Old fashioned opinions that drive you nuts!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

that computer games are for pre-teens to teenagers. Even amongst my peers there is still this stigma that playing video games is a sign of immaturity. I could talk about an action movie no problem, but talking about an action video game is a problem.

People from my parents generation still believe that it is better to statically watch TV then to actively play a video game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭hobochris

Malari wrote: »
    The man pays for dinner. If I leave my credit card with the bill, they'll always offer the machine to my boyfriend to enter his pin! Read the name on the card! It doesn't really drive me nuts I suppose, but it's funny how prevailing that attitude still is.

I always find that one funny to.. Me & the GF live together so we pool our money into a joint account, usually when we go out i forget my card and she always has hers. usually then the card machine is brought to me and then I direct it towards herself and get a funny look from the waiter. other times I put in her pin and announce when taking the card out: "Looks like the bank finally recognize that operation" this also causes weird looks in my direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

That the wanky traditions of engagement/wedding must be followed to a T - he must propose, he must buy the ring, she must be "given away" by her father etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I cannot hold a conversation with my Granddad without him telling me that I should get a good state job because of the pension and job security and when I remind him that I have a swell job in I.T. he waves it off with a tisk!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

I cannot hold a conversation with my Granddad without him telling me that I should get a good state job because of the pension and job security and when I remind him that I have a swell job in I.T. he waves it off with a tisk!!!!

Smart granddad, in the civil service you get low hours, pay little prsi, get payrises every two weeks, can threaten to throw all the toys out of the cot over changing the complimentary cofee machine from decaf to plan (david begg will back you). Basically you get to f*ck all work for huge pay and can't be laid off, lie back playing solitare and laugh at those in the private sector losing their jobs and paying massive tax. However you must be a blood relation of a Fianna Fail politician to get said job and must vote and canvass for Fianna Fail in the election in return. Soviet Russia no different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

hobochris wrote: »
    information systems ->software Development.

Join the club :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

mumhaabu wrote: »
    Smart granddad, in the civil service you get low hours, pay little prsi, get payrises every two weeks, can threaten to throw all the toys out of the cot over changing the complimentary cofee machine from decaf to plan (david begg will back you). Basically you get to f*ck all work for huge pay and can't be laid off, lie back playing solitare and laugh at those in the private sector losing their jobs and paying massive tax. However you must be a blood relation of a Fianna Fail politician to get said job and must vote and canvass for Fianna Fail in the election in return. Soviet Russia no different.

Jeez, he never explained it like that.....

GOneTO www.publicjobs.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead hates the old fashioned opinion that states
    javaboy wrote: »
    And just like alcohol, anyone who has suffered at the hands of Pighead's todger chooses to remain Anonymous.

Not even the slightest hint of truth in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

mumhaabu wrote: »
    Basically you get to f*ck all work for huge pay
    That I wouldn't be so sure of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Ice_Box

If my mom heard about someone who fell off a ladder she would say they were lucky.
    If she herd about someone who won the lotto she would say 'poor fella shur thats too much'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Dudess wrote: »
    That I wouldn't be so sure of.

Agreed. Private work is far better paid and has better opportunities for promotion etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭daveharnett

That 'The Government', and all other authorities (Councillors, Gardai, GAA county board etc...) are some kind of plague afflicted upon us by god.

This applies only to those who either do not vote, or vote religiously along party lines regardless of actual events.

You don't get to complain about something if you did nothing to prevent it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,810 ✭✭✭smokingman

Got a few meself...

That men shouldn't cook - leave it to the wimmin.
    That wimmin are in some way not responsible for taking action "cause they're just ladies y'know"
    That wimmin shouldn't know how to change the oil in their cars.
    Superstitions....ALL of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

You can't have any moral basis to your life without being religious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

Having only just graduated & been working less then a year I'm on the same wage it took him until he was 30 to get too.

Presuming he was 30 close to 30-40 years ago, and you are not index-linking the salaries you are doing much worse than he was. ( In any case IT does not pay that well .
    If a person holds a particular belief, spiritual or otherwise, that is their personal choice/viewpoint, calling someone crazy, ignorant or stupid because of what they choose to believe is also wrong, and likely hypocritical.

Is that really an old fashioned viewpoint? I think I can be new fashioned and think people who believe in astrology, and the rapture, and extreme Islam pretty dumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

asdasd wrote: »
    Presuming he was 30 close to 30-40 years ago, and you are not index-linking the salaries you are doing much worse than he was.

Yeah I called him on the inflation issue earlier but he didn't reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

What mindsets/opinions from years ago drive you mad?
    My dad is forever saying how "girls shouldn't swear" and all this "ladylike" crap! It drives me nuts!!!

That democracy works.

I'd thought we'd've put that to bed by now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭hobochris

javaboy wrote: »
    Yeah I called him on the inflation issue earlier but he didn't reply.
    sorry was busy working...

That's not a direct mapping it was an equivalent.. It was taking into account cost of living etc... & other differences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

That my surname automatically makes me a provo

That Ed Byrne is funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Mom: What's that garbage you're listening to?
    Me: Metallica
    Mom: That's not real music
    Me:What do you listen to?
    Mom: Bee Gees, now that's real music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,588 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Riddle101 wrote: »

Of course when you're in your 50's your kids will say both Metallica and you are old fashioned. It all goes full circle eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

The funny thing is that so many of today's bands are inspired by musicians that their own fans would turn their noses up at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Riddle101 wrote: »

*mutters things about St Anger being a turd in CD form rather than real music*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Rainbowbrite87

Young women should be seen and not heard!!?!

Ridiculous. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Young women should be seen and not heard!!?!

Ridiculous. :p

I thought that was children? And sounds ok to me if it is :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭patmac

hobochris wrote: »
    My grandparents saying:
    That College is a waste of time.. you should get a job or a trade instead.

Great having a chat with my Grandfather the other day about this, the look on his face was priceless when I revealed my current earnings. Having only just graduated & been working less then a year I'm on the same wage it took him until he was 30 to get too.

So your earning £30 a week fair play to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭Hub

Originally Posted by JupiterKid View Post
    What was remotely good about being desperately poor, in an culturally, economically and socially stunted remote island with an all powerful Church that treated its flock like slaves and stifled any creativity or free expression?

luckat wrote: »
    Not *culturally* stunted. Otherwise, I agree.

I agree too but we're hardly remote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

If you **** you go blind.

Blind people are ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

It's the way things were back in their time, job security was paramount. My grandad was always trying to convince me to join the Gards because I'm tall. To be honest, things are looking like they might go that way again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Rainbowbrite87

Malari wrote: »
    I thought that was children? And sounds ok to me if it is :P

Ha ha probably is... Must have been adapted to suit.:p
    And no it's not ok!!:mad: