Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you hate Culchies?

• 09-11-2008 7:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭

Do you hate Culchies?

Yes or No 77 votes

Yes
    1% 1 vote
    No
    98% 76 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

jaysis, like the guy needs another opportunity :/

dont feed him and he'll go away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Dubs are Real People? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

Why do people hate Culchies? Please answer "yes" or "no".

Em, no?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

You ask for a reason ...and provide a positive or negative answer!!! Say "wha!"

Thats just plain ruddy confusing for us culchies! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Can we hate Bill(s) as a third option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭Chong

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Can we hate Bill(s) as a third option?
    Sure why not............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

This thread is a singularity of grammatical fail...

Orange69 wrote: »
    This thread is a singularity of grammatical fail...

Affirmative. :)

You originally asked the question (before editing the title) "Why do people hate Culchies?"

Asking for a "yes" or "no" to that is impossible quandary to impose upon the masses!

Then again its an incisive example of the growing continuous repetitive's in a grammatical environment, that is only continuing as a clearer exploitative of the sub-standard fluctuating, growing sub-sets in the Irish educational system

...wouldn't you agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Just because.. :shake harder boy:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

so what are we answering yes or no to again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Great Poll (NOT) no Question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Because they eat raw spuds and smell like cow poos. And have hair growing out of their ears that makes them look like they are cultivating more spuds, which in turn makes their heads look like big potatoe heads. The End.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

irish-stew wrote: »
    so what are we answering yes or no to again

What your favourite colour is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Rhyme wrote: »
    What your favourite colour is.

oh, then the answer no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭DenMan

They generally tend to have bigoted opinions, can be very closed minded especially when you consider that:

1) They, in a lot of cases went to third level education in Dublin.
    2) Spend their time complaining about Dublin, and when huge gigs are organised are the first to buy tickets there.
    3) Wear the counties jerseys all of the time. I have nothing but respect for people who support their county, but when it becomes the sole wardrobe it becomes annoying.
    4) Lack of social graces. That's a big one for me personally. Country people tend to gather in packs and wolf down their food making upsurd noises.
    5) Inept knowledge of current affairs. Don't know how many conversations I have had with country people regarding the news in the morning. In all fairnest it doesn't take a lot of time in your day to listen to Morning Ireland before commenting on events heard through over heard conversations.

Sorry if I offended anyone but that's the general impression I have got from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Teacherman

Lets get back to the Topic. I hate Culchies because they have terrible table manners. I work with a guy(from Offaly) who cant hold a mug properly-he grips it on the opposite side to the handle and gulps it. Quite a typical culchie manoeuvre .It rattles those of us properly mannered:) Their wardrobe is a problem as mentioned above ,but they do at least out dress the sartorially challenged Dublin Scobbie ,who thinks a track suit is the height of fashion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I don't classify culchies as simply people who come from the country. I classify culchies as the "I'll bate the head off ya with a hurley" crew... and yes, I can't stand those ignoramuses. I consider them the rural equivalent of scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Dudess wrote: »
    I consider them the rural equivalent of scumbags.

good for you, alot dont tho however

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

After reading one of Des' posts, I hate Culchies cause they call crisps Tayto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

The Question is "do you hate culchies"

First off, HATE is a strong word.
    I don't really Hate anyone..........but i do dislike some.

so, if the question was "do you dislike culchies"?

not a much as i dislike tossers from Dublin 4 (the ones who talk like tossers and cant drink and wear rugby shirts with the collar up) creamers,pykies,howaya's and general soverign wearing scumbags who reside in Dub-a-lin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

Only a culche would use the term "tosser". :rolleyes:

I thought it was a term posho Dubs used?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

I don't classify culchies as simply people who come from the country. I classify culchies as the "I'll bate the head off ya with a hurley" crew... and yes, I can't stand those ignoramuses. I consider them the rural equivalent of scumbags.

We have plenty of our own scumbags these days so its not really a good comparision (admittedly though many of the scumbags are blow-ins from Dublin)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

DenMan wrote: »
    They generally tend to have bigoted opinions, can be very closed minded especially when you consider that:

1) They, in a lot of cases went to third level education in Dublin.

I think this is a huge assumption and an overexaggeration of the truth tbh and says a lot about your own opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Lexus1976

New Poll do people think Bill is a muppet ?

Yes

No

Yes Bill is a muppet!!!

Yes

...but I love the Muppets! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

I think a definition of the term "culchie" is required.

For me, I would use that word to describe someone from a town/village/farm of a population less than 10,000 not close to a major city.

When I say from, I mean, spent most their youth there, and/or was greatly influenced by culchie culture.

However, I do know there are some culchies from a "town" of population 1,000 people who look down on others from a little village of 100 people.

