublin unis.

IT's do Arts courses, since when :confused:

And I 100% agree with whoever mentioned culchies constantly wearing their countie's GAA jersey - irritating cnuts. As far as I'm concerned they are just highlighting themselves as targets for me to smash a bottle over their head.

I did mention that, not in a bad way though. It is just annoying to be doing it all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,541 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

That is the wrong classification.

A culchie is an Irish person who is not from Dublin.

This trend of people from the regional towns (cities :rolleyes:) of saying that only people from the more rural areas is a pathetic attempt at the de-culchification themselves, and we jackeens are not going to stand for it.

Another thing.

Yiz all think that that "jackeen" word offends us.

rofl.

a culchie is a person not from the pale and of low IQ actually ;)

and please define what a city is as you seem so sure some cities are not cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Do i wha!!?

Nah i like them, never caused me any bother:) sure half my family are from Tipp :p

• Subscribers Posts: 32,938 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

What about the thousands of dubs who wear their gaa jerseys? Does this make them culchies despite the fact they are dubs, or does this make your spot-a-culchie-ometer explode on sight?

Lot of trolling going on in this thead too, nice work dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Going back to the instigating BS that started this thread
    They generally tend to have bigoted opinions...

Pot, kettle, black.

But in the spirit of the thread here's how 1-5 all strongly apply to Jackeens also.
    1) They, in a lot of cases went to third level education in Dublin.

True - Because Some Dubs lack skills required to maintain themselves away from home (washing, cleaning, capacity to make toast) or the social aptitude to interact with students in colleges ouside of their county shy of calling them culchies. And without a local Apache Pizza they would in all certainty starve as soon as the food their mother cooked for them ran out.
    2) Spend their time complaining about Dublin, and when huge gigs are organised are the first to buy tickets there.

2a.
    Because sit in a bar, cafe, taxi, luas, dart or anywhere else in Dublin and there's some Dub complaining about something inane, usually regarding Dublin, around which the rest of the world revolves.
    2b. WTF?, have you been to a gig in Dublin recently? - Lots of Dubs there you'll find.
    3) Wear the counties jerseys all of the time. I have nothing but respect for people who support their county, but when it becomes the sole wardrobe it becomes annoying.

Have you actually walked around Dublin with your head out of your ass? The Dub county jersey seems to be a uniform accompanied with white tracksuit bottoms (tucked into socks) and accompanied by brilliant white runners in large tracts of the county.
    4) Lack of social graces. That's a big one for me personally. Country people tend to gather in packs and wolf down their food making upsurd noises.

Once again you illustrate your own point. Award winning personality you got there - Your fan club is small and undistinguished I suspect. As for table manners - from some of what I have seem in our capital city, cutlery may only be a recent concept to arrive and the manual dexterity to effectively use it is only just competent. Witnessing attempts at using chopsticks in Yamamori/Wagamama is hilarious and worth the cost of the food alone. Oh and the word is ABSURD, a new word for you as you wander through the wilderness of your ignorance.
    5) Inept knowledge of current affairs. Don't know how many conversations I have had with country people regarding the news in the morning. In all fairnest it doesn't take a lot of time in your day to listen to Morning Ireland before commenting on events heard through over heard conversations

You might just find that many people will talk about the days headlines in the morning. You get bombarded by them via radio, tv, and then by the metro/herald AM crew every 20m on the way to work - this lends to having conversations about them. (Conversations are what people have when they talk to each other about something, you might miss out on this interaction whilst watching Fair City and Capital D)

That's me done, and in the way of the greatest exponent of Dub-ishness, Martin King, 'goood-nite-chaa'....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

yes i hate them what is it with them calling lunch dinner, and dinner tea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Seeing threads like this im glad i left Ireland for a proper country..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

It's ironic that it's nearly always those who have the least reason to look down upon other people who are the very people who do - here's looking at Dummy Panda, Des(20k posts about nothing) et al :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

utick wrote: »
    yes i hate them what is it with them calling lunch dinner, and dinner tea?

Only the old people that do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭poisonated

Do i wha!!?

Nah i like them, never caused me any bother:) sure half my family are from Tipp :p
    Im the exact same... ya gotta love the culchies...:D

CheGuedara

I appreciate the time you took to respond to the post. I think you took me up wrong with it. It is not a diss at all culchies. No hard feelings.