Handicapped Toilet Etiquette

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Zulu wrote: »
    Them things have ramps - don't be mad.
    Sure how can they life the chair if their legs aren't working? Did you never see the X-Men??

Madness.

fecker!!! I was talkin about me liftin the chair, I'm a big strong lad, and not all wheelie cars have ramps attached!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

fecker!!! I was talkin about me liftin the chair, I'm a big strong lad,
    ...well what the hell are you doing parking in the spot if there's nothing wrong with you? Do you pretend to be handicapable just to get good spots?? Shame.

Double standards minidazzler. Double standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Stop there Zulu, your posts in this thread are getting boring

I'm entertaining myself.

...well what the hell are you doing parking in the spot if there's nothing wrong with you? Do you pretend to be handicapable just to get good spots?? Shame.

Double standards minidazzler. Double standards.

For my sister!!! She is in a wheel chair and has the coolest electric wheelchair ever!!! Goes so fast!!!

I know buddy - was just getting into the afterhours gig.
    Nevermind.

I'll go back to where I came from.
    ...now where was I?

Also, with regard to wheelchair spaces, I am willing to bet that alot more people would use these if there was not a fine for doing so. And just because ye say "I wouldn't dream of it" doesn't make it true. In concept it is the same as using a wheelchair toilet if you extract the fine from the equation.. The time taken is irrellavent.

Nope - there isn't a hope in hell that I would park in a wheelchair spot, ever, ever, ever, sure there is no fine (afaik) in tesco etc...... I think people who park in them are knackers full stop. I had murder with my mother in law over this subject, her mum had a disabled permit which my MIL used even when her mother wasn't in the car!!! I got drunk one night and told her she was a disgrace (oops!)

I also can't stand people who park in parent and child spots when they've no child, I gave a garda abuse for this one day in Dunnes! grrrrrr

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I use them, no need not to, sure they are barely ever used and I have never been in one whn somebody else needed to use one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Most wheelchair toilets have the sign up, and some have the mother and child sign as well. If you are just walking along in no major rush to use the bathroom, why do you think you should be allowed to use the wheelchair one? It's cleaner maybe? Take a fcuking guess why!!! I know alot of people in wheelchairs and such, many of them are prone to illness and are quite incontinent.

I use the disabled jacks sometimes. Mostly to use a baby changing station, but sometimes just because it's more convenient. I have done so for years and never once have I emerged to a waiting wheelchair.

I would never dream of using a wheelchair car parking space though, even if there was no fine. I even had a row with a scobe recently at Liffey Valley because she parked in a spot.

I'm sorry, I see your point, but I just don't think they are comparable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

At least 50% of the time Ive used one Ive mistaken the emergency assistance alarm string for the flusher and set off the alarm. :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Look ...whats the big deal ??

Your bustin to pop a stiff wedge...."normal" cubes are either full or awash with piss..the disabled is available....so...no brainer ..straight in - kecks down up on the bars ..hover and pop a smart bomb straight down the toob.
    Wipe / wash an out again with a smile on the gob.

Seven minutes flat - who does that discommode....:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Dead right there Fulton..was in Woodies yesterday and needed to unload a "Beefy" . Ordinary cube was occupied so zapped into the Dissy and backed out a log cabin in jig time. Splash an' dash total 4 mins... as you say where's the probbie:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Splash an' dash?

Did you even wipe ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Splash... you splash a wodge of toilet paper into the sink and clean off all the heavy clagge, much more effective and sanitary than the dry stuff.

Finish off with a few dabs of dry=happy days:D

I'm entertaining myself.

Fair enough. I'm a big fan of that myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

Dead right there Fulton..was in Woodies yesterday and needed to unload a "Beefy" . Ordinary cube was occupied so zapped into the Dissy and backed out a log cabin in jig time. Splash an' dash total 4 mins... as you say where's the probbie:confused:

Ordinary cube was occupied eh? Hmm, maybe so. But i've found a common offender is one who, like yourself, needs to egest a ripe turd and prefers to do it in more private and hygienic surrounds.
    I use them, no need not to, sure they are barely ever used and I have never been in one whn somebody else needed to use one.

Ah well then, sure when has anyone ever seen a cripple out & about anyway?! They mainly poop in their own homes and in hospitals, right?

Barely ever used! :rolleyes:

CtrlSource wrote: »
    But i've found a common offender is one who, like yourself, needs to egest a ripe turd and prefers to do it in more private and hygienic surrounds.
    Surely if someone can't use a regular toilet for fear of lack of privacy then it is a handicap on them? And as such they are entitled to use the handicapped toilet.

FX Meister wrote: »
    Surely if someone can't use a regular toilet for fear of lack of privacy then it is a handicap on them? And as such they are entitled to use the handicapped toilet.

A mental disability doesn't count for disabled toilets!

Why not? If someone was mentally disabled and unable to control their "movements" as a consequence?

Thats a bit of an exclusive attitude you have there.

Do you get stage fright when standing at the urinal? ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ah well then, sure when has anyone ever seen a cripple out & about anyway?! They mainly poop in their own homes and in hospitals, right?

Barely ever used! :rolleyes:

What PC of the population is handicapped? Lots of places have a handicapped toilets, what are the chances that the one you use will wanted to be used by this small PC of handicapped people at the same time? In all my years of work where I have had them in view I have rarely ever seen them used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

What PC of the population is handicapped? Lots of places have a handicapped toilets, what are the chances that the one you use will wanted to be used by this small PC of handicapped people at the same time? In all my years of work where I have had them in view I have rarely ever seen them used.

usually the office/pub/wherever is required by building regulations to have at least one spacker jacks and put a sign on it. There's no requirement for it to be exclusive.

i don't know what % of the population is disabled, depending on your definition of that of course. For the purposes of this though, i assume we're all talking about people with physical disabilities, who are unable to use toilets of a regular design layout.

It is however unusual that you've rarely encountered a person who actually needs to use one in all your years of using accessible toilets.

Do you use the large cubicles in regular toilets or the totally separate ones (or both)?

Well I'd use both in theory, only notice the separate one in a room of it's own though. The whole point is that there are queues in teh main toilets and nobody using the disabled toilets so I use them.
    I don't think it is too odd, nobody has ever wanted to use one/been waiting outside for me to finish because the people it is for are a minority. The only time I have ever seen them used is if I am somewhere all day every day with them in view(days on end they are not used), and then in all but a very few cases it will not be a physically disabled person.

It actually does mate. Shows how much you know tbh and ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

[Green hair ugly 'darling' mode]

You're all disablists!!

[/Green hair ugly 'darling' mode]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

in my local the disabled toilet is a lot closer to the bar than the mens one so i use it all the time and im not in there long enough ever to take it up too long either so i dont see any problem with using it.

also, if its a toilet for disabled people, then that means im more than qualified to use it :D

D_murph wrote: »
    also, if its a toilet for disabled people, then that means im more than qualified to use it :D

Because you have a disability?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

Because you have a disability?

no. because i dont, i can use it easier than a disabled person can :p

now this joke is ruined :o