Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old fashioned opinions that drive you nuts!!!

• 13-10-2008 11:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭

What mindsets/opinions from years ago drive you mad?
    My dad is forever saying how "girls shouldn't swear" and all this "ladylike" crap! It drives me nuts!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

If you **** you go blind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Anyone with tattoo's is a scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,960 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

That drugs are wrong.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

That being gay is evil and wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭bigpinkelephant

That having sex before marriage is wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

"the youth of today....<insert random complaint here>"

"In my day we...<insert random stuff being generally better>"

"None of the bands you listen to are as good as the ones I liked when I was your age"

Or when old people describe how hard/crap their youth was and then say "but we were happy!" - obviously not if you keep complaining about it!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yes, the term "the good old days" is, I believe, aload of b******s.

What was remotely good about being desperately poor, in an culturally, economically and socially stunted remote island with an all powerful Church that treated its flock like slaves and stifled any creativity or free expression?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

That 'moving up in the years' with cars is the only way to get a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I absolutely loathe the very Irish/Catholic notion that hard work and abstinence are good things. Hard work should be avoided wherever possible and if you can afford it you should spend it.

Things like keeping nice cutlery locked away until family are visiting, keeping the same half broken kettle because it still technically works, looking down on someone who goes on lots of holidays etc

We don't need to kid ourselves any more, we're not a nation of poor/hungry famine victims any more, lets enjoy the success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

JupiterKid wrote: »
    What was remotely good about being desperately poor, in an culturally, economically and socially stunted remote island with an all powerful Church that treated its flock like slaves and stifled any creativity or free expression?

Not *culturally* stunted. Otherwise, I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Galvasean wrote: »
    "None of the bands you listen to are as good as the ones I liked when I was your age"

:o In my case, they're the same bands my parents listened to..... well not my Mam. She liked the Bay City Rollers and David Essex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

My dad is forever saying how "girls shouldn't swear" and all this "ladylike" crap! It drives me nuts!!!

Back when I used to drink cider, if my dad was ordering my pint in a pub, he'd come back with two small glasses instead cos "Ladys shouldn't be seen drinking out of a pint glass"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭Tupins

That working in a bank is a 'great job'.

I was a temp in a bank for about 2 weeks - worst two weeks of my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

That single women in their late 20s onwards (or even younger) are gonna be left on the shelf and are sad, lonely spinsters who should be pitied because life must be hellish for them that they don't have a man. Today, even the most hot, sexy, confident women in that bracket are still pitied by older generations (or even their own generations and younger who have been brainwashed) because yes, clearly they need such pity...

Oh and the view that women in their 40s shouldn't wear short skirts because it would be "mutton dressed as lamb" etc... even if the woman in question has a great figure, great legs and her short skirt is tasteful and not tacky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

That nudity is in some way harmful, shameful or naughty.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

That most of the scummers and scummettes who blight peoples live are really "nice guys" who have been disadvantaged and that they were well thought of in their"tightly knit" community,helping old folk and raising money for charity.

Dudess wrote: »
    That single women in their late 20s onwards (or even younger) are gonna be left on the shelf and are sad, lonely spinsters who should be pitied because life must be hellish for them that they don't have a man. Today, even the most hot, sexy, confident women in that bracket are still pitied by older generations (or even their own generations and younger who have been brainwashed) because yes, clearly they need such pity...

Oh and the view that women in their 40s shouldn't wear short skirts because it would be "mutton dressed as lamb" etc... even if the woman in question has a great figure, great legs and her short skirt is tasteful and not tacky.

Don't worry Dudess. I'm sure Mr. Right is right around the corner. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

"a womans place is in the kitchen..."

i can think of at least 1 much better place - like behind the steering wheel of the car about to drive over your face :D

*loughing loudly like mental patient*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Well i dont like to hear girls swearing, i dont like swearing full stop.

Nothing wrong with being ladylike, in time, you may find your Dad was right all along.

Girls sticking swear words in between every other word does sound awful... A bit of swearing sounds fine though.
    javaboy wrote: »
    Sometimes kinda wish I was single :)
    Aw... there was obviously gonna be that response from some guy - never thought it would be you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

javaboy wrote: »

...and his first name is "Allways"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

caoibhin wrote: »
    Well i dont like to hear girls swearing, i dont like swearing full stop.

Nothing wrong with being ladylike, in time, you may find your Dad was right all along.

i agree, completely, my dad says those sort of things - and he's right.. it has never been a negative for me..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

That i'm a slut/knacker because i'm a single mother..and its not just the old folkies who make that assumtion..

That most of the scummers and scummettes who blight peoples live are really "nice guys" who have been disadvantaged and that they were well thought of in their"tightly knit" community,helping old folk and raising money for charity.
    Isn't that more of a bleeding heart, middle-class, younger person's kinda view? I'd be surprised if I met any members of older generations who thought like that about scumbags...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Femmy wrote: »
    That i'm a slut/knacker because i'm a single mother..and its not just the old folkies who make that assumtion..

Well people who think that are just ignorant and small minded so you shouldnt worry too much about their opinion.

"a womans place is in the kitchen..."

i can think of at least 1 much better place - like behind the steering wheel of the car about to drive over your face :D

*loughing loudly like mental patient*

Women drivers...never can get it right..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

People who think homosexuality is an 'illness' or something that should be contolled. Or that bi-sexual people are sex-mad nymphomaniacs who will sleep with anyone ''because, you know, they like everyone''. :mad:

That a woman is a 'slut' if she sleeps around, but a guy is a 'legend'. :rolleyes:

Acacia wrote: »
    That a woman is a 'slut' if she sleeps around, but a guy is a 'legend'. :rolleyes:

this is because women, nearly ALL women, no matter how ugly, will be able to pull guys left right and centre because..as we all know, We love the pussy uncontrollably, and even it takes us getting so drunk we don't know our own name..if some is on offer..best part are taking it.

