Handicapped Toilet Etiquette

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

Theres a disabled toilet downstairs in messrs thats dead handy. especially since the mens toilet is upstairs. nobody ever uses it so ur in and out and back to ur pint in 2 minutes flat! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Theres a disabled toilet downstairs in messrs thats dead handy. especially since the mens toilet is upstairs. nobody ever uses it so ur in and out and back to ur pint in 2 minutes flat! :D

if it's down stairs i'm not surprised no disabled people use it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

As a matter of course I prefer the Capper Crappers because there is great privacy,plenty of room,nice bars you can hang on to to get good traction when backing out a thick lad.

I have a complaint though about the CC in McDonalds of Stillorgan shopping centre. I went into the CC and unloaded a major messy explosion,no toilet brush to clean the pan and the seat area.

I would feel sorry for the next wheelchair person who had to use it.

Someone should sort that out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

The-Rigger wrote: »

It's DISABLED.

It's actually differently abled these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Some disabled toilets have baby changing stations in them as well.

I never see them as being exclusively for disabled people. They are just jacks modified to accommodate disabled people. If a disabled person isn't around, I use them. If a disabled person is around, they have first call on it, obviously.

I'll use the diff abled over the normie toilet 9 times out of 10. They are usually cleaner and have more space. It is discrimination to tell people they can't use them. FACT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Sometimes there's no toilet paper in the regular toilets, So you have to slip into the the 'VIP cubicle'.

stovelid wrote: »
    Some disabled toilets have baby changing stations in them as well.

I never see them as being exclusively for disabled people. They are just jacks modified to accommodate disabled people. If a disabled person isn't around, I use them. If a disabled person is around, they have first call on it, obviously.

+1 x 1000

They are not exclusively for people with disabilities, just like the "regular" toilets are not exclusively for able bodied people. I will always use the "regular" toilets first but if I have my daughter with me, or if the disabled toilets are right beside me and the regular toilets are miles away, I'll use the disabled. I would NEVER use a disabled car parking space, I just think that this is pig ignorant, and maybe you'll say what's the difference, but the difference is that people with disabilities need car parking spaces closer to things, and with more space to get out, and as someone already pointed out, you're not in the loo for an hour (ahem) also, it's illegal to park in a disabled spot, it's not illegal to piddle in a disabled loo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

If you can wait then wait, if not then I suppose no one will care that you use the disabled toilets if it means you don't piss in your pants in front of everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,584 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

handicrapper ftw. particularly if you're bringing small kids to the loo.

its not remotely the same as taking a disabled parking space (which is despicable IMO). If you arrive and find there's no parking spaces then you have to go park somewhere else, if you arrive to find the loo is occupied then its a 5 minute wait.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

axel rose wrote: »
    pardon my ignorance but why am I to assume that someone in a wheelchair is the only person who cant 'hold it in'. nah!

No, you can't assume that. Just because someone uses a wheelchair doesn't mean they're incontinent!

Nobody has addressed the question about the 2 different types of toilet at issue here; the wider cubicle within regular toilets and the completely separate accessible toilet. Use of the former by able bodied is totally acceptable to me. Use of the latter is not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭axel rose

CtrlSource wrote: »
    No, you can't assume that. Just because someone uses a wheelchair doesn't mean they're incontinent!

Nobody has addressed the question about the 2 different types of toilet at issue here; the wider cubicle within regular toilets and the completely separate accessible toilet. Use of the former by able bodied is totally acceptable to me. Use of the latter is not
    Yea, chair or no chair I agree, You just cant tell by looking at someone whether or not they are incontinent.
    Again, regarding my ignorance...whats the difference between the two toilets? I thought they were both designed for wheelchair users.

and the completely separate accessible toilet. Use of the former by able bodied is totally acceptable to me.

I use these sometimes, especially if you have a child in tow. I don't think it's like using a disabled parking space (which I would never do) as the time frames are different. On the off-chance that a disabled user came along (which has never happened in all the time I have ever used them), they would have to wait 2-3 minutes max.

I always assumed that such toilets are provided to aid disabled users, not as an exclusive facility for them. The fact that many have baby changing stations in them would support this.

axel rose wrote: »
    Yea, chair or no chair I agree, You just cant tell by looking at someone whether or not they are incontinent.
    Again, regarding my ignorance...whats the difference between the two toilets? I thought they were both designed for wheelchair users.

Well they are but... here in my workplace, in the Gents toilets you have a row of cubicles and the last one is a double width one with a whb in it, desgined to accomodate wheelchair users (though it's actually a bit too small). It's very much part of the main Gents toilets and is regularly occupied when the other cubicles are also in use and i have no problem with that.

