Halloween costume offensive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭HouseHippo

Sure if prince Harry can dress up as a nazi.......
    Would recommend staying away from the RAP Ireland Halloween gig though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

HouseHippo wrote: »
    Sure if prince Harry can dress up as a nazi.......
    Would recommend staying away from the RAP Ireland Halloween gig though

I didn't understand the fuss that was made tbh

Ah, i got an facebook message about that...

No way would i go there... I would be lynched:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭HouseHippo

Lynch mobbed in fact :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

How about this one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Fair play OP.

The kkk hated blacks, a black person is planning to wear a kkk costume on halloween to make a mockery of them, and rightly so.

I'll bet all the people claiming to be offended are white as a sheet.

Its, lets all be hyper sensitive on the blacks behalf, oh wait OP is black, lets all be offended on someone else's behalf and completely miss the point of the endeavour.

I applaud the OP, rip the piss out of those ridiculous knobs.

BOO to all those moaning about it, you need some real problems in your lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,778 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Dragan wrote: »
    With all due respect you will get away with it because you are black.

If a white person went anywhere dressed as a member of the KKK there would be serious issues.

**** it, if a white person started this thread it would be a lot different i think.

Do us a favour. You dress up as the Grand Wizzard and one of your white buddies as Chaka Zulu and post the pictures. It could be great craic altogether. You'll definitly get a couple of confused stares to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

Hmm... I don't understand. Is there an intelligent social commentary going on with your choice or what??

If not, then yes I would think it's offensive unless there's a damn good reason to back up your decision.

As in taking the mick out of racists be they black or white it goes a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Now if you lifted up your mask every once in a while to reveal an obama mask, that would be funny. But otherwise I think you're asking for trouble.

Why would you think it's offensive?

It's halloween, people dress up and this year i decide to go as a member of KKK clan....

Answer to your question; a few people have raised eyebrows about it. Including friends, but then i could go as a Nazi, or an altar boy(and get someone to dress as a priest), or Maddie Mcann.....

There are so many characters i could go as, it's halloween and i don't mean any pun

Yeah, but, Nazis and Altar boys dont knock on your door. Fact of the matter is, the KKK does. Usually to break down your door just to kick your ass for not being white. Not something I would go Trick or treating in.

Monkey61 wrote: »
    Hmm... I don't understand. Is there an intelligent social commentary going on with your choice or what??

If not, then yes I would think it's offensive unless there's a damn good reason to back up your decision.

so you need a damn good reason to back up your halloween costumes these days! life is just sooo much fun isn't it!

oh and yeh, nazis did go knocking on doors.....
    and when did the KKK start knocking on doors in Ireland, don't think many will answer the door to this trick or treater and this he's gonna burn their house down - maybe if was in Mississippi or summit, but he's not!

Going as a Nazi would also be offensive.

My personal problem with a KKK costume is the fact that wearing such a thing, normalizing it and making it humorous will take away from the monstrosity of the real KKK somewhat - and make them seem humorous and normal - which they are not. Laughing in the face of prejudice is one thing, but laughing in the face of something which is actively spreading hatred and is inherently dangerous is quite another. Again if there was an intelligent commentary to back it up, it would still be offensive to some people, but one could say fair enough - but as there isn't, it's just offensive.

That anyone could even consider going as a Nazi is also deeply offensive too, albeit on an even more personal level, because that is something that my family have been deeply affected by and is on absolutely no level humorous.

Priests and alter boys, and Madeline McCann on the other hand I personally wouldn't find offensive as it doesn't involve allying yourself with any kind of ideology of oppression and hatred. Obviously some people would find it distasteful - but I wouldn't expect everybody to find it so whereas i would hope that the KKK and Nazis would be fundamentally offensive to all.

If youre going to ridicule something, go as Lord Xenu or Tom Cruise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Priests and alter boys, and Madeline McCann on the other hand I personally wouldn't find offensive as it doesn't involve allying yourself with any kind of ideology of oppression and hatred.
    But it's not "allying yourself" - it's saying "fuk you" to it. And to use your logic, maybe some people would be offended by a priest costume as they'd consider the catholic church to be a cruel, repressive organisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

One of my best mates has the occasional racist outburst.

So, a couple of years ago, I got him in the secret santa that we do every year with all the boys back home.

I bought a white blanket, and a white pillowcase for him.

I put a safety pin in the blanket to make a cape. Then I cut two eyeholes in the pillow. I warapped it up and gave it to him as a KKK outfit.
    Mad bastard ran out on the street in it when the new years bell went.

