Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cash In Transit Convoys..

• 16-10-2008 11:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭

HI,
    If your driving along a road and you end up behind one of those cash in transit convoys which normally consists of an army jeep,cash van,army jeep and cop car.. Are you allowed to pass them out?
    I know that they don't like having cars in the middle of the convoy, But Could you be done for passing out the cop car if he is driving along at an average speed..?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I've passed them out loads of times.

Now getting in the middle of the convoy... well, I'd say they wouldn't like that one bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I have blasted past these guys enough times on motorbikes . :)

Can't see anything wrong if there is a dotted line, clear road ahead, enough space in between the convoy to move into in the case of an emergency and of course you are within reason of the speed limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

There's no problem with overtaking a CIT Convoy.

Sitting in the middle of one is a problem though.

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭cormac_byrne

Even if you exceeded the speed limit in passing the convoy, the Garda is hardly going to chase you as he would have to leave the convoy that he is supposed to be escorting.

I did once 'accidentally' insert my ex army Series II Land Rover into a convoy, but wouldn't do it with any other vehicle as it would just look silly :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

I've overtaken and I've been in the middle of them, hard to avoid when in heavy traffic, no way am I letting 5 or 6 vehicles out at a roundabout to keep their convoy together, if they want to go in formation like the Red Arrows they should close all roads on their route :D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,199 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Poccington wrote: »

Especially if your heater is broken and you and your passengers wear balaclavas to keep warm!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Even if you exceeded the speed limit in passing the convoy, the Garda is hardly going to chase you as he would have to leave the convoy that he is supposed to be escorting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

towel401 wrote: »
    a CIT convoy as in a convoy of souped up skangermobiles?

No, a convoy of skangermobiles is a CLIT convoy (well what else would you call several cars full of dopey cu*ts ;))

Back OT, I've seen the usual CIT convoy on the M50 on several occasions totally broken up with private cars between all the vehicles in the
    convoy - what else can they expect in rush hour traffic with people merging.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,423 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

Don't forget the winch on the front just in case you need it for................mountain rescue or something..................

• Registered Users Posts: 24,968 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Back OT, I've seen the usual CIT convoy on the M50 on several occasions totally broken up with private cars between all the vehicles in the
    On a motorway, the CIT van is obliged, by law, to remain in the left lane (as they generally exceed the 3500kg limit - yellow and green stripes to the side, red and orange stripes at the rear).

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I have passed the convoy many times on the Ennis Bypass at around 130kph because Im trying to piss off the garda driver because he cannot give chase.

He never even flinches. The Garda passenger has been asleep and reading the newspaper on occassions.

Usually the same car. Around Munster and North Cork it was always a Laguna Garda car but more often than not its a Focus Saloon

I have passed the convoy many times on the Ennis Bypass at around 130kph because Im trying to piss off the garda driver because he cannot give chase.
    Honestly, how old are you?
    1.) The Garda driver doesn't care about you, he's on escort duty.
    2.) Garda cars have radios.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Honestly, how old are you?
    1.) The Garda driver doesn't care about you, he's on escort duty.
    2.) Garda cars have radios.

How old I am is none of your god damn business. Im old enough to have a driving license.

They are working on a different frequency for that matter and are not on Traffic duty so dont care.

I know the Garda does not care about me, thats why I do not slow down.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭kikel

I was stuck behind a Cash in transit escort before. 15 cars stuck behind and excort going 45mph. Pissed me off big time. Started making a move on each car over 20 miles. Not one car would give way. The were all sheep afraid to make any move. Got up behind the escort and they all pulled into the hard shoulder. Off I went by the hole lot of them without a bother. Feckin sheep

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭kikel

How old I am is none of your god damn business. Im old enough to have a driving license.

They are working on a different frequency for that matter and are not on Traffic duty so dont care.

Any Garda sees you driving dangerously will change frequency and get someone to take action. Since you were never caught maybe you were driving safely.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

He never even flinches. The Garda passenger has been asleep and reading the newspaper on occassions.

Usually the same car. Around Munster and North Cork it was always a Laguna Garda car but more often than not its a Focus Saloon

Jesus :rolleyes:, grow up will ya...

Are you old enough to make up your mind which it is?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Back in ye olde days (the 1980s) when we could safely move a herd of cows across the N7, we once finished up with the cash van trapped in the middle of the herd for a few minutes.
    We used to have to walk the cows about 100 meters up the road from one gate to the other, and somehow the front army jeep wound up stopped on the road out ahead all by itself, the cash van and second army jeep were in the middle of the cows (moving at cow walking speed), and the Garda car brought up the rear, alongside the man who was bringing up the rear of the herd.
    It was a glorious sunny Summer's day, and the two Gardai were in shirtsleeves with the windows of the car wound down.
    The lad in the driving seat says to the man herding the cows: "That's a fine herd of cows, would you sell a few?"
    The man doing the herding pointed at the marooned cash van with his stick, and said: "Open up the back of that yoke, and you can have the whole fecking lot of them."
    He reported that the two Gardai were still laughing as they disappeared into the distance once they got clear of the cows. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

kikel wrote: »
    I was stuck behind a Cash in transit escort before. 15 cars stuck behind and excort going 45mph. Pissed me off big time. Started making a move on each car over 20 miles. Not one car would give way. The were all sheep afraid to make any move. Got up behind the escort and they all pulled into the hard shoulder. Off I went by the hole lot of them without a bother. Feckin sheep

People in this country just freeze when they see a squad car. If they're doing the speed limit, they'll slow down to 20kmh below it. If it's on a dual carriageway and the Gardai are below the limit in the left lane, people still won't pass them.

