The gripe thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Agreed, I just dont believe a person that pays PRSI, tax on the product and private healthcare should be considered less worthy or a lower class patient than someone who is unemployed with no health insurance who doesnt smoke.

Are they though? When are they considered less worthy or lower class???

People might tut and roll their eyes, but only because they've made themselves sick through their own actions not because they are receiving treatment!
    If someone insisted on constantly running down the road naked and caught pneumonia, wouldn't you tut and roll your eyes?!

It could also be argued that the unemployed person with no health insurance who doesnt smoke should not be made to see the inside of a hospital due to the passive effects of somebody else's 'Right to Smoke'.

If it's coming down to just money, then why should that person have to pay for a hospital bed because of somebody elses actions? If they had been run over by a drunk driver, the costs would be recovered from who is at fault.
    I have no issue with smokers receiving treatment from the taxpayers pocket as they pay tax, but people's health is not just about money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

One of my little gripes is when I make the occasional (;)) call to the chip shop, I get the "ah, sure isn't it well for ye!" or "jaysus, ye have it handy".

Yes, because you don't have it handy, in here every other day, pissed on my tax money thinking chips is one of your five a day, the other four being fags, wkd, cocopops and deal or no deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Are they though? When are they considered less worthy or lower class???

People might tut and roll their eyes, but only because they've made themselves sick through their own actions not because they are receiving treatment!
    If someone insisted on constantly running down the road naked and caught pneumonia, wouldn't you tut and roll your eyes?!

It could also be argued that the unemployed person with no health insurance who doesnt smoke should not be made to see the inside of a hospital due to the passive effects of somebody else's 'Right to Smoke'.

If it's coming down to just money, then why should that person have to pay for a hospital bed because of somebody elses actions? If they had been run over by a drunk driver, the costs would be recovered from who is at fault.
    I have no issue with smokers receiving treatment from the taxpayers pocket as they pay tax, but people's health is not just about money!

You need to realise why I made my comments, see CO19's comments stating that smokers will be taking up hospital beds and looking to the tax payer to cover them, I was pointing out that smokers either directly or indirectly cover more than the cost of treatment. Same as I pay the admin fee in A&E but I doubt the homeless bum pays. I doubt the unemployed pay. I doubt the drunk who fell over pays. Or the junkie. Or the refugee or the new immigrant and so on and so on. Out of all the people out there Smokers are paying a lot more indirect tax for their sin than all the others (little tax on alcohol, no tax on baby items, no tax on drugs).

Now, as for passive smoking. First up, for every research paper and study showing its harm, I will find one saying it doesnt cause any harm. Its not yet a proven beyond doubt theory. It remains a theory. In fact I got news for you, your mobile phone and makeup are more harmful to you than my cigarettes.

Saying for the moment it does cause harm, well I cannot smoke on a bus or public transport, in any business premises, any entertainment venues, any public buildings so where in the hell are you getting 'infected' with all this smoke? As far as I can tell its only if your sitting beside a smoker in a private premises. Then how about getting up and leaving? Smoker has a choice, so does the non smoker.

Now, Im not suggesting anyone should be refused treatment nor am I suggesting people recieve sub standard treatment but I will be damned if I will accept the accusation that Im contributing to the health service problems in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭CO19

I will be damned if I will accept the accusation that Im contributing to the health service problems in this country.

Really didn't mean it like that if that's for my benefit :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭bryanmurr

deadwood wrote: »
    One of my little gripes is when I make the occasional (;)) call to the chip shop, I get the "ah, sure isn't it well for ye!" or "jaysus, ye have it handy".

Yes, because you don't have it handy, in here every other day, pissed on my tax money thinking chips is one of your five a day, the other four being fags, wkd, cocopops and deal or no deal.

You said it brother!

Manys the fella i've had to explain to that yes we do eat and yes we do get a break just like them!! (thats presuming they have a job) :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

bryanmurr wrote: »
    You said it brother!

Manys the fella i've had to explain to that yes we do eat and yes we do get a break just like them!! (thats presuming they have a job) :rolleyes:

"jeez look at the gaurds there allways eating"

I was at a funeral last night in uniform and a woman asks me "are ye from limerick" i answer "yes i am" She goes "ya i could see by your numbers"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Once I was doing a job with Customs (the real ones not the ones of the telly) and was beside a customs officer who I knew from before-a decent lad.
    He stops this car and a toff gets out to let him do his stuff but after a few minutes starts getting thick with the delay so he trots out the "I pay your wages" line. The reply goes: "Do you, can I have a rise?" I thought it was priceless and in my professionalism I nearly had to be picked up off the ground. Not as sure pal driving the car found it so amusing though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 boardsbandit200

my favorite smart remark: a fella stands outside a niteclub next to me constantly telling me he needs to get back into the nightclub to get his glasses even though the bouncers have actually gone home and the club is closed at this stage:
    guy: i need my glasses i can't see anthing
    me: well then how did you make it out without them?
    guy: i don't know i NEED them they cost like 300 euros.
    me: well you should have gone to specsavers.

guy walks off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Traffic Cops top quips
    The Met traffic division survey was conducted in advance of them attending the MPH motor show.