Likewise, I do know there are some uneducated Dublin scumbags who think anyone not from within 15 miles of the bleedin' spire is a culchie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

That is the wrong classification.

A culchie is an Irish person who is not from Dublin.

This trend of people from the regional towns (cities :rolleyes:) of saying that only people from the more rural areas is a pathetic attempt at the de-culchification themselves, and we jackeens are not going to stand for it.

Another thing.

Yiz all think that that "jackeen" word offends us.

rofl.

Ye think "langer" offends us... :D

Des wrote: »

This trend of people from the regional towns (cities :rolleyes:) of saying that only people from the more rural areas is a pathetic attempt at the de-culchification themselves, and we jackeens are not going to stand for it.

Another thing.

rofl.

Run along then and wave your Union Jack for the Queen turncoat ;)

Ye think "langer" offends us... :D

Nope, I don't. Hence, I don't use it.

I highlighted "ye". Another culchie trait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Not true, a nordie is not a culchie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Bill wrote: »
    Do you hate Culchies Dulchies?

Corrected that there for you.

Bambi wrote: »
    Not true, a nordie is not a culchie.

Different breed altogether, imo.

Nope, I don't. Hence, I don't use it.

I highlighted "ye". Another culchie trait.

Grammatically its more correct than saying 'Youse'.

Sorry about that Brian. However statistics don't lie and the amount of non-Dubs attending third level education in Dublin is at an all time high.

Grammatically it's more correct than saying 'Youse'.
    fyp grammar nazi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Country people tend to gather in packs and wolf down their food making upsurd noises.

It's in their DNA now, leftover trait from the famine, they all believe it's going to happen again.

Sorry about that Brian. However statistics don't lie and the amount of non-Dubs attending third level education in Dublin is at an all time high.

So what you are saying is there are more non dubs (not a lot, just more) in Dublin? As opposed to in the countryside, now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

As a Londoner I can safely say that it doesn't matter where you come from in Ireland, you're all uncultured farmers to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

I can't read
    I can't write
    That doesn't really matter
    I am a Cork City fan
    and I can drive a tractor.....

you're all uncultured farmers to us

quiet blood thirsy tea loving imperialist with bad teeth from across the water!

So what you are saying is there are more non dubs (not a lot, just more) in Dublin? As opposed to in the countryside, now?

Was at a recent seminar in the West of Ireland where they discussed the main IT's there (Sligo, Lettkenny, GMIT) who have lost students to courses they provide to students who wanted to study in Dublin. They also talked about counties like Kilkenny (no university) and Cavan. They had applied for courses in DCU, DIT and UCD. Doesn't bear well for those colleges as those in Dublin are getting inundated with applications.

So what you are saying is the people who study in Dublin, are in dublin, and you were talking out your ass when you said many of them in the west have been to college in Dublin? something like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Can we get an "I hate Des" option??

He seems to be an uncontrollable ball of rage when it comes to matters outside the pale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

Was at a recent seminar in the West of Ireland where they discussed the main IT's there (Sligo, Lettkenny, GMIT) who have lost students to courses they provide to students who wanted to study in Dublin. They also talked about counties like Kilkenny (no university) and Cavan. They had applied for courses in DCU, DIT and UCD. Doesn't bear well for those colleges as those in Dublin are getting inundated with applications.

This is true. I can't understand why some gob****e from a hole in Mayo would come to Dublin to do an Arts course thats available in every regional IT in the country. They should be forced to go to their nearest IT in this case. Its frustrating that they take up all the accomodation for students whose course is only available in one of the Dublin unis.

And I 100% agree with whoever mentioned culchies constantly wearing their countie's GAA jersey - irritating cnuts. As far as I'm concerned they are just highlighting themselves as targets for me to smash a bottle over their head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Why would it. Isn't Dublin made up of tans and poles these days? I thought all the Dubs moved to Rochfortbridge?

Think you took me up wrong there Brian. I don't hate culchies at all. There is nothing wrong with them wanting to get educated in Dublin, just doesn't look good on the other institutions around Ireland who are losing out on potential candidates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

I'm sorry but yes, yes I do hate cluchies and I practically am one, there just such fcking bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

phenomenon wrote: »
    This is true. I can't understand why some gob****e from a hole in Mayo would come to Dublin to do an Arts course thats available in every regional IT in the country. They should be forced to go to their nearest IT in this case. Its frustrating that they take up all the accomodation for students whose course is only available in one of the Dublin unis.

IT's do Arts courses, since when :confused:

phenomenon wrote: »

And I 100% agree with whoever mentioned culchies constantly wearing their countie's GAA jersey - irritating cnuts. As far as I'm concerned they are just highlighting themselves as targets for me to smash a bottle over their head.

I did mention that, not in a bad way though. It is just annoying to be doing it all the time.