I love techno 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Becki-Jay

Oh its getting soooo Close!!

We started our outfit preps yesterday ... Gonna be Mint !!!!!!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭FLYNN-DOG

Is anyone else sick of the amount of people going to ILT-a) from Ireland and B) who aren't even in to techno ie-1st year colleage heads who first timed a few months ago? Im going, but Timewarp will be way better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,931 ✭✭✭Alkers

Everyone has a first time...

Thats not really my point. My point is that a load of (mostly) birds are going who really have no interest in the music and are more intent on just getting ****ed up. Is that really what its all about? Maybe it should be renamed to "my mates love techno" or "i love getting ****ed but dont care about the music"

Sorry man, maybe im being a music snob-kinda grinds my gears when i hear of all these jocks goin over and what not. "Thou shall not dislike something just because its become popular" and all that ****. Anyway, I'd say it'll still be a blast. Headin over Fri to Charleoi, then ILT on Sat and the Dam till Tuesday-no way doin two runs to the Dam. Bring it on!

PS-i pity the fool on the Sat morning flights-good luck being awake at 7am the next day mate!

Note to self... **make sure you keep the head down at ILT, and whatever ya do, DO NOT enjoy the atmosphere of 45000 People!!! **

5 weeks from today imagine!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Anyone know what the best way to travel down from Amsterdam is.. presume its the train but are there alot of police checks coming out of the train station? I've heard of a a few party buses but they might take ages.. Better off buying all your party supplys there?
    Also stayin in amsterdam on fri n going down to ILT n then back again next morning, good or bad idea, rave carry on in Gent sunday?

well you might be ok in the morning, but last year we went from amsterdam on the train and got into Gent around 5/6pm, and they had police checks at the train station with sniffer dogs.
    we had nothing on us but there were about 15 people pulled aside as we were going through.
    getting into Gent on the friday night this year with a few bits and bobs, so hopefully they won't be checking at that stage.
    as for buying anything there, last year we didn't find anyone selling anything, although we only had 2 or 3 hours before, so this year we should have a lot more time to get anything if we need to.

I used to live in Brussels and was at ILT last year- trust me, there is NOTHING there- kinda nice scenery which you can see in about 20 mins and thats about it. Belgium itself is **** all craic, ILT (while class) is the equivalent of us hosting the chamions league final. ILT is on the coke cans and on the sides of buses-and its only one night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 RaoulDuke1415

Cheers Ghostdancer, good to know these things, i figure we'll go down early on the train or see about these private buses, dont fancy that sniffer dog lark, they can be very friendly towards you depending on your aftershave...
    It'll be a gruellin ol session heading back to the dam

I must say we came across nothing like tht last year, a few police in the train station in ghent but that was about it ... They look scary tho ... lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

yeah, the train station was the only place i remember seeing any police or proper security for the whole event.
    you'd think that there'd be lots of police around given the nature of the crowd, but we didn't see anyone selling or taking drugs, so maybe there's been very few drug-related problems in previous years for them to be actively engaging with the crowd....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

FLYNN-DOG wrote: »
    Thats not really my point. My point is that a load of (mostly) birds are going who really have no interest in the music and are more intent on just getting ****ed up. Is that really what its all about? Maybe it should be renamed to "my mates love techno" or "i love getting ****ed but dont care about the music"
    I feel much the same - its like 'yeoooooohhhh techno'

haha,

Exactly. I dont understand why people (particularly girls) feel the need to get dressed up - its not haloween!

Exactly like... I mean, Who in their right mind would wear a halloween costume there?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭welcomeinjam

Becki-Jay wrote: »
    Exactly like... I mean, Who in their right mind would wear a halloween costume there?!

Hahaha I know it wouldn't make any sense :)

So I've booked my hotel, flights and tickets. Don't think I'm gonna head to Amsterdam though. So who's everyone looking forward too?

Well, all depending on the times of sets etc, i do hope to try and get to (in no perference order)

Dave Clarke, Boyz Noise Hawtin, Rush..and will most deffo be trying to make Marc Houle, last time i saw him here in Cork he was crackin !!

Booka Shade, Digitalism, and Umek will be on my list too..

Knowing my luck, all the times will prob clash ! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Nappy

How much is return train from The Dam to Brussels???

Its about €70 with a student ID

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Nappy

Ryanair are doin it right now!!!

Party party!!!!

Why dress up for an electronic music event which is only half a day long? Its not a festival. Getting dolled up to the last heading into an industrial unit - Its the type of thing someone who wanted to be seen would do.

Thats whats annoying about ILT, with rising popularity, more and more people are just heading to it on reputation, and not for the music (maybe they might go see Hot Chip or Justice)

I thought it was €44....

where did ya find 70 euro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭nah_biy!

Lads anyone up for an aul meet up in the 'Dam on the Friday, or Saturday, or indeed both, get out of our faces and all get the train down together.

Or we could visit museums and get postcards for our folks back home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,931 ✭✭✭Alkers

Have my tickets booked but my mates are after pulling out, looks like I'm going this one on my own!

**** one mate! Still, theres enough Irish there - sure you'll find someone to hang out with!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Guys AirLingus have a special and if you are willing to leave on the Thursday and stay till the following Tuesday, flights are FREE! Only pay taxes and charges!

I checked the flights again when i heard about the free flights and they actually added up as dearer than what we paid!!

nah_biy! wrote: »
    Lads anyone up for an aul meet up in the 'Dam on the Friday, or Saturday, or indeed both, get out of our faces and all get the train down together.

Or we could visit museums and get postcards for our folks back home!

How about Friday ?? Wer gonna be ther from 8am - 3pm

Why dress up for an electronic music event which is only half a day long? Its not a festival. Getting dolled up to the last heading into an industrial unit - Its the type of thing someone who wanted to be seen would do.

Thats whats annoying about ILT, with rising popularity, more and more people are just heading to it on reputation, and not for the music (maybe they might go see Hot Chip or Justice)

Sure no matter what music event/festival or club night you go to, theres always someone going to be dressed up some way or another.. Last year there was these fellas with Gas masks and over alls, like you see at festivals like Planet Love and Global gathering .. People will wear what they want. wherever they go ... the one thing ill say about Belgium tho is that its FREEZING there, so ill be sure to wearing something that'll keep me warm on my travel back to hotel after!! Jeez im shivering thinking about it !! lol

Its a tracksuit and Hoody all the way for me!!!

How about Friday ?? Wer gonna be ther from 8am - 3pm

Well I'm flying in with the fashion facist Lief Erikson at that time too. Actually scratch that, he's on your flight I'd say (6am from Dublin) we're all arriving before 9 in the same arrivals hall (I'm flying from Cork)

There's a ton of coffeeshops to the right as you head up to Haarlemstraat, most open at 9 or so. That dump Barneys is open earlier though.

We'll have to find ye all in there too :D

Edit: Just realised yer location, flying out at 620 from Cork are ye?