I couldn't tell you the number of times I've been behind someone who has stood on the brakes when they saw an oncoming squad car at the head of a CIT convoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,107 ✭✭✭✭Esel

The Garda passenger has been asleep and reading the newspaper on occasions.
    That's one of the skills they learn in Templemore. They can also write out a summons while asleep.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

So a Garda not on traffic duty can't do you for traffic offences?
    Wow, never knew that :rolleyes:

Or do you mean he hasn't his cap on when he's in the squad car?

It BeeMee wrote: »
    So a Garda not on traffic duty can't do you for traffic offences?
    Wow, never knew that :rolleyes:

Or do you mean he hasn't his cap on when he's in the squad car?

I SAID so they dont care. For example 3 nights ago on a scanner a garda car driving along the Dublin road called for a traffic corps car to deal with cars queuing for Petrol as they were spilling out on the road.

Why didnt that garda deal with it? Because its not what they were tasked to do and/or couldnt care less?

• Registered Users Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

kikel wrote: »

Brings about an intersting point. It pisses me off if you are driving on the motorway and a Garda car shows up and everyone slows down.

Garda car might be travelling on the left lane at 100km/h and everyone sees fit to slow down to their speed. Why? You're breaking no law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

LoanShark wrote: »
    HI,
    If your driving along a road and you end up behind one of those cash in transit convoys which normally consists of an army jeep,cash van,army jeep and cop car.. Are you allowed to pass them out?
    I know that they don't like having cars in the middle of the convoy, But Could you be done for passing out the cop car if he is driving along at an average speed..?

was in a car when we done it on the east link road...

got the stare of death from the army boys....

Hate to have some 6'4 18 stone waster from the part timers try and kill me with styre AUG... would be a shame...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭pawrick

Agree - got stuck behind one which was parked at a bank in the middle of Athlone creating a bottleneck - went to pass them out when i got the chancebut it was just as the lead vehicles pulled out (no indicators), doesy guy bringing up the tail didn't notice and i managed to get my corsa stuck in the convoy - yer man started shouting at me i ignored him wtf could i do in a traffic jam at that point? I gave him room to get by me as soon as I could as it did look stupid with my little corsa.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭PaddyFagan

That's one to be careful of alright - my old man got serious grief over doing this may years ago. They raided the house:o, just to make sure he wasn't scouting them out for a robbery....

Paddy

S.I.R wrote: »
    was in a car when we done it on the east link road...

got the stare of death from the army boys....

Hate to have some 6'4 18 stone waster from the part timers try and kill me with styre AUG... would be a shame...

Firstly, it's Steyr.

Secondly, no part timers do CIT's.

pawrick wrote: »
    Agree - got stuck behind one which was parked at a bank in the middle of Athlone creating a bottleneck - went to pass them out when i got the chancebut it was just as the lead vehicles pulled out (no indicators), doesy guy bringing up the tail didn't notice and i managed to get my corsa stuck in the convoy - yer man started shouting at me i ignored him wtf could i do in a traffic jam at that point? I gave him room to get by me as soon as I could as it did look stupid with my little corsa.

The driver shouldn't have shouted at ya.

Most lads realise there's not much ya can do when civilians get stuck in the convoy in towns with bad traffic, out on a motorway though.... It's the single most annoying thing ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I don't recall ever coming up behind a CIT convoy. However I have passed Irish Explosives convoys several times. The Garda car is always too close to the truck to get in between them safely so you have to take the full convoy in one move.

Sometimes it is a marked car, sometimes unmarked. When marked I laugh at all the nervous wrecks who refuse to pass on a dual carriageway/m-way when the convoy is doing 50 mph

When it's an unmarked car idiots are obviously completely unaware of the Garda presence. One day I saw someone overtake an unmarked + two truck convoy over hatch markings and on a bend. Gardai didn't appear to do anything (not that I'd expect them to just abandon their escort duties) but possibly his reg was radioed in.

Many years ago the Irish army were drafted to Shannon Airport for the landing of the US Armys' first illegal flight because of the thousands of protestors heading to the airport.

I along with many other motorists did not move for the "wannabee" tanks that came up the single lane carraigeway behind us. They had to sit behind us. It was mark of protest on our part as we were on our way to work in the Ind Est.

Around 10 of us were pulled over down the street and questioned as to why we did not pull over for the Army. I requested to konw the legality of a tank doing more than 60 mph with no flashing lights or siren and how I am supposed to know to get out of its way.

I was told to clear off and get to work.

You think getting caught in a convoy of securicor is bad. Imagine my bad luck to get caught in a funeral procession between the hearse and the two stretchs.