So when a guy can get a load of women..of course he's a legend, it's not easy like!
    When a woman does it she's just being a slut cos she can get lads easy!

basically....that's it. :D
    oh and wimmins..if you're not getting the man you want then maybe you're aiming too high as he's already off with some angelina jolie lookalike, tis the only exception!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

That badgers spread TB. I don't know, maybe they do, but I've seen badgers killed in disgusting ways using that as an excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

caoibhin wrote: »
    Well people who think that are just ignorant and small minded so you shouldnt worry too much about their opinion.

Ah i don't really worry about it much to be honest.
    another thing though is that i look really young, (according to some bouncers, i look 11 years younger than i am!)
    But when i tell people i have a 7 yr old daughter, i feel also i have to tell them that no, i didn't have her when i was 13....(i was 21)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

"weekend" catholics. The kind who don't believe but just pretend to keep their parents happy.

I've no problem with people who really believe (even though I don't agree with them), it's the people that will bitch about it and call it all fake, but then when it's time to go to mass \ say a prayer they just do it rather than stand up for their beliefs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

drugs are bad, religion, and old people constantly saying "I had to paint my feet black to make it look like shoes, then we had to walk through sixteen miles of famine to get to school"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭el_bandita

That having a husband/wife and kids is the only thing worth living for...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

People who blame money for everything: "All this money has the country ruined", "The Celtic Tiger has the country gone to the dogs", etc. Load of bollocks. Now that the money is drying up, we won't be happier.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

"Men with beards are evil"

"Don't trust men with beards"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Limbo, it is/was a ****ing evil invention to scare people into signing their kids up to religion.

I'd agree with the single mother bit, bugs the **** out of me, as does the one about women in their 30s and single missing out on something. I have to say though, a lot of that is down to Ali McBeal and the pressure women put themselves under.

The worst bunny boilers fall into that category.

I have to say though, a lot of that is down to Ali McBeal and the pressure women put themselves under.
    Agreed.

The Master wrote: »
    "Men with beards are evil"

"Don't trust men with beards"

you're not doing much to rebutt the stereotype with that signature!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

ScumLord wrote: »
    That badgers spread TB. I don't know, maybe they do, but I've seen badgers killed in disgusting ways using that as an excuse.

Badgers are a protected species AFAIK. The only people legally allowed to kill them are dept. of agriculture officials and even then it's fairly humane given the circumstances. (snare them, then a body shot or two to kill them)

Femmy wrote:
    Femmy wrote: »
    Ah i don't really worry about it much to be honest.

Could've fooled me posting in the thread about opinions that drive you nuts! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Holsten wrote: »
    That drugs are wrong.

It's more that alcohol and tobacco are ok, but that other safer drugs are somehow wrong.

What really pisses me off is the way that loads of people don't see alcohol as a drug. That's what it is. It's not a drink, It's a drug!

why are you sipping on a pint of rat-piss. Instead why not get a naggin of vodka (by far the purest and healthiest drink), mix it with some mi wadi (with water in it of course) and down it as fast as you can.This is the rational way of drinking.

If you want the pleasure of drinking, buy something nice like a snapple or some cola or something. If you want to get drunk, down a naggin.

rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

That you should do what is always expected of you. The way that everyone is bred and reared into a stable seemingly meaninless life. The view that if you want to be free, even for just a year on a trip around the world or something, that your a lazy ass.

I dont like the old fashioned view of how everyone should just follow the path in front of them. the view that veering off the path is unwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

vinylmesh wrote: »
    It's more that alcohol and tobacco are ok, but that other safer drugs are somehow wrong.

What really pisses me off is the way that loads of people don't see alcohol as a drug. That's what it is. It's not a drink, It's a drug!

why are you sipping on a pint of rat-piss. Instead why not get a naggin of vodka (by far the purest and healthiest drink), mix it with some mi wadi (with water in it of course) and down it as fast as you can.This is the rational way of drinking.

If you want the pleasure of drinking, buy something nice like a snapple or some cola or something. If you want to get drunk, down a naggin.

rant over.

Mods, can we have a thumbs down thingy so I can respond to posts like this without having to put my pint down?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

That rape is wrong.. How old fashoined an idea is that. Get with the times Granma!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

My grandparents saying:
    That College is a waste of time.. you should get a job or a trade instead.

Great having a chat with my Grandfather the other day about this, the look on his face was priceless when I revealed my current earnings. Having only just graduated & been working less then a year I'm on the same wage it took him until he was 30 to get too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

That because we were once immigrants we must now let in as many as possible. Kick em all out:D

hobochris wrote: »
    My grandparents saying:
    That College is a waste of time.. you should get a job or a trade instead.

Great having a chat with my Grandfather the other day about this, the look on his face was priceless when I revealed my current earnings. Having only just graduated & been working less then a year I'm on the same wage it took him until he was 30 to get too.
    Depends on the college course though - they're kinda right about an arts degree... I speak from experience :(

What did you study, hobochris?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

Mods, can we have a thumbs down thingy so I can respond to posts like this without having to put my pint down?

thanks

SEE!!! IT IS A GOOD IDEA!!! AND THERE IS HIGH DEMAND!!!

hobochris wrote: »

But did houses only cost £8,000 back when he was earning the wage you're earning now instead of the £300,000 they cost now? :D