Nothing bad happened to him. Mind you, he was carrying a samurai sword at the time :confused: Most people arent mental enough to care about stuff like that, ket alone attack you over it.

Anyway, a fierce defender of black rights won't have it in them to beat up another black person :P

Personally I think the irony of a black person wearing a klan outfit is gas, and I think you should go for it.

I only meant allying in a visual sense that leads to normalising and stuff.

I don't think the catholic church can really be considered on the same level as the Nazi party or the KKK though. They are after all a visible presence on the street everyday anyway - so somebody dressed up as one would hardly be any more offensive for someone than just seeing one anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

I only meant allying in a visual sense that leads to normalising and stuff.

I don't think the catholic church can really be considered on the same level as the Nazi party or the KKK though. They are after all a visible presence on the street everyday anyway - so somebody dressed up as one would hardly be any more offensive for someone than just seeing one anyway.

how about if he had a small child strapped to his crotch?

http://www.funnychill.com/files/funny-pictures/priest-costume.jpg

Overheal wrote: »
    Yeah, but, Nazis and Altar boys dont knock on your door. Fact of the matter is, the KKK does. Usually to break down your door just to kick your ass for not being white. Not something I would go Trick or treating in.

If you go back to the 1940's they didn't knock indeed, they kicked it down. You can go and ask my granny if you need confirmation. If you go back to the days when Pieter Brueghel the Elder made his best works you'll find that altar boys were some of the lowest treacherous scum in the Netherlands.

Just to make the point that there's dark days in the history of just about anything. Personally I couldn't give a damn if someone dressed up in KKK garb for Halloween in Ireland just like no black man in Alabama could give a toss if someone dressed up like a Black&Tan for a Halloween party in Mobile. Why do we have to take everything that serious folks ?

youre asking me on paper. it sounds like a bad idea on paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

I had no idea so many people are so highly strung. Let people dress up as whatever they like and just have a good night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

So did anyone see this guy? Is he still alive?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

MIN's a girl, not a guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Zaph wrote: »
    MIN's a girl, not a guy.

Ha ha ha ha, this just get's better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Dragan wrote: »
    With all due respect you will get away with it because you are black.

If a white person went anywhere dressed as a member of the KKK there would be serious issues.

**** it, if a white person started this thread it would be a lot different i think.

Jesus some people need to lighten up. Was watching Schindlers List before going out last night when I got the idea that next year me and a mate are going as a Nazi and a Jew (and a third mate as an Arab maybe :) ). Ima be the Jew, it requires less effort, regular black suit, hat, beard and the curls at the side of the head, twill be the biz :) The photos of us all together will be a mindfcuk :p

My cousin and his mates once went out wearing the black cap/leather jackets, sunglasses and gloves that the IRA wear at funerals :D Did Bin Laden and Saddam myself way back. I was down the country in 2003 at an outdoor street festival. One lad in particular was the 100% spit of Saddam, flawless outfit and tache. His mates had brought a stretcher, he got in it and was paraded with an American flag over him, as if he had been eecuted and his body returned with the flag. Then the Arab mates took the flag off and burnt it , all of us dressed as Arabs danced around like we were at some Al Quaeda funeral :P Burnin yank flags, Im sure the tourist board loved those lads.

OP have any photos? Would like to see this :pac:
    MIN2511 wrote: »
    Which is considered as racist?

Black
    Coloured

LOL :D I was in croker for the Ireland v Cyprus match. Caleb Folan was the only black player on the squad, and in the very far distance towards the end of the match we could vaguely see a player warming up preparing to come on (twas Folan)

Mate "Someone is warming up down there, can ya see who?
    Me (squinting) "Not sure....I think he is black, must be Folan"
    Mate "Black, do ya hear ya? It's coloured nowadays"

Ehh..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

mate of mine dressed up as a used tampon this year, got some disgusted looks but they usually dissipated into laughter. tis the season for a bit of messing sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

Meh, I'm Chinese and went as a McDonalds guy last year. :D

Fringe wrote: »

Did you go straight from work ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

Fringe wrote: »

I don't get it.

Ah no, i had 5 places to go to on Friday so i didn't dress up. I have my white sheets under my desk in work...

First pub i went to, only one dude was dressed up and we took the piss...

My 2c, halloween is one day in a year. Why do people get offended?
    I told a few people my costume and a few people were offended.... imagine if i wore it ;)