However in many places - shopping centres, pubs, restaurants etc., the wheelchair toilets are separate little rooms. i don't appreciate when people use these before they at least go in to the normal toilet and check it first

I always assumed that such toilets are provided to aid disabled users, not as an exclusive facility for them. The fact that many have baby changing stations in them would support this.

You're absolutely right. When you have a child with you it makes sense and is necessary to use them. Most of them will have a fold-down changing table too for that purpose :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Whats everyone got against parking in handycapped spots?
    I mean, they have wheels - the extra couple of yards is a doddle for them.

Ah I'm only joking - relax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

You're absolutely right. When you have a child with you it makes sense and is necessary to use them. Most of them will have a fold-down changing table too for that purpose :)

moral of todays lesson; always borrow a child in the area to take with you to the crapper if you want to use the disabled cubicle

Exactly. Although 'borrowing' children can cause other problems...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Raiser

To all the people on here saying "fcuk yeah Dude, loike I've an aurse and a bladder too and I'm practically disabled after 4 bottles of Heino"

- Someday you will may [hopefully] be sat in a pool of your own píss in a wheelchair 'cause there's some able-bodied gobshíte in the disabled toilet whose parents didn't bring them up properly, the education system didn't educate them and they're missing several key chromosomes......

I get a bit sickened by all the scummy knackers who park in disable parking spots too. Some consolation to whoever actually needs it when the wife-beater or skanky yoke comes out 20 minutes later and you see the smug grin on their inbred face as they remember why their car is right at the door :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

Exactly. Although 'borrowing' children can cause other problems...

tell me about it! but, its worth it for a good sh1te :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Cant believe no ones taking the Piss out of this one

.........Oops.

I can see this has become a bog-standard thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I always use them, they're much cleaner than the peasant bathrooms.

If a disabled person challenges me I just take them on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Zulu wrote: »
    Whats everyone got against parking in handycapped spots?
    I mean, they have wheels - the extra couple of yards is a doddle for them.

I mean, have you ever seen a wheelchair actually parked in one of them? :D

I'd use the separate disabled toilet no problem, to avoid a queue in the normal one. No-one has complained to me yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I don't use the handicapped toilet for fear i'd be caught out in one.

Malari wrote: »
    I mean, have you ever seen a wheelchair actually parked in one of them? :D
    Never - just stoopid looking cars! :confused:

Raiser wrote: »
    - Someday you will may [hopefully] be sat in a pool of your own píss in a wheelchair 'cause there's some able-bodied gobshíte in the disabled toilet whose parents didn't bring them up properly, the education system didn't educate them and they're missing several key chromosomes......

Does all wheelchair users automatically suffer from incontinence?

Again, do wheelchair toilets even have the caveat that they are exclusively for wheelchair users, as is the case with wheelchair parking spaces? I'm not sure myself, but I've often used the disabled toilet and never once in my life emerged to an irate wheelchair user.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Does all wheelchair users automatically suffer from incontinence?

Again, do wheelchair toilets even have the caveat that they are exclusively for wheelchair users, as is the case with wheelchair parking spaces? I'm not sure myself, but I've often used the disabled toilet and never once in my life emerged to an irate wheelchair user.

Not all, but definitely a higher proportion that non-wheelies.

Most wheelchair toilets have the sign up, and some have the mother and child sign as well. If you are just walking along in no major rush to use the bathroom, why do you think you should be allowed to use the wheelchair one? It's cleaner maybe? Take a fcuking guess why!!! I know alot of people in wheelchairs and such, many of them are prone to illness and are quite incontinent.

Also, with regard to wheelchair spaces, I am willing to bet that alot more people would use these if there was not a fine for doing so. And just because ye say "I wouldn't dream of it" doesn't make it true. In concept it is the same as using a wheelchair toilet if you extract the fine from the equation.. The time taken is irrellavent.

Wheelchair spaces do not exist for the person to be closer to the place in question, although they usually are. They are there to provide space to extract a wheelchair from the vehicle. If you have never lifted a 150 lbs electric wheelchair out of a car by yourself, you will not understand what I am saying.

Them things have ramps - don't be mad.
    Sure how can they life the chair if their legs aren't working? Did you never see the X-Men??

Madness.

If you have never lifted a 150 lbs electric wheelchair out of a car by yourself, you will not understand what I am saying.

Jazus, I find it hard enough to get my regular wheelchair in and out of the car when I need it. And it folds up unlike the electric one I'd imagine. On a different topic, dude I know has this sweet electric chair that lifts him into a standing position when ever he wants. Looks really funny.