Traffic cops’ favourite quip when pulling over a speeding driver is: “Who do you think you are – Lewis Hamilton?” The joke, an update of one used since the 1950s about race legend Stirling Moss, tops a survey of officers’ favourite opening lines.

Women have been greeted with: “Good evening, Mrs Schumacher”. And boy racers have been told: “Congratulations sir – you’ve just achieved pole position,” or “Did you accidentally fill your petrol tank with nitrous oxide?”

The first Metropolitan Police poll of its kind found other questions asked included: “ How's the audition for Death Race 2000 going?” “ Testing this vehicle for NASA, are we?” “ IS this your vehicle? You’re driving like you stole it” and “ Are you on your way to a funeral? Because it’ll be yours if you keep driving like that.”

A woman speeder was asked: “Is the baby due any moment?”

Drivers pulled over for tail-gating have been asked: “Can I assume you have Hollywood stunt brakes fitted to your car?” And others caught in a bus lane have faced the put-down: “How much is it for a single to Piccadilly Circus?”

The survey was to publicise the Met traffic division attending MPH motor show at Earls Court starting on October 30.

Insp Mick Dunn said: “Drivers are on edge when they’ve been pulled over, so an opening gambit helps break the ice.

“Some people forget police must uphold the law and ensure the safety of others. Above all, our traffic officers are good guys trying to do a tough job.”

An officer about to tick off a man for dodgy driving ending up delivering his wife’s baby.

The man was dashing his wife to hospital when he “cut up” PC Dan Wells in Fulham, South-West London. As the officer prepared to warn him, he noticed the baby arriving in the car and helped deliver the 6lb girl.

Source

metman wrote: »
    Traffic Cops top quips
    "Having difficulty taking off, are we Captain?"

Me likey the gripe thread.

Calling to a random house in the sticks looking for Mrs. Brennans place, which you had asked one of the lads for before and he tells you.. "ah sure, she lives just past Mickey Murphys place, and sure, you know that place, don't you?" and you're afraid to say you don't.

You pull up and Mrs Random neighbour (usually with a son in his late 30's at home and a pomeranian dog) comes to the door with the apron twisted into a black knot with worry, leaning on the hall window sill like Mrs Doyle in Father Ted. She's one of these types that can survive for seven weeks on a bit of bad news.

When you give her the "don't be worrying yourself there, ma'm, i'm only looking for Brennans house", you can see she's dissapointed by the fact that you've deprived her of weeks of tea and sympathy....an emotion which is quickly overtaken by a burning curiosity about Brennans which is like an itch she can't scratch!

I like to tell these sorts to ask the Brennans to contact the National Lottery office if they meet them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 744 ✭✭✭angry_fox

You are under arrest and

No i DONT know who you are
    No, i dont CARE who you know
    Yes, you do pay my salary
    Yes, you can have my job
    No, I dont have anything better to do
    Yes, I arrest REAL criminals sometimes
    No, Im not picking on you because you're ...............
    No, I cant give you a break
    No, I dont know your friend Garda ...............
    Yes you will be allowed to make one phone call
    Yes, you probably never do it again
    No, we cant talk about it
    Yes it does make me happy
    Yes you will see me in court

angry_fox wrote: »
    You are under arrest and

Yes, you can have my job
    Yes, I probably will get a promotion out of this!

or

Sales Rep: "Ah, Guard I only got a speeding ticket last week!"

Deadwood: "Really? 6 more before Christmas and you'll get a free toaster!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

angry_fox wrote: »
    You are under arrest and

Yes, you can have my job

another one from a drunk driver

Him: You don't know who you are dealing with here?
    Me: *Looking at custody record* You are so and so.
    Him: Yeah but I know someone very powerful
    Me: Who do you know?
    Him: Not tellin ye.
    Me: So you don't know anyone powerful
    Him: Oh I do and one phone call in the morning and your all going to lose your jobs *looks around at 3 of us looking at him with us looking at him with bored expressions*
    Me: Is that a threat?
    Him: No a promise
    Me: *like Colm Murphy in The Panel, head straight down with nose and pen onto the custody record*
    Him: What ya writing?
    Me: Your threat to us
    Him: But I didn't threaten anybody *cue the tears and all the bad things that happened to him in his life*

Its quite sad really to see a grown man cry and its usually the Irish fellas that do it. The Eastern European lads are usually very good about it and we can have a laugh with them.

This is a spin-off from the caution thread but hey I haven't been in work in three weeks

One night about 12am on a weekend night was doing a checkpoint just outside of town so it was pitch dark. Anyway this car approaches my side of the road and straight off I see the car has parking and fog lights only. So stopped the female driver (about 50ish, not good looking so not my type :D ).

Me: Can you switch off your fog lights please. *cue my usual speech on fog lights* It is illegal to have them on when there is no fog or snow and it also dazzles oncoming traffic.
    Her: Of course guard. *and the usual reply* I didn't know they were on.
    Me: Your car has a light on the dashboard indicating when the fog lights on
    Her: *realising she is not as good a driver as she thought switches off the fog lights*
    Me: Now can you turn on your dipped headlights, please. You only have parking lights on.
    Her: But my dipped lights are on
    Me: Are they working at all?
    Her: Of course they are guard.
    Me: Well if you look forwards you may notice you cannot see beyond 6 feet in front of the car.
    Her: Well what does that mean guard.
    Me: That your bulbs are gone. How long have you been driving this way without dipped headlights.
    Her: *head goes down now* Since I bought the car.
    Me: When did you buy the car?
    Her: November
    Me: You have been driving around since November with no dipped lights at all.
    Her: Yes guard *head goes down even further*
    Me: You do realise it is August?
    Her: Yes but I thought it would be alright.

After that told her we would escort her and her car back to the station and she could walk the ten miles home or call a taxi. There wasn't a peep out of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

TheNog wrote: »
    After that told her we would escort her and her car back to the station and she could walk the ten miles home or call a taxi. There wasn't a peep out of her.

Like, hey, aren't ye, like, supposed to, like bring her home. Isn't that like, a law or suminck!?

Sure everyone knows ye Gardai are taxi's with blue lights!!

So her headlights really didn't work for Nog, eh?
    (yes, I'm 12)

eroo wrote: »
    Like, hey, aren't ye, like, supposed to, like bring her home. Isn't that like, a law or suminck!?

Sure everyone knows ye Gardai are taxi's with blue lights!!

I love it when drunken people say to me "Will ye bring me home. You are obliged to. I know the law".

I always find that one really funny and laugh really hard. Sometimes people are persistent. I again love this and in the end I do give them a lift. :rolleyes:

So her headlights really didn't work for Nog, eh?
    (yes, I'm 12)

I wouldn't have called them headlights, more like searchlights :D:D

I love it when drunken people say to me "Will ye bring me home. You are obliged to. I know the law".
    I've gotten into the habit of putting on the central locking when i'm keeping an eye on nightclubs etc. It's amazing the amount of times people just walk up and open the door beecause "der'ssumshinineejatellya".

When the "my mate is a guard in Dublin and he told me you, like have to bring me home" guy asks for a lift, I say "sure, hop in". After trying the locked door a couple of times, they get the message.

Reminds me of another one.
    A young lady asked for advice about some nuisance phonecalls she was getting. I advised her of what action could be taken and she was disappointed I couldn't find out the offenders identity there and then.
    Sympathetic to her plight, I explained that certain procedures had to be followed. She felt I wasn't doing my duty and told me that her friend, who's a guard in Dublin (so he knows stuff) would sort it for her. I expained to her that she was probably right as only the top 10% in each class is sent there. She certainly put me in my place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

I expained to her that she was probably right as only the top 10% in each class is sent there. She certainly put me in my place.

The top 10% come from there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

The usual annoying drunks and questions..

If I take your hat then you cant arrest me huh?

Usual reply is, I still can and will if you touch it. They generally leave me alone then. Same reply goes for the ''If i need to take a p***, you need to give me your hat''

Another good one is ''Those p****s on the door won't let me in, can you help get me in?". With an attitude like that..nope and leave before you annoy me too!

The top 10% come from there :D
    Yeah, those remedial intakes have upped the numbers alright.

The Eastern European lads are usually very good about it and we can have a laugh with them.

Because been in the custody of the gardai is like a visit to a holiday camp compared to their home nation police forces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Her: *head goes down now* Since I bought the car.
    Me: When did you buy the car?
    Her: November
    Me: You have been driving around since November with no dipped lights at all.
    Her: Yes guard *head goes down even further*
    Me: You do realise it is August?
    Her: Yes but I thought it would be alright..

Er, just where was her head going? :eek:

Dealing with D4 heads..... "my faatherr will have your job gaurrd"

"Do you not play football, Guard? All your mates in the club know me"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭opti76

do you know so and so he works in (insert staion name here)

of course i know him/her hes a prick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Hope you guys don't mind me adding to this one (I'm a soldier)..

Passing Mobhi Rd P.O. (May 6th 2006) and there's an armed robbery.

Long story cut short.

The robber threw a black lad through the window. People shout at me there's a robbery (I'm driving an army car). I get out and tackle the guy.

He's wearing a balaclava and is armed with a steak knife. But I have him subdued when the guards arrive.

Armed female detective? (she's in plain clothes) puts her gun straight into the scumbags face "DON'T MOVE, ARMED GARDA"...

Scumbag "Ohhhh thank god, he's bleed'n killing me".. :D

Mairt wrote: »

course not, forum and threads are open to all

lmao :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭santosubito

Passing Mobhi Rd P.O. (May 6th 2006) and there's an armed robbery.

Long story cut short.

The robber threw a black lad through the window. People shout at me there's a robbery (I'm driving an army car). I get out and tackle the guy.

He's wearing a balaclava and is armed with a steak knife. But I have him subdued when the guards arrive.

Armed female detective? (she's in plain clothes) puts her gun straight into the scumbags face "DON'T MOVE, ARMED GARDA"...

I thought it was the other way round - that the civilian put the robber through the window. He was a huge big man, I recall. I'll try